LG CS560/570 series (2012 models) - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 225 Old 03-01-2012, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG's new sets for the year are listed at online retailers and I imagine they'll show up in stores within a week or two. I wanted to get the ball rolling about information on these sets, since i'm eager to buy one.

The CS560 series looks like a straightforward continuation of the LK450's from last year:


The sets come in 32, 37, and 42" sizes, have a native resolution of 1080p, and a refresh rate of 60hz. You can see a basic list of other features here.

The CS570 series seems to be the same as the 560 but with 120hz and an extra HDMI port, in 42 and 47" sizes.

Picture quality probably isn't too much of a mystery; good color accuracy, semi-decent blacks and low gaming lag wouldn't be a surprise. The real question is what's going on with the panels this year. According to this random impression, the viewing angles are great, which implies S-IPS panels will at least be used in the first run.

If anyone takes the plunge and orders one of these sets or happens to see them on display locally, please check the panel type out. If your Best Buy has them in stock, check the boxes to see if the product code from the past two years is still in effect-

If the fourth letter from the end of the code printed on the box differs on any two boxes, it seems like we have another panel lottery on our hands. If every box has the exact same code, then either there is no lottery or your store just happened to get only one panel type, and even that may be a good thing as it suggests that the lottery may not have begun yet.

As an example, the code for last year's IPS models (US) was UA.ACCYLUR, while the VA code was UA.ACCDLUR.

I'll buy one of these as soon as I can confirm it has an IPS panel and post my impressions/panel info/product code, etc. all that.
romulux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 225 Old 03-01-2012, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
John4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looking good.

According to this, it seems LG may have largely done away with their panel lottery in favor of going with nearly all IPS panels. Quoted the the line of interest below.

Quote:


All 1080p models use wide viewing angle in 2D IPS panels except the 65″ versions.

I wonder if they'll support 4:4:4 Chroma subsampling?
John4721 is offline  
post #3 of 225 Old 03-01-2012, 02:01 PM
Member
 
seanclayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic will be using IPS-only panels for their 2012 line up as well. I'm thinking those will be equipped with similar LG panels.
seanclayton is offline  
post #4 of 225 Old 03-05-2012, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm thinking of rolling the dice on panel type and ordering the 32" from adorama, but their return policy seems pretty strict. anyone have experience ordering from them?

by the way, is there any reason i can't slap an "official" in the title? or do i have to get a signed permission slip from a mod first? :P
romulux is offline  
post #5 of 225 Old 03-06-2012, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
John4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Easier to ask for forgiveness than it is to get permission. I'd say edit in the official title, it won't hurt anyone.

I've never ordered from Adorama, but their seller reviews looked fairly positive when I was thinking about ordering something from them a while back. For what it's worth.
John4721 is offline  
post #6 of 225 Old 03-06-2012, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i decided to order from beach camera instead. adorama seems to accept no returns on tvs over 22" unless they're defective on arrival. beach camera has a similar delivery policy but more flexible. i chose the 37cs560, i'll be pretty surprised if it's not S-IPS.

i did check best buy before ordering and they still didn't have the new models stocked, but their shelves were barren. they've really cleared last year's sets out, shouldn't be long before the CS series comes in.
romulux is offline  
post #7 of 225 Old 03-06-2012, 05:01 PM
Newbie
 
userben's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John4721 View Post

Looking good.

According to hdguru, it seems LG may have largely done away with their panel lottery in favor of going with nearly all IPS panels. Quoted the line of interest below.



I wonder if they'll support 4:4:4 Chroma subsampling?

I've emailed their support asking if they are all IPS and still support 4:4:4, will post back if they reply.

Oh and if you search cs560 on lg's site (uk) nada but search cs460 and they are listed. Maybe a typo at ces?
userben is offline  
post #8 of 225 Old 03-06-2012, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's not a typo, the 460s are the 720p models. LG has a listing for the cs560 on their US site, but there's nothing aside from the instruction manual right now. but hey, if you want to read that....

still no shipping confirmation from beach camera. come on!
romulux is offline  
post #9 of 225 Old 03-07-2012, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would be really happy with this if it's not a panel lottery.
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #10 of 225 Old 03-09-2012, 12:42 AM
Newbie
 
aznxtc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine arrived today....Passes 4:4:4 Chroma with the EDID Override Fix...I couldn't do a loupe test to verify without a tool...So i went by the
4th letter on the box and on the back of the panel it says LG Display which makes it an IPS panel.







aznxtc is offline  
post #11 of 225 Old 03-09-2012, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
awesome. maybe i should have gone with the 32", because my 37" still hasn't shipped. it says "temporarily out of stock" in my order even though it says "in stock" in big letters on the product page.

looks like last year's Y code is still being used for IPS. where'd you order your 32" from?
romulux is offline  
post #12 of 225 Old 03-09-2012, 08:37 AM
Newbie
 
userben's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulux View Post

it's not a typo, the 460s are the 720p models. LG has a listing for the cs560 on their US site, but there's nothing aside from the instruction manual right now. but hey, if you want to read that....

still no shipping confirmation from beach camera. come on!

On LG's Site the 42CS460 is listed as 1920x1080, the 32 as 1366x768 and the 26 doesn't say.

I had a response from LG with regards to the CS460 which ended with;
"We currently at moment don't have confirmation if it uses IPS or VA panel or it will have 4:4:4 chroma support. More details will hopefully arise closer to the launch date April 2012."
userben is offline  
post #13 of 225 Old 03-09-2012, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
aznxtc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulux View Post

awesome. maybe i should have gone with the 32", because my 37" still hasn't shipped. it says "temporarily out of stock" in my order even though it says "in stock" in big letters on the product page.

looks like last year's Y code is still being used for IPS. where'd you order your 32" from?

I got mine from Newegg with free 3 days shipping...The only thing I don't like is its missing a VGA input, but other than that picture is comparable to my 32ld450
If not a little bit better. A few of the expert settings options has change from previous model.
aznxtc is offline  
post #14 of 225 Old 03-10-2012, 12:03 AM
Newbie
 
asix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
matte or glossy screen?

all 2012 models lack vga?
asix is offline  
post #15 of 225 Old 03-10-2012, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What is 4:4:4 chroma?
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #16 of 225 Old 03-13-2012, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznxtc View Post

A few of the expert settings options has change from previous model.

Could you check the expert mode CMS settings and see if there are adjustments for color, tint and luminance? (previous models have only color and tint).

I see from the manuals on the LG site that the 2012 plasmas have 3D CMS. Unfortunately the LCD and LED manuals do not go into this level of detail, and I'm really interested in finding out if LG has corrected this shortcoming across all their models.
djams is offline  
post #17 of 225 Old 03-13-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Souvlaki Space Station
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 159
I was surprised to see that compared to last year's LK450, the CS560 only has a single component in, no VGA, and no audio output.

ht Panasonic 60" ZT60, Monitor Audio: Silver RX6, RX Centre, RX1; Martinlogan Dynamo 700, Marantz SR5006, PS3, Oppo BDP-103D, Panamax M-5100PM
2ch Sony 32" W650A, Sonus faber Toy Monitor, REL T3, Marantz PM8004, Sony BDP-S1000ES, JVC T-X3 tuner, Apple TV, Peachtree Audio DAC•iT, Panamax MR4300
pc Monitor Audio Radius 90HD, Audioengine D1, FiiO A1
+ Sony 65" XBRX850B, Sony BDP-S5100
fatuglyguy is offline  
post #18 of 225 Old 03-13-2012, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not even an optical audio out? they've never had analog output.
romulux is offline  
post #19 of 225 Old 03-15-2012, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got my 37" 560 today. the product code has the 'Y' in it and i'm pretty sure it's an IPS, the difference in viewing angle between it and my last VA panel LG is night and day. i also haven't seen a single stuck pixel. the design of the set itself is great and it looks much better than the last few models LG has pumped out (no fake wood).

i booted up some games on the wii's VC to test lag and it's just the same as my last LG- none to speak of. i've been using a CRT for the past few months so if there were any delay over two frames i'd feel it. without even using game mode i couldn't pick up on any change, so at least with 480p there's no problem.

i can't say much picture-wise because it's hard to gauge black levels in daylight and i haven't tweaked the settings much yet. the motion is definitely better than my last LG, the 32lh20, not nearly as much streaking and moving objects don't lose as much detail even if they still blur up slightly.

i have just a few complaints. one is that i can't adjust the contrast high enough to set it correctly in picture wizard:


even all the way up it doesn't come close. aznxtc, i don't know if that's how your set is as well or not. i don't know if that's a problem or if this set just displays whites distinctly enough that they don't bloom even at full blast.

the other bummer is that the top of the TV is curved, so a sensor bar doesn't stay on very easily. not any problem if you don't have a wii.

looks pretty good so far. i may have gone overboard with the size (37 is huge compared to 32!) but it's a great value considering how how much you get for how little it cost.
romulux is offline  
post #20 of 225 Old 03-15-2012, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the write up. I think this will be my next tv.
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #21 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 12:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to answer the questions about the menu options, there are only expert options for color and tint; no luminance. the color filter option is also removed, which sucks because most color and tint tests require a blue filter.

the only addition i see is that you can now adjust color temp. by degrees with a bar in the regular settings in addition to the old "warm, cool, medium" settings in expert.

the picture is pretty great so far. i can tell that the blacks aren't as deep as my older 32lh20 but they're still good with the backlight on a lower setting. i'm having a hard time calibrating though, since the picture wizard and test patterns i have aren't agreeing with each other. i'm downloading the AVS free test disc to see if that gets better results.
romulux is offline  
post #22 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulux View Post

to answer the questions about the menu options, there are only expert options for color and tint; no luminance. the color filter option is also removed, which sucks because most color and tint tests require a blue filter.

Thanks for the info on the CMS settings. And that is unfortunate about the color filter. Don't understand that decision at all.

Which model did you purchase?
djams is offline  
post #23 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

Could you check the expert mode CMS settings and see if there are adjustments for color, tint and luminance? (previous models have only color and tint).

I see from the manuals on the LG site that the 2012 plasmas have 3D CMS. Unfortunately the LCD and LED manuals do not go into this level of detail, and I'm really interested in finding out if LG has corrected this shortcoming across all their models.

doesn't the "color" parameter affect luminance greatly, more so than saturation?

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Display: Samsung UN46EH6030 LED-LCD TV; Sound: Yamaha HTR-3066 AVR/AMP, Sony Core Bookshelves (Sony SS-CS5) and Center (Sony SS-CS8) as fronts, Yamaha NS-AP2600S Satellites as surrounds, Dayton Audio SUB-1200 (pending) to replace Yamaha YST-SW012 as subwoofer; Sources: PS4 (doubles as primary BD player), Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Motorola RNG150N (Cable Box)
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #24 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
aznxtc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

Could you check the expert mode CMS settings and see if there are adjustments for color, tint and luminance? (previous models have only color and tint).

I see from the manuals on the LG site that the 2012 plasmas have 3D CMS. Unfortunately the LCD and LED manuals do not go into this level of detail, and I'm really interested in finding out if LG has corrected this shortcoming across all their models.


yep it does.
aznxtc is offline  
post #25 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
aznxtc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulux View Post

even all the way up it doesn't come close. aznxtc, i don't know if that's how your set is as well or not. i don't know if that's a problem or if this set just displays whites distinctly enough that they don't bloom even at full blast.


I didn't use the wizard....I used my previous settings for pc use and it came out almost the same. this is the test i used for white saturation. http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/white.php
aznxtc is offline  
post #26 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 11:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

doesn't the "color" parameter affect luminance greatly, more so than saturation?

Hard to say which it affects more. Thing is,it affects both, which as you know is not ideal.
djams is offline  
post #27 of 225 Old 03-16-2012, 11:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznxtc View Post

yep it does.

Wait, what? You are confirming 3D CMS? There are adjustments for color, tint and luminance for each of the primary and secondary colors? This would be a great improvement.

I'm only asking for clarification because romulux indicated otherwise above.
djams is offline  
post #28 of 225 Old 03-17-2012, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
romulux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'll just show you the menus. this is the 37CS560's basic menu (now that i think of it, the color temp slider may only be for game mode):


this is the first page of expert settings:


third:


and the last. the adjustments for magenta and cyan are cut off but otherwise there's nothing else.
romulux is offline  
post #29 of 225 Old 03-17-2012, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulux View Post

i'll just show you the menus

Thanks. That settles it.
djams is offline  
post #30 of 225 Old 03-18-2012, 11:39 PM
Member
 
00firebird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this the direct replacement for the LK450/LK520? Can anyone speak to how they compare directly to these models? I was going to bite on a 450/520 but this might make me wait now. It is also very hard finding info/sellers for the CS570. Pricing seems nearly the same. oh and this thread needs more posts!

and whats with the jump from 37'' to 42'' costing $130 more on the CS560...
other question I'm still not sure on.. is the 120hz on the 570 a legitimate refresh rate or is it artifically increased with this "true motion" thing..
i guess the same question applies to LK450/520.
00firebird is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 42 Inch 42cs560 , Lg 47cs570 47 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off