HELP!!Sony Bravia not reading HDMI inputs - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By kiefer27
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Michael7272's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: N.Shore,MA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 65yr old aunt called me with an issue with her Sony Bravia KDL-46EX400 tv, she got a LG Blu-Ray. She is pretty tech savy and I trust her she hooked everything up right. I did have her double check everything while I was on the phone.

She said when she toggles the TV/Video to change the input, it is not recognizing the HDMI cable from the DVD player, it skips over the HDMI 1-4 inputs. Her HDTV cable box is using the component input because she had the same problem with that too. The Verizon tech setup that one for her.

I know with my own HDTV if the tv is not recognizing an input it skips it. Any ideas I should suggest to her?

Eighty percent of married men cheat in America! The rest do it in Europe! -Jackie Mason
Michael7272 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-04-2012, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
swolfcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael7272 View Post

My 65yr old aunt called me with an issue with her Sony Bravia KDL-46EX400 tv, she got a LG Blu-Ray. She is pretty tech savy and I trust her she hooked everything up right. I did have her double check everything while I was on the phone.

She said when she toggles the TV/Video to change the input, it is not recognizing the HDMI cable from the DVD player, it skips over the HDMI 1-4 inputs. Her HDTV cable box is using the component input because she had the same problem with that too. The Verizon tech setup that one for her.

I know with my own HDTV if the tv is not recognizing an input it skips it. Any ideas I should suggest to her?

So let me get this straight, her tv isn't recognizing any HDMI connection, regardless of what device it's connected to?

I recently had a issue with HDMI on my new Sony. Have her disconnect everything from her tv and only connect her DVD player via one HDMI connection. Under the Channels & Inputs setting on her tv, go to Manage Inputs and make sure the HDMI connections are selected to Enable "Always".

Once she connects the DVD player via HDMI, and everything else is disconnected, have her turn off her tv (w/ the DVD player still on). Then have her turn her tv back on. It should recognize the HDMI connection after turning it on again.

If her DVD player is a HDMI controlled device, it will be listed as such under Channels&Inputs>HDMI Settings>Device List. If it's listed under there (once her HDMI is recognized), she can enable Control in that menu. Also she need to have "Control for HDMI" On first, before you can enter that menu.

Check to see whether her HDMI Control setting is on or off. Also check the HDMI/DVI Audio Source setting under Sound.

---
If after this, her device is still not being recognized, I would suggest a Master Rest of her Sony. With the TV on, Hold the Up arrow on the Remote, then push the Power button on the TV (while holding the Arrow up). Her tv will turn off automatically, then turn On a few seconds later.
swolfcg is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-05-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I recently had a problem whereby my Sony TV would not recognize my Blu-ray player connected by HDMI. Turned out to be a bad HDMI cable. Replaced it and all was good.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-05-2012, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
swolfcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaldorfSalad View Post

I recently had a problem whereby my Sony TV would not recognize my Blu-ray player connected by HDMI. Turned out to be a bad HDMI cable. Replaced it and all was good.

A good thing to check, no doubt. My HDMI problem wasn't the cable, but I definitely ruled that out at the beginning.
swolfcg is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-06-2013, 11:41 AM
Newbie
 
kiefer27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had this issue, and called Sony support. They had me unplug the TV for one minute, plug it back in and power it on. Surprisingly it worked.

Before I called Sony, I tried turning the TV off and on, turning the devices on and off, unplugging and repluggiing in the devices, and doing a factory reset. . .nothing worked.

So, try unplugging for 1 minute, then plug in and power on, worked for me!
Grant11 likes this.
kiefer27 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-18-2014, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiefer27 View Post
I had this issue, and called Sony support. They had me unplug the TV for one minute, plug it back in and power it on. Surprisingly it worked.

Before I called Sony, I tried turning the TV off and on, turning the devices on and off, unplugging and repluggiing in the devices, and doing a factory reset. . .nothing worked.

So, try unplugging for 1 minute, then plug in and power on, worked for me!
_______

Unplugging the set for a minute, then powering it back on also worked for me! Now, my Bravia TV is again recognizing the DVD player hooked up to it. THANK YOU so much, Kiefer27, for your post.
Grant11 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Ex 400 Series 46 Inch Lcd Tv



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off