Official Samsung UNxxES8000 Owner's Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 16208 Old 04-17-2012, 11:16 PM
Member
 
dmeech10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys, can the es8000 pass through dolby digital 5.1 in through HDMI and out through optical to the receiver??
dmeech10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 01:07 AM
Newbie
 
Elands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon currently has the ES8000 60" for only about $300 more than the 55". I know that the 65" is not out yet and there is no certain answer to this question, but does anybody have a ballpark guess on how much more the 65" might be than the 60"?
-Thanks
Elands is offline  
post #723 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigraytk View Post

Tried your configs and they didn't work. Do you have any additional recommendations?

You tried changing the tv name?
Forgot if you're editing the files, you need to change
RendererName=Samsung AllShare
To RendererName=ES8000

Failing that, and if the name edit doesn't work, I'd have to point you over at the ps3media server forums, I don't have the TV in hand or I'd be able to sort it out pretty fast.

Also, when you make these changes, you need to fully exit the PS3MediaServer and restart it.
nitra is offline  
post #724 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 07:15 AM
Member
 
danielle_lyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamermwm View Post

Just updated to the new firmware v.1016 via USB. It completely fixed my GameMode issue where all the whites on screen turn pink until you switch sources then switch back (or power on/off the tv)
Game mode now works like it is supposed to

-Mike

Hi Mike,
Glad to hear that the game mode issue was solved with a firmware update. Since I have seen that you have been using game mode a lot with this tv. Can you tell me when using game mode, if it degrades the picture quality at all?

Thats the one thing I hate with my last years D8000 tv. When I go to play video games and turn on game mode, it looks awful and you barely have any settings to try to make it look better. Turn game mode off, the picture of the game looks stunning...but then you have all the lag
danielle_lyn is offline  
post #725 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 07:24 AM
Member
 
blkhwk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the es7500 and to the flashlight and clouding issues here, i too had that happen after having to rebox my tv and move it to our new home but with some light massaging with the provided microfiber towel it pretty much got rid of the issues. i did not have those issues before i reboxed so im under the impression that while the tv is being moved and in the back of a truck that the vibrations and movement could cause these issues.

nitra, congrats again on your set coming in. i know it was hell but itll be worth it. cant wait till you post up your settings.
blkhwk is offline  
post #726 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkhwk View Post

im under the impression that while the tv is being moved and in the back of a truck that the vibrations and movement could cause these issues.

Nail hit head on that one, transporting is a huge issue, panels don't take kindly to movement. Also, never lay them face down, this makes the above issue much worse.
nitra is offline  
post #727 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Needis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elands View Post

Amazon currently has the ES8000 60" for only about $300 more than the 55". I know that the 65" is not out yet and there is no certain answer to this question, but does anybody have a ballpark guess on how much more the 65" might be than the 60"?
-Thanks

I saw the UN65ES8000 at fry's for $3299, but I thought that was too cheap. Maybe it was labeled incorrectly, I thought it was going to cost more.
Needis is offline  
post #728 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
nitra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Needis View Post

I saw the UN65ES8000 at fry's for $3299, but I thought that was too cheap. Maybe it was labeled incorrectly, I thought it was going to cost more.

That price was likely correct. MSRP =/= retail.
nitra is offline  
post #729 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 11:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
JewDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Needis View Post


I saw the UN65ES8000 at fry's for $3299, but I thought that was too cheap. Maybe it was labeled incorrectly, I thought it was going to cost more.

I'm assuming you meant the 60ES8000 or the 65D8000. Samsung still doesnt show the 65" ES8000 on their website yet. Confused

JewDaddy is offline  
post #730 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 12:26 PM
Member
 
SiL3NCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just pulled the trigger on the 55" for the second time (First time the company wasn't able to ship to my location and had to cancel the order) fingers crossed the flashlighting and banding isn't too bad, if present.
SiL3NCE is offline  
post #731 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Needis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
-JewDaddy

I thought that too but I did a double take and reread the label. Tv was mounted on the wall so I couldn't check the actual model and I did notice the camera at the top so I knew it wasn't D8000. It seems the price cannot be right for a 65". I believe they misprinted the label. The price seems more like the 60" and not 65"
Needis is offline  
post #732 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
BigOrange84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Returned my LG 7600 last night due to some bad light bleeding and picked the 8000 up and so far I am loving it! Can another owner please tell me where the game mode is located on this set? I can't find it anywhere under the picture settings.
BigOrange84 is offline  
post #733 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's like the D8000, then it's in the "system" settings outside of the video settings.
Superfluous is offline  
post #734 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielle_lyn View Post

Hi Mike,
Glad to hear that the game mode issue was solved with a firmware update. Since I have seen that you have been using game mode a lot with this tv. Can you tell me when using game mode, if it degrades the picture quality at all?

Thats the one thing I hate with my last years D8000 tv. When I go to play video games and turn on game mode, it looks awful and you barely have any settings to try to make it look better. Turn game mode off, the picture of the game looks stunning...but then you have all the lag

After adjustments, Game Mode does not look terrible in my opinion. But the difference/degradation in picture quality is still noticeable when Game Mode is first turned on. There also appears to be a noticeable difference in brightness and color tone, even when set to "Warm 2". This is in part because Standard is still the only Picture Mode available in Game Mode, and if you use Movie Mode a lot (like me) then Standard mode is going to look off most of the time anyway because of what you're used to seeing

I adjusted my Game Mode settings to match my normal settings as much as possible (My Picture Settings adjustments are posted on p.23 of this thread). For Game Mode I left my backlight at 13, reduced brightness to 46, put gamma at -1, turned off dynamic contrast, and left color space and white balance as is for Standard Mode

Outside of Game Mode, one more thing worthy of mentioning is the way you change picture settings in Netflix/Vudu/Hulu. No longer do you need to press "Tools" on the remote to pull up a very limited amount of options to adjust (as on D8000). You now have access to the entire Main Menu and most options. Your streaming services share all of the options in this Menu, i.e. when you change a picture setting in Netflix, it is also changed in Vudu and Hulu

gamermwm is offline  
post #735 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 06:06 PM
Member
 
danielle_lyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats good to know about the apps. Thanks for the reply about game mode!
danielle_lyn is offline  
post #736 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielle_lyn View Post

Thats good to know about the apps. Thanks for the reply about game mode!

No problem! Good luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeech10 View Post

Hi Guys, can the es8000 pass through dolby digital 5.1 in through HDMI and out through optical to the receiver??

Yes. I use an optical cable back to my receiver as well, and have no problems getting 5.1 audio when watching Netflix/Hulu etc. If I want to watch a 7.1 audio film via Vudu, I'll use Vudu on my bluray player which can output 7.1 audio

gamermwm is offline  
post #737 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 08:20 PM
Member
 
SiL3NCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure if you guys were aware (seeing as how no one has mentioned it) but Cnet has posted a new review for the Samsung plasma PN51E8000. There was a lot of good things said about the tv in the review check it out if interested. Sorry if off topic but I felt it was kinda relative seeing as how this is a thread discussing a Samsung product.
SiL3NCE is offline  
post #738 of 16208 Old 04-18-2012, 09:16 PM
Member
 
dmeech10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kellyzb84 View Post

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN60ES8000-60-Inch-1080p-Silver/dp/B0074FGTJA

If you click on "11 new", I just saw one listed for something like $2,898.11 from another reseller.. unfortunately I don't have enough cash for one of those.. but that'd be a pretty decent deal seeing it's brand new.

Wow, who was the reseller?? A 60" for price of 55, sign me up.
dmeech10 is offline  
post #739 of 16208 Old 04-19-2012, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
Elands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had asked earlier what anyone's guess would be as to how much more the UN65ES8000 (65") would cost than the current UN60ES8000 (60"- which can be had for about $3200). I notice that it's only a $300 jump from 55" to 60" at the moment and I realize that the 65" is not available yet, but I'm just curious to see what people think the yet-to-be-released 65" might be acquired for. Trying to decide if it's even worth waiting for... I have a little bit more budget-wise, but only to a point. Thanks in advance!
Elands is offline  
post #740 of 16208 Old 04-19-2012, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
sirmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitra View Post

You tried changing the tv name?
Forgot if you're editing the files, you need to change
RendererName=Samsung AllShare
To RendererName=ES8000

Failing that, and if the name edit doesn't work, I'd have to point you over at the ps3media server forums, I don't have the TV in hand or I'd be able to sort it out pretty fast.

Also, when you make these changes, you need to fully exit the PS3MediaServer and restart it.

I tried the name change as well as your config file edits. I don't think it's a matter of PS3MediaServer failing to detect the TV - it shows up properly as Samsung AllShare. The problem is the TV is failing to show the server in the list of DLNA servers so I can't even attempt to connect or play content. Got any other debugging tips I can try?
sirmalloc is offline  
post #741 of 16208 Old 04-19-2012, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
sirmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigraytk View Post

I did have one before I was informed it was an issue. The rep had told me that they noticed certain DLNA servers were causing the TV's memory buffers to fill and this prompted the tv to restart in order to clear its buffers. It made perfect sense. He had also told me 1016 would fix this issue.

I filed a service request with Samsung and got a reply from the tech that it is indeed a network issue, and that if I called 800-SAMSUNG they could give me access to an unreleased firmware to fix the issue. I called them and they said they didn't have a firmware ready to release yet, but it was a known issue and they expect to have something within the next two weeks. I emailed the tech back and let him know they didn't have an update, and I guess he's looking into it and will get back to me.

Kinda annoying having to disconnect a Smart TV from the network to get it to stop restarting.
sirmalloc is offline  
post #742 of 16208 Old 04-20-2012, 03:43 PM
Member
 
thomaswadsworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need a new 65 in. I am stuck in a circle between Panny vt50 (have not seen yet) and sammy es8000; i have seen a 55 inch Panny ES in bb. High style marks (which do count).
Any and all thoughts, opinions are appreciated.
Tom
thomaswadsworth is offline  
post #743 of 16208 Old 04-20-2012, 07:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaswadsworth View Post

I need a new 65 in. I am stuck in a circle between Panny vt50 (have not seen yet) and sammy es8000; i have seen a 55 inch Panny ES in bb. High style marks (which do count).
Any and all thoughts, opinions are appreciated.
Tom

Wait for the Samsung ES 65" to be available near you and the Panasonic VT (due in a month). Don't decide until you can see both.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #744 of 16208 Old 04-21-2012, 12:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Just wanted to say how much I like the Samsung Smart View android app. Not to be confused with the older Samsung Remote app, the Smart View App was a Galaxy tab app that was ported over for use on phones around July of last year. It's a newer/more updated app that does everything the Remote app does and more

Unless you have a wireless keyboard/mouse, the Samsung Smart View is the best option in my opinion for using the built in web browser. One feature it has over the Remote App is a touchpad instead of the clunkier left right up down swipe pad used in the Remote app

This makes it much easier to move your cursor anywhere you want on screen and much easier/responsive than the TV's included Smart Touch touchpad. It is also fully functional as a keyboard for entering text, and as a remote for volume, channel, smart hub/family story/etc. access. It has the capability to be used as a second screen, but unfortunately not with this set as of yet. I would highly recommend giving it a try if you haven't already

gamermwm is offline  
post #745 of 16208 Old 04-21-2012, 11:48 AM
Member
 
jlomaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got the ES8000 home, it's a replacement for a D8000 that had some nasty uniformity. The difference between them is night and day. So far from my quick set-up and quickly pumping through some 50% gray the panel looks really uniform, I'll be testing it some more once it gets dark tonight, but so far it's a big difference. Though besides the uniformity the edge lights are much less noticeable on the ES. With the D the edge all around was slightly brighter. And for those that say the viewing angle on the ES is worse, I think your are crazy. So far it seems much more watchable on the sides compared to the D series. With the D the brightness of the picture wouldn't be uniform at all angled viewing, now I don't even see a difference other then the overall picture slightly darker.

I'll snap some test pics and what not once it gets dark.

Xbox Gamertag: Magaman
Editor in Chief - VGRevolution.com
jlomaga is offline  
post #746 of 16208 Old 04-21-2012, 02:08 PM
Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Viewing angle on the D8000 was noticeably better than the ES8000. Sorry to agree with other posters, jlomaga.
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #747 of 16208 Old 04-21-2012, 04:23 PM
Member
 
SkyYYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My set, unfortunately, has to be exchanged.... due to a bright white pixel that I encountered after "massaging" the screen. If you don't need to massage it due to backlight issues, I do NOT recommend the procedure.
SkyYYZ is offline  
post #748 of 16208 Old 04-21-2012, 05:27 PM
Member
 
flyguychad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyYYZ View Post

Viewing angle on the D8000 was noticeably better than the ES8000. Sorry to agree with other posters, jlomaga.

Highly disagree within my setup of course
flyguychad is offline  
post #749 of 16208 Old 04-21-2012, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
IsaacSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. My settings keep changing, I was wondering if I'm doing something wrong or what the deal is. And, to the best of my knowledge I am not in store demo mode.

Thanks
IsaacSG is offline  
post #750 of 16208 Old 04-22-2012, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
TIME2PLAYDAGAME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by IsaacSG View Post

Hey guys. My settings keep changing, I was wondering if I'm doing something wrong or what the deal is. And, to the best of my knowledge I am not in store demo mode.

Thanks

For which input? I believe the first HDMI/DVI doesn't save settings.
TIME2PLAYDAGAME is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Displays , Samsung Un46es8000 Led Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off