Official Samsung UNxxES8000 Owner's Thread - Page 542 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16231 of 16240 Old 08-29-2014, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
G_Sup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Santa Barbara,CA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFJ 96 View Post
I figured option B was the best option. I'm just glad the tech offered option B.

Hopefully this is will resolve the issue.

Thanks for the response G_Sup

Sent from my G2 via Tapatalk
Glad I could help! Please follow up once it's done and tell me if you could see any burn evidence inside the cable. It's small but fairly easy to see against the white plastic of the cable.
G_Sup is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16232 of 16240 Old 08-29-2014, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_Sup View Post
Glad I could help! Please follow up once it's done and tell me if you could see any burn evidence inside the cable. It's small but fairly easy to see against the white plastic of the cable.
Will do. Enjoy the holiday weekend

Sent from my G2 via Tapatalk
BFJ 96 is online now  
post #16233 of 16240 Old 08-31-2014, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavinwow View Post
Pulled the trigger on a 70 inch Vizio P series to go in the living room, and move the samsung to the basement. After living with all the issues of edge-lit panels, I am excited by the full array back lighting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tOF_Y_-zSQ
Vizio also has the "R" - Reference Series (4K/UHD) with FALD - Full Array Local Dimming. In this case, 384 zones.

I looked at their website and it said the screen sizes are 120" and 65" - - which is kind of weird to only have these two options.

The biggest TV I can fit in my man cave is 100" - which would retire my projector if I could get the right picture at the right price point.

I saw the LG 9300 OLED TV this past weekend. Absolutely stunning - - but the cost and image retention problems are a concern. Plus - it's a new technology.

I've been very happy with my Sammy set. I get deep, dark blacks - - maybe a combination of my Darbee Darblet with the Movie settings. There are occasions where I can see vertical banding but it really isn't noticeable in 90% of my viewing (never with Bluray.) I've looked at other sets at Costco and Best Buy and I really do not see anything better than what I have, save for OLED (picture wise) and 4K content - - which there isn't any.

I'm at least three years away from buying anything and hopefully by then, this will have sorted it self out.

Option wise - I see the following:

  1. UHD/4K - but no content. Bandwidth issues - - maybe HEVC will solve this but I think this technology is five years away from being close to mainstream.
  2. OLED - stone cold picture, gorgeous. But - - expensive and not without flaws. Plus - - a new technology.
  3. FALD - Full Array Local Dimming. I think this will be the most viable option, cost wise and PQ wise. It takes proven LCD/LED technology a step further and will provide the biggest bang for the buck - - IMHO.

Please let us know how your new Vizio compares, picture wise, to your Sammy set.


Best - Rico.

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED
BenQ W1080ST Projector
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp)
Wyred4Sound MMC-7 Channel Amplifier, 221wpc
OPPO 103, Directv GENIE
Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR)
CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS)
MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #16234 of 16240 Old 09-03-2014, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_Sup View Post
Glad I could help! Please follow up once it's done and tell me if you could see any burn evidence inside the cable. It's small but fairly easy to see against the white plastic of the cable.
G_Sup the Lead Cable did have burn evidence inside.

The tech replaced both the Lead Cable and Power supply. The Lead Cable was definitely thicker than the 1 he replaced.

Thanks again for the help.

Sent from my G2 via Tapatalk
BFJ 96 is online now  
post #16235 of 16240 Old 09-03-2014, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
G_Sup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Santa Barbara,CA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFJ 96 View Post
G_Sup the Lead Cable did have burn evidence inside.

The tech replaced both the Lead Cable and Power supply. The Lead Cable was definitely thicker than the 1 he replaced.

Thanks again for the help.

Sent from my G2 via Tapatalk
Awesome news, at least you now know the culprit!!! And back in action just in time for NFL kickoff! LOL
G_Sup is offline  
post #16236 of 16240 Old 09-03-2014, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by G_Sup View Post
Awesome news, at least you now know the culprit!!! And back in action just in time for NFL kickoff! LOL
I'm definitely looking forward to tomorrow's Packers/Seahawks game. Hopefully this TV handles motion as good as my Toshiba FALD

Sent from my G2 via Tapatalk
BFJ 96 is online now  
post #16237 of 16240 Old 09-09-2014, 10:14 AM
Member
 
cbatc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TV has developed a bad stuttering problem. Anybody got any custom settings on the amp to solve this?
cbatc is offline  
post #16238 of 16240 Old 09-09-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
 
cbatc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stuttering problem happens when watching Blurays via PS3. If i use Plex in the media hub, no stutter problem.
cbatc is offline  
post #16239 of 16240 Old 09-10-2014, 04:45 AM
Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbatc View Post
Stuttering problem happens when watching Blurays via PS3. If i use Plex in the media hub, no stutter problem.
Check the connection. It could be the hdmi cable. Does the PS3 stutter on other tvs? Have you tried connecting the two via component rather than hdmi or vice versa? Are you watching a 2d blu ray in 3D mode or vice versa?
poppagene is offline  
post #16240 of 16240 Old 09-14-2014, 11:58 PM
Member
 
BPWingN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, after owning a 55es7500 for almost 2 and a half years (and loving it) I gave up today and got a Panny TC-55AS660.
Last night the dreaded "on/off digital noise pattern loop" reared its' head for the 3rd time in under 3years of ownership. The motherboard was replaced the two times before. I see it seems it may be a power related problem, but quite frankly I have lost all faith in this set.
Thanks to all on this board. You have been a wealth of knowledge.
Enjoy your sets!
Bladerunner1959 likes this.

Samsung UN55ES7500, Oppo BDP-93, PS3, Pioneer VSX1326, Totem Mite (Front L/R), B&W LCR3(Center), Monitor Audio Radius 90 (Rear), Energy S-10.3 Sub.
BPWingN is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Displays , Samsung Un46es8000 Led Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off