Official LG XXLM7600 Owners Thread... - Page 106 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 3968 Old 03-12-2013, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 80
My replacement 7600 is on the way it will be here by Friday. I am hoping it will not have the same issues as the last. After speaking with LG technical support is was prompted to have a service technician replace the main board or simply return since I was within my window.
klopez3709 likes this.
Dr.Shankenstein is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 3968 Old 03-12-2013, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Howlrunner2070 View Post

I mean the display seems to slow down for a few seconds, it looks like slow motion for a few seconds. Seems to happen at almost every face off or close to it. It then seems to be fine, but again when there is a face off it looks like slow motion again for a few seconds.

Cheers.

That sounds more like a problem with the actual signal, but there is no way to tell without seeing it. What you describe happens sometimes on away games for Baseball, but again, I can't say for sure. In any case, that is not a normal characteristic of the TV.
Howlrunner2070 likes this.
tampa8 is offline  
post #3153 of 3968 Old 03-12-2013, 11:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
As mentioned software version 4.50.01.

"Patent Information" added to the menu

Clear Voice II menu in Sound settings has a slightly different look.

New Terms of Service - two screens

Some of the Icons in the Premium Apps are freshened

Some of the Icons in MY APPS are freshened

Edit Screen for the App Cards is different - possibly just different colors

Vudu version is 2.0001 (Don't remember what it was before - just 2.0?) Loaded much quicker.
Other Premium apps do have updates

Red Box now works, version 2

Amazon has slightly different interface - might be only a color change though version is still version 2.0

Did we have Google Maps before? We do now if we didn't.
klopez3709 likes this.
tampa8 is offline  
post #3154 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 03:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post

As mentioned software version 4.50.01.

"Patent Information" added to the menu

Clear Voice II menu in Sound settings has a slightly different look.

New Terms of Service - two screens

Some of the Icons in the Premium Apps are freshened

Some of the Icons in MY APPS are freshened

Edit Screen for the App Cards is different - possibly just different colors

Vudu version is 2.0001 (Don't remember what it was before - just 2.0?) Loaded much quicker.
Other Premium apps do have updates

Red Box now works, version 2

Amazon has slightly different interface - might be only a color change though version is still version 2.0

Did we have Google Maps before? We do now if we didn't.

Wondering if this will be for wide release - don't show any update yet in this neck of the woods.
klopez3709 is offline  
post #3155 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Howlrunner2070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

That sounds like a major problem with the rendering engine. Like it's losing frames in the pipeline and trying to resync. Either that or the data is getting to you that way. If you're driving this by Blu-Ray (and not via ethernet, nor STB), are you still able to see this?????


I don't think it's quite that drastic to be honest. I see the slow down mostly through watching hockey on Shaw Direct Satellite. I have the Set top connected to HDMI 1 using a High speed Hdmi Cable. I really only notice this slow down after a replay then a quick switch to where the puck is being dropped. Right after that the Frame rate is normal and all is great with the picture. Tampa8 I also noticed it briefly while watching the World Baseball Classic as well.

I have not noticed anything like this while watching a Blu-Ray movie or While Gaming on the Xbox. I think it could just be the Signal. I just find it odd that I only notice it during a Face-Off though.

Also another user I have been messaging has seen the same issue while watching Hockey on the same Model LG. I'm waiting to see if he is using Shaw Direct as well.
Howlrunner2070 is offline  
post #3156 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post

As mentioned software version 4.50.01.

"Patent Information" added to the menu

Clear Voice II menu in Sound settings has a slightly different look.

New Terms of Service - two screens

Some of the Icons in the Premium Apps are freshened

Some of the Icons in MY APPS are freshened

Edit Screen for the App Cards is different - possibly just different colors

Vudu version is 2.0001 (Don't remember what it was before - just 2.0?) Loaded much quicker.
Other Premium apps do have updates

Red Box now works, version 2

Amazon has slightly different interface - might be only a color change though version is still version 2.0

Did we have Google Maps before? We do now if we didn't.
even im on new firmware version, i dont have redbox, and amazon app. but i do see goodle maps as added.

Energy RC 70 fronts
Energy RC LCR center
Energy RC LCR surrounds
Rythmik LV12R and Mirage Omni 12 subwoofers
Denon 2112CI
caloyzki is offline  
post #3157 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howlrunner2070 View Post

I mean the display seems to slow down for a few seconds, it looks like slow motion for a few seconds. Seems to happen at almost every face off or close to it. It then seems to be fine, but again when there is a face off it looks like slow motion again for a few seconds.

Cheers.

That sounds more like a problem with the actual signal, but there is no way to tell without seeing it. What you describe happens sometimes on away games for Baseball, but again, I can't say for sure. In any case, that is not a normal characteristic of the TV.

Yeah, it's one of the reasons I added that it might be coming in that way. The longer I thought about it, I think I *also* saw that same thing happen on a CRT via Comcast. See if I can explain this properly, and not too "network software engineery".

I attributed it to the compression scheme used: In software sometimes if there is a sudden demand on the bandwidth (which is possible during harder to compress sections....such as a radical change in picture frames), a system can "choke" sometimes before re-syncing. I remember my thinking at the time was that the sudden increase in data (to many households) caused a snag within some bottleneck somewhere that already happened to be at its limit for some other reason at that moment.

Guess, upon guess, upon guess. But perhaps not entirely bad ones.

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #3158 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
bucknuts07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
What ever happend to the gentleman that purchased the LA7400 ? Did he ever start a thread on the new model ? I'm torn between another Panny Plasma, probably st60, or this new La7400, hoping their is better quality control, and better black levels.

Xbox Live- bucknuts07

 

PSN-bucknuts07

bucknuts07 is offline  
post #3159 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucknuts07 View Post

What ever happend to the gentleman that purchased the LA7400 ? Did he ever start a thread on the new model ? I'm torn between another Panny Plasma, probably st60, or this new La7400, hoping their is better quality control, and better black levels.

I just did. Have at it. He's a tad busy, so with his forgiveness smile.gif , I'll add his information to it.

Official 2013 LG xxLA7400 Owner's Thread

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #3160 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucknuts07 View Post

What ever happend to the gentleman that purchased the LA7400 ? Did he ever start a thread on the new model ? I'm torn between another Panny Plasma, probably st60, or this new La7400, hoping their is better quality control, and better black levels.

Frankly I couldn't care less about better black levels from the LG line at all. If they clean up their @#$%ing act with bleed/flashlighting/clouding and other generalized lighting mayhem, I'll be happy.

Also, if someone finds a way to file off that stupid drippy looking bump in the bottom bezel without tanking the display, I would be even happier.
klopez3709 likes this.

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #3161 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Bump?
tampa8 is offline  
post #3162 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 12:47 PM
Member
 
dbe425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Why the bump?
dbe425 is offline  
post #3163 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbe425 View Post

Why the bump?

He doesn't mean "bump" as in "bumping the thread".

He's referring to my complaint about this horrible looking atrocity dripping down from the middle of the bottom bezel here. The part of the bezel with the LG on it. {shudder} Gross. Cut it off.

Thing looks like TV acne.


WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #3164 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

Frankly I couldn't care less about better black levels from the LG line at all. If they clean up their @#$%ing act with bleed/flashlighting/clouding and other generalized lighting mayhem, I'll be happy.

Also, if someone finds a way to file off that stupid drippy looking bump in the bottom bezel without tanking the display, I would be even happier.

It is not nearly as bad in person as it may come across in pictures.
Dr.Shankenstein is online now  
post #3165 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 04:37 PM
Member
 
dbe425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

He doesn't mean "bump" as in "bumping the thread".

He's referring to my complaint about this horrible looking atrocity dripping down from the middle of the bottom bezel here. The part of the bezel with the LG on it. {shudder} Gross. Cut it off.

Thing looks like TV acne.


LOL I'm sure it's serves no function but the bump doesn't bother me. But to each his own.
dbe425 is offline  
post #3166 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
If that's supposed to be a 7600 - mine has no such bump....
tampa8 is offline  
post #3167 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 05:48 PM
Member
 
Howlrunner2070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post

If that's supposed to be a 7600 - mine has no such bump....

My 7600 does not look like that either. I like that one though as well.
Howlrunner2070 is offline  
post #3168 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 05:50 PM
Member
 
dbe425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No that's the new 2013 version. The 55LA7400. The bottom border is thinner but LG decided to add a "bump" which tgm1024 has serious issues with.
dbe425 is offline  
post #3169 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 615
Anyone who is looking to pickup a 55lm7600, NewEgg just dropped the price down to $1,249. Can get it for $1,199 if you pay with a credit card via V.me by Visa.

Check my thread here. Can use other credit cards besides Visa!

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1463220/lg-55lm7600-for-1-249-from-newegg-1199-after-coupon-code
eric3316 is offline  
post #3170 of 3968 Old 03-13-2013, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
Trauber103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that the bump might have looked cooler if had the same shape as the stand. Not an ascetic issue ill have to look at though. After a few months of searching I ended up purchasing a 47 7600 today. I got it price matched from amazon at 979. I ended up getting lucky with the BB sales guy because the price was from adorama. Since it had to be seen in the cart I added it and then printed out a page displaying my amazon cart. Didnt really mean to do it. I didnt notice that it wasnt really amazon selling it until it was in the store. Just decided to see what they would say and got lucky.

Thanks for all the info from this thread. Its nice to have some perspective on what to do and what to expect when I unbox the TV in a few days.
Trauber103 is offline  
post #3171 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 04:40 AM
Member
 
rebelx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, this is stupid question, but bear with me.

I have the 47LM7600 (and reside in the US). We'll be disconnecting our cable service (we only have basic cable at this point) entirely. Will my TV still receive channels considering that the switch from analog to digital was made? IIRC, this should only affect analog TVs, but since we've never had to deal with this, I'm not sure if all I would need to do is purchase an indoor antenna or if the same cable connection would continue to give us basic/local channels.
rebelx is offline  
post #3172 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 615
So, has anyone here switched from the lm6700 to the lm7600 and if yes do you notice any real differences between the two?

Also, does the 7600 have the same highly reflective screen?
eric3316 is offline  
post #3173 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelx View Post

OK, this is stupid question, but bear with me.

I have the 47LM7600 (and reside in the US). We'll be disconnecting our cable service (we only have basic cable at this point) entirely. Will my TV still receive channels considering that the switch from analog to digital was made? IIRC, this should only affect analog TVs, but since we've never had to deal with this, I'm not sure if all I would need to do is purchase an indoor antenna or if the same cable connection would continue to give us basic/local channels.

You just need an antenna, indoor if it picks up enough signals, otherwise outdoor. You than just scan for channels. The TV gets both analog and Digital over the air channels. Depending on where you live you can get several channels/sub channels including the four networks, PBS, and CW. In addition you may get ME TV, and/or Antenna TV, COZI, ION, etc....
tampa8 is offline  
post #3174 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 06:28 AM
Member
 
rebelx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post

You just need an antenna, indoor if it picks up enough signals, otherwise outdoor. You than just scan for channels. The TV gets both analog and Digital over the air channels. Depending on where you live you can get several channels/sub channels including the four networks, PBS, and CW. In addition you may get ME TV, and/or Antenna TV, COZI, ION, etc....

Thanks. I remember a couple years ago the cable rep told us that we'd have basic cable service but that it wouldn't show up on our bill (and after numerous plan changes, it's hard to tell what is what now). But now I'm not sure if we're getting our condo's roof antenna or if it's Comcast basic (since the channels you mentioned are basically what we get). Any way to find out for sure without explicitly having a lowly tier 1 rep at Comcast figure it out for me?
rebelx is offline  
post #3175 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbe425 View Post

No that's the new 2013 version. The 55LA7400. The bottom border is thinner but LG decided to add a "bump" which tgm1024 has serious issues with.

Not anymore. Fixed! (I have a circular saw)....
LL

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #3176 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

Not anymore. Fixed! (I have a circular saw)....
LL
Wow, you cut that so cleanly to. I'm impressed. Would have never known there was anything there.
eric3316 is offline  
post #3177 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Were you watching "JAWS" by chance...... smile.gif
tampa8 is offline  
post #3178 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 669
I don't know what you guys are talking about.

(LOL)

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #3179 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
About the switch from the 6700 to 7600. Better streaming from Netflix,etc., more Truemotion options (judder and deblur). The bezel frame has black sides (very thin) instead of all chrome.

Same screen reflection - which does not bother me. And the Harmony 650 includes codes for the 7600 which include the Home page. The 6700 codes did not.

I am not a super user by any means and probably don't know what good PQ really is, but I really love my 7600.
eric3316 likes this.
klopez3709 is offline  
post #3180 of 3968 Old 03-14-2013, 09:00 PM
Member
 
srd5335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after considering the LG 7600/7200 and Samsung 7100 I ended up getting the Sharp 60" 845 from Best Buy. No clouding. Only issue was screen had a jumping motion but i just had to restart my cable box. 3D looks good. Xbox 360 looks great. Got a 5 yr warranty for $190 through Visa Warranty. Had a great experience just recently with a 2yr old tv. They couldnt fix it so gave me my money back $1400!
srd5335 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Displays , Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Lg Nb3520a Sound Bar Audio System With Wireless Subwoofer Bluetooth Streaming , Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off