Official LG XXLM7600 Owners Thread... - Page 133 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 3973 Old 07-25-2014, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by flhthemi View Post
My imagination maybe but things seem a little snappier going through menus and stuff. Went from .03 to .07 so tweren't much.

I think I'm seeing that too; transitions from page to page--quick apps to inputs, to settings and SmartTV stuff--may be a wee bit faster.
JackN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 3973 Old 07-26-2014, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Leonheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Honduras
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hi guys, don't ya'll think they made a mistake about the 50 sharpness in the flatpanelhd review?



acklight 47
Contrast 85
Brightness: 50
V/H Sharpness: 50
Tint 0
Dynamic Contrast Off
Super Resolution Off
Colour Gamut Standard
Edge enhancer Off
Color Filter Off
Noise reduction Off
Mpeg noise reduction Off
Black level Low
LED local dimming Off
TruMotion Off
Color temperature Warm
Gamma 2.2
RGB Method 2 point
R high -6
G high -11
B high 18
R low -1
G low

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/review.p...&id=1333359799
Leonheart is online now  
post #3963 of 3973 Old 07-26-2014, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonheart View Post
Hi guys, don't ya'll think they made a mistake about the 50 sharpness in the flatpanelhd review?

Yes. I think that should be zero, or off.
JackN is offline  
post #3964 of 3973 Old 07-26-2014, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Leonheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Honduras
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackN View Post
Yes. I think that should be zero, or off.
Thanks, I thought so too, how about this part where it says RGB were switched?

Note: The Eco option is set to On/Off in the table because it depends on your preferences. Eco is the automatic brightness adjuster that adjusts brightness according to the surroundings. It is a practical setting if you watch TV during both daytime and nighttime but if you have a home cinema with controlled lighting, I suggest that you leave it off.
Also, the RGB high and low settings were switched around on our LM7600 sample. Check to see if they are on your TV as well.
Leonheart is online now  
post #3965 of 3973 Old 07-27-2014, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonheart View Post
Thanks, I thought so too, how about this part where it says RGB were switched?

Note: The Eco option is set to On/Off in the table because it depends on your preferences. Eco is the automatic brightness adjuster that adjusts brightness according to the surroundings. It is a practical setting if you watch TV during both daytime and nighttime but if you have a home cinema with controlled lighting, I suggest that you leave it off.
Also, the RGB high and low settings were switched around on our LM7600 sample. Check to see if they are on your TV as well.

Not sure whether they mean the settings were mislabeled, performing a different function than listed...or if they were displayed in the wrong order, etc. As for layout, my LM7600 is as flatpanels depicts.

Another recommended, more detailed calibration from CNET (the main review page is available in the link at the top of the page):

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_10...;threadListing
JackN is offline  
post #3966 of 3973 Old 07-28-2014, 02:11 PM
Member
 
flhthemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where the heck is this "ECO" setting? Could they really mean maybe EBU from the color gamut?
flhthemi is offline  
post #3967 of 3973 Old 07-28-2014, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by flhthemi View Post
Where the heck is this "ECO" setting? Could they really mean maybe EBU from the color gamut?

It refers to the Energy Saving setting, which is under: Settings, Picture Menu, and appears as "Energy Saving."
JackN is offline  
post #3968 of 3973 Old 09-14-2014, 05:33 PM
Member
 
flhthemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Have a problem..

2 times in the past couple of weeks, for no apparent reason, my 7600 just starts emitting a very high pitch. It's coming from the TV but not via the speakers. It's about the same pitch as a smoke alarm but a steady tone not like beeping. It's so loud you just about can not have a conversation. Everything else is normal but it also looses audio out to the surround amp and internal speakers. I can stop it by powering off the TV.

Not a real great situation for a TV less than 2 years old.

Anyone had this issue or heard of it?

Last edited by flhthemi; 09-14-2014 at 05:39 PM.
flhthemi is offline  
post #3969 of 3973 Old 09-21-2014, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Leonheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Honduras
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Perkins View Post
I am using the Cnet settings with sharpness at 20 and local dimming at med. Looks great. :roll eyes:
Hi, I was wondering if you still use those settings? Thanks
Leonheart is online now  
post #3970 of 3973 Old 09-21-2014, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
dennphill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Much as I am turning into a crusty OF these days, and I get irate at anything that I don't think is fair or justified (or reasonable), in this case I just turned around bent over to pick up the soap in the shower and I let LG have their way with me.
I can tell you I bought a Samsung Smart TV for my father-in-law when he moved up the street recently - I did not buy an LG. And I kept my kid from buying one when he moved into his new house and wanted large TV plastered on his LR wall. He got a Vizio. I've told everyone who would listen about my issues with LG and will never buy another of their products. Even my new Haswell PC, instead of an LG WH14NS40 BR/DVD writer, I got a Pioneer BDR-2209! Times are getting tough...just wait til Alibaba runs Amazon out of business.
A thanks to all contributing to this board - very educating. Wish I didn't have to read.
dennphill is offline  
post #3971 of 3973 Old Today, 06:34 PM
Member
 
powrwrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWIII


The TV outputs 5.1 channel sound if the source is the TV (e.g., its tuner or an app like Netflix). It does not pass 5.1 channel sound out of its optical or HDMI ARC if the input is another HDMI device like a Blu-ray or cable box.

Almost every TV is the same in this respect. If you're thinking "hey... that means that a 5.1 soundbar--which promised easy setup via one optical cable--is useless!" then you're correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
Sure it does. As the poster above, I have my Dish network receiver connected to my TV.(n one configuration, and directly to my audio receiver also) If I use the optical out to my audio receiver, the sound is 5.1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMcCraryNJ
Don't think that's correct. I have a cable box, PS3, and 360 connected to the TV via HDMI, and an optical cable going from the TV to a 7.1 Onkyo receiver. Doing it this way because the receiver is an older model that does not support 3D, ARC, or Deep Color.

My receiver gets a 5.1 signal from every source.
Quote:
Originally Posted by flhthemi
Same here. PS3, AT&T Uverse STB send 5.1 to my Yamaha amp via optical outpit.

I am revisiting this subject. I've got a 13 year old Sony receiver STR-DE945, non-HDMI equipped, that has 2 optical audio inputs. My PS3's sound is connected to one of these optical inputs. The LG LM7600's audio is hooked up to the other optical audio input. Obviously, if I play the PS3 I get 5.1 surround sound. If I watch streaming videos via Amazon or Vudu using the LG TV apps I get 5.1 surround sound. If I watch video content recorded on an external hard drive or USB thumb drive through the USB port on the LM7600 I get 5.1 surround sound. The only time I don't get 5.1 surround is when I watch TV through my Comcast Xfinity Cisco RNG 200 cable box, which is hooked up to the LM7600 via HDMI cable.

I've checked all the audio settings on the cable box--I can't get 5.1 surround from the cable box through the TV. I've got the latest updates for the TV. If I hook up the optical cable between the cable box and the Sony receiver I get 5.1 surround. But then I have to monkey with the A/V synch controls. And if I want to watch content on the external hard drive I have to swap the optical cable from the cable box output to the TV output.

What is the difference between my setup/equipment and you other guys so that you are able to get 5.1 surround sound from TV to receiver and I can't?

Did you guys do the hack described here?:
Official LG XXLM7600 Owners Thread...

This is infuriating...
powrwrap is online now  
post #3972 of 3973 Old Today, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 39
You will see the very next post in your link is mine saying I did indeed make that change and it worked. I did not use the RCA remote as my Harmony remote automatically populates the needed commands to get to that menu when you put in you have an LG7600.
I thought I read newer manufactured 7600's came with the correct setting but I could be wrong. I see it as the only time you do not get 5.1 is when the sound comes from an HDMI cable. My first thought is your audio receiver is too old to get that source from an HDMI cable.

Last edited by tampa8; Today at 06:51 PM.
tampa8 is online now  
post #3973 of 3973 Old Today, 07:44 PM
Member
 
powrwrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
You will see the very next post in your link is mine saying I did indeed make that change and it worked. I did not use the RCA remote as my Harmony remote automatically populates the needed commands to get to that menu when you put in you have an LG7600.
I thought I read newer manufactured 7600's came with the correct setting but I could be wrong. I see it as the only time you do not get 5.1 is when the sound comes from an HDMI cable. My first thought is your audio receiver is too old to get that source from an HDMI cable.
Good to see you are still on this thread, Tampa8. I guess my question about the hack was directed at MMcCraryNJ and flhthemi, as I had searched this thread for any posts by them mentioning audio, 5.1, and the hack but I didn't find anything. I'm going to assume they did it.

My cable box is connected to the TV with an HDMI cable. The TV sound output goes through an optical cable to the audio receiver as I don't have HDMI inputs on my receiver. As I said, I can get 5.1 surround from my TV through the optical cable to my receiver if the source is Amazon Prime Video or Vudu or if I use a recorded source from an external drive via the USB ports on the TV. Just not through the HDMI connected to the cable box.

I guess I'll have to do the hack.
powrwrap is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Displays , Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Lg Nb3520a Sound Bar Audio System With Wireless Subwoofer Bluetooth Streaming , Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off