Official LG XXLM7600 Owners Thread... - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3962 Old 03-18-2012, 02:33 PM
Member
 
thegraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I just got back from BB and ordered this TV. It should be in on the 23rd so I will have a review by next weekend. It really looked amazing at the store. They had it in the Magnolia room so the light was low and it looked outstanding.

The guy at the store told me it came with a standard remote and the wand, but I told him I didn't think so due to all the reviews I have seen so far.

I received the free sound bar and extra glasses, so now just waiting on the TV.
thegraz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3962 Old 03-18-2012, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Graz hope you enjoy it, let us know what settings you end up with
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #63 of 3962 Old 03-18-2012, 04:55 PM
Member
 
tommypolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought this TV on 3/12. I wanted the 55LW6500 but it was soo hard to find anywhere, then the 2012 models came out and BB had the special with the sound bar and extra glasses. I jumped on it. I'm still trying to get the picture to where I like it. I'm replacing a Panasonic 1080i plasma. My first complaint was the "soap opera effect on blu-ray movies. I read that turning off the Tru-Motion will fix that. I can't quite get the brightness/contrast/color to my liking. Still working on it, I WANT to like this TV!
tommypolo is offline  
post #64 of 3962 Old 03-18-2012, 08:11 PM
Newbie
 
cwiley2566's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, my 55LM7600 was delivered 3/17 and I'm having trouble getting the picture the way I want it. Anyone have suggestions or settings to share?
cwiley2566 is offline  
post #65 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
elykoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the free sound bar? Is it good or junk?
elykoj is offline  
post #66 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:00 AM
Member
 
eRod v1.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elykoj View Post

How is the free sound bar? Is it good or junk?

It's my first sound bar, and I think it's perfect for a bedroom. I was unsure about it in the big box store, where there was so much noise. Got it into my bedroom, and it is great for it. And I it came with the TV so I can't complain.
eRod v1.0 is offline  
post #67 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:26 AM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
technical question on how to set up this TV.

I mentioned before that my current Pioneer Elite Receiver does not support 3D.
currently my PS3 and Directv go to the receiver via HDMI and then HDMI to my TV.
Well, I guess I cannot do this anymore unless I want to buy a new receiver.

also to get the audio from the 7600 apps/content thru my surround setup I will need an optical cable to the receiver as well.

So......can I now run the HDMI from the source (Ps3, DTV) to the 7600. The audio & video comes to the TV over HDMI, then the TV sends the audio to the receiver over optical audio out?

If I can do this then I guess Im switching sources at the TV instead of the receiver.

I have a 5.1 system. Will I lose any audio quality thru the TVs conversion?

thanks. really enjoying this set.
Watched Wild Oceans 3D blu-ray last night and it was simply stunning. I didnt see anything better at Bestbuy coming from the Samsungs.
jeffro23 is offline  
post #68 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jeffro I had the same problem...I had a Yamaha 7.1 receiver that did not support 3d. Now my components go straight to the 7600 with optical out to the soundbar. Hdmi1 is the arc audio return channel, have you tried that out to the receiver?
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #69 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 11:41 AM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the response, Im not familiar with ARC but just by the sound of it seems like you can return audio to the receiver from the TV via HDMI.

i just searched for Pioneer Elite VSX-01TXH and didnt see it listed. Elite my a$$ Says it supports HDMI 1.3a. maybe thats my problem. though did see where others have gotten it to work with this receiver's pass through. so who knows. Ill see if theres a firmware update.

So the proposed change sounds like your setup with teh soundbar. Its good to hear that the TV will send the HDMI audio back out via the optical.

Is there any audio quality loss this way that you know of? thx again
jeffro23 is offline  
post #70 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
brinyhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DedicatedHT View Post

Jeffro I had the same problem...I had a Yamaha 7.1 receiver that did not support 3d. Now my components go straight to the 7600 with optical out to the soundbar. Hdmi1 is the arc audio return channel, have you tried that out to the receiver?

I am in the same boat with a hdmi 1.3a compliant receiver However companies like Oppo are making 3D players with 2 HDMi out ports. One to the receiver for lossless audio and one directly to the television. My brother currently has this setup and it works perfectly.
brinyhenry is offline  
post #71 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Of course there will be audio loss..your not going to get truehd or dts-ma. It's ok for me because it's only the living room and the big setup is in our media room. If this is your big setup you need to upgrade your receiver to get hd audio.
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #72 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 01:46 PM
Member
 
romanoj2248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw someone ask earlier, any early reviews on the input lag? I'm considering this while I wait for the Panny DT50. I know LG used to have a good reputation for input lag. 50% of this TV's use will be for xbox360 and then the next xbox after that. Any input would be appreciated.
romanoj2248 is offline  
post #73 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 01:50 PM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


If this is your big setup you need to upgrade your receiver to get hd audio.


I guess I may just run audio cables from the source players to the receiver seperately and just switch the video at the TV and the audio at the receiver.
At least I should be able to program my Harmony One to do this. Though I will also have the magic motion remote handy.


didnt mean to hijack this thread but Im sure this is something many will have to consider if this is their first 3D TV purchase and you have an existing AV receiver setup
jeffro23 is offline  
post #74 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 02:24 PM
Member
 
tommypolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would appreciate it if someone that has tweaked their video settings for a good picture could post those settings. I still can't get the brightness and contrast to my liking, let alone the miriad of other video settings. It is either too bright or washed out. I recognize that my room conditions will be different from others, but I'd like to get a decent starting point. Maybe you could report your room conditions, bright or dark. Thanks in advance.
tommypolo is offline  
post #75 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 03:10 PM
Member
 
Anoop Parwani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How different is the LED+ of this TV compared to Edge lit LED TV's?
Anoop Parwani is offline  
post #76 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 05:09 PM
Member
 
tommypolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, with these settings the picture is much better:

Backlight:100
Contrast:100
Brightness: 52 (too much here gave me the washed out look)
Sharpness:26
Color:51
Tint:0
Color Temp:0

Seems odd that I need 100 on backlight and contrast, but that's what works for me at least while watching cable tv with a Scientific Atlanta 8300HD DVR connected to receiver via component and receiver to tv via HDMI.
tommypolo is offline  
post #77 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 05:11 PM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DedicatedHT View Post

lkaufma1...settings/picture mode/picture option


That's what I thought, but the TRU Motion settings don't seem to be there anymore. There is no option for it at all. Plus some of the other settings appear to be grayed out. Weird! Do you have to be in Cinema picture setting to get it to appear?

Could it be because I have my Directv flowing thru Onkyo NR609 and then out to the TV??

So confused.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #78 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 06:21 PM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Picture Options are as follows:

Noise reduction off
MPEG noise reduction off
Black level low
Real Cinema grayed out cant change
Eye care off
LED local dimming Low

No option for Tru Motion at all.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #79 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try picture reset to get back to factory settings, then go straight to tru motion off?
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #80 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 06:37 PM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Didn't work. Still no Tru motion options.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #81 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
elykoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try it without the receiver. Go cable box directly to tv via hdmi. See if it shows up. I have had this tv for a week now and still don't have it set up. Waiting on new DVR from AT&T tomorrow.
elykoj is offline  
post #82 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:18 PM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tried going directly into tv with diretv hdmi, but no dice. Tru motion options are just nowhere.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #83 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
zecob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIME2PLAYDAGAME View Post

I thought everyone knew that by now? Passive is 540 to each eye which equals 1080. Yes, LG TV's were certified last year as full 1080p 3D HD but your eyes & the specs don't lie. Active shutter glasses are full 1080p to each eye. That's just a fact

I work in the video production industry and although I may not be a professional video engineer, I can tell you that throwing out the whole "540 lines to each eye" argument is a little misleading. On a technical level you may be correct, but by that logic we would also have to say that OTA broadcasting is only 540 lines to BOTH eyes at the same time. Anybody here want to tell me that 1080i OTA is inferior to 1080p cable/satellite TV?....I think not!!! All this talk reminds me back during the early years of HD when people thought it was better to get a 720p hdtv rather than a 1080i one, because they claimed 1080i was really only 540 so you got more resolution out of 720p. Those were the silly years....and I had professors at my college telling me that!!! Bottom line, 1080p is preferred, but that doesn't mean interlaced is a bad thing either. And although my OTA analogy is not a completely apples-to-apples example compared to the passive versus active 3D debate......I do hope it sends the point home that both technologies give a very similar end result; their methods are the big difference. So again, on a technical level it is hard to dispute your facts, but in the real world our eyes can't tell the difference between two alternating 540 line images and a progressive 1080 line image.

But what I really came here to say is that most 3D still sucks. BUT the situation is getting better because of two reason: (1) with the RED EPIC camera, more films are being shot in 3D (Hobbit, Spiderman) instead of being post-converted...yuck. (2) directors are finally starting to realize you have to change the way you shoot a film when in 3D. Camera techniques (framing/shooting style/etc) that have been commonplace for years do always not translate well in 3D. A small example of this is how Michael Bay shot Transformers 3 different than how he typically shoots his films; less crazy handheld, less crazy editing. I am also very interested to see how The Hobbit looks in 3D, since Peter Jackson is shooting that film at 48fps. The jury is still out on that one, but I always said Avatar's action scenes would have been less annoying if shot at a higher frame rate. I personally hate the whole 120hz phase tv manufacturers have started, but a "smoother" look might actually solve some of the problems I have with 3D. But lets add the "smoothing" on the front end when its shot and NOT on the back end like with this stupid videogame-looking 120hz BS.
zecob is offline  
post #84 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Phantastica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by romanoj2248 View Post

I saw someone ask earlier, any early reviews on the input lag? I'm considering this while I wait for the Panny DT50. I know LG used to have a good reputation for input lag. 50% of this TV's use will be for xbox360 and then the next xbox after that. Any input would be appreciated.

There's definitely input lag if the tv is set to anything other than Game mode. I played around with different settings on Dirt 3. Granted, I'm beaming my signal over WHDMI, but WHDMI really is in the 1ms range, which is incredibly low. With the TV in standard mode, it "feels" like there's about 15-20ms of lag, perhaps more. I'm using experience with ASIO audio input as a point of reference. This is most noticeable in the menus, where moving up or down in the options is fairly snappy on a monitor. When racing, I found that I was over-controlling due to lag and it had a pretty negative impact on the whole experience.

In game mode, things felt much snappier and I had no issues with the control.

So I would say that you would definitely want to be in game mode for any type of game that requires responsive controls. I'd love to see an actual measurement of the lag between the different modes.

Regarding the sound bar...it functions great, the auto-power feature is nice, but I'm having a hard time getting any decent response from the sub-woofer. Perhaps I'm not running it loud enough to hit the sweet spot. The audio has been lacking "oompf" so far.
Phantastica is offline  
post #85 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Phantastica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkaufma1 View Post

Didn't work. Still no Tru motion options.

Sure you're talking about the LM7600? The LM6700 definitely doesn't have the TruMotion option, but the 7600 should list it, even if it's greyed out (which it may do based on being in Game mode).
Phantastica is offline  
post #86 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:39 PM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantastica View Post

Sure you're talking about the LM7600? The LM6700 definitely doesn't have the TruMotion option, but the 7600 should list it, even if it's greyed out (which it may do based on being in Game mode).

Yes I have the 7600. Software version 03.02.83
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #87 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:40 PM
Member
 
moparbob7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey guys, is the xvycc option grey out on the 7600? It it says off. I have my PS3 and some blu rays playing. I think on my old tv it said it was on so I know my PS3 setting are right.

Thanks,
Bob
moparbob7 is offline  
post #88 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:40 PM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my settings currently are

Backlight:100
Contrast:81
Brightness: 57
Sharpness:49
Color:56
Tint: R4
Color Temp: C45


Its still a little bright, I was adjusting it during one of the tournaemnt games last night and I think the arena lighting was dark.
Ill keep messing around with it.

got to get a good mix btw back light , contrast and brightness.

seems like backlight has to remain high otherwise its just too dim
jeffro23 is offline  
post #89 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 07:54 PM
Member
 
snoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I just bought the 55 inch version. Overall I'm very pleased with the set and it's a HUGE improvement over the samsung it replaced.

However one thing has me concerned. It's very intermittent (maybe twice during 3 hours of viewing) but i get a white screen flash. It is a flash most definitely.

From what we can tell it only happens with HDMI connected devices. We have not seen it with OTA. HDMI devices are a PS3, Samsung Blu Ray and an apple TV

Any ideas?
snoguy is offline  
post #90 of 3962 Old 03-19-2012, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try putting picture mode in standard..that's where mine is and tru motion settings are available?
DedicatedHT is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Displays , Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Lg Nb3520a Sound Bar Audio System With Wireless Subwoofer Bluetooth Streaming , Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off