Official LG XXLM7600 Owners Thread... - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 11:37 AM
Member
 
hornedbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moparbob7 View Post

Well I exchanged my 47LM7600 because of real bad flashlighting in the upper corners and across the the top. The 2nd TV is 100% better. Just a little clouding in the left corners but not really bad. I am happy Now!!!!!! I am still trying to figure out the setting.

Does anybody else notice the vertical banding when the scene scans left or right? I really see it on bright or sky scenes. I think it has to do with local dimming. When I turn it off, I really dont see it maybe just a little tiny bit. I tried low, medium, and high and still see it.

I noticed vertical banding yesterday while watching bright scenes (entire screen area is a solid color) ... it is not noticeable during regular scenes ... not sure what would qualify as a worse vertical banding scenario .... I haven't tried changing local-dimming, i'll give that a go tonight
hornedbronco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 01:57 PM
Member
 
benjamin247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Bay, Cali.
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally hooked up my tv and all I can say is..."I LOVE THIS TV!" 2D-3D conversion is amazing. Still waiting for my 3D Bluray player to come in. The 2D is excellent as well.
benjamin247 is offline  
post #243 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 04:00 PM
Member
 
DarenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 47LM6700 delivered about an hour ago. Going to spend the next few hours installing on the wall and playing with my new toy.

CAN'T WAIT!!!!!
DarenG is offline  
post #244 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 04:01 PM
Member
 
taxman193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow.. I can't believe this. I posted earlier about the True Motion and how I did not see a difference when toggling between the different options. My Sony with the same 240 True Motion made an immediate impact.

So I called LG customer service. Guess what .. they acknowledged that they sold these TV's as 240 but the True Motion is not working right now and it will not change the refresh rate. So you may be toggling between the different True Motion selections but the truth is the refresh rate is still 60hz. They said their engineering department is working on a software fix. So let me get this straight, I purchased the higher end TV because I wanted the ability to get 240hz ( I know internally ) and this tv was sold as a 240 but right now no one is getting a refresh rate greater then 60hz. Who knows when and if they will ever change the software.

I knew it wasn't right. With the Sony there was a huge difference when selecting the different true motion options. This TV is a farce. I don't know if I should return it now ..but this made of broke the straw.
taxman193 is offline  
post #245 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 04:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Edit


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave Mack is offline  
post #246 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 04:32 PM
Member
 
tommypolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman193 View Post

Wow.. I can't believe this. I posted earlier about the True Motion and how I did not see a difference when toggling between the different options. My Sony with the same 240 True Motion made an immediate impact.

So I called LG customer service. Guess what .. they acknowledged that they sold these TV's as 240 but the True Motion is not working right now and it will not change the refresh rate. So you may be toggling between the different True Motion selections but the truth is the refresh rate is still 60hz. They said their engineering department is working on a software fix. So let me get this straight, I purchased the higher end TV because I wanted the ability to get 240hz ( I know internally ) and this tv was sold as a 240 but right now no one is getting a refresh rate greater then 60hz. Who knows when and if they will ever change the software.

I knew it wasn't right. With the Sony there was a huge difference when selecting the different true motion options. This TV is a farce. I don't know if I should return it now ..but this made of broke the straw.

I see a huge difference with tru motion on. If it is a television show or movie, I hate it. It looks like a soap opera. The increased clarity shows the scene as an obvious set. But with live action sports it is wonderful!
tommypolo is offline  
post #247 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 04:37 PM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommypolo View Post

I see a huge difference with tru motion on. If it is a television show or movie, I hate it. It looks like a soap opera. The increased clarity shows the scene as an obvious set. But with live action sports it is wonderful!


Agreed. I think with it on, it give the soap opera effect way too much. Turned off, it looks much more natural. Immediate effect.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #248 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegraz View Post

Another good review. Im glad Im not the only one that loves this TV

I wonder how he reviewed the Dual Gaming, since I can't seem to find the glasses anywhere. Maybe he was using the wrong glasses. /shrug

close an eye! or just mod the glasses with two left and two right lenses. I kept my realD 3d glasses from the theater everytime I go, so I could do this without messing with the LG Cinema glasses.

Threefiddie is online now  
post #249 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 05:53 PM
Member
 
mozilla314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_omega42 View Post


These are very nice settings. What's your Color set to, though? I'm guessing something between 53~60, but I could be wrong.

Color between 50-60 depending on the content.
mozilla314 is offline  
post #250 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 06:07 PM
Member
 
taxman193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe you do see a difference in True Motion, I really do not at least not compared to my other Sony that had 240hz but call LG and ask them if there are any problems with this model and the 240hz. They will tell you that right now, the 240 is not working and engineering is working on it trying to come up with a software update.

The point is they sold this TV as a 240hz TV but it is not working and you are not increasing the refresh rate at all. Granted, it sill has a good picture but why did we pay the premium for a 240 if it's not true? Other LED TV's that are selling as 240 at least really do change the refresh rate.

My tv is going back tomorrow. Just came back from Bestbuy to talk to them about it. Can't decide now whether to exchange it for the Samsung LED or a 65inch Panasonic plasma. I like the Samsung and I know some people commented here that it has a great picture. It did in the store but it was pricey at $2400 ( with blue ray player which I don't need and a pair of glasses). The Panasonic 65 inch is on sale for $1900 but I would have to buy glasses.

Any thoughts on plasma vs led or on these tv's ?

To bad I liked the LG and passive 3d but that just blows my mind that they are selling this as a 240hz tv when the software is not working.
taxman193 is offline  
post #251 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 06:29 PM
Member
 
moparbob7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman193 View Post

Maybe you do see a difference in True Motion, I really do not at least not compared to my other Sony that had 240hz but call LG and ask them if there are any problems with this model and the 240hz. They will tell you that right now, the 240 is not working and engineering is working on it trying to come up with a software update.

The point is they sold this TV as a 240hz TV but it is not working and you are not increasing the refresh rate at all. Granted, it sill has a good picture but why did we pay the premium for a 240 if it's not true? Other LED TV's that are selling as 240 at least really do change the refresh rate.

My tv is going back tomorrow. Just came back from Bestbuy to talk to them about it. Can't decide now whether to exchange it for the Samsung LED or a 65inch Panasonic plasma. I like the Samsung and I know some people commented here that it has a great picture. It did in the store but it was pricey at $2400 ( with blue ray player which I don't need and a pair of glasses). The Panasonic 65 inch is on sale for $1900 but I would have to buy glasses.

Any thoughts on plasma vs led or on these tv's ?

To bad I liked the LG and passive 3d but that just blows my mind that they are selling this as a 240hz tv when the software is not working.

Dude calm down..... read this article.....

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2379206,00.asp
moparbob7 is offline  
post #252 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 06:40 PM
Member
 
taxman193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[Dude calm down..... read this article.....

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2379206,00.asp[/i]


"Dude" I did read the article. I fully understand ( at least now I do) that the incoming signal is only 60hz but I don't think you get what is going on with these tv's. The 240hz is suppose to internally change the refresh rate. I understand some people don't like this but then why would you pay a premium for the 240? I do like it and want the ability to have the tv artificially change the refresh rate like a plasma. This tv is sold as a 240 BUT THE SOFTWARE is not working. It is NOT changing the refresh rate like it is suppose to. This is not a problem on one TV it is a problem on ALL the tv's. Call them ! They will explain they are aware of the problem that the software never worked to begin with and "engineering" is working on fixing it and they will inform everyone when and if a fix comes. I am not waiting around. Truth is, this is a law suit waiting to happen, especially if they can't fix it. You can't sell a tv as 240 when it never worked to begin with !

I know the difference because I had a tv that worked with changing the refresh rate.

If your happy that's great but you shouldn't of had to pay the premium for a 240hz tv when it is no different then the 120hz they sell for much cheaper.

So yeah, now that I know I was not crazy after playing with the True Motion..I am calm and just trying to figure out which TV to exchange it for. They may have a software update that will fix it but like the BestBuy guy said... I doubt it can be fixed with a software update.
taxman193 is offline  
post #253 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 06:54 PM
Member
 
torres0428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered this TV and since I knew it didn't come with a standard remote I purchased one on ebay from the 2011 models. I hope it works since the RCA remote works to access the service menus
torres0428 is offline  
post #254 of 3969 Old 04-02-2012, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
MentalDistortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman193 View Post

Maybe you do see a difference in True Motion, I really do not at least not compared to my other Sony that had 240hz but call LG and ask them if there are any problems with this model and the 240hz. They will tell you that right now, the 240 is not working and engineering is working on it trying to come up with a software update.

The point is they sold this TV as a 240hz TV but it is not working and you are not increasing the refresh rate at all. Granted, it sill has a good picture but why did we pay the premium for a 240 if it's not true? Other LED TV's that are selling as 240 at least really do change the refresh rate.

My tv is going back tomorrow. Just came back from Bestbuy to talk to them about it. Can't decide now whether to exchange it for the Samsung LED or a 65inch Panasonic plasma. I like the Samsung and I know some people commented here that it has a great picture. It did in the store but it was pricey at $2400 ( with blue ray player which I don't need and a pair of glasses). The Panasonic 65 inch is on sale for $1900 but I would have to buy glasses.

Any thoughts on plasma vs led or on these tv's ?

To bad I liked the LG and passive 3d but that just blows my mind that they are selling this as a 240hz tv when the software is not working.

i was at bestbuy earlier today looking at this tv. I could definitely notice the "soap opera" look. its a nice Tv, just wish i could afford it. decided to go with the 47 lm6700 model because sears priced matched the frys ad, and i got it for a total of $839 which fit perfectly into my budget.
MentalDistortion is offline  
post #255 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 05:04 AM
Member
 
thegraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I change my TruMotion settings, I can see a difference. Someone had to return a TV because the TruMotion was greyed out on their 7600. Maybe this is the software fix they are talking about. Mine is working, that is all I know.
thegraz is offline  
post #256 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 05:15 AM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegraz View Post

When I change my TruMotion settings, I can see a difference. Someone had to return a TV because the TruMotion was greyed out on their 7600. Maybe this is the software fix they are talking about. Mine is working, that is all I know.


I was the one who had to return it. But it was because the 7600 I had didn't even give me the option of the TruMotion within the menu. It wasn't grayed out, it was just flat missing!

Now I have my replacement with the TurMotion option available in the menu and have turned it off anyway. Too soap opera-like for me.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #257 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 05:24 AM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkaufma1 View Post

Just mounted my third set. I can now happily say this is the tv I've been wanting. No issues with:

1) HDMI
2) Flashlighting
3) Tru Motion settings

I am one happy LG 557600 owner!!


so you returned two 7600s and the 3rd has no flashlighting?

how did this problem compare across all 3 sets?
jeffro23 is offline  
post #258 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 05:32 AM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, my first set had bad flashlighting across the top. Annoying when playing movies that had the black bar at the top. It also had two HDMI ports that when I plugged in my bluray, weird sparkles like glitter appeared all over the picture. The second one I had, was much better with the flashlighting, but as I said the TruMotion setting was just missing from the picture option menu completely. Since I KNEW from my first set it was available, I again returned it to BB. In fact BB was really great throughout this whole process. Both times they delivered and removed the old sets so I didn't have to lift a finger.

So, finally the third set, has no flashlighting, no hdmi issues and I can now see the TruMotion option again.

I did call LG about the missing TruMotion and they said it was "not a shock" to the engineering team that I experienced this. They have had a few calls on it. Being in the manufacturing world I know that the first units off the line usually have the largest risk of quality issues. I purchased my first set the day it hit BB. I was pretty much the first one to get it.

Like I said, I am now very happy with my purchase and BB who really did right by me having to twice return and deliver new sets.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #259 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 05:49 AM
Member
 
thegraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkaufma1 View Post

I was the one who had to return it. But it was because the 7600 I had didn't even give me the option of the TruMotion within the menu. It wasn't grayed out, it was just flat missing!

Now I have my replacement with the TurMotion option available in the menu and have turned it off anyway. Too soap opera-like for me.

My mistake, I thought it was just greyed out.
thegraz is offline  
post #260 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Threefiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I can plain as day see the difference with the tru motion on and off on my set. I mean it's quite obvious.

Threefiddie is online now  
post #261 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 06:40 AM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkaufma1 View Post

Since I KNEW from my first set it was available, I again returned it to BB. In fact BB was really great throughout this whole process. Both times they delivered and removed the old sets so I didn't have to lift a finger.

So, finally the third set, has no flashlighting, no hdmi issues and I can now see the TruMotion option again.


Like I said, I am now very happy with my purchase and BB who really did right by me having to twice return and deliver new sets.

great, thanks. I pretty much got the first unit delivered to our best buy as well. Did you get the BB protection plan? I caved and did. I figured Id have to take the set back but you said they came out? so we can just keep cycling through sets until we get one we like?
jeffro23 is offline  
post #262 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 07:29 AM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes they came direct from the warehouse each time. And yes I bought the warranty plan as well. As far as cycling through sets, I'm not shelling out 2300 and "settling". I want a 100% working tv and that is finally what I got. Took many phone calls with BB and LG, but in the end I'm happy.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #263 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 07:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkaufma1 View Post

Yes they came direct from the warehouse each time. And yes I bought the warranty plan as well. As far as cycling through sets, I'm not shelling out 2300 and "settling". I want a 100% working tv and that is finally what I got. Took many phone calls with BB and LG, but in the end I'm happy.

Good for you. They will step up the QC if everyone does this


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave Mack is offline  
post #264 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 10:47 AM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool, I agree! Is there a reason to contact LG or just deal with BB?
jeffro23 is offline  
post #265 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 10:50 AM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro23 View Post

cool, I agree! Is there a reason to contact LG or just deal with BB?

LG was, let's just say, less than helpful. Nice. Tried to help, but in the end they told me to contact BB and get a replacement. If you're within the 30 days at BB they should be accommodating.
lkaufma1 is offline  
post #266 of 3969 Old 04-03-2012, 02:33 PM
Member
 
thegraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not have Skype on my TV. I was trying to get my logitech camera to work with skype in the browser, but that is not working. I see that I can buy a LG camera, but I'm not really interested in that ATM. Does anyone know of a work around for this issue?

Thanks
thegraz is offline  
post #267 of 3969 Old 04-04-2012, 05:17 AM
Member
 
moparbob7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There a new firmware update. 03.20.29

I dont know what it does but I am doing it right now.
moparbob7 is offline  
post #268 of 3969 Old 04-04-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
shark140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threefiddie View Post

I can plain as day see the difference with the tru motion on and off on my set. I mean it's quite obvious.

i dont have the trumotions settings at all....i did a software update no trumotions settings
shark140 is offline  
post #269 of 3969 Old 04-04-2012, 09:40 AM
Member
 
shark140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moparbob7 View Post

There a new firmware update. 03.20.29

I dont know what it does but I am doing it right now.

i did it on top of the tv now saying if is 1080i or 720p only that i saw
shark140 is offline  
post #270 of 3969 Old 04-04-2012, 09:40 AM
Member
 
lkaufma1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shark140 View Post


i dont have the trumotions settings at all....i did a software update no trumotions settings

I had the same issue. Had to get another set. LG is aware of the issue.
lkaufma1 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Displays , Onkyo Tx Nr609 7 2 Channel Network Thx Certified A V Receiver , Lg Nb3520a Sound Bar Audio System With Wireless Subwoofer Bluetooth Streaming , Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off