Noob want to buy regular LCD or LCD/LED HDTV, 1080P, Diagram of room inside - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 39 Old 03-13-2012, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted in the "The "help me choose an LCD" thread" and I'm not sure if I was supposed to do that or make a separate thread, so if anything I'm sorry for a double post.

To start off, like probably many who ask here, I am a total noobie in HDTVs.
For shipping purposes I live in North NJ
I plan to mount the TV on the wall with an articulating wall bracket so I could turn it to a good angle to face my bed or desk.

Based on what I know (though I could be wrong, so please correct me if I am)
-I want 120hz, because I don't want motion blurring, and 240hz is a significant price hike.
-I don't care about how thick the TV is, so if a thicker TV means cheaper price or better performance, that's good for me.
-1080p is the standard resolution and the one I want.
-I was thinking about a 40-42" but realized I might be able to get away with even a smaller size for my room, though not sure.

Budget
-I would like to spend around $500 or lower on the TV (wouldn't rule out any good deals around the under $600 price range right away either)

Viewing distance
- I will be sitting/laying down about 7.5-12ft (depending on which part of bed I'm on). I will probably want to mount it on the wall so I can change the viewing angle, in case I want to watch from my desk-chair (see room sketch image)

Current TV
- I will be replacing a 20" tube TV that is probably around 18 years old.

Uses for new TV
- I want to use it to mostly hook up my laptop with HDMI cable and watch movies/shows I download (I use a separate monitor for PC gaming), also probably will get a cable box and a DVD/blueray player for it, and maaaybe a gaming console in the future (though slim chance).

Extra features