Clever ideas? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-15-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This mount positions my Samsung UN65D8000 so close to the wall, that I am unable to get my arm back there to tighten the knob that allows for the display to be tilted. If it's not tight, the weight of the display causes it to tilt back, so its facing upward (not what I want). Any idears on getting it tightened given that it must be done after the display has already been mounted on the wall?
LL
Patrick G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?
Patrick G is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mes444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Buy a different mount.
mes444 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mes444 View Post

Buy a different mount.

I asked for "clever" ideas.
Patrick G is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The easy thing to do is go buy a dollars worth of washers or if your mount came with a hardware kit it should have plastic spacers to get the display a little farther from the wall...if you don't want to do that than what cables are causing the problem...power, HDMI? Here is a solution

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
topr is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topr View Post

The easy thing to do is go buy a dollars worth of washers or if your mount came with a hardware kit it should have plastic spacers to get the display a little farther from the wall...if you don't want to do that than what cables are causing the problem...power, HDMI? Here is a solution

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I'm already using the plastic spacers. And the cables aren't the problem. It's simply the low profile of the mount.
Patrick G is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 07:58 AM
Member
 
ssmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like a square-ish knob. Do you have a socket kit with a socket that would fit snugly over the knob? Duct-tape the socket to the end of a pvc or similar pipe/pole and tighten.... How's that for clever?
ssmaniac is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's a matter of not being able to tighten the knob and not the display/cables bottoming out against the wall take it off the mount tilt and tighten it and stick it back on. Have you tried getting at it from the top instead of the side?
topr is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-16-2012, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topr View Post

If it's a matter of not being able to tighten the knob and not the display/cables bottoming out against the wall take it off the mount tilt and tighten it and stick it back on. Have you tried getting at it from the top instead of the side?

I can't tighten it before I mount it because the tilted position prevents the brackets from grasping the wall mount - it's that low profile (even with spacers). And yes, what tightening I did do was from the top. I just can't get enough leverage from the top to tighten it adequately.
Patrick G is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-17-2012, 06:27 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If your mount was a few inches lower on the wall, would you have enough room from the top? Ask a mechanic if there's some special tool for hard to get at places.

Are others having the same problem? Ask the folks where you bought it from, or the Geek squad, or other installers. Check for reviews of the same mount, or some thread on this forum regarding installation, mounts, etc. Or google the entire internet. Good luck.
dfp is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-17-2012, 06:52 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Check the link. Maybe it's a different model, but many folks have the same problem. Maybe you can email Big Dave on page two of the user reviews. He said he made an extension for his wrench. I didn't read past his post, but maybe others further down the list have more specific solutions.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sanus+-+...ount&cp=1&lp=5
dfp is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-17-2012, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you end up having to make a tool just get a piece of 1" or 3/4" PVC and notch the end.
topr is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-17-2012, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Patrick G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by topr View Post

If you end up having to make a tool just get a piece of 1" or 3/4" PVC and notch the end.

Oooh, now there's an idea! Thx!
Patrick G is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off