Official Samsung UNXXES6500 Owner's Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 582 Old 03-22-2012, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
currahee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took delivery today of an UN55ES6500F. The Smart Hub app ecosystem was a major purchase consideration.

Out of the box - and after a complete firmware update - the Netflix app is broken. Samsung's support call center in South Carolina is struggling to get their arms around the issue. They report that Netflix updated their system in early March, which has broken some Samsung app versions.

My issue is escalated to a Tier III technician, and the possibility of having to dispatch a field technician to manually install a patch was mentioned. Tier II also stated that they would correspond with both Netflix and Comcast (my ISP) about the issue.

The South Carolina support call center is available only on weekdays, 8-5 Eastern Time.

I will keep the community posted.

************************************************************ **********************

Update: the problem was resolved later that evening - Netflix began working. I've no idea what changed; no updates were downloaded by my set, and I have no visibility into Comcast network transport, congestion, or Netflix server configuration. Hope it stays fixed....
currahee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 582 Old 03-23-2012, 07:34 PM
Member
 
gungadin19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Currahee,

I was wondering if you could post some pros and cons on the new ES6500. Mainly:

1. Do you notice any flashlighting in the corners/clouding in the middle of the screen? It is best if you let the tv warm up for 15 min or so and try to look at a blackish image.

2. What is the sound like? Weak? Tinny?

3. Any other problems with the Smart HUB? Is Netflix still working ok? Other apps working? Is navigation in the Smart Hub fast or really slow?

Reason I ask is because I was at a store today and am contemplating taking my UN40D6000 back for 2 main reasons:

1. Flashlighting/Clouding
2. They now have the 46" for the same price as the 40" I bought, and my mount can accommodate it.

They do have the UN40ES6100 which is basically the 2012 model of what I have. It looked really nice, a thin bezel, and it had a semi-matte screen. I am thinking of buying it if the areas above were improved. Sound is not an issue as I actually think the D6000 sounds good (it is in a bedroom).
gungadin19 is offline  
post #3 of 582 Old 03-23-2012, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
JDEL427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the 40D6420 and to be honest, I think it may have had a better picture... I'm not sure if it's the semi matte screen, or possibly just a defect in my TV. The picture seems to be a bit "dull" or just not as crisp. I'm going to try switching HDMI cables. Also, I had to make some cuts in my mounting plate and the screws aren't in all of the way so I'm not sure if pressure is being put on places it should be. Any advice on this from anyone? As for flashlighting.. On a completely black screen with the backlight on, there is some coming out of the corner as well as random patches throughout the TV. If the picture doesn't improve for me, Best Buy may begin to hate me since I never seem happy with my first purchased TV each year.
JDEL427 is offline  
post #4 of 582 Old 03-25-2012, 09:45 PM
Member
 
BeagleEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDEL427 View Post

I had the 40D6420 and to be honest, I think it may have had a better picture... I'm not sure if it's the semi matte screen, or possibly just a defect in my TV. The picture seems to be a bit "dull" or just not as crisp. I'm going to try switching HDMI cables. Also, I had to make some cuts in my mounting plate and the screws aren't in all of the way so I'm not sure if pressure is being put on places it should be. Any advice on this from anyone? As for flashlighting.. On a completely black screen with the backlight on, there is some coming out of the corner as well as random patches throughout the TV. If the picture doesn't improve for me, Best Buy may begin to hate me since I never seem happy with my first purchased TV each year.

I went to BB today and I noticed the same thing. I wanted to check out the new models and I saw first the 55d6000 and the 55es6500 one above the other and boy was there a big difference. The D model blew the es model away. The es looked out of focus. I thought mabey it was just this tv so I went to the 40 inchers and it was the same thing. They had the 40D6420, the 40es6100, the 40eh6000 and the 40D630 all together. The 40D6420 blew them all away. the 40D630 and the 40eh6000 tied for second and the 40es6100 looked the worst. I think I'll keep my 46D6420.
BeagleEyes is offline  
post #5 of 582 Old 03-28-2012, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
JDEL427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for replying and confirming what I see in the TV. I think I'll be taking a trip back to Best Buy. I've been getting pretty unlucky with Samsung.. As much as I like them, I think it may be time to switch brands.
JDEL427 is offline  
post #6 of 582 Old 03-29-2012, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anyone with any UNXXES6000 calibrated settings yet? I have a 46ES6100 being delivered Tuesday.

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is offline  
post #7 of 582 Old 03-29-2012, 07:38 PM
Member
 
LEdortheHighway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinH View Post

Anyone with any UNXXES6000 calibrated settings yet? I have a 46ES6100 being delivered Tuesday.

There is no ES6000, but there is a EH6000. However, given that the "EH" models are a completely different line and are "Full Array" rather than "Edge Lit", you would probably be better off with Calibration settings for your own model.

At the very least, use calibration settings from the other "ES" models that have been posted in their respective threads.
LEdortheHighway is offline  
post #8 of 582 Old 03-29-2012, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by LEdortheHighway View Post


There is no ES6000, but there is a EH6000. However, given that the "EH" models are a completely different line and are "Full Array" rather than "Edge Lit", you would probably be better off with Calibration settings for your own model.

At the very least, use calibration settings from the other "ES" models that have been posted in their respective threads.

I guess I meant the ES6xxx series including the 6100 and 6500..........I figured they would have the same panel. I didn't think the ES6100 would have same panel as ES7500 or 8000???

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is offline  
post #9 of 582 Old 04-07-2012, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
nitrocety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any of you own an UN40ES6500?

I'm interested in getting it as a computer monitor, but was wondering if it has 1:1 pixel mapping, 4:4:4 chroma capable, and what the input lag is like if any?
nitrocety is offline  
post #10 of 582 Old 04-08-2012, 06:08 AM
Member
 
samsungLE40B650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeagleEyes View Post

I went to BB today and I noticed the same thing. I wanted to check out the new models and I saw first the 55d6000 and the 55es6500 one above the other and boy was there a big difference. The D model blew the es model away. The es looked out of focus. I thought mabey it was just this tv so I went to the 40 inchers and it was the same thing. They had the 40D6420, the 40es6100, the 40eh6000 and the 40D630 all together. The 40D6420 blew them all away. the 40D630 and the 40eh6000 tied for second and the 40es6100 looked the worst. I think I'll keep my 46D6420.

Same here, the new ES6nnn Samsungs can't compete IMHO with the previous D6nnn models. I think even my B650 at home has better picture

IMHO it's all about the Ultra Clear panel which is now reserved for the more expensive models. In the end the ES6nnn are closer to the EH5nnn than to the ES7000/8000.

P *a *n *a *s *o *n *i *c ** S *T *W *5 *0
samsungLE40B650 is offline  
post #11 of 582 Old 04-15-2012, 01:47 AM
Newbie
 
raislak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my New Samsung 46ES6500 a week ago, and after setup and firmware, it starts to power down every 10-18 minutes. Last Thurs the unit was replaced with a new one, still does it.

Thought it was my Onkyo SR606 Receiver, but now only have Apple TV direct connected, and even watching Smart TV items it resets.

Any one else?
raislak is offline  
post #12 of 582 Old 04-15-2012, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
weid5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raislak View Post

Got my New Samsung 46ES6500 a week ago, and after setup and firmware, it starts to power down every 10-18 minutes. Last Thurs the unit was replaced with a new one, still does it.

Thought it was my Onkyo SR606 Receiver, but now only have Apple TV direct connected, and even watching Smart TV items it resets.

Any one else?

Raislak,
I just picked up the 46 ES6500 today and had the same thing happen after about an hour. I turned off a couple auto shut-off settings and will see if that as an effect tonight.

Picture Quality is great. Strong blacks and crystal clear with an HD feed. No corner or edge bleeding/flashing problems, but on a blank screen I see the clouding that others observed. Very mild in my case and not close to a problem.

If they fix the auto-shut-off, this is a keeper for us.
weid5 is offline  
post #13 of 582 Old 04-15-2012, 09:05 PM
Member
 
BeagleEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raislak View Post

Got my New Samsung 46ES6500 a week ago, and after setup and firmware, it starts to power down every 10-18 minutes. Last Thurs the unit was replaced with a new one, still does it.

Thought it was my Onkyo SR606 Receiver, but now only have Apple TV direct connected, and even watching Smart TV items it resets.

Any one else?

There are members in the es8000 thread that are reporting this problem and more models are popping up with the same problem. Sounds like Samsung is already working on it.
BeagleEyes is offline  
post #14 of 582 Old 04-16-2012, 12:17 PM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Below, a UN55ES6500.

Note: I do not have a "TV powers off after X minutes" type problem.

Wrooster












wrooster is offline  
post #15 of 582 Old 04-22-2012, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
vincevega44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looking at the 55" of this tv in the store, it turned off twice. Has samsung fixed this?
vincevega44 is offline  
post #16 of 582 Old 04-23-2012, 06:58 AM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincevega44 View Post

Looking at the 55" of this tv in the store, it turned off twice. Has samsung fixed this?

As noted above, I have a 55" ES6500 and do not have this problem.

That said, there was a firmware update available yesterday, which I took. I did not see any apparent changes to functionality afterward.

Wrooster
wrooster is offline  
post #17 of 582 Old 04-23-2012, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
ucop27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have calibration settings?

I have had my tv since Friday (4/20) and it has not turned off once on me, 55es6500.
ucop27 is offline  
post #18 of 582 Old 04-23-2012, 01:25 PM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I do have one comment so far -- the ES6500 has an "Eco-dimming" function (and I suspect it's ES-series brethren do as well). This feature adjusts the backlight amplitude based on the ambient light in the room. So, in a darker room, there will be less backlighting, and vice versa.

One problem that this introduces is that in a dimly lit room, the Eco-dimming feature starts to "chase around" the video output. In other words, there are continuous changes automatically made to the backlight setting. This is because the relative brightness of the video output effects the measured room ambient level. In other words, if the scene is suddenly quite bright, over the next few seconds the backlight will be stepped up in amplitude -- because the sensor on the front of the TV is reporting that the room is quite bright. Conversely, if the scene becomes dark, the backlight will be stepped down in amplitude. It would seem that the averaging interval for this feature is quite short, and perhaps, it could be said, way too short.

You can of course disable this feature completely, and also set a minimum backlight level under which no further Eco-dimming will occur. I have to play with the settings a bit to figure out which will work best for my setup.

Wrooster
wrooster is offline  
post #19 of 582 Old 04-23-2012, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
vincevega44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrooster View Post

As noted above, I have a 55" ES6500 and do not have this problem.

That said, there was a firmware update available yesterday, which I took. I did not see any apparent changes to functionality afterward.

Wrooster


Well maybe it was just a few of them. How is the black level on your tv, in the dark? Also is the sound from the tv actually usable?
vincevega44 is offline  
post #20 of 582 Old 04-23-2012, 03:18 PM
Newbie
 
raislak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went in and was pretty sure I turned off everything that was a possibility, and it still was doing it, so I worked a deal with BB to get a new 46D6900 unit instead.

Have had no problems with it.

Seriously, thanks for the ideas everyone.

PDH
raislak is offline  
post #21 of 582 Old 04-23-2012, 03:36 PM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincevega44 View Post

How is the black level on your tv, in the dark?

A cursory test a few evenings ago did not show any issues. I will try it again tonight now that I have all of my tools etc out from underneath my feet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincevega44 View Post

Also is the sound from the tv actually usable?

I would say so. Now that I have the AVR set up, the subwoofer on, the center speaker mounted, and all of the F/R surround speakers dialed in I'm not sure I would go back to using the TV's built-ins ... LOL.

In the end I guess it depends on what you are trying to do here...
-- For general TV viewing? The TV speakers are OK. (btw: There is an "enhancement" setting in the menu which provides some staging effects.)
-- For gaming? Don't know about this, depends on how much you want to feel the gameplay I guess.
-- For a home theater experience with friends over for "movie night"? Dedicated amp/speakers is the way to go.

For reference, in the family room I have a 2009-era LN52A650 52" Samsung w/o external speakers. In the upstairs A/V room (see pictures above) we now have this 2012-era ES6500 55" Saumsung. I would say that the built-in speaker quality is about the same between the two models -- physics and small speakers, there is no magic here.

HOWEVER, my wife has already said "it's easier to hear character voices clearly in movies" with the new external speaker setup. This is a direct result of using a "high quality" dedicated center channel speaker versus the internal "must-be-small-to-fit" speaker in the TV enclosure.

Wrooster
wrooster is offline  
post #22 of 582 Old 04-24-2012, 01:46 AM
Newbie
 
CheriRone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i think it may have had a better picture
CheriRone is offline  
post #23 of 582 Old 05-08-2012, 03:00 PM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So far so good with my UN55ES6500... of course the sooner I finish the rest of the trimwork and the 87 other things in the room, we can get the furniture back in and my wife will be happy again.

Wrooster

wrooster is offline  
post #24 of 582 Old 05-15-2012, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
Angel2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man Nice set-up you've got there!
Manchester United I see..

I'm new to the "TV" game..
Just 20! haha

My question is about the calibration settings you may use any specifics you have for say sports (Slight Motion Blur and there seem to be a degradation in sharpness/quality) and or movies?

I was messing with my settings but I want something similar to movie without that grayish over tone and slightly more vivid colors.
And I noticed my 3D is slightly off no matter how I turn my settings around and that little bit irritates me at times.
It's in the 2D->3D as well as just my regular 3D settings for a 3D Blu-Ray.

Any insight would be helpful.
Angel2014 is offline  
post #25 of 582 Old 05-17-2012, 12:09 PM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel2014 View Post

Man Nice set-up you've got there!

Thanks, it is still a work in progress but it has come a long way in the last couple of months.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel2014 View Post

Manchester United I see..

Well, Liverpool were not on. Though, the red Merseysiders have been truly awful this year -- especially at Anfield, which used to be a fortress.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel2014 View Post

My question is about the calibration settings you may use any specifics you have for say sports (Slight Motion Blur and there seem to be a degradation in sharpness/quality) and or movies?

I am still adjusting. You may even find that what is great for one sport may not be so great for others. And, broadcast quality is a factor as well. For example, some European football/soccer is up-scaled and called "HD".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel2014 View Post

I was messing with my settings but I want something similar to movie without that grayish over tone and slightly more vivid colors.

I'm not a big fan of the "movie" mode unless the room is *very* dark. If it is that dark, be advised of the "backlight chasing" issue I noted above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel2014 View Post

And I noticed my 3D is slightly off no matter how I turn my settings around and that little bit irritates me at times. It's in the 2D->3D as well as just my regular 3D settings for a 3D Blu-Ray.

I have not viewed 3D content at all yet, and will probably not be a big user of 3D.

Wrooster
wrooster is offline  
post #26 of 582 Old 05-18-2012, 10:53 PM
Newbie
 
David K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does SD content looking on the 6500?

Thanks
David K. is offline  
post #27 of 582 Old 05-19-2012, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
itaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone who owns this TV have a D7000 or D8000 model. Does the micro dimming feature on those models make a huge difference in picture quality compared to the ES6500?
itaos is offline  
post #28 of 582 Old 05-23-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 
wi1ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can't find any pictures of the back of this set. I want to find out if i could use the WNM2000B wall mount. Since I currently rent, I will not be cutting into the wall to fit my cables. I also do not have a lot of cables...I was just wondering if there's enough room for generic audio/video cables to my Direct TV receiver and PS2/Wii. I will be getting a bluray 3d player or PS3 in the near future.

There's also the WNM250M(?) which I think might be better if I need to "extend" out more. But since the place is really small I want to go with as slim as possible.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
wi1ll is offline  
post #29 of 582 Old 05-23-2012, 10:00 AM
Member
 
wrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wi1ll View Post

I can't find any pictures of the back of this set. I want to find out if i could use the WNM2000B wall mount. Since I currently rent, I will not be cutting into the wall to fit my cables. I also do not have a lot of cables...I was just wondering if there's enough room for generic audio/video cables to my Direct TV receiver and PS2/Wii. I will be getting a bluray 3d player or PS3 in the near future.

There's also the WNM250M(?) which I think might be better if I need to "extend" out more. But since the place is really small I want to go with as slim as possible.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Sorry, I don't have any pics of the back of the TV.

This is the mount shown in my pictures above:
VideoSecu Tilt TV Wall Mount for Most 32"-65" LCD LED Plasma TV Flat Screen, Sturdy Steel Wall Plate Free HDMI Cable and 6" Bubble Level M43
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o02_s00_i00

The cables attach at the right hand side of the TV, when facing the LCD screen. The majority of the attachment points are about at mid-screen height.

The mount linked to above allows the TV to hug the wall pretty tight. I did not have a problem getting any of the cables in, as the "primary" important connectors are recessed somewhat and exit the back of the set sideways (parallel to the LCD panel itself). I have qty 1 HDMI, qty 1 TOSLINK, qty 1 CAT5, and qty 1 RG6 (OTA antenna). The F connector for the tuner input comes straight out the back. So I used a right angle adapter on the F connector for OTA, as the RG6 QS is pretty stiff and doesn't make a right angle easily.

Below, using the adjustment on the mount, I have tilted the TV out at the top about 5 or 10 degrees -- but this doesn't impact the clearance for the cables to any huge degree.

Also, in the second picture below you can see the HDMI cable from the FIOS box is temporarily run up the wall to behind the set; again, no issues doing this. If you can't go in-wall with the cabling, get an inexpensive length of pre-colored on-wall conduit and run that from the floor level up to the TV.

Wrooster
LL
LL
wrooster is offline  
post #30 of 582 Old 05-23-2012, 10:31 AM
Member
 
wi1ll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrooster View Post

Sorry, I don't have any pics of the back of the TV.

This is the mount shown in my pictures above:
VideoSecu Tilt TV Wall Mount for Most 32"-65" LCD LED Plasma TV Flat Screen, Sturdy Steel Wall Plate Free HDMI Cable and 6" Bubble Level M43
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o02_s00_i00

The cables attach at the right hand side of the TV, when facing the LCD screen. The majority of the attachment points are about at mid-screen height.

The mount linked to above allows the TV to hug the wall pretty tight. I did not have a problem getting any of the cables in, as the "primary" important connectors are recessed somewhat and exit the back of the set sideways (parallel to the LCD panel itself). I have qty 1 HDMI, qty 1 TOSLINK, qty 1 CAT5, and qty 1 RG6 (OTA antenna). The F connector for the tuner input comes straight out the back. So I used a right angle adapter on the F connector for OTA, as the RG6 QS is pretty stiff and doesn't make a right angle easily.

Below, using the adjustment on the mount, I have tilted the TV out at the top about 5 or 10 degrees -- but this doesn't impact the clearance for the cables to any huge degree.

Also, in the second picture below you can see the HDMI cable from the FIOS box is temporarily run up the wall to behind the set; again, no issues doing this. If you can't go in-wall with the cabling, get an inexpensive length of pre-colored on-wall conduit and run that from the floor level up to the TV.

Wrooster


Awesome! Appreciate the quick reply and info
wi1ll is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un40es6100 40 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Slim Led Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40es6500 40 Inch 1080p 120 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es6500 55 Inch 1080p 120 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off