Do any LCD TV's have an external power supply? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-29-2012, 01:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ggking7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any LCD TV's have an external power supply? This means the power cable has a wall wart or a black box built into it. I'd like to try powering a TV via A123 batteries but I need it to have an external power supply so I can provide DC.

If you do know of a TV with an external power supply, do you know the voltage and current it provides? Even an approximation would be helpful.
ggking7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-29-2012, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
ShopJimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What size TV are you trying to power? We see a lot of smaller units (<26") with external power supplies, they vary by model from 12v-19v. I'm sure there are some 32" TVs out there as well but I can't think of anything off hand. If you want any info off one of the power supplies let me know.

Regards,

Jimmy Vosika
Director of Partology
ShopJimmy.com
ShopJimmy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-30-2012, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ggking7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot for your reply. I'm looking for the biggest TV possible with an external power supply. Do you have any suggestions on how to find these sort of TV's?
ggking7 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-30-2012, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
ShopJimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Technically Sharp makes them up to 60" now but I dont know if they hit the market yet. We saw these at CES and it was pretty incredible. Google "Sharp FreeStyle".

As for whats currently on the market, I would just walk into a retail store and start peaking behind the units for the external power supply.
ShopJimmy is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-03-2012, 02:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ggking7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose walking into the store and looking for external power supplies is my best bet, thank you.

It looks like the 20" Sharp Freestyle actually has a built-in battery so the concept isn't too far-fetched.
ggking7 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-03-2012, 05:52 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The largest set you are going to find with a external power supply is around 20", and those are usually TV/Computer monitors. There are no larger sets with external power supplies, that you could afford or buy, since most of those are seen in arenas or on billboards.
gregzoll is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-03-2012, 07:42 PM
Member
 
MickeyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggking7 View Post

Do any LCD TV's have an external power supply? This means the power cable has a wall wart or a black box built into it. I'd like to try powering a TV via A123 batteries but I need it to have an external power supply so I can provide DC.

If you do know of a TV with an external power supply, do you know the voltage and current it provides? Even an approximation would be helpful.

How long do you intend to power a TV using the battery you mentioned? If you don't intend to convert the battery voltage, you'll need to wire the batteries in a series/parallel fashion. Even for a small set something on the order of 20" you'll likely going to need a doz batteries and power for ~ 1hr. depending upon what input voltage needs to be, could take more than a doz cells. Not going to be a low cost battery pak, that's for sure.
MickeyM is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-03-2012, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most Westinghouse LCD units I setup have a power brick. It's always interesting to wall mount one of those.
Truckondo is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-04-2012, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ggking7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even large Westinghouse TV's have external power supplies?
ggking7 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-07-2014, 03:25 AM
Newbie
 
hunterfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

All the TVs listed on hunterfield.co.uk use 12V or 24V (barrel or 4-Pin type) external power supplies.

hunterfield is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off