LG 47LE5400 won't turn off-help please! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-31-2012, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TinaMarie71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help! My father-in-law has a LG 47LE5400 TV that has suddenly stopped responding to the remote and won't turn off at the screen either. We turned it off at the power supply and when turned back on the menu option comes up momentarily then disappears. You can't change channels etc when it is acting this way or access the menu screen from the tv selection or remote. After some time (maybe 30 minutes or so) the remote will then start responding and the options on tv (volume, on/off, menu) respond if you press them as well.

My husband I have tried everything and have never seen a TV act so odd. Has anyone else had a similar problem? Please post if you have as my elderly father-in-law is going to drive us crazy if we cannot find the source of this problem!!!
TinaMarie71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-31-2012, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinaMarie71 View Post

Please help! My father-in-law has a LG 47LE5400 TV that has suddenly stopped responding to the remote and won't turn off at the screen either. We turned it off at the power supply and when turned back on the menu option comes up momentarily then disappears. You can't change channels etc when it is acting this way or access the menu screen from the tv selection or remote. After some time (maybe 30 minutes or so) the remote will then start responding and the options on tv (volume, on/off, menu) respond if you press them as well.

My husband I have tried everything and have never seen a TV act so odd. Has anyone else had a similar problem? Please post if you have as my elderly father-in-law is going to drive us crazy if we cannot find the source of this problem!!!

Have you tried the buttons on the TV? Do they respond properly?
Smetimes people use spray cleaners on the remotes or TV which can cause this like spilling a soda on a computer keyboard.
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-31-2012, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TinaMarie71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No response from the buttons on the TV either. Brand new batteries in remote. It just becomes frozen. My husband wonders if his dad didn't accidentally lock something up using the remote. Nothing in the manual helps. We're just stumped.
TinaMarie71 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-31-2012, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
KONICA TECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clinton, Ma.
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinaMarie71 View Post

No response from the buttons on the TV either. Brand new batteries in remote. It just becomes frozen. My husband wonders if his dad didn't accidentally lock something up using the remote. Nothing in the manual helps. We're just stumped.

My advice is to call LG and see if there is a set of buttons to reset the factory defaults on that model. Hope this helps

Try searching here as this problem has happened before
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...t#post20252808
KONICA TECH is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-01-2012, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TinaMarie71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! We'll see if LG can help on Monday and reset it.
TinaMarie71 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-01-2012, 08:10 AM
EG3
Senior Member
 
EG3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It sounds like a button is stuck. It is probably the menu button since when you unplugged/plugged in the set, the menu came up.
EG3 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-02-2012, 01:13 PM
Member
 
CGGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Van Wert, OH
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had the same problem (and more) with the same model TV.

Unplug it for a minute and plug it back in.

In my case it was (is) the CEC feature available to all HDMI connected equipment. Disable any feature that allows remote control over HDMI. The feature is called something different by every manufacturer (dammit), but its usually something with a "link" or "net" or "smart" in the name. Once i disabled the HTPC, PS3, and Blu-ray player the problem went away.
CGGorman is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-07-2013, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
maine94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what happened because I am having this same exact problem and I dont want to spend a ton of money on a tv.
maine94 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-07-2013, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 28
You might want to try a cheap universal remote see if you get any response
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-13-2014, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
kanthn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have the same problem

I stumbled across this thread while researching to troubleshoot similar problem with the same model LG TV. After lot of digging I found one link where few folks appear to have to found the problem to be with the front bezel of the TV. The IR receiver is embedded in the front bezel. The defect in this IR receiver makes the TV go nuts with all sort of strange behavior - randomly changing input types, volume, channels - anything the remote could control; except it's all random and you can't do anything about it because the remote or the buttons on the bezel will not work anymore. You have to pull the power cord! The solution is replacing the front bezel. Unfortunately I am not under warranty and most likely will end up buying a new TV. It has come to a state that it happens all the time and has become unbearable. I see this third has been dormant for about 2 years. I hope my reply still helps you.

kanthn is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 47le5400 47 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Led Hdtv With Internet Applications , Blu Ray Players , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off