Official Samsung UNXXES6100 Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 871 Old 04-07-2012, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just spent a bit of time calibrating mine. I used the Spears and Munsil blu disc in a totally dark room.

Movie mode
Backlight 12
Contrast 90
Brightness 44
Color 49
Tint 51/49
Sharpness 20 (I usually just run this down to 0 but just left it low)

My set will only be used for watching Blus and DVDs right now.

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 871 Old 04-08-2012, 03:07 AM
Member
 
samsungLE40B650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danediz View Post

hows the es6100 compare to the D6000 from last year? better viewing angle? the d6000 viewing angle is AWFUL

To My eyes the ES6nnn is clearly a downgrade to last years D6200.
The Ultra Clear Panel is gone! Now this is a feature of the more expensive ES7000/8000

There is no more Pop of the colors, the vibrant image I know from my good old B650 and from the D6200 in the stores is now history!

The ES6300 I saw now in the store looked like the EH5000 beside it

When anybody wants a mate panel he should go for a Sony. I know the Samsung 6 series as glossy, vibrant and popping TVs in the past. Now I have to look elsewhere or buy the way more expensive ES7090...

But you are partly right! The D6nnn sets have partly an awful viewing angle, depends on what you get from the panel lottery....

P *a *n *a *s *o *n *i *c ** S *T *W *5 *0
samsungLE40B650 is offline  
post #33 of 871 Old 04-08-2012, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
jmt9779's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InsuranceWhiz View Post

You can turn that off. Under system turn off Anynet+(HDMI-CEC).

Thanks! That was driving me nuts.
jmt9779 is offline  
post #34 of 871 Old 04-08-2012, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I would be interested to know if there is a fairly easy way for the user to do the white balance and 10p white balance settings?............or if those are mainly for the pros with the right equipment? I've left gamma at 0 for now but +1 or -1 can look fine depending on what you are watching. +2 things start getting hazy and -2 you're losing low level detail.

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is online now  
post #35 of 871 Old 04-09-2012, 07:46 AM
Newbie
 
TSW2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is uniformity on this set? I was in the market for a new TV and it was down to the Sony EX640 and the ES6100. I went with the EX640 but the screen uniformity is horrendous. Anytime the camera pans I can see three faint horizontal lines running across the screen. Don't even get me started on vertical banding. Now I'm thinking about exchanging it for the ES6100.

Any clouding or bleeding? Anything else I should be aware of with this set?

Thanks
TSW2012 is offline  
post #36 of 871 Old 04-09-2012, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Maverickaim9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Not trying to hijack thread but the sony EX640 I had , had horrendous screen uniformity, clouding everywhere, not only a few spots and the flashlighting? Could not be lessened by toning down brightness, backlight, etc. if you are debating between this and Sony, I dont know about this TV but avoid the Sony. Even televisioninfo.com corroborated this.
Maverickaim9 is offline  
post #37 of 871 Old 04-11-2012, 02:52 AM
Newbie
 
jameswma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSW2012 View Post

How is uniformity on this set? I was in the market for a new TV and it was down to the Sony EX640 and the ES6100. I went with the EX640 but the screen uniformity is horrendous. Anytime the camera pans I can see three faint horizontal lines running across the screen. Don't even get me started on vertical banding. Now I'm thinking about exchanging it for the ES6100.

Any clouding or bleeding? Anything else I should be aware of with this set?

Thanks


I don't know about everyone else but mine has some pretty bad clouding and bleeding from the top two corners. I hope this is just an isolated case because I had some high hopes for this set.
jameswma is offline  
post #38 of 871 Old 04-11-2012, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
To be honest the clouding and bleeding are almost expected in these edge lits without local dimming. However, viewing angle is what bugs me the most! I can deal with a litle flashlighting in minimal scenes but the viewing angle is noticeable ALL the time if you are not in the sweet spot. Has the ES6100 improved its viewing issues. When going offcenter on my D6000 it gets a reddish washed out appearance. Its a joke for what they charge for these things. Its sad because the picture is amazing if I am dead center, but if you are just a few seats to the left or right, it deteriorates. Input lag sucks too on my D6000 even in game mode. Bad enough that I decided to game on my 23" Samsung Syncmaster instead.
Danediz is offline  
post #39 of 871 Old 04-11-2012, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
ToddHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some help! I have been playing with the settings using this thread. Somehow I have set the T.V so that it is only displaying at 60i instead of 1080i. I did have it at 1080i before so I know it was working right. My cable box is also set to display at 1080i.

Any idea what setting could have done this? Or how to get it back?
ToddHD is offline  
post #40 of 871 Old 04-11-2012, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
InsuranceWhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddHD View Post

I need some help! I have been playing with the settings using this thread. Somehow I have set the T.V so that it is only displaying at 60i instead of 1080i. I did have it at 1080i before so I know it was working right. My cable box is also set to display at 1080i.

Any idea what setting could have done this? Or how to get it back?

I believe that has to do with FPS and you're fine on that setting.
InsuranceWhiz is offline  
post #41 of 871 Old 04-11-2012, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Viewing angle improvements over the 2011 D6000?
Danediz is offline  
post #42 of 871 Old 04-11-2012, 09:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danediz View Post

Viewing angle improvements over the 2011 D6000?

I doubt it, it still uses a S-PVA panel, only an IPS panel would do better than this one or a pdp. If u want a better viewing angle experience get a pdp, or get the WT or DT Panasonic LED that's about to come out.............
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #43 of 871 Old 04-12-2012, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftyguitar1963 View Post

I doubt it, it still uses a S-PVA panel, only an IPS panel would do better than this one or a pdp. If u want a better viewing angle experience get a pdp, or get the WT or DT Panasonic LED that's about to come out.............

Its hard for me to agree with the panel type being the sole problem. The 2009 CCFL Samsung LCD which I assume is also a S-PVA panel, has little no viewing angle issues. Blacks get more washed out but colors of people's skin do not turn a reddish color.

I think it is ridiculous that I should be jealous of my mom's 52" CCFL LCD from 2009...
Danediz is offline  
post #44 of 871 Old 04-13-2012, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Spelbreker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please do a input lag test. How many times has this been asked?
Spelbreker is offline  
post #45 of 871 Old 04-13-2012, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
duhmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody get a wireless keyboard to work with this set?
duhmel is offline  
post #46 of 871 Old 04-13-2012, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
wlan_router's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a Iogear GKM561R without any problem.
wlan_router is offline  
post #47 of 871 Old 04-15-2012, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
jameswma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wanted to update on the tv, there's no more clouding after using it for several hours a day however, the flash lighting still exist on the top corner and part of the bottom which is tolerable. I'm enjoying the set more and more absent the clouding.
jameswma is offline  
post #48 of 871 Old 04-15-2012, 04:38 AM
Member
 
ruudboek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spelbreker View Post

Could someone please do a input lag test. How many times has this been asked?

Yes! I am eagerly waiting for some input lag results as well.
To all the owners wondering what software to use:

Please use a program called SMTT 2.0. It is very simple to use. It is much more accurate then the input lag program from flatpanelsHD.

You can download it here:

http://smtt.thomasthiemann.com/index_en.html

Here you can find an photo of what it looks like:

http://ic.tweakimg.net/ext/i/imageno...333121317.jpeg

Please don't forget to test in game mode.
You can make a movie while the test is running and then put it on youtube.
ruudboek is offline  
post #49 of 871 Old 04-16-2012, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Pirateghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first LCD. I love it. I have the 55" model.

Issue 1: I do not like that the sources do not all show up all the time. When I first turn the TV on, it cycles through the sources and always ends up on TV. HDMI2 doesn't even show up (my DVD) until I turn it on. The way it is now, I can't program my Harmony remote because the sources aren't always present.

Issue 2: This isn't even listed on the Samsung website yet. When I tried to ask for a software mod to show all the sources all the time, you can't as this model doesn't exist per Samsung. Heck, I even had to call on the darn phone to register it.

Thanks for the picture settings.
Pirateghost is offline  
post #50 of 871 Old 04-16-2012, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
InsuranceWhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Played with Gamma some and bumped it to +1. I like the result but it changed by settings. Here are my new settings:

Picture Mode: Standard
BL: 15
Contrast: 95
Bright: 45
Sharp: 50
Color: 36
Tint: 50/50

Advanced:
Dynamic Contrast: off
Black Tone: off
Gamma: +1

Picture Options:
Color Tone: Warm 2
DNR: low
MPEG: low
Auto Motion: Clear

I've noticed on a few tweak sites that they have DNR set to auto, MPEG off, and Film Mode at Auto 1. Really unfamiliar with what these settings do.

I'm also constantly playing with the auto motion. While clear looks good most of the time I did notice some hazing/blurring around the helmets during a baseball game. It didn't look good. So I'm playing with the Auto Motion custom settings. Any help there would be appreciated.
InsuranceWhiz is offline  
post #51 of 871 Old 04-16-2012, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
wlan_router's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My UN40ES6100 started turning off and back on every 25min. Samsung will service it on Sat 21st. I thought they had this problem straightened out? Heard that 2009/2010 models had this issue quite often...
wlan_router is offline  
post #52 of 871 Old 04-16-2012, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
InsuranceWhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Getting a nice look with Blur Reduction at 8 and Judder Reduction at 3. Need to watch a sporting event to really evaluate.
InsuranceWhiz is offline  
post #53 of 871 Old 04-17-2012, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
naijai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if it's just me but the lack of control buttons on the Tv itself is kind of sad
naijai is offline  
post #54 of 871 Old 04-17-2012, 07:21 AM
Member
 
kontai69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: "Cowtown" California
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by naijai View Post

I don't know if it's just me but the lack of control buttons on the Tv itself is kind of sad

There is a small "joystick" on the lower right corner on the backside.
kontai69 is offline  
post #55 of 871 Old 04-17-2012, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
naijai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kontai69 View Post


There is a small "joystick" on the lower right corner on the backside.

Thanks
I didn't try that assumed it was a screw point for the TV
naijai is offline  
post #56 of 871 Old 04-17-2012, 09:52 AM
Member
 
ghostsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post

This is my first LCD. I love it. I have the 55" model.

Issue 1: When I first turn the TV on, it cycles through the sources and always ends up on TV.


Thanks for the picture settings.


Exact same issue I'm having with my ES7500.
ghostsup is offline  
post #57 of 871 Old 04-17-2012, 10:50 AM
Newbie
 
jmt9779's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InsuranceWhiz View Post

Played with Gamma some and bumped it to +1. I like the result but it changed by settings. Here are my new settings:

Picture Mode: Standard
BL: 15
Contrast: 95
Bright: 45
Sharp: 50
Color: 36
Tint: 50/50

Advanced:
Dynamic Contrast: off
Black Tone: off
Gamma: +1

Picture Options:
Color Tone: Warm 2
DNR: low
MPEG: low
Auto Motion: Clear

I've noticed on a few tweak sites that they have DNR set to auto, MPEG off, and Film Mode at Auto 1. Really unfamiliar with what these settings do.

I'm also constantly playing with the auto motion. While clear looks good most of the time I did notice some hazing/blurring around the helmets during a baseball game. It didn't look good. So I'm playing with the Auto Motion custom settings. Any help there would be appreciated.

I just got my DVE disc today. I'll run my own calibration and report back later this week. (I'm really unfamiliar with a lot of those settings, too. Since I got this TV, I've been pretty happy with the settings you posted from the WOW disc.)

This past weekend I had to unplug the TV and pug it back in and a lot of my display settings got reset. That doesn't seem right to me - Shouldn't it save my settings? Am I missing something?

Also, to re-visit a previous post of mine, has anyone had any luck accessing a computer/tablet/cellphone/anything from the TV over wifi. Mine shows the computer as a source, but I can't access it.
jmt9779 is offline  
post #58 of 871 Old 04-17-2012, 08:15 PM
Member
 
ghostsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmt9779 View Post

I just got my DVE disc today. I'll run my own calibration and report back later this week. (I'm really unfamiliar with a lot of those settings, too. Since I got this TV, I've been pretty happy with the settings you posted from the WOW disc.)

This past weekend I had to unplug the TV and pug it back in and a lot of my display settings got reset. That doesn't seem right to me - Shouldn't it save my settings? Am I missing something?

Also, to re-visit a previous post of mine, has anyone had any luck accessing a computer/tablet/cellphone/anything from the TV over wifi. Mine shows the computer as a source, but I can't access it.

JMT, what are your router settings? Can you D/L updates? I know the way I have my router setup is that I have to manually input the MAC address under acceptions.
ghostsup is offline  
post #59 of 871 Old 04-18-2012, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Pirateghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something else I can't figure out.

The wife is watching Brady Bunch, SD, TV is in wide to fill the screen. When over, I go back to the DVR menu, the TV switches by itself back to 16:9. I then put on Malcom, SD, the TV goes back to wide, again without me changing the aspect.

How is this happening?

Thanks.
Pirateghost is offline  
post #60 of 871 Old 04-19-2012, 05:35 PM
Member
 
Steve Wilcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post

Something else I can't figure out.

The wife is watching Brady Bunch, SD, TV is in wide to fill the screen. When over, I go back to the DVR menu, the TV switches by itself back to 16:9. I then put on Malcom, SD, the TV goes back to wide, again without me changing the aspect.

How is this happening?

Thanks.

That sounds like it's being influenced by the DVR's output settings, not the TV. DVR menus sometimes force a specific output format.

-- Steve
Steve Wilcox is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un60es6100 60 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Slim Led Hdtv Black , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55d6000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off