Official Samsung UNXXES6100 Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 866 Old 06-01-2012, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
juju187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been following the forum since it started. I have the UN46ES6100. I have tried every setting posted. Until I actually took the time with help from friends to get the best picture I have found. If you use my settings and find a better setting somewhere let me know. I watch tv in low light. So below is what I have. Once again let me know if you find a tweak.

Picture Mode: Standard
BL: 15
Contrast: 98
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 50
Color: 37
Tint: G50/R50
Screen Fit
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB: Off
Color Space: Native
Gamma: +1
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm2
DNF: Low
MPEG NF: Low
Film Mode: Auto 2
Auto Motion Plus: Clear
LED Motion: Off

I hope it helps. Once again. Please post any quality changes you find
juju187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 866 Old 06-01-2012, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
smeltn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by juju187 View Post

I've been following the forum since it started. I have the UN46ES6100. I have tried every setting posted. Until I actually took the time with help from friends to get the best picture I have found. If you use my settings and find a better setting somewhere let me know. I watch tv in low light. So below is what I have. Once again let me know if you find a tweak.

Picture Mode: Standard
BL: 15
Contrast: 98
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 50
Color: 3
Tint: G50/R50
Screen Fit
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB: Off
Color Space: Native
Gamma: +1
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm2
DNF: Low
MPEG NF: Low
Film Mode: Auto 2
Auto Motion Plus: Clear
LED Motion: Off

I hope it helps. Once again. Please post any quality changes you find

Uhhh color at 3 means black and white picture. I assume that's a mistype?
smeltn is offline  
post #183 of 866 Old 06-01-2012, 04:03 PM
Member
 
drmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indianapolis Area
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by juju187 View Post

I've been following the forum since it started. I have the UN46ES6100. I have tried every setting posted. Until I actually took the time with help from friends to get the best picture I have found. If you use my settings and find a better setting somewhere let me know. I watch tv in low light. So below is what I have. Once again let me know if you find a tweak.

Picture Mode: Standard
BL: 15
Contrast: 98
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 50
Color: 3
Tint: G50/R50
Screen Fit
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB: Off
Color Space: Native
Gamma: +1
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm2
DNF: Low
MPEG NF: Low
Film Mode: Auto 2
Auto Motion Plus: Clear
LED Motion: Off

I hope it helps. Once again. Please post any quality changes you find

you getting any "clouding" or flashlighting in a dark room, with the BL turned up that high? Just curious. I need to search around here and find what conclusion peeps have agreed upon, for the movie settings. I'll give what you have, a try here in a couple days a post back. Thx
drmax is offline  
post #184 of 866 Old 06-01-2012, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Zasekamoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which models have better PQ D6xxx or ES6xxx or EH6xxx? I would like to buy 55inch TV and there is a big money difference.

- Samsung UN55ES6100 is $1,579.99

- Samsung UN55D6000 is $1,259.00

- Samsung UN55EH6000 is $909.93

Any recommendations or suggestions will be welcome.
Zasekamoz is offline  
post #185 of 866 Old 06-02-2012, 05:44 AM
Newbie
 
juju187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
37 thanks
juju187 is offline  
post #186 of 866 Old 06-02-2012, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
juju187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmax View Post

you getting any "clouding" or flashlighting in a dark room, with the BL turned up that high? Just curious. I need to search around here and find what conclusion peeps have agreed upon, for the movie settings. I'll give what you have, a try here in a couple days a post back. Thx

No I'm not getting any "clouding" or flashlighting. I do keep a light on in the corner and a few more on. I've only watched it once in complete darkness. The picture was perfect.
juju187 is offline  
post #187 of 866 Old 06-02-2012, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
Melterx12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone know the input lag on these TVs?
Melterx12 is offline  
post #188 of 866 Old 06-02-2012, 02:09 PM
Newbie
 
smacdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whaat would you guys go for the d6500 ita the un46d6500 its a 2011 or the 2012 UN46ES6100FXZC both are 46 inch
smacdown is offline  
post #189 of 866 Old 06-03-2012, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Pirateghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried to hook up a web cam to the 55" today. It will only recognize a keyboard or mouse. Anyone know if it is possible? Thanks.
Pirateghost is offline  
post #190 of 866 Old 06-03-2012, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
smeltn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post

Tried to hook up a web cam to the 55" today. It will only recognize a keyboard or mouse. Anyone know if it is possible? Thanks.

From what I understand it has to be their webcam.



http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs-...CY-STC1100/ZA?
smeltn is offline  
post #191 of 866 Old 06-03-2012, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Pirateghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smeltn View Post

From what I understand it has to be their webcam.



http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs-...CY-STC1100/ZA?

Thanks. Was hoping for a camera so I could use the video feature of gmail. The reviews for the Samsung camera suck.
Pirateghost is offline  
post #192 of 866 Old 06-07-2012, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
Melterx12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just got this TV yesterday. really like it so far. measured the input lag to about 30ms with game mode on.

one thing I noticed: when the tv is showing a dark image the backlight goes down automatically to make the scene even darker. in theory this should be great but in practice it does not work well at all. Is there any way to disable this? I turned all the eco options off, as well as any backlight adjusting settings in picture settings, and it had no effect on this. am I missing something here?
Melterx12 is offline  
post #193 of 866 Old 06-08-2012, 01:09 AM
Member
 
Centinul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melterx12 View Post

just got this TV yesterday. really like it so far. measured the input lag to about 30ms with game mode on.
one thing I noticed: when the tv is showing a dark image the backlight goes down automatically to make the scene even darker. in theory this should be great but in practice it does not work well at all. Is there any way to disable this? I turned all the eco options off, as well as any backlight adjusting settings in picture settings, and it had no effect on this. am I missing something here?

I believe you are having the same problem I am having. See my posts in this thread for some initial troubleshooting that I did. Samsung ultimately recommended I have someone come out and look at the TV. Although now I see that it's not just me I believe it's probably a software issue and not a problem with television hardware.

In addition to the work around I identified above I believe another work around is to use Movie picture mode instead of standard.

Hope this helps!
Centinul is offline  
post #194 of 866 Old 06-08-2012, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
Melterx12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the problem is I need to use game mode for my xbox (the input lag on this thing without game mode is ridiculously high). the picture mode is locked to standard in game mode.
Melterx12 is offline  
post #195 of 866 Old 06-11-2012, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
Melterx12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I calibrated my UN40ES6100 with Disney WOW bluray disc.

here are my results:
Code:
Mode: Standard
Backlight: 15
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 25
Color: 38
Tint: Default (+/- 0)
Picture Size: Screen Fit
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color Space: Auto
White Balance: Default
Gamma: 0
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm1
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Film Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus: Clear
LED Motion Plus: Off
Melterx12 is offline  
post #196 of 866 Old 06-12-2012, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
Lednewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centinul View Post

I believe you are having the same problem I am having. See my posts in this thread for some initial troubleshooting that I did. Samsung ultimately recommended I have someone come out and look at the TV. Although now I see that it's not just me I believe it's probably a software issue and not a problem with television hardware.
In addition to the work around I identified above I believe another work around is to use Movie picture mode instead of standard.
Hope this helps!


hi im new to this forums and i just got this tv from samsung because my original un40d5500 set was faulty and they give me this set as a replace.....about your post..... ....when i was tweaking my older tv i read that the dimming filter used by samsung...in order to replace the real local dimming....its always on in the " secret " menu...(you know... the one the service techs use to check our sets) in all picture modes.....and only in movie mode its off.....you can enter the secret menu and adjust that option....but its risky since you can decalibrate your tv really easy if you mess with those menus...and i read that entering into the service mode menu voids the warranty.....so i just calibrated my tv in movie mode......to avoid any problems......btw theres a new firmware in the samsung official webpage for this model...it saids will improve picture quality.......i havent tested yet ......but i did upgraded the firmware once and i did see a better picture quality after the upgrade.


these are my picture settings in case anyone find it useful

Mode: movie
Backlight: 7
Contrast: 85
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 20
Color: 50
Tint: Default (+/- 0)
Picture Size:16:9
Dynamic Contrast: low
Black Tone: dark
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color Space: native
White Balance:i tweaked this settings with some values i found on the net.......ill post it if somenone want it later....btw those values really make a difference imo
Gamma:-1
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm1
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: low
Film Mode: auto 1
Auto Motion Plus: off
LED Motion Plus: Off
xvycc: off
Lednewbie is offline  
post #197 of 866 Old 06-12-2012, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anyone know how to get into the "HDMI black level" setting? I just installed firmware 114 and was resetting my picture settings. I'm wanting to set HDMI Black Level to "low" but it's grayed out. The e-manual says only available in HDMI mode and HDMI is the only thing I have hooked up but I can't access it. It's currently set to "normal". Anybody?


Just found this on the Samsung website in the support FAQ. If the connected HDMI source already supports and uses the RGB 0-255 color space, the HDMI black level in the TV menu under picture options will be grayed out.
pinhead875 likes this.

-Kevin

Epson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9

Marantz AV8801 pre/pro

Wyred4Sound 5-channel amp

Oppo BDP-105

Darbee Darblet

JTR 3TX LCRs

JTR Single8 HT-LP surrounds

twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers

GIK Acoustic room treatments

KevinH is offline  
post #198 of 866 Old 06-13-2012, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Pirateghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 55" is starting to turn itself on and off. I am guessing this is not a good sign. Anyone hear of this problem? Thanks.
Pirateghost is offline  
post #199 of 866 Old 06-13-2012, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Lednewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post

My 55" is starting to turn itself on and off. I am guessing this is not a good sign. Anyone hear of this problem? Thanks.

you mean your set is off then suddenly turns on by itself?......or your watching tv and then the problem occurs?...if its the latter.....i once have a similar issue...when i was watching HD video from a usb drive..... i believe its like a pc software with auto-reboot when the system crash.....but only that time...never have any problem when watching hdmi cable signal or gaming consoles.....could you provide more info?
Lednewbie is offline  
post #200 of 866 Old 06-13-2012, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Pirateghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching Directv via an HDMI input. It turned itself on and then back on 2 times. No problems the rest of the night or today???
Pirateghost is offline  
post #201 of 866 Old 06-13-2012, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Hooterville's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post

I was watching Directv via an HDMI input. It turned itself on and then back on 2 times. No problems the rest of the night or today???

I just posted a question about our new UN55ES7100 turning it's self on in the middle of the night. We also have DirecTV.
Hooterville is offline  
post #202 of 866 Old 06-14-2012, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
Lednewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooterville View Post

I just posted a question about our new UN55ES7100 turning it's self on in the middle of the night. We also have DirecTV.

i dont think its a coincidence.
Lednewbie is offline  
post #203 of 866 Old 06-14-2012, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lednewbie View Post

i dont think its a coincidence.

Sounds like an HDMI software issue with the D* TV box rather than a TV. problem.

Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #204 of 866 Old 06-18-2012, 12:30 PM
Member
 
ocellaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone have feedback on motion blur on these ES6100 TVs? I have a EH5300 right now, I really like the TV aside from some motion blurring that is more than I was expected. I don't "need" 120Hz for anything, but it might be worth the upgrade IF the TV blurs less during movements (especially during gaming). Also I don't plan on using clean motion or anything like that, I just want something that blurs less when turning.
ocellaris is offline  
post #205 of 866 Old 06-20-2012, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocellaris View Post

Anyone have feedback on motion blur on these ES6100 TVs? I have a EH5300 right now, I really like the TV aside from some motion blurring that is more than I was expected. I don't "need" 120Hz for anything, but it might be worth the upgrade IF the TV blurs less during movements (especially during gaming). Also I don't plan on using clean motion or anything like that, I just want something that blurs less when turning.

Best advice I can give you is, go to a Best Buy or another store that has it on display and see if you like it. My set a 55' does not show any blurring, flash lighting or any other distortion.

Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #206 of 866 Old 06-22-2012, 08:15 AM
Member
 
ocellaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralarcon View Post

Best advice I can give you is, go to a Best Buy or another store that has it on display and see if you like it. My set a 55' does not show any blurring, flash lighting or any other distortion.
Cheers

The store models look fine, but the overhead lighting really bright and they won't let me connect a PS3 to the display models. Hard to tell if there is much for image blurring off a store demo looping a low quality video feed.
ocellaris is offline  
post #207 of 866 Old 06-22-2012, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocellaris View Post

The store models look fine, but the overhead lighting really bright and they won't let me connect a PS3 to the display models. Hard to tell if there is much for image blurring off a store demo looping a low quality video feed.

In that case, buy from an outlet that is amenable to returns without stoking fees, and under the condition that if you do not like the way it looks in your home you will return it.

Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #208 of 866 Old 06-23-2012, 06:10 PM
Newbie
 
twil0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't decide between this and the 7100 at 55"

Anyone here think I would be missing anything significant (besides 3D) by saving many hundreds of dollars by going from this?

I'm currently upgrading from a Sammy LN40B650, so I feel like I should go up to the 7 range haha.
twil0 is offline  
post #209 of 866 Old 06-24-2012, 07:54 PM
Member
 
seaburyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by twil0 View Post

Can't decide between this and the 7100 at 55"
Anyone here think I would be missing anything significant (besides 3D) by saving many hundreds of dollars by going from this?
I'm currently upgrading from a Sammy LN40B650, so I feel like I should go up to the 7 range haha.

I have a LN46B750 which I think still has a superb PQ. But I needed a new primary TV and first tried the LG but went on to a 55es6500. It had a good PQ, but I thought compared to the B750 was missing some pop in it's picture. So I went on to a 7150 as the wife suggested it, who am I to disagree biggrin.gif. And this one has about the same if not better PQ than the B750. Of course it was also a couple of hundreds more. So my suggestion is if you are on a budget the 6500 will be good enough as I didn't mind keeping it while I had it. But if you can afford it go try the 7100, you might really like it.
seaburyguy is offline  
post #210 of 866 Old 06-25-2012, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
naijai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an issue, cannot connect to the internet on my TV. All other devices, PC, iPad, phone, receivers all have internet connection. I have tried both wired & wireless connections, they both connect to the router but cannot connect to the internet. Anyone else having an issue with this ?
naijai is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un60es6100 60 Inch 1080p 120 Hz Slim Led Hdtv Black , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55d6000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off