The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2302 Old 04-29-2012, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenbob1 View Post

Televisioninfo.com says that the eh5000 has a great viewing angle. I'm wondering if the eh5300 is the same tv with added features.

They wrote it at about 35deg. Its actually fine if you are not to close but it does not beat the IPS viewing angle, it cant even beat TN's horizontal viewing angles at extreme angles, the TV becomes washed out while the TN still maintains a very colorful image but if your directly infront of the TV and just tilt head to the left or right, there wont be a viewing angle issue on this screen but you can already notice that a TN screen will be darker.



I'll try to check the store demo unit's viewing angle but I find it unlikely that there will be a difference in viewing angles unless mine is problematic.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2302 Old 05-06-2012, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone know how to access the service menu on the 32EH5000?

I tried the power off, mute then 1-8-2 power on and it doesnt do anything aside from switching me to channel1 instead of HDMI1.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #33 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 12:09 AM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anybody make an input lag test for 40EH5300 (or any other size). seems a very interesting tv to be used also as a fulltime PC monitor. thanks in advance.
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #34 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 10:39 AM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandemonium08 View Post

Anyone know how to access the service menu on the 32EH5000?

I tried the power off, mute then 1-8-2 power on and it doesnt do anything aside from switching me to channel1 instead of HDMI1.


I will verify that what I posted is what actually works in the next few days and get back to you. Going in to the service menu wipes out most user settings, that is why I am going to do this later when I have the time to reset everything.
kellybob is offline  
post #35 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post

I will verify that what I posted is what actually works in the next few days and get back to you. Going in to the service menu wipes out most user settings, that is why I am going to do this later when I have the time to reset everything.

Ok please do, I've seen a video but with another Samsung model and he got into the service menu.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #36 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 11:47 AM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am looking at the 5300 service manual right now. It says power off, menu, 1, 8, 2, power on. I am pretty sure what I posted was what worked for me, but you could try this until I take the time to verify.
kellybob is offline  
post #37 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 12:46 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I tried menu, 1, 8, 2, power on and this does not access the service menu. Mute, 1, 8, 2, power on does access the service menu

So TV in standby. Press mute button, followed by 1 button, followed by 8 button, followed by 2 button, and then power button. All my button presses are one right after the other.
kellybob is offline  
post #38 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 01:30 PM
Member
 
ruudboek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoklyps3 View Post

can anybody make an input lag test for 40EH5300 (or any other size). seems a very interesting tv to be used also as a fulltime PC monitor. thanks in advance.

Yes, i would be very interested in that as well.
This is the official successor of the D5000 after all, which only had an input lag of 16 ms.
ruudboek is offline  
post #39 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post

I tried menu, 1, 8, 2, power on and this does not access the service menu. Mute, 1, 8, 2, power on does access the service menu

So TV in standby. Press mute button, followed by 1 button, followed by 8 button, followed by 2 button, and then power button. All my button presses are one right after the other.

Thats what I did, I cannot access the service menu for using that method. Must be some firmware changes for models ment to be in the Philippines, mine says made in Taiwan if it matters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruudboek View Post

Yes, i would be very interested in that as well.
This is the official successor of the D5000 after all, which only had an input lag of 16 ms.

I've gotten about 27-32ms compared to a gaming TN monitor.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #40 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 09:05 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Apparently there is a difference. I also accessed the service menu of a 5000 at Best Buy using this method.
kellybob is offline  
post #41 of 2302 Old 05-07-2012, 09:18 PM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandemonium08 View Post

Thats what I did, I cannot access the service menu for using that method. Must be some firmware changes for models ment to be in the Philippines, mine says made in Taiwan if it matters.



I've gotten about 27-32ms compared to a gaming TN monitor.

mmm seems kinda high, since the TN monitors also have lag themselves
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #42 of 2302 Old 05-08-2012, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoklyps3 View Post

mmm seems kinda high, since the TN monitors also have lag themselves

Sounds like it but TBH, I cannot tell the difference in delay between my TN and HDTV side by side when gaming. I think the 32D5000 has a faster panel in terms of Input lag and screen response, the 32EH5000 is like the 'economy' model
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #43 of 2302 Old 05-08-2012, 06:22 AM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah...i heard that about D5000 also, too bad that it costs as much as the EH5300 ,yet it has no internet features. guess you can't have it all,but i will wait maybe the prices will drop.
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #44 of 2302 Old 05-08-2012, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoklyps3 View Post

yeah...i heard that about D5000 also, too bad that it costs as much as the EH5300 ,yet it has no internet features. guess you can't have it all,but i will wait maybe the prices will drop.

I really wanted to get the 32D5000 instead of the 32EH5000 as it costed a few bucks less from where I am buying but the though of having a possible backlight bleeding/clouding and some other things that edge lit introduces irks me more than having a panel with more input lag and higher panel response time. I guess at the end of the day what matters is what you can tolerate, What would be very interesting if LG releases something similar at the same price range with 'gaming' S-IPS panel, direct LED and good response time, that would be a very worth upgrade.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #45 of 2302 Old 05-08-2012, 09:03 AM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so EH5300 is bleeding-free?. can you post a pic taken at night (or very dark room) in a no source mode (or a movie with 16:9 aspect ratio)? curious how this new thick led tv's from samsung are handling bleeding.
funny stuff. i own and old LCD Samsung 32a656. i use it mainly as a PC monitor , but also for my DVB-S/DVB-S combo reciever. i have noticed that if i rename the input for the hdmi2 to PC, for lag reducing, i get some bleeding in the corners. if i rename it to cable dvr for example and still using it for PC , there is some lag but the the blacks are way better with no bleeding in the corners. lol, guess can't have both
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #46 of 2302 Old 05-08-2012, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
Daredevil_pt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you use the USB port for media playback, normally you use 1080p material or 720p??
I have an HDready and most of my media are 720p. I like the image my only setback would be the brightness. So thinking on a LED Tv could the FullHD resolution be too mutch for the 720p material I have??? Should I be thinking on a 720p LED??
Daredevil_pt is offline  
post #47 of 2302 Old 05-08-2012, 01:44 PM
Member
 
ruudboek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandemonium08 View Post

Thats what I did, I cannot access the service menu for using that method. Must be some firmware changes for models ment to be in the Philippines, mine says made in Taiwan if it matters.



I've gotten about 27-32ms compared to a gaming TN monitor.

That is very interesting, did you also test the lag after renaming the input for the hdmi2 to PC?
ruudboek is offline  
post #48 of 2302 Old 05-09-2012, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruudboek View Post

That is very interesting, did you also test the lag after renaming the input for the hdmi2 to PC?

I only tested HDMI1 under PC mode, is it expected to perform better with HDMI2 ?
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #49 of 2302 Old 05-09-2012, 02:10 PM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there is a hdmi input labeled as DVI or PC (on the case). looking at the manual of EH5300 you have done well.seems hdmi1 is the input labeled dvi.

is EH5300 is bleed-free?. can you post a pic taken at night (or very dark room) in a no source mode (or a movie with 16:9 aspect ratio)? curious how this new thick led tv's from samsung are handling bleeding.
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #50 of 2302 Old 05-09-2012, 03:20 PM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'll try to take a photo tonight if I can, but I can assure you there is no backlight bleeding or clouding, bleeding from PC monitors ( and even LG based IPS edge lit panels ) is the main reason why I got this HDTV as a PC monitor.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #51 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 12:02 AM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks man. can't wait to see the pic. i'll post a couple of pics of my 32a656 and the hdmi input renaming "magic" where the bleeding dissapears,
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #52 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 01:30 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'll be taking the pictures tonight.. its 4:29PM here.. its gets really dark at around 9-10PM.

Images uploaded, source material is 1920x800 something ( I dont know why they call it 1080p material ), display is not stretched.. as you can see no backlight bleeding, no flashlighting as a result of the direct LED.
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
redmat99 likes this.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #53 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 06:44 AM
Member
 
apoklyps3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
damn man. looks amazing, love it.thanks alot. have you had the chance to play games on it? wondering about motion handling on fast games, but for now seems my number 1 choice. was expecting the "direct led" thing to be just another marketing lie, but it really looks amazing.
apoklyps3 is offline  
post #54 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
Blood Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have searched on the internet and there is no mention to direct LED how did u know it,s a direct LED , also in some site it,s listed as edge lit LED.
Blood Talon is offline  
post #55 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
dre23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great pics, if a 46" is the same, it would be awesome....I think I will try these

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7...ates-hands-on/
dre23 is offline  
post #56 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 08:50 AM
Member
 
dfas34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blood Talon View Post

I have searched on the internet and there is no mention to direct LED how did u know it,s a direct LED , also in some site it,s listed as edge lit LED.

There are a fair amount of journalistic sites reporting the Samsung EH series being the first direct-lit LEDs. For example: http://www.electroiq.com/articles/ss...fl-future.html

I sent Crutchfield an email about the fact they list their EH TVs as edge-lit and got a response that their 'product research team' is looking into it.

I think they also have it wrong listing the EH5000 as a matte screen and the EH5300 as a glossy screen. A poster in the other EH5... thread said he had them both and if anything the 5300 may be a hair more matte. Although, having seen the 5000 I'd say they are somewhere between matte and glossy.

I'm almost ready to pull the trigger on the 46EH5300 myself.
dfas34 is offline  
post #57 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
dre23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to see some pics of 46", anybody here to post them!?
dre23 is offline  
post #58 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by apoklyps3 View Post

damn man. looks amazing, love it.thanks alot. have you had the chance to play games on it? wondering about motion handling on fast games, but for now seems my number 1 choice. was expecting the "direct led" thing to be just another marketing lie, but it really looks amazing.

Its my primary (and only) PC monitor, sure my TN panel has a faster response time but the image fidelity and details that I see on this HDTV is more than worth the trade off, it does have pixel smearing on very limited games but you'ed really have to actually STOP playing and look for it to see it.

A moderator should merge this thread with this

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1398113
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #59 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 11:40 AM
Member
 
dfas34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was fast action. Crutchfield has changed the detail tab info for the EH's to list the backlight type as direct-lit. And, the 50" also popped up on their site for preorder.

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_30550E5...rch=un50eh5000
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_30550E5...N50EH5300.html
dfas34 is offline  
post #60 of 2302 Old 05-11-2012, 02:15 PM
Member
 
dfas34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone that has the EH5300 verify that it has PIP? The downloadable manual seems to cover a lot of models and the spec page for the 5300 doesn't list it as a feature. Also, the manual describes the the subpicture can only be the internal TV tuner and you can only swap the audio and not the subpic and main pic.... is that true? Can the audio swap be triggered from the remote without going into the menu?
dfas34 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off