The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2272 Old 11-25-2012, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
Tv user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased my first HDTV ever. I'm looking for good calibration settings for samsung 32" LED tv UN32EH5000FXZA

Any Help would be great!
Tv user is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2272 Old 11-25-2012, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mj79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Looking at picking up the 32EH 4003 which I could get shipped to my house for under $250. It seems like a great set , at a great price, but I'm still not positive. Also does anyone know how long the price will be like this. It's on amazon
mj79 is offline  
post #633 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 12:54 AM
Newbie
 
jonodori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you rename an input to pc mode Chicolom?
jonodori is offline  
post #634 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 01:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonodori View Post

How do you rename an input to pc mode Chicolom?

It's under Menu / Input / Edit Name. Then set it to "PC".
chicolom is offline  
post #635 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 01:39 AM
Member
 
redmat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1 thing:

The base-stand of my 32eh5000 is the "circle version" and compared to the "square version" of the eh5300 or even eh400x is very bad..
Yesterday, on store, I observe that the screws position and the measures of the two different bases are the same..

Can I mount the square base instead of the circle version on my 32eh5000????????

Where I can find it????
redmat99 is offline  
post #636 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
rscherk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Healp Please

The panel of the series is the same EH5000 series EH6030?

The 6030 is the same as the native 60hz EH5000?

I'm not talking about the interpolated 120hz/240hz but the real 60hz panels
rscherk is offline  
post #637 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwacker View Post

Well just a quick follow up. I think I'm officially disgusted with Walmart and Samsung! I went to 5 friggin' Walmarts today. 3 of them didn't even have the eh5000 while 2 of them had them on display with the incorrect price! The 1st store that had it on display were sold out but called another store and promised to hold one for me. Of course when I went to other store, they claimed to have never received a hold call and they have been sold out for a while. So 4 hours in Denver, driving around looking to buy a eH5000 before the low price expires tomorrow. Geesh.
The only silver lining is that that 2 stores that did have them on display, those displays were TS02 versions.
I think I need a drink.
I may switch to another 40" Tv.[/quote Did you ever find your EH5000? I think Target had them on sale as well if I am not mistaken. They still had several 5000 and 6000 models on Sat, and several of them had the good TS panels.
tylerSC is offline  
post #638 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Schwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sweet - my obsession is over!

I was able to find a local Sears store that had this model in stock for the $429 price. not only that....I was able to get a TS02 panel version.

So now I'll check the calibration settings that was posted earlier....can't wait to test it.
Schwacker is offline  
post #639 of 2272 Old 11-26-2012, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscherk View Post

Healp Please
The panel of the series is the same EH5000 series EH6030?
The 6030 is the same as the native 60hz EH5000?
I'm not talking about the interpolated 120hz/240hz but the real 60hz panels

The EH6030 supports 3D so it HAS to have at least 120hz native refresh rate. I don't think it tries to interpolate like the EH6000's "Auto Motion Plus", but I'm not sure. The EH5000 is 60hz.
chicolom is offline  
post #640 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:12 AM
Newbie
 
package39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just had UPS delivered my Samsung 40EH5300, I bought it from Amazon warehouse deals for $425 LIKE NEW condition, these model was sold last week at Amazon like candy, I was able to grab one before they sold out, Anyways, I saw the version outside the box and it said Cxxx, I was OH NO I got the CHIMEI PANEL, I was lucky enough, they had shipped it in another box which was not the original. I looked at the sticker behind the tv and it is TH1, I was very happy, I was almost sure that I got the Samsung panel, I went to the service menu to make sure and I did, 40Axxx, I am very happy with this tv, the picture is excellent and no problems with the apps and internet connection whatsoever, the only thing that was missing which I was surprised was 4 screw stands, for a LIKE NEW condition I was kind of upset at the beginning but I went to Home Depot and bought similar screws that fit perfect, I called Amazon and they also gave me $5 credit and the screws at Home Depot cost me $1.25. So Overall I had a good experience with this tv.
package39 is offline  
post #641 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Kelud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm now leaning toward going with a cheaper, but still solid quality, lower end lcd and getting the 26eh4000 from Amazon for my bedroom. It's hard to find a negative review of it. I'm also considering saving some money by not getting an HD box for this tv and just watching most channels in SD with HD for the locals via QAM(renting an HD box for every tv adds up to a lot of $ over time). I'd still be able to watch local news/primetime network shows/late night talk shows/football in HD. My viewing distance is mostly 5-7 ft and I'm used to watching smaller tvs(I recently spent years watching a 13 inch crt in my bedroom). Also, I want to hook up my tv to a stereo so I'll need the optical out connector on the 26eh4000(the 32eh4003 doesn't have one).

I've been assuming the 4000 also used a VA panel, but a couple things I've read suggest it's a TN. Could someone enlighten me?
Kelud is offline  
post #642 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 01:00 PM
Member
 
nickdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could someone suggest me the best setting for pc mode on 32eh5000?
nickdc is offline  
post #643 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wormraper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
quick question. I got the 40EH5050 (costco's version of the EH5000) today from costco and ALL they had was the HS03 panels and NONE of the TS02's.... my question is... how much difference is there between the two?? am I really going to be disappointed in the HS03 ??? and lastly, is it a lower quality in terms of reliability panel than the TS02???
wormraper is online now  
post #644 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 03:33 PM
ped
Senior Member
 
ped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Similarly, I picked up the Costco 32EH4050 and it is a US03. Anyone gone into the SM on one of these yet?
ped is offline  
post #645 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wormraper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ped View Post

Similarly, I picked up the Costco 32EH4050 and it is a US03. Anyone gone into the SM on one of these yet?

US03?? now that's a new one that I haven't seen before.

on a side note I glanced at EVERY Samsung in the store (not just the 5000 series) and NONE of them were the TS/TH panesl... all of them were H or C or U panels. But all the Display models were TS02 models
wormraper is online now  
post #646 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yay, I just received my UN32EH5000FXZA today and the screen type is TS01.......and I got it at a reasonable price of $329 from Crutchfield....My first impressions without spending any time making a lot of adjustments is great. But the sound...WOW...it is better than I had ever expected after I put it in the Movie and Music modes....this will do fine for my bedroom viewing since the sound is more than adequate and has a depth to it....so glad I picked a model with 10 watts per channel...if I had gone with a smaller panel it would have been only 5 watts per channel. First impressions on picture are great.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #647 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:30 PM
ped
Senior Member
 
ped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourbeef View Post

Yay, I just received my UN32EH5000FXZA today and the screen type is TS01.......and I got it at a reasonable price of $329 from Crutchfield...

How did you get it for that price? Right now they are listed OOS and quite a bit more expensive.
ped is offline  
post #648 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #649 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ped View Post

How did you get it for that price? Right now they are listed OOS and quite a bit more expensive.

I ordered on Nov. 23, I guess the price will change randomly between now and Christmas.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #650 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ped View Post

Similarly, I picked up the Costco 32EH4050 and it is a US03. Anyone gone into the SM on one of these yet?


You can go in there yourself (see my sig).
chicolom is offline  
post #651 of 2272 Old 11-27-2012, 08:17 PM
ped
Senior Member
 
ped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ped View Post

Similarly, I picked up the Costco 32EH4050 and it is a US03. Anyone gone into the SM on one of these yet?

OK I went ahead and unboxed it, I was still considering an EH5000 which is why I hadn't opened it yet. But the EH5000 seems a bit scarce right now (at sale prices) and since this is a bedroom TV that will be used with a STB 99% of the time it's probably not that critical.

Anyway, it looks like it's a Samsung panel, the Option line in the SM reads:

Option: 32A6AH1D, US, 4050, NONE

I didn't realize that these were actually a dark red color and not black. I'll have to wait for daylight to see how I feel about that biggrin.gif
ped is offline  
post #652 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

The service menu indicates my UN46EH6030 has a 60Hz panel but not the same one as on the UN46EH5000. It lacks AMP as well.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1395734/official-samsung-unxxeh6000-owners-thread/870#post_22588325
EH6030: 46A6AF6D (Panel Version TS01)
EH5000: 46A6AF0D (Panel Version TS02)

What makes you say the 6030 is 60hz?

Do you remember the service menu code for the EH6000?
chicolom is offline  
post #653 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 11:02 AM
Newbie
 
rscherk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But in PC MODE. The 6030 series works 120hz? Like a 120hz native monitor?
rscherk is offline  
post #654 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

EH6000, Panel Version TS02 was 46A1AF0D
"For example, if you find the following model: 40A1UF0C:
40 — inches, the screen size
A — panel manufacturer (A = Samsung; D = CMO; L = AUO; I = CPT)
1 — frequency (6 = 50/60 Hz; 1 = 100/120 Hz; 2 = 200/240 Hz)
U — panel (A = AntiGlare; T = TN; U = Ultra Clear)
F — resolution (F = Full HD; H = HD; U = UD)
0 — 1st, 2nd panel and so on (1st = 0; 2nd = 1 ...)
C — backlight unit (C = CCFL; L = LED; E = Edge LED)"
http://www.digitalversus.com/panel-switching-samsung-tvs-we-know-so-far-n15170.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

NO 120Hz TV can accept a signal higher than 60Hz. Only certain PC monitors can do that. And while the EH6000 is a 120Hz TV, the EH6030 is only a 60Hz TV (according to the service menu at least).


That's strange, someone earlier posted their 6030 service menu code and it was 46A1AF6D. I think they had a non-US set but I don't think that would matter (if it was PAL it would just use 100hz/50hz instead of 120hz/60hz).
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1395734/official-samsung-unxxeh6000-owners-thread/870#post_22594620

Samsung also says "CMR" of 240, same as the 6000, with the 5000 being 120. I don't know how it could be a 3D tv if only had a 60hz refresh rate to work with.


FYI those service menu keys are a few years old, and it's possible some things may have changed. I'm not saying they frequency/refresh rate has, but we know the panel manufacturer codes are different now as well as the backlight unit code.
chicolom is offline  
post #655 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
Texsinbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been lurking for awhile. I didn't know that it was so hard to buy a Samsung "Samsung" tv. After looking at several Walmarts and Best Buy in the Corpus Christi, Tx area, I finally found a UN40EH5300, Version TH01, at a little electronics store. It was on sale, like a lot of places I checked for $449; so, I bought it.

I checked the service menu after I got it home, and it is a Samsung panel.

I went through the setup and there was a firmware update.

I haven't had time to make any picture adjustments, but the picture looks good except all of the faces look like they were "airbrushed". I like crisp definition. I want to see each whisker on a man's face.

Thanks for all of the info that I have received on this forum, especially from Chicolom's posts.
Texsinbad is offline  
post #656 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

That reference is to the UE model and I believe it also has AMP. The UN does not have AMP and the service menu code for the UN is 46A6AF6D.

Well I don't know then.

Everything except for the service menu (and lack of AMP) points to it being 120hz. I thought ANY 3D TV requiredat least a 120hz refresh rate to function in 3D. I remember you said the 6030 had better motion than the 5000 too, and if they're both 60hz S-PVAs I don't see how it could differ much (even if they use slightly different S-PVAs).

Perhaps it somehow switches its refresh rate, and defaults to and identifies as a 60hz panel in 2D but somehow switches to 120hz for 3D (?) I didn't think that was possible for LCDs though. Maybe it uses some other trickery instead.
chicolom is offline  
post #657 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
Tv user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Surely someone knows a good calibration setting for the Samsung UN32EH5000FXZA?

I see people own them. How about a A link or Advice?
Tv user is offline  
post #658 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wormraper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 38
well, unboxed my HS03 panel today (un40eh5050) and tested it out. the motion blu on LCD's isn't TOO noticeable luckily. I was expecting worse...guess I'm so spoiled by plasmas perfect picture quality biggrin.gif... luckily it's just going to be used for a gaming tv

well, sound quality is worse than my Panny 50u50 (which I thought wasn't possible), so I might have to grab a cheap soundbar
wormraper is online now  
post #659 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 05:53 PM
Newbie
 
RobFeeley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there, i just bought a samsung ue32eh5000k hd led, the lip sync is out on pretty much everything i have tried which is:
freeview
dvds
xbox
xbox apps

This is getting me pretty annoyed as the tv wasnt cheap for me.

I have tried 2 different xbox HDMI cables, a standard xbox hd cable 2 different aerials.

What can i do?
RobFeeley is offline  
post #660 of 2272 Old 11-28-2012, 06:49 PM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicolom View Post

Well I don't know then.
Everything except for the service menu (and lack of AMP) points to it being 120hz. I thought ANY 3D TV requiredat least a 120hz refresh rate to function in 3D. I remember you said the 6030 had better motion than the 5000 too, and if they're both 60hz S-PVAs I don't see how it could differ much (even if they use slightly different S-PVAs).
Perhaps it somehow switches its refresh rate, and defaults to and identifies as a 60hz panel in 2D but somehow switches to 120hz for 3D (?) I didn't think that was possible for LCDs though. Maybe it uses some other trickery instead.

The only trickery would be Samsungs of the dubious CMR. But if it is advertised as a true 120HZ TV, then that would be it's native panel REFRESH rate. The use of some charts from older Samsung TVs is suspect. There is NO reason to believe some or all of the codes translate to the same meaning from a year or two ago.

Also, your reasoning is sound about it being doubtful that a 60HZ LCD panel could do 3D. Not possible and also unlikely, that the panel is somehow "switched" from 60HZ to 120HZ.

Use of old data codes to interpolate current Samsung LCD panel technology is speculative and guessing at best. The "Panelookup" website will be best to determine what the panel type really is, But it takes a few months for specific TV panel data to populate the large data base at that site. It would be good to check your actual panel model number from the inner label (not firmware service menu) and then check every few months at Panelookup to see if the updated panel data is there. Why do I say look at the actual LCD panel label and not firmware? Example: I have a 2010 LG 42LD550 and when checking the service menu panel info it does not report the same LCD panel number as the label on the LCD panel itself.

There can be many reasons for firmware not to agree with actual hardware present in a TV, computer, or any electronic device, ranging from incorrect coding or program updates to changes in manufacturing procedures during the production year.
Phase700B is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off