The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 2272 Old 12-08-2012, 02:40 AM
Newbie
 
jeffabe3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

Recently I bought a 32EH5000 here in our country (Philippines). Tried playing videos from an external hard drive, it was okay, until I tried to play Avatar which has a runtime of almost 3 hours.. about 2 hours and 15 minutes into the video it stops.. Thought it was the video.. Tried another, Lord of the Rings Trilogy.. Same thing happens.. Is there anyone who encounters this problem?
jeffabe3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 2272 Old 12-09-2012, 06:01 AM
Newbie
 
Justin Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I had my panel replaced (by samsung engineers). The service menu currently shows the panel as made by samsung (40Axxx). After changing the panel, will the service menu show the new panel info or the factory set information persist? If the currently shown info is not valid how do I find the current panel info?

Also, what is the remote passcode to be used for initial setup etc. (Samsung UE40EH5000 - UK model)?
Justin Joseph is offline  
post #723 of 2272 Old 12-09-2012, 11:22 PM
Newbie
 
nikkizb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a UN50EH5300 and every time a turned it on it keeps poping a "Not connected to network" message and asks for my WiFi password. EVERYTIME. A friend's TV doesn't. My wireless connection is ok and eco optiones are off.

Any suggestions?
nikkizb is offline  
post #724 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
Justin Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffabe3 View Post

Hi everyone,
Recently I bought a 32EH5000 here in our country (Philippines). Tried playing videos from an external hard drive, it was okay, until I tried to play Avatar which has a runtime of almost 3 hours.. about 2 hours and 15 minutes into the video it stops.. Thought it was the video.. Tried another, Lord of the Rings Trilogy.. Same thing happens.. Is there anyone who encounters this problem?

By any chance, is your power save settings are enabled? May be it has two hours idle time before the TV switches off.
Justin Joseph is offline  
post #725 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 05:17 PM
Member
 
jobble9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi! First of all I think this is a great and informative thread, so thanks all.

I'm going to be buying an EH5300 this month for gaming and I just wanted to ask a couple of questions if that's okay.

1. What image preset is best for game console use? In this thread I've read that renaming the HDMI option to "PC" lets the TV display in 4:4:4 chroma. Can anyone explain what this exactly does and if it's preferable for 360/PS3 use?

2. Does this TV have a "Just Scan" option or equivelant that provides the full image from the source without overscan, and if so, once enabled is it always enabled? Or will I have to turn it on each time I use my TV?

3. Would you recommend I buy the EH5300 if I still own a Samsung R88? (which you can see here: http://www.avforums.com/forums/lcd-led-lcd-tvs/513376-samsung-r86-87-88-owners-thread-optimal-settings-discussion.html).

Any other tips and info would be much appreciated. Cheers!
jobble9 is offline  
post #726 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 06:38 PM
Member
 
ayeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been lurking on this thread for some time now and have a question.

I had a Vizio that recently suffered the black screen of death and have replaced it with a un40eh5000 with a HS03 panel. I can easily see blue ghosting during fast motion and wanted to know if anyone can confirm that it does not happen with a ts01 or ts02 panel.

The first picture I took while playing the video normally (1/60 shutter speed):



This one I took while the video was paused:



I can still return the TV but wanted to know if exchanging it for a TS02 panel would fix it or not. If not, then I'll start looking at other TVs.

Thanks.
ayeaux is offline  
post #727 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 08:49 PM
Member
 
hell911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
which is better? DIRECT LED or EDGE LED?
hell911 is offline  
post #728 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 09:29 PM
Newbie
 
lkntechnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I've looked through 25 pages of this thread and I don't see much about the 4000 series. Between a couple of my friends and I, we have recently purchased four model UN32EH4000 Samsung TVs in the last few weeks. They are going to be used a bedroom TV's. I assume there are a lot of other folks who have just bought a 32" model 4000 or the slightly newer 4003 model since they were on sale for $249.

I know they are not high end sets, but I am really hoping to find some detailed calibration info so we can set these up for the best possible picture. Can anyone help???

THANKS!!!
lkntechnut is offline  
post #729 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeaux View Post

Been lurking on this thread for some time now and have a question.
I had a Vizio that recently suffered the black screen of death and have replaced it with a un40eh5000 with a HS03 panel. I can easily see blue ghosting during fast motion and wanted to know if anyone can confirm that it does not happen with a ts01 or ts02 panel.

The first picture I took while playing the video normally (1/60 shutter speed):

This one I took while the video was paused:

I can still return the TV but wanted to know if exchanging it for a TS02 panel would fix it or not. If not, then I'll start looking at other TVs.
Thanks.

Same panel, same issue here. I don't see it as evident as in your screenshot; but it's there.
staknhalo is offline  
post #730 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 09:41 PM
Member
 
Maverickaim9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Google un32eh4000 cnet settings. You're welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkntechnut View Post

Ok, I've looked through 25 pages of this thread and I don't see much about the 4000 series. Between a couple of my friends and I, we have recently purchased four model UN32EH4000 Samsung TVs in the last few weeks. They are going to be used a bedroom TV's. I assume there are a lot of other folks who have just bought a 32" model 4000 or the slightly newer 4003 model since they were on sale for $249.
I know they are not high end sets, but I am really hoping to find some detailed calibration info so we can set these up for the best possible picture. Can anyone help???
THANKS!!!
Maverickaim9 is offline  
post #731 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 10:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobble9 View Post

Hi! First of all I think this is a great and informative thread, so thanks all.
I'm going to be buying an EH5300 this month for gaming and I just wanted to ask a couple of questions if that's okay.
1. What image preset is best for game console use? In this thread I've read that renaming the HDMI option to "PC" lets the TV display in 4:4:4 chroma. Can anyone explain what this exactly does and if it's preferable for 360/PS3 use?
2. Does this TV have a "Just Scan" option or equivelant that provides the full image from the source without overscan, and if so, once enabled is it always enabled? Or will I have to turn it on each time I use my TV?
3. Would you recommend I buy the EH5300 if I still own a Samsung R88? (which you can see here: http://www.avforums.com/forums/lcd-led-lcd-tvs/513376-samsung-r86-87-88-owners-thread-optimal-settings-discussion.html).
Any other tips and info would be much appreciated. Cheers!

1) Movie is closest to being accurate, but you can get Standard to look the same. 4:4:4 capability is mainly a benefit for people who use the TV as PC monitor. If your not using your TV as PC monitor, I wouldn't worry about it (aka using for consoles).
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1381724/official-4-4-4-chroma-subsampling-thread

2) Yes, it's called "Screen Fit." It stays on.

3) Can't say.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeaux View Post

Been lurking on this thread for some time now and have a question.
I had a Vizio that recently suffered the black screen of death and have replaced it with a un40eh5000 with a HS03 panel. I can easily see blue ghosting during fast motion and wanted to know if anyone can confirm that it does not happen with a ts01 or ts02 panel.

I can still return the TV but wanted to know if exchanging it for a TS02 panel would fix it or not. If not, then I'll start looking at other TVs.
Thanks.

I doubt many people have seen or owned both panels. I have a TS02 panel, and while it doesn't have perfect motion, I certainly don't notice any purple trailing.
chicolom is offline  
post #732 of 2272 Old 12-10-2012, 10:44 PM
Member
 
jobble9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks so much for your help, chocolom, even if you can't answer number 3. smile.gif I'm now much looking forward to picking up the TV.

If anyone else who has previously owned a Samsung R8 LCD and upgraded to the EH5000/5300 can let me know if the upgrade is worth it, that would be great!
jobble9 is offline  
post #733 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 03:21 AM
Newbie
 
Justin Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Joseph View Post

After changing the panel, will the service menu show the new panel info or the factory set information persist? If the currently shown info is not valid how do I find the current panel info?

Can someone please help me find the panel info?
Justin Joseph is offline  
post #734 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
LasseB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been lurking around the forum for a while now, specifically this thread. I'm about to pull the trigger on a 46EH5000 but wanted to know if it was possible to activate pass-through audio from the Toslink. I'd like to hook up my Logitech Z5500 directly to the TV but still have the possibility to listen to Dolby Digital. So far I've been able to conclude that this isn't possible on all TV's and most require you to activate the function through the service menu. I'd just like to know if it's a possibility on the EH5000 as I don't feel like running cables from my devices to both the TV and the sound system.
Could someone help out? Thanks.
LasseB is offline  
post #735 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a UN46EH5300. When I hit the Info button in addition to the aspect ratio and input name there is also a "speedometer" in the lower right of the screen.

What does it mean?
iraweiss is offline  
post #736 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 09:01 AM
Member
 
ayeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I returned the un40eh5000 and got a un40eh6000 with a TS02 panel. The blue ghosts are gone. I'm not sure if it had to do with the panel or the 120hz, but either way I'm happier now.

This picture is from the 5000:



This one is from the 6000:



Thanks for the info.
ayeaux is offline  
post #737 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 09:02 AM
Member
 
ayeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraweiss View Post

I have a UN46EH5300. When I hit the Info button in addition to the aspect ratio and input name there is also a "speedometer" in the lower right of the screen.
What does it mean?

I'm pretty sure it's a measure of your power usage compared to a non-led tv.
ayeaux is offline  
post #738 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank you.

Makes sense.
iraweiss is offline  
post #739 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeaux View Post

I returned the un40eh5000 and got a un40eh6000 with a TS02 panel. The blue ghosts are gone. I'm not sure if it had to do with the panel or the 120hz, but either way I'm happier now.
This picture is from the 5000:

This one is from the 6000:

Thanks for the info.


Interesting, thanks for the pictures.
chicolom is offline  
post #740 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeaux View Post

Been lurking on this thread for some time now and have a question.
I had a Vizio that recently suffered the black screen of death and have replaced it with a un40eh5000 with a HS03 panel. I can easily see blue ghosting during fast motion and wanted to know if anyone can confirm that it does not happen with a ts01 or ts02 panel.

The first picture I took while playing the video normally (1/60 shutter speed):

This one I took while the video was paused:

I can still return the TV but wanted to know if exchanging it for a TS02 panel would fix it or not. If not, then I'll start looking at other TVs.
Thanks.

I have the TS01 panel on the 32eh5000 and have never seen anything remotely like that blue ghosting.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #741 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Joseph View Post

Can someone please help me find the panel info?

I copied this from Chicolom's signature link:

Probably the best way to find out the panel is to get into the TV's service menu.

[ Note: Entering the service menu will reset the TV settings to factory default !! ]

To enter the service menu:

(TV in Standby Mode)
Mute, 1, 8, 2, Power (in rapid succession).
(Non-US versions, Press info-menu-mute-power)

Look under "Option" or "Type".

Search for your model's "inch number", and look at the letter immediately following the "inch number"

A:Samsung
H:Sharp
P:CMI (chimei)
R:AUO (au optronics)

So a UN40EH5000 with a samsung panel, would like this: 40A6AF0D

Exit with power off on remote.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #742 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I have a UN40EH5000. I had the HS03 panel. Drove around almost all of South Florida tonight and found myself a TS02 biggrin.gif

The blue ghosting was very noticeable when watching dark content on the HS03 panel. Watching football I never really noticed it. But also, I was paying more attention to the game and not looking too hard for it.

Edit: Got the new one set up. I can still see very slight ghosting at times if I look for it but it's not nearly as prevalent as the other panel and not blue so it's no where near as noticeable.
staknhalo is offline  
post #743 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 07:21 PM
Member
 
jobble9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the ghosting really that bad on the 5000/5300, or is it only something noticeable if you're really looking for it? I mean, I can't imagine a commercial product from a reputable manufacturer that's received good reviews could seriously be as bad as this thread makes it out to be. To think that no matter what screen you get in the "lottery" that something is going to be wrong with it is pretty weird... confused.gif Makes me unsure if I should upgrade from my Samsung R88
jobble9 is offline  
post #744 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobble9 View Post

Is the ghosting really that bad on the 5000/5300, or is it only something noticeable if you're really looking for it? I mean, I can't imagine a commercial product from a reputable manufacturer that's received good reviews could seriously be as bad as this thread makes it out to be. To think that no matter what screen you get in the "lottery" that something is going to be wrong with it is pretty weird... confused.gif Makes me unsure if I should upgrade from my Samsung R88

The 'normal' ghosting I mentioned that I can see on the TS02 I got is slight and I only saw it because I was looking for it. If you're not scrutinizing the set like I was you wouldn't see it I would think. As I mentioned with the HS03 panel, I never noticed it during sports or brightly scenes. However, any scenes in dark areas or night and the blue streaks were very noticeable. More so because it was blue ghosting than just ghosting.
staknhalo is offline  
post #745 of 2272 Old 12-11-2012, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
Justin Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourbeef View Post

I copied this from Chicolom's signature link:
Probably the best way to find out the panel is to get into the TV's service menu.

HI,
Thanks for the reply. I already have the information from the service menu. But my panel got replaced. So I am concerned if the service menu will be updated? They could replace the old panel with any other panel, right?
Justin Joseph is offline  
post #746 of 2272 Old 12-12-2012, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Texsinbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ran a speed test of my new Samsung UN40EH5300 and it showed a download of 5.4 mps and upload of 1.2 mps.

Normal speed test on my computer is 30+ mps down and 3+mps up. MUCH, MUCH slower on the tv.

Anybody else run speed test on their Smart TV vs their computer?

Before I got the Smart TV, I connected my computer to the TV via HDMI cable. I was thinking that with the Smart TV, I wouldn't have to do that, but with the reduced internet speed, I might have to continue.

I also thought that the picture might be better just using the TV instead of a computer hooked to the TV.
Texsinbad is offline  
post #747 of 2272 Old 12-13-2012, 04:40 AM
Senior Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Which speed test app are you using? I tried an imported WOW and it wouldn't load.
iraweiss is offline  
post #748 of 2272 Old 12-13-2012, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
Texsinbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't using an app. I was using the browser and www.speedtest.net.

I was just surprised at the big difference in download speed, 5+ instead of 30+.

Both my computer and TV are wired--don't use wireless.
Texsinbad is offline  
post #749 of 2272 Old 12-13-2012, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
Texsinbad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read that a wireless keyboard could be used on Smart TV's. Yesterday, I bought a Logitech mk360 wireless keyboard and mouse from Sam's for less than $18.

As soon as I plugged it in, the TV recognized it, and it worked fine.

This makes it so much easier.
Texsinbad is offline  
post #750 of 2272 Old 12-13-2012, 08:52 PM
Member
 
paulj1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to use a headset, either through Bluetooth or a headset jack?
paulj1x is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off