The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 40 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 2438 Old 03-22-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
demo23019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yea i only messed with the dimming option but TBH like it better on
dont dare to messed with other advance option my 30 day return ended yesterday
demo23019 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 2438 Old 03-22-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by demo23019 View Post

yea i only messed with the dimming option but TBH like it better on
dont dare to messed with other advance option my 30 day return ended yesterday

I can't. It annoys the **** out of me.
staknhalo is online now  
post #1173 of 2438 Old 03-22-2013, 12:50 PM
Member
 
demo23019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
it took me for ever in getting my settings for standard and dynamic to way i like
problem is i have comcast and lots of compression on channels disabling dimming made everything brighter and all the compression/noise even more noticeable.
I messed with settings but couldn't find a sweetspot


I might mess with settings more tonight and when watching 1080p movie on HTPC
demo23019 is offline  
post #1174 of 2438 Old 03-22-2013, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
I'm going to RadioShack in a few (prob 2 hrs) to get the parts needed to build the IR transmitter to get into the Expert Menu. I'll keep you all updated. Just need 2 IR Leds 940nm 5mm - I had some old remotes I busted open to use them, but the leads were too short to do anything with.
staknhalo is online now  
post #1175 of 2438 Old 03-22-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Well, IR transmitter is made, didn't work with my main phone frown.gif, charging the iPod gonna try that, and an older Android device. Hopefully one of them works.

Edit: Negative on the other two devices. The solder points are clean - just none of my devices work :/ Oh well, worth a shot.
staknhalo is online now  
post #1176 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 01:32 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Have you checked you're getting any output? You can view IR with a digital camera (eg phonecam).
crashbot is offline  
post #1177 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 07:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,787
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicolom View Post

Thanks for the info.

What I was talking about was the "Motion Lighting" setting which seems to be related to dynamic dimming but disabling it doesn't disable dynamic dimming. I wasn't talking about anything in the service menu.

I tried accessing the menu you're talking about, but I can't seem to get to it. Whenever I reset the TV it automatically turns itself OFF and ON again, so I'm not sure what you mean by "If you turn the TV ON first after restoring to defaults without accessing the service menu, it seems not to work". After I reset my TV it just turns itself ON again and then I have to turn it OFF before I can try and access the service menu.


I also tried resetting the TV via the service menu (Option/Factory Reset) then immediately entering the Service Menu again, but it still doesn't work.

OK, for some reason it worked this time - I guess you have to push the 0000 a little slowly.

I can't get this to work on my UN46EH6030... when I press 0000 with "Advanced" highlighted all I get is two grayed out sub-menus: "Picture_2D" and "Picture_3D"... and I can get this with or without following the other steps ('factory reset' in SM and entering SM directly afterwards). Is the 6030 different from the 5000 and 6000 in this respect or am I doing something wrong?

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #1178 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

I can't get this to work on my UN46EH6030... when I press 0000 with "Advanced" highlighted all I get is two grayed out sub-menus: "Picture_2D" and "Picture_3D"... and I can get this with or without following the other steps ('factory reset' in SM and entering SM directly afterwards). Is the 6030 different from the 5000 and 6000 in this respect or am I doing something wrong?

They could be different.

The steps I did to get to the menu were:

1) Turn off TV
2) Enter Service Menu
3) Select Option/Factory Reset, then wait for the TV to power off
4) Enter Service Menu again
5) Scroll down to Advanced, then push "0000" (not too quickly).

After that a big menu appears on the right side. If a different menu is appearing for you, it could be the service menus are layed out differently.

Is there anyways to get into the Picture_2D menu? Did you try pushing 0000 on that menu too?

It sounds like because the 6030 has 3D, it has has maybe split or rearranged some things in the menu...
chicolom is offline  
post #1179 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 01:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,787
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicolom View Post

They could be different.

The steps I did to get to the menu were:

1) Turn off TV
2) Enter Service Menu
3) Select Option/Factory Reset, then wait for the TV to power off
4) Enter Service Menu again
5) Scroll down to Advanced, then push "0000" (not too quickly).

After that a big menu appears on the right side. If a different menu is appearing for you, it could be the service menus are layed out differently.

Is there anyways to get into the Picture_2D menu? Did you try pushing 0000 on that menu too?

It sounds like because the 6030 has 3D, it has has maybe split or rearranged some things in the menu...

I followed those steps exactly and I know I pressed 0000 correctly because the two grayed out options appeared immediately afterwards... I cannot highlight the Picture_2D or Picture_3D since they are grayed out and pressing the down arrow when highlighting 'Advanced' just takes me back to 'Option'.

What do you mean by the menu appears on the right side? Can you take a screenshot of it?

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #1180 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post

Have you checked you're getting any output? You can view IR with a digital camera (eg phonecam).

Next time I got some free time on my hands; I'll give this a go. Thanks for the suggestion. Will report back, just can't say when.
staknhalo is online now  
post #1181 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 10:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

I followed those steps exactly and I know I pressed 0000 correctly because the two grayed out options appeared immediately afterwards... I cannot highlight the Picture_2D or Picture_3D since they are grayed out and pressing the down arrow when highlighting 'Advanced' just takes me back to 'Option'.

What do you mean by the menu appears on the right side? Can you take a screenshot of it?

I would take a pic, but I already reapplied my picture settings.

Basically the menus on the left (Option, Advanced, etc.) disappear and you enter a sub menu with a bunch of other options you can scroll through.

It looks like this, but with only 2 "pages" of options, not 3.

chicolom is offline  
post #1182 of 2438 Old 03-23-2013, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
That's not your menu is it? Or one you found online?
staknhalo is online now  
post #1183 of 2438 Old 03-24-2013, 03:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

That's not your menu is it? Or one you found online?
It's just a picture off Google to show how it's layed out.
chicolom is offline  
post #1184 of 2438 Old 03-24-2013, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicolom View Post

It's just a picture off Google to show how it's layed out.

OK. I saw the WiFi **** and was like buddy, you got some explaining to do.
staknhalo is online now  
post #1185 of 2438 Old 03-25-2013, 04:42 PM
Newbie
 
smeltjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should anyone care, I just bought a 4000 model from Costco. It is UN32EH4050. Looks the same as the EH4003 EXCEPT it has 10w instead of 5w speakers. Has an optical audio out and a 3.5mm out and the EH4003 has neither audio out.. I wear behind the ear hearing aids and use headphones for tv listening frequently so I like the 3.5 audio out and the more powerful speakers when I am not using cans. Both models were $50 off and the same price so I bought the last EH4050 at $250 which I consider fair compared to what I can get for the same price.

The tag on the box has version USO3, which I have seen in only one other post. I did quickly enter the service menu and it starts 32A.... so looks like the Samsung panel. I set it pretty much what is on here and cnet (very similar) and the picture looks absolutely great to me. Definitely better than my 2004 tube HD Toshiba 30hf84 which still puts out a nice picture for a dinosaur.
smeltjr is offline  
post #1186 of 2438 Old 03-27-2013, 09:07 AM
Member
 
gugarci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in the market for a new TV and 46EH5300 is one of the sets I'm researching. Do you guy find any issues with blurring watching sports with the 60Hz refresh rates? I'm also looking at the 46ES6100, and a couple of other models.
Thanks.
gugarci is offline  
post #1187 of 2438 Old 03-27-2013, 09:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,787
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by gugarci View Post

I'm in the market for a new TV and 46EH5300 is one of the sets I'm researching. Do you guy find any issues with blurring watching sports with the 60Hz refresh rates? I'm also looking at the 46ES6100, and a couple of other models.
Thanks.

don't forget the EH6030... It's like the EH5300 but with a 120hz refresh rate and doesn't have the kind of issues with motion blur that you will find on the 5 series sets like the EH5300 and EH5000

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #1188 of 2438 Old 03-27-2013, 09:49 AM
Member
 
gugarci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

don't forget the EH6030... It's like the EH5300 but with a 120hz refresh rate and doesn't have the kind of issues with motion blur that you will find on the 5 series sets like the EH5300 and EH5000

What input lag on the EH6030? I know the other 2 models did well on the Display Lag site.
http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/#participants-list
gugarci is offline  
post #1189 of 2438 Old 03-27-2013, 10:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,787
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 497
55" Samsung UN55EH6070 1080p 120hz 3D LED HDTV 38-42ms OKAY

Keep in mind the EH6070 is just the EH6030 with a Samsung BD player in the box.

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #1190 of 2438 Old 03-27-2013, 10:11 AM
Member
 
gugarci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good to know.
Thanks.
gugarci is offline  
post #1191 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
fiftyhertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some very good info in this thread - thanks to all.

We recently purchased a 46EH5300 model - and so far so good. This TV was purchased to replace a 46" LCD that had two screen/panel failures in less than 4 years. The manufacturer replaced the panel one time (about 4 months after the 12 month warranty expired). When the replacement panel failed (about 20 months after the first repair) they made a cash settlement. In each case the screen/panel developed a vertical line on the right-hand portion of the screen (about 6" in from the right side). A shame - we really liked the TV.

Now here is my question: How is the build quality of these Samsung TVs? Would we be wise to purchase an extended warranty? We have a 15 month warranty from Samsung and a 12 month added warranty by using an American Express card for the purchase. Total of 27 months. We have a Costco membership - and through them we can purchase a Square Trade extended warranty for $60. If we go that route we would end up with either 48 or 51 months of coverage. Usually I am against purchasing extended warranties - but given our experience with our first LCD I am more apt to purchase one for the Samsung. Any comments?
fiftyhertz is offline  
post #1192 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
jaeelarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I just replaced this 47" set with a LG 55"....the difference is astronomical. Picture is clear and no motion blur even without the TruMotion going. I know the price ranges are quite varied, but man...Samsung has disappointed me now on the last 3 sets ive owned from them. The A series was great, but its been all downhill from there. The motion blur this series is some of the worst ive ever seen on a Samsung panel, and this counts the B series from 2009/10.
jaeelarr is offline  
post #1193 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 11:02 AM
Newbie
 
kmgrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an issue with the 40EH5000 (Samsung Panel):

I just can't get black levels right- most of the time blacks basically take on the appearance of pools of ink and are almost blob-like in motion. This occurs until I get Brightness north of 50 at which point they just become gray.

I had assumed that it was motion artifacts but the problem is only with Black- no other color smears or ghosts.

I'm using the PC settings. In fact that's the only setting that looks remotely acceptable- having the inputs set as anything other than PC results in awful smearing of everything.

The TV is used 99% for gaming- I have Xbox 360, PS3, and PC all connected via HDMI and the black smearing is present regardless of the source.

Has anyone experienced anything like this with this TV or have any ideas on solutions?
kmgrey is offline  
post #1194 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
bicky1310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the 46EH5000 last week. Any suggestion on what the best picture settings are?
bicky1310 is offline  
post #1195 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmgrey View Post

I have an issue with the 40EH5000 (Samsung Panel):

I just can't get black levels right- most of the time blacks basically take on the appearance of pools of ink and are almost blob-like in motion. This occurs until I get Brightness north of 50 at which point they just become gray.

Has anyone experienced anything like this with this TV or have any ideas on solutions?


...Have you calibrated it?
...Set the HDMI Black Level correctly to match the source?
...Are you crushing/washing out blacks
chicolom is offline  
post #1196 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
kmgrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
...Have you calibrated it?

Many times. Using both the settings you provided earlier in the thread as well as discs like HD Video Essentials.
Quote:
...Set the HDMI Black Level correctly to match the source?

I believe so. Black level is set to low on the TV and RGB is set to Limited on the PS3. For my PC I believe that the Nvidia driver defaults to Limited.
Quote:
...Are you crushing/washing out blacks

It does seem like it's possible black crush however there is never a transition period. It goes from crushed blacks to washed out within one or two clicks of the Brightness control.

Here is an example. Notice how the blacks are so much deeper than the rest of the image and they smear in motion? It's an extreme example because the game has a poor implementation of Ambient Occlusion but I see similar results in other games.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IA9CYuMoZ_U
kmgrey is offline  
post #1197 of 2438 Old 03-28-2013, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
chicolom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmgrey View Post

Many times. Using both the settings you provided earlier in the thread as well as discs like HD Video Essentials.
I believe so. Black level is set to low on the TV and RGB is set to Limited on the PS3. For my PC I believe that the Nvidia driver defaults to Limited.
It does seem like it's possible black crush however there is never a transition period. It goes from crushed blacks to washed out within one or two clicks of the Brightness control.

Here is an example. Notice how the blacks are so much deeper than the rest of the image and they smear in motion? It's an extreme example because the game has a poor implementation of Ambient Occlusion but I see similar results in other games.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IA9CYuMoZ_U

It looks like the gamma curve isn't transitioning smoothly from light to black, and is instead staying too flat then dropping off sharply when it gets to the blacks.

Did you see the same thing with test patterns? I would think that would have screwed up your calibration attempts.

You could try entering the service menu then doing a factory reset to see if it helps, in case some setting is off.
chicolom is offline  
post #1198 of 2438 Old 03-29-2013, 02:56 AM
Member
 
Pandemonium08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Im thinking of replacing my 32" EH5000 with a 40" EH 5000 or one of those LG tvs at the same price range.. is there also a panel lottery on the 40" the only real issue I have with LG is the horrible backlight bleeding on ALL of their panels.
Pandemonium08 is offline  
post #1199 of 2438 Old 03-29-2013, 03:31 AM
Newbie
 
gavin1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow samsung seems to be pretty popular... I must have made a good choice smile.gif

Always on the search for the best cheap earbuds.
gavin1993 is offline  
post #1200 of 2438 Old 03-29-2013, 03:48 AM
Newbie
 
SimonSimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After couple weeks with my new 46" EH5000 here's the update smile.gif TV is fine, the main problem was reddish greys so it took a lot of time for me to tweak white balance (by eye). I know it's not accurate, but now i got it to the point where I don't notice redness anymore. Maybe I just got used to it. So the WB settings now are R24-G25-B25 for offset and R08-G25-B26 for gain. Other thing I've noticed when displaying grey tone calibrating patterns was a very slightly more red tone vertical strip on the left side of panel (10" wide or so) - comparing same level grey it seemed slightly more pink on the left side of the screen than on the right. It's only visible when you look closely when watchin calibration patterns or pure grey screen - on usual content it's not noticeable to be a problem. I'm just concerned if it's gonna become more visible with time...
SimonSimon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off