The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 2438 Old 07-24-2013, 11:03 PM
Member
 
sabih786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got rid of My 40EH5300 for the 40ES6100, a huge difference in picture quality and clarity. Recently I swapped my ES6100 out for a 46F6300. Obviously the screen is better, but the colors and PQ is fantastic.

Im a big plasma guy, so I was pleasantly surprised by the F6300. also 46 inch 6300 for $699 at amazon, Cant beat that. the 40ES6100 a couple months back was selling for 680 at sams club.

Smart hub 2.0 is awesome (Flash storage increased from 5xx MB, to 1.5GB, Much quicker with the dual core, Netflix doesnt lag or give me any loading issues so far. Being able to control my cable box with the IR blaster is pretty sweet too.

sig
sabih786 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 2438 Old 07-25-2013, 07:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,787
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1699 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGuardian View Post

HDMI fixed it right up! Things also look ever so slightly sharper, and I have more options now both on my console and my TV's settings, but other than that I don't see a huge change.

There is one other problem I've noticed though, things with deep bass sound horrible, the noise comes out extremely distorted. Not sure if it's because the sound is in 'movie mode', but since game mode locks movie mode on by default it's a little annoying. Is this a problem with all these, or is it just mine? Thanks in advance, and thanks again for help originally!

you don't need to use game mode on these TVs, it doesn't really improve input lag (which is a non-issue on to begin with on the 5 series)... you can try labeling the HDMI input as "PC" though as an alternative (though it's really not necessary for console gaming)

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Samsung UN46EH6030; Yamaha HTR-3066, SVS Prime Bookshelf Mains and Prime Center, Rythmik LV12R; PS4, Xbox One, Motorola RNG150N
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #1533 of 2438 Old 07-25-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 76
QQ: I just picked up a 5300. Does anyone know if this works with Directv using the RVU? I can see the TV through my DirecTV account, but it doesn't do anything and the service rep tried a bunch of stuff on their end and it didn't work...

Salminella is wandering the Wasteland: PSN
kjr39 is offline  
post #1534 of 2438 Old 07-28-2013, 03:00 AM
Newbie
 
TheGuardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really? I'm really starting to think I was too worried about ghosting and not enough about input lag when looking for a TV. My brother pretty much only plays Call of Duty... normally he's freaking amazing on it, but since we've got these TV's we've both not really been playing to our usual potential. Originally I thought it was just getting used to the screen in general, possibly combined with the normal flow of 'bad games'. I've been gaming on a much smaller TV myself, and neither of us have had widescreen... then I noticed a sound delay from the TV vs my audio headset. We were both using CRT's before this, which is like 0 input lag from my understanding...

So it lead me to look into input lag, and EH5300 is listed as 25-28 MS? How does that compare to other TV's on the market in this price range? Does the 'naming port to PC' trick help any more than 'game mode'? I don't mind the frame or two of lag really, I can hardly notice it, but I also recommended this TV to my brother, who is usually pretty stellar at these fast paced FPS games, and I'd hate to find out that was a poor decision.

Thanks in advance for continued help!
TheGuardian is offline  
post #1535 of 2438 Old 07-28-2013, 04:04 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You have to remember that, for its primary design goal, the lag on a TV is not relevant (as long as there is a similar lag in the audio path). HDMI has an inherent lag which may be a few frames - the computer's display adapter probably has a pair of frame buffers, one for updating and the other for output, then the content of the frame buffer is serialised across the HDMI (which takes one frame time), so there is an output lag in the video card. Then in the display (TV or monitor) the completed frame is passed on to the display rasteriser (possibly via an upscaler).

There is no way an HDMI-connected LCD monitor/TV can compete for lag with an analogue-connected CRT, but a monitor specifically designed for the purpose will probably have a much better performance than a TV (and size-for-size cost a lot more).
crashbot is offline  
post #1536 of 2438 Old 07-28-2013, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Not for normal viewing, but for gaming it's crucial.

mid 20s isn't that bad for input lag. Here's a db with the various models and their lag (http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/#participants-list)

I haven't played with this TV yet, but make sure that, if there is a game mode, turn it on. Also, turn off all of the picture enhancements that may be on. All of them add lag.

My guess is as well with the TV being new, it's taking some time to get used to it. I switch off between a 50" plasma and projector and it always takes me awhile to adjust... (FWIW, others have also commented that being on larger screens has an affect on their performance.)

Salminella is wandering the Wasteland: PSN
kjr39 is offline  
post #1537 of 2438 Old 07-30-2013, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
Gidrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I have the Samsung UN39EH5003 39-Inch 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV (which is pretty much the EH5000) and i've been pulling my hair out for a month trying too calibrate my TV perfectly for gaming.

Please Note:
1. I use my TV strictly for Xbox 360 use only
2. I prefer HDMI over PC mode due too better picture quality
3. My goal is the optimal setting for best picture and no input lag.
4. My main problem at this time is that reds on my screen are very promanant. Yellows look like Orange and the only thing that seems too fix this is raising the green offset which causes blacks and whites too tint green. Its just a mess


My current settings:
(I have put a ? next too the settings I am not sure or or constantly fiddling with.)

Game mode: on

backlight 20
contrast 90
Brightness 45 ?
Sharpness 25 ?
Color 50
Tint G55/R45 ?

Color space: auto
white balance:
Red offset: 19 ?
Green offset: 25 ?
Blue offset: 25 ?
Red gain: 5 ?
Green gain: 15 ?
Blue gain: 30 ?

Color tone: warm1 ??
Screen fit
Gamma +1 ? (seems too work pretty well)
Digital Noise Filter: On ??
Black lvl low ?
Other stuff off

Turning Digital noise filter off seems too make things sharper but I don't like the static it causes so I keep it on. Even with these settings my color still isint right. I went so far as too use the HDMI output on my laptop too try and fix it by doing side by side comparison and these settings were the best I can come up with but I ether have too much red or too much green.

Any help would be appreciated because I'm super OCD and color sensitive. (The pain of being an artist)
Thanks ^^

P.S. are there any settings in the Xbox itself I should do?
Gidrah is offline  
post #1538 of 2438 Old 07-30-2013, 10:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 708
You could try and use a calibration disk like the free AVS HD709 (use the Search feature to find it) or buy a commercial one like the 2nd Edition of Spears & Munsil. You won't actually be calibrating your set because you need meters and special software for that but you can at least set the "basics" (brightness, contrast, sharpness, aspect, and color). Keep in mind that game mfrs don't have to follow the rec.709 standards (of which the calibration disks are for) but it should improve your pq somewhat. The disks are for blu-ray players and I would turn off all artificial enhancements on the tv and the blu-ray player when adjusting your set.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #1539 of 2438 Old 07-31-2013, 12:32 AM
Newbie
 
Gidrah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dont know if you're replying too me but I don't have a Blu ray player. I just want to set the optimal picture settings manually. I'm close but when on the default white balance and Tint 50/50 everything's way too red.
Gidrah is offline  
post #1540 of 2438 Old 07-31-2013, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gidrah View Post

3. My goal is the optimal setting for best picture and no input lag.
Fat chance!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjr39 View Post

Not for normal viewing, but for gaming it's crucial.
I accept that, but it amazes me that people think a budget TV is designed for anything other than watching TV. It may well have other functions, because not to have other functions would put it at a market disadvantage, but the other functions are going to have compromises compared with equipment designed for those purposes (and a lot more expensive). It seems ridiculous to buy a TV based on price and then complain about its HDMI input lag - if lag is the most important thing to you, buy a TV/monitor based on lag specification (and if lag is not specified, don't buy it).
crashbot is offline  
post #1541 of 2438 Old 07-31-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gidrah View Post

Dont know if you're replying too me but I don't have a Blu ray player. I just want to set the optimal picture settings manually. I'm close but when on the default white balance and Tint 50/50 everything's way too red.

I was responding to your post. I thought the XBox 360 was a blu-ray player in addition to it being a game box. My mistake. Adjusting by eye for games is next to impossible because one, your eyes are not accurate in the sense of the rec.709 standards and two, and I mentioned, games don't have to follow any sort of industry video standards. Using someone else's settings may not work either because of the inherent differences between tv's (even the same make and model), viewing environment, etc. Your only real option is to fiddle with the settings until you find something that is acceptable, or find a way to adjust your settings to rec.709 standards and leave it.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #1542 of 2438 Old 08-04-2013, 01:36 AM
Member
 
rperlberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a UN32EH5300F. The main feature that interested me was the 3 timers. I was disappointed to discover that the "On Timers" only work when the set is off. On my previous sets (RCA and Sony) the timer would change the channel at the specified time even if the set was already on. Is there any way to achieve this functionality with the 5300?
rperlberg is offline  
post #1543 of 2438 Old 08-04-2013, 08:15 PM
Member
 
CaioTheBrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rperlberg View Post

I just bought a UN32EH5300F. The main feature that interested me was the 3 timers. I was disappointed to discover that the "On Timers" only work when the set is off. On my previous sets (RCA and Sony) the timer would change the channel at the specified time even if the set was already on. Is there any way to achieve this functionality with the 5300?

What about setting an "Off Timer" to 1 minute before the "On Timer"?

CaioTheBrain is offline  
post #1544 of 2438 Old 08-07-2013, 11:49 AM
Member
 
dannov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought one from BB; to be used with U-Verse primarily second XBox. Any one post settings for these sources?? Thank you!
dannov is offline  
post #1545 of 2438 Old 08-08-2013, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
david0160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys bought samsung led 5300 a few days back.
when i play a movie using a usb and then remove the usb and then delete the movie from the usb using my laptop, i am still able to play video in the tv without it being in the usb. ithink it gets stored somewhere in the tv and you have to delete it one by one to remove it. i want to know if there is a way i can delete them all?
david0160 is offline  
post #1546 of 2438 Old 08-08-2013, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
david0160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys bought samsung led 5300 a few days back.
when i play a movie using a usb and then remove the usb and then delete the movie from the usb using my laptop, i am still able to play video in the tv without it being in the usb. ithink it gets stored somewhere in the tv and you have to delete it one by one to remove it. i want to know if there is a way i can delete them all?
david0160 is offline  
post #1547 of 2438 Old 08-08-2013, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
david0160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys bought samsung led 5300 a few days back.
when i play a movie using a usb and then remove the usb and then delete the movie from the usb using my laptop, i am still able to play video in the tv without it being in the usb. ithink it gets stored somewhere in the tv and you have to delete it one by one to remove it. i want to know if there is a way i can delete them all?
david0160 is offline  
post #1548 of 2438 Old 08-08-2013, 10:20 AM
Member
 
dannov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happen to have settings for non gaming on this set - source is UVerse. Thanks!
dannov is offline  
post #1549 of 2438 Old 08-10-2013, 09:06 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does PC mode function for the component input?

I currrently have no way to input a 1080P or 720P signal over component to test this. Pretty sure I tested this long ago and it does not function and that is why I do not have the component input renamed, but I am not sure.
dannov likes this.
kellybob is offline  
post #1550 of 2438 Old 08-12-2013, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
Shabab Sabbir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I have a UA40EH5300... I seem to find the firmware version 1037.0 (http://www.samsung.com/nz/support/model/UA40EH5306MXRD-downloads?isManualDownload=true) in the samsung website but I cannot seem to update it using the usb.

And by updating the firmware online, I get the version 1018... so i updated to 1018 but now it show there are no more updates to the firmware.

Can someone help me on how I can install the latest 1037 version to my tv.
Shabab Sabbir is offline  
post #1551 of 2438 Old 08-14-2013, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
vicrol123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello.- biggrin.gif

I have my tv 32 "eh5300 back home, now the first thing I do is calibrate. first used a profile for the 40 "found pages ago. But ... have a detail.

lines are supposed to be gray? are purple ... and move on to pink!



I tried to calibrate with the avs 709, but only at basic level.

in APL cripping, you need the word "white" white result? in mine is pink rolleyes.gif





PD: I would like to clarify that the color obtained is real. I spent some time adjusting the camera to detect the exact colors i wanted to show.

Regards!
vicrol123 is offline  
post #1552 of 2438 Old 08-14-2013, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,213
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Pink means the contrast is too high. Lower it until it's gray.
staknhalo is online now  
post #1553 of 2438 Old 08-15-2013, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
rabsitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not been able to change the HDMI black level. It is fine at normal. I have the 5300.thanks kec8
rabsitey is offline  
post #1554 of 2438 Old 08-17-2013, 11:16 AM
Member
 
techpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello, As far as I have seen, most of them have used the AVS HD disk and the Blue filter for calibration. Has anyone on this site really calibrated a EH5000 using a proper colour meter like Eyeone or Spyder?
Thanks in advance for your help
!
techpeter is offline  
post #1555 of 2438 Old 08-17-2013, 11:22 AM
Member
 
techpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

Pink means the contrast is too high. Lower it until it's gray.
Try changing the Picture Settings to "WARM2"
techpeter is offline  
post #1556 of 2438 Old 08-17-2013, 04:17 PM
Newbie
 
darkilong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guys i normally use my ps3 to play movies on my eh5300 but since ps3 can only read fat32 file type of hdd i can't play some movies with over 4gb of size, i decided to buy o'play mini but i am disappointed with it, when i play a movie its pixelized which is ok on the ps3. i tried changing the settings on the o'play mini but no luck i wonder i i need to change some settings on my eh5300 any ideas?
darkilong is offline  
post #1557 of 2438 Old 08-18-2013, 12:23 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I would blame the "o'play mini", whatever that is (I take it to be a media player).
crashbot is offline  
post #1558 of 2438 Old 08-18-2013, 07:23 AM
Member
 
techpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by techpeter View Post

Hello, As far as I have seen, most of them have used the AVS HD disk and the Blue filter for calibration. Has anyone on this site really calibrated a EH5000 using a proper colour meter like Eyeone or Spyder?
Thanks in advance for your help
!

Should I take it as a NO?

Basically I have calibrated myEH5000 using the blue filter, also tried other calibration settings from this site, but the colours seem to saturated to my taste. If I tame them down the whole picture seems washed out. I want to know if investing in a 2-point greyscale calibration using a colour meter would make a huge difference. I googled on this and most of them found the calibration using blue filter to yield saturated colours, but its better than stock settings.
techpeter is offline  
post #1559 of 2438 Old 08-18-2013, 12:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 708
The best you can do with the AVS HD709 calibration disk, or any of the commercial ones, is adjust your basic picture settings. You can't calibrate a tv without the use of meters and specialized software. That being said, you can still achieve a much better picture than default with the use of a disk alone. A separately purchased blue filter, unless it is certified as being accurate to a reference standard, can lead to misleading results which may account for what you're seeing. Some tv's with an extensive set of options for calibrating may have built-in filters (red, blue, green) which make it a lot easier for accurately adjusting your pq using a cal disk alone.
dannov likes this.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #1560 of 2438 Old 08-18-2013, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
Joey Gad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone i need some help, i just but a 32" eh5300, the tv works great but when i turn off my tv, after a little while, my tv's panel just powers on but the tv remains none functional, i don't know whats causing this. i would like to know if other people are having this issue, i'd really appreciate every bit of feedback. thanks!
Joey Gad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off