The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 73 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2438 Old 04-29-2014, 06:08 PM
Member
 
e_identity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would appreciate any assistance on this problem with my UN40EH5300.
I am on my second unit with a similar problem.
I have read this entire thread but not seen this problem described.
The first unit was a "used" model sold by amazon.com listed as fully functional without scratches.
It arrived as described, but neither of my sources (TIVO & BluRay Player) worked with HDMI1 or HDMI2.
When connected to these inputs, the tv displayed a "no signal" message. When no source was connected, it displayed a different "no connection" message.
When I connected the sources (both the TIVO and the BluRay Player) to HDMI3, they both worked fine.
The software was 2001, and I tried a factory reset. No change.
I called Amazon's help line, they walked me through a few routines, then they agreed that the item was faulty and provided a shipping label for a return.
I then ordered the same unit, except new, from Amazon.
The item appeared to arrive in good condition, but I am still having problems with HDMI1 and HDMI2.
As before, HDMI3 is fully functional with both sources.
What is different, is that my Tivo now works with HDMI1, but not HDMI2.
My BluRay player works with neither HDMI1 or HDMI2.
As before, when a source is connected but not displayed, I get a "no signal" message.
I updated the software to 2001 and did a factory reset--no change.
Since this is the second time I have had this problem, I would appreciate any suggestions.
I am thinking that my sources (TIVO and BluRay are fine since they both work on HDMI3).
Thanks for any suggestions,
e_identity
e_identity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2438 Old 04-29-2014, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_identity View Post

I would appreciate any suggestions.
I am thinking that my sources (TIVO and BluRay are fine since they both work on HDMI3).
Thanks for any suggestions,
e_identity

Connect as you would like and turn on the Tivo and when you see the "No Signal" Hit the Source button and immediatly hit the Tools button and try to "Edit Name" and select a PVR STB for Tivo and Blu-Ray for the Blu-Ray player.




Let us know!
Good Luck as well.
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2163 of 2438 Old 04-29-2014, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Found some usefulness in my EH5300 recently with the re arrangement
of the den. Way off topic BTW.. but like ole Cheryl Lynn is singing to me ATM..
"Got to Be Real" emphasis REAL.

a 500.00 clam mirror. L/R
Westinghouse>Emerson>Samsung



Emerson is displaying XBMC Frodo from an Acer Aspire One (win8) doing it's Pandora thing from Rivy/xbmc-script.audio.pandora, The Westinghouse is running Winamp from a Toshiba laptop (win8.1) with a url open to mic's "linein://" to pick up the LFE'z from the Sony SA-VA1's.. Both are using my favorite Visualizer.. Milkdrop.. ahhhh old school fun.

Don't forget to get a Rii mini keyboard and tip out the F/J home keys.
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2164 of 2438 Old 04-30-2014, 07:21 AM
Member
 
e_identity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Woobieizer,
Thanks for your suggestions!
I did as you suggested and renamed HDMI1 Blu-Ray and HDMI2 PVR-STB.
Unfortunately, there was no change.
I also tried disconnecting the power cord and the HDMI cables for a few hours, then powering up the TV, then reconnecting the HDMI cables.
No improvement.
I really appreciate the suggestion though.
I can of course return this unit, but if t here is another solution, I'd love to find it!
e_identity
e_identity is offline  
post #2165 of 2438 Old 04-30-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_identity View Post

Woobieizer,
Thanks for your suggestions!
I did as you suggested and renamed HDMI1 Blu-Ray and HDMI2 PVR-STB.
Unfortunately, there was no change.
I also tried disconnecting the power cord and the HDMI cables for a few hours, then powering up the TV, then reconnecting the HDMI cables.
No improvement.
I really appreciate the suggestion though.
I can of course return this unit, but if t here is another solution, I'd love to find it!
e_identity

Look at your HDMI connector stub closely and see if there is a directional indicator on which tip plugs into TV..
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2166 of 2438 Old 04-30-2014, 05:57 PM
Member
 
e_identity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Woobieizer,
Again, I really appreciate your suggestion.
Good thought and I did look at the cables, but the cables were passive and not marked as directional.
At this point, I've decided to return the unit to the vendor and think about a different TV.
Thanks again for all your help!!
e_identity
e_identity is offline  
post #2167 of 2438 Old 04-30-2014, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_identity View Post

Woobieizer,
Again, I really appreciate your suggestion.
Good thought and I did look at the cables, but the cables were passive and not marked as directional.
At this point, I've decided to return the unit to the vendor and think about a different TV.
Thanks again for all your help!!
e_identity

You're welcome. Could you do us a favor and post your Version number of the TV you currently have and if you made note, the version number of the previous TV that had the same issue.

Good luck in your pursuit of satisfaction! smile.gif
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2168 of 2438 Old 04-30-2014, 06:07 PM
Member
 
e_identity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Both TVs were model UD03 from Amazon.
Thanks again for all your help!
e_identity
e_identity is offline  
post #2169 of 2438 Old 05-01-2014, 04:34 PM
Member
 
matmat07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesgf View Post

Does the un53eh5300 output audio via hdmi arc? It controls the volume on my sony receiver and turns it off with anynet but I can't get audio out from the apps via hdmi. I'm
guessing I will have to use optical out from the tv to the receiver.

 

There is no ARC function in this tv model.

 

Getting back from my issue: I had an epiphany some night ago. Found out a new function (sound can go from tv hdmi input to optical output), I'm now trying to see if it can be usefull.

 

EDIT: nope, seems like the tv has to open on the hdmi input connected to the receiver to open it. Emailed them again, in case this time they can fix it.

matmat07 is offline  
post #2170 of 2438 Old 05-01-2014, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmat07 View Post

I have a EH5300 tv model connected to an yamaha RX-V373 receiver. I'm having issues with hdmi control and audio channel switching: when the tv opens (I only use hdmi1 input), the channel on the receiver switch to AV4 (optical input). I'd like it to go on HDMI 1 or just stay there, because I lost audio comming from my xbox one.

What does work right though is going on a smarthub channel (switch from hdmi audio to optical on receiver) and going back on the tv to the hdmi channel (switch to hdmi on receiver).



 



Would that be a setting error somewhere, or is that a communication between the tv and the receiver?



 



Quote:
Originally Posted by matmat07 View Post

There is no ARC function in this tv model.

Getting back from my issue: I had an epiphany some night ago. Found out a new function (sound can go from tv hdmi input to optical output), I'm now trying to see if it can be usefull.

EDIT: nope, seems like the tv has to open on the hdmi input connected to the receiver to open it. Emailed them again, in case this time they can fix it.


It would be nice if we STILL had this as an option on TV Settings start up. Booting to the SmartHub.

Woobieizer is offline  
post #2171 of 2438 Old 05-12-2014, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
Kevin Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I have a un32eh5300 and would like some help with using pc mode or game mode for my xbox one, if this is any of your guys concern.

Also if theres any calibration thats good for gaming. 

Kevin Day is offline  
post #2172 of 2438 Old 05-12-2014, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
Kevin Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I also tried using PC mode but it just crushed the blacks on my Xbox one/360 so would like to ask a few question for a good calibration please?

Kevin Day is offline  
post #2173 of 2438 Old 05-12-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Every tv is different due to component variability. Someone may share their settings with you but it's not uncommon for them to make your tv look worse or not show any real improvement at all. You might want to consider picking up the free AVS HD709 disk or a commercial one like WoW or Spears & Munsil and adjust your own settings in your own viewing environment. You won't be calibrating your tv because you need light meters and specialized software but you can definitely improve pq with some accurate adjusting depending on how far off your tv is. However, games don't have to follow the rec.709 standards so keep that in mind when adjusting your tv. Movies and television may look great but some games may be less than desirable so you may have to have a different set of settings for game mode.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #2174 of 2438 Old 05-13-2014, 04:12 PM
Newbie
 
Kevin Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11

These are my settings right now but ws wondering if theres anything i should change that would look good on anyone or for myself. (not really a fan of choosing for myself)

 


Pictures Settings

 

Game Mode on
 

  • Backlight: 20
  • Contrast: 100 
  • Brightness: 45 
  • * Sharpness: 5
  • * Color: 45
  • Tint: 60/40


Advanced Settings:
 

  • Color Space: Auto 
  • * White Balance:R-Offset: 25, G-Offset: 23 R-Offset: 23 R-Gain: 5 G-Gain: 20 B-Gain: 50 
  • Gamma: 0
  • Dynamic Contrast: Off
  • Black Tone: darkest
  • Flesh Tone: 0 
  • Motion Lighting: Off

Picture Options:
 

  • Color Tone: Standard
  • * Size: screen to fit
  • Digital Noise Filter: Off
  • HDMI Black Level: low
  • LED Motion Plus: Off 
PeterDragon likes this.
Kevin Day is offline  
post #2175 of 2438 Old 05-13-2014, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Honestly, Otto's spot on the advice. Running in Torch Mode.. ie Backlight full bore is basically Demo/Store mode and your MTBF is decreased.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Day View Post

These are my settings right now but ws wondering if theres anything i should change that would look good on anyone or for myself. (not really a fan of choosing for myself)



Pictures Settings

snip~


What others have done.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post

Some venture to explore previous examples and make adjustements based on the panel owned, user preferecnces.


1st chicolom Settings

2nd rbmaster Settings

3rd Rockva Settings


Where I ended up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post

Took advantage of this forums AVS HD 709 download and followed this guide on Tweaker site. It really makes a difference to do your own 'Basic' Calibration. For me, it was key in the areas of saturation and white levels that picture below used with the built in blue filter on the HDTV, made the biggest difference.



Following the guide in this area make a big difference in my overall enjoyment and off axis wash out. As I don't keep backlight beyond 10, and contrast down.. The guide and the tools made it simple to adjust the brightness and contrast to play nice based on the two premises.. GAME MODE, BACK LIGHT on 10:


I rearranged my den, to be able to view the Samsung dead on from the Kitchen Bar and to put the two big HDTV in view of a single Lazyboy. The snap shop attached are in this order:
Westinghouse on left, Emerson in middle, and the Samsung on the left. right.

XBMC is playing a great movie on both the Westy/Samsung..
The PC has Nvidia 9800 GT I gig, and the I do not run the Nvidia setting. IE., "Other Application Control Color Settings"
Westy is on VGA, Samsung is on HDMI set to Game Mode with the DIY 'Basic' Calibration.

TweakGuide was straight forward and the directions and explanation of what to expect from the adjustment made it easy to understand.

Samsung off axis. Westinghouse dead center.
ExposureProgram - Normal program
ISOSpeedRatings - 400
ShutterSpeedValue - 1/16 seconds
ApertureValue - F 3.29
BrightnessValue - 0.34
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MaxApertureValue - F 3.29




Samsung off axis. Westinghouse dead center.
ExposureProgram - Normal program
ISOSpeedRatings - 400
ShutterSpeedValue - 1/12 seconds
ApertureValue - F 3.29
BrightnessValue - 0.02
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MaxApertureValue - F 3.29





Straight on Samsung: Westinghouse off axis, At bar in kitchen leaning in.
ExposureProgram - Normal program
ISOSpeedRatings - 400
ShutterSpeedValue - 1/4 seconds
ApertureValue - F 3.29
BrightnessValue - -1.46
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MaxApertureValue - F 3.29



Straight on Westinghouse: Samsung off axis.
ExposureProgram - Normal program
ISOSpeedRatings - 400
ShutterSpeedValue - 1/4 seconds
ApertureValue - F 3.29
BrightnessValue - -1.55
ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
MaxApertureValue - F 3.29



Summary:
Obtained the MP4 (.exe) or MP4 (.7z) from here off AVS. Used PotPlayer to play the videos full screen on Samsung, Had TweakGuide on Westinghouse to read. Remote in hand and within an hour had this running smoothy.

I hope this helps.

EDIT: Derr my other left. lol
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2176 of 2438 Old 05-13-2014, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
Kevin Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11

If you don't mind me asking what are your best settings for gaming? 

Kevin Day is offline  
post #2177 of 2438 Old 05-13-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
I do not game on the Samsung. As a matter of fact, It is third runner up on TV's I use in the photos above.
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2178 of 2438 Old 05-14-2014, 07:03 AM
Member
 
phenderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 32eh5300... just bought it last night.
Does anyone know how to get the WIDI (Wi-Fi Direct) to work?
I can't get my phone (Galaxy Note 3) or my tablet (Asus Transformer Book Ti100A) to completely connect.
Asus's Windows 8.1 finds the tablet, then starts the connection process, but then I get error messages like "Cannot connect" and "Windows does not support" from that.
As for the Galaxy Note 3, the phone, via the screen mirror app, will not find TV, but the TV, through the WIDI interface, and the AllShare interface, will find the phone...
It is totally weird. I have the BD-F5900 Blu Ray player (3d 2013 model) and everything works like magic... but with this TV... it does not.

Does this TV support Miracast?
Or am I regulated to having to find an allshare cast dongle for screen mirroring?
My whole idea was to be able to set this thing up in my garage with my treadmill so that I can take advantage of streaming video directly to my TV...


All Help would be greatly appreciated.
phenderson is offline  
post #2179 of 2438 Old 05-14-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
WOW, that is one crazy bunch of issues. I had never even looked into that function on the TV and now I'm wondering all about WIDI.. Now I'm not going to be much, if any help but this read makes me think this tech is half baked. Whats been your successful experience with WIDI? What was good before your new samsung TV?

http://www.networkworld.com/community/blog/why-widi-wins-and-losses-your-computertv-connection
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2180 of 2438 Old 05-18-2014, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,438
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2238 Post(s)
Liked: 1732
Purchased an UN32EH5300 from COSTCO today to give the wife a Smart TV instead of a non Smart 32" Samsung we bought previously.
Immediately put into Movie Mode. Turned Eco Mode On, moved the Cell to 20, then turned the Eco back to Off.
Ran into issues since the only Audio out is Digital, so that involved taking her Sony Receiver out that had no Optical Input, and install my spare Yammy sitting in the basement. Which of course led to more complications re length of the 6' Optic cable, and shelving. 3 hours later - finished, and working - WiFi, Samsung's Allshare, FW Updates, NetFlix and Movies from my Bell subscription.
Noticed at first people were kinda orangy, but over several hours migrated to more Natural Skin tones. Will let the running hours get past 100, then calibrate. So far the wife loves it, and you know what they say, happy wife, happy life!
The nice ending to this story is, the wife Forbade me to buy any more new TVs. So, she paid for it!.
Woobieizer likes this.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #2181 of 2438 Old 05-19-2014, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,438
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2238 Post(s)
Liked: 1732
Next day:

Samsung UN32EH5300:

Service Menu: Mute 1 8 2 Power - Hours of Usage is under SVC

Info Menu Mute Power doesn't work

Mute 7 3 7 Enter doesn't work.

Unit had 14 hours on it, so good to go. Wife likes it, but it's in serious need of calibration to me.

Will have to put it on the kitchen table one night to calibrate. Definitely too peachy looking.

Will have to check all the Modes to see which one is best. Turned Cal Night and Day on while in the Service Menu.

Maybe on these sets they're better? Did notice on going to Cal Day, screen brightens up. Didn't check the settings for each.

Will do a scan for each Mode and see which comes in best with Factory settings.

(Once wife leaves for the week, so dad can play!)

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #2182 of 2438 Old 05-19-2014, 05:08 PM
Member
 
skubaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you all still pretty happy with the 5300s? I ask because I am on the hunt for a LED and Amazon has this 50" for $648.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN40EH5300-40-Inch-1080p-Black/dp/B0074FGR74/ref=cm_srch_res_rtr_11

I know it's an older model but seems to be as good as newer, more expensive models. I don't play games and don't care about smart features. Want to watch movies, TV shows and sometimes MMA or soccer.

Another option is this 5500 series 48" inches under $600.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN48H5500-48-Inch-1080p-Smart/dp/B00IJ1YTZO/ref=sr_1_7?s=tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1400260751&sr=1-7&keywords=led+tv

What do you guys think? I am just not sure if it's worth spending more ($800) on the 6350 series 48"

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN48H6350-48-Inch-1080p-120Hz/dp/B00I94IR8G/

Thanks so much for helping
skubaman is offline  
post #2183 of 2438 Old 05-21-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,438
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2238 Post(s)
Liked: 1732
32EH5300F taken back to COSTCO - used repack, plus defective - Red wouldn't calibrate. (On Sunday all the 5300s looked like repacks.) Restocked inventory there today which look to to be a combo of repacks and new. January 2014 build.
NEW Unit on the kitchen table warming up for tonight.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #2184 of 2438 Old 05-23-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Who would have thunk that a professional calibration would warrant a MAXED backlight?
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2185 of 2438 Old 05-23-2014, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,438
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2238 Post(s)
Liked: 1732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post

Who would have thunk that a professional calibration would warrant a MAXED backlight?

Unfortunately, Maxed at 20, only gave a 53fL reading. Originally did the calibration with Backlight at 13 to give 40fL - but where my wife watches it, up over the fireplace, with a Solarium overlooking the lake in the background, and during the day, the set was way too dim. She still considers it looking somewhat washed out. The old, not Smart Samsung, to me, had a Superior PQ, and no where near the adjustments this one has. This new set is also half the weight of the old one. Set, despite meeting Meter Spec, just doesn't cut it with me when watching off air TV, or ExpressVU Satellite. Blu-ray, it's quite good. Not that many hours on it for now.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #2186 of 2438 Old 05-24-2014, 04:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
That Den sound awesome!. With that lsolarium and lake as the reflection, I've found the Sammy to be good in mirror mode too

I'd love to see the macro of the sub pixels. My 46 EH5300 has a very tight sweet spot , I can only imagine the trouble one would have tilting these sets from over a fireplace.

I've moved my den around finding THE spot that has the least window, incandescent or other light reflection, only to find it now in a spot that makes it least needed or most specific use HDTV in the house. It's not a large crowd viewing HDTV, as with you, its off axis is the anchor.

Yet in the long run, I'm happy that it is so light weight and functional.

Like you said
Quote:
happy wife, happy life!
so suck it up Tech Hero.. you're in a win WIN situation.

Edit: wanted to correct the spelling of solarium.. but it works as Isolarium rolleyes.gif
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2187 of 2438 Old 05-24-2014, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 7,438
Mentioned: 135 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2238 Post(s)
Liked: 1732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post

That Den sound awesome!. With that lsolarium and lake as the reflection, I've found the Sammy to be good in mirror mode too

I'd love to see the macro of the sub pixels. My 46 EH5300 has a very tight sweet spot , I can only imagine the trouble one would have tilting these sets from over a fireplace.

I've moved my den around finding THE spot that has the least window, incandescent or other light reflection, only to find it now in a spot that makes it least needed or most specific use HDTV in the house. It's not a large crowd viewing HDTV, as with you, its off axis is the anchor.

Yet in the long run, I'm happy that it is so light weight and functional.

Like you said
so suck it up Tech Hero.. you're in a win WIN situation.

Edit: wanted to correct the spelling of solarium.. but it works as Isolarium rolleyes.gif

Even more fun in Winter with White Snow and Ice on the Lake. (Re - Isolarium - becomes that when wife goes in there with a client and closes the sliding door. Heat of Summer - also made into to an Isolarium to keep the heat out of the rest of the house:) SummerMiddle.JPG 2230k .JPG file

Note - This is from my bedroom, since windows and spacers are in the way in the Solarium. (LG 55LHX in my bedroom, despite having a full Matte Screen, still reflects the spotlights from the University, across the Lake, onto my ceiling at night!)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SummerMiddle.JPG
Views:	157
Size:	2.18 MB
ID:	78045  

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is online now  
post #2188 of 2438 Old 05-24-2014, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
hmunster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Guys, need some help. Can somebody tell me which of these sets is "better". I am looking at a 40-42 in set, trying to compare a couple of samsungs to LG's.
The sets are the UN40EH5000 and 5300 vs the LG 42LN5400 and 5300. I have figured out what the differences are between the LG's, but not sure about the Samsungs. Any direct comparisons for both picture and audio would be appreciated. Will be using the tv in the bedroom, so not too concerned about getting the best pq, but am concerned about the set being able to deliver intelligible audio (no way to add external spkrs).
Also, since the tv will be wall mounted and it is not directly in front of the bed, do any of these sets have a better viewing angle than the others?
Thanks
hmunster2 is offline  
post #2189 of 2438 Old 05-25-2014, 01:08 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

when wife goes in there with a client and closes the sliding door.
Too much information!
Woobieizer likes this.
crashbot is offline  
post #2190 of 2438 Old 05-25-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmunster2 View Post

Guys, need some help. Can somebody tell me which of these sets is "better". I am looking at a 40-42 in set, trying to compare a couple of samsungs to LG's.
The sets are the UN40EH5000 and 5300 vs the LG 42LN5400 and 5300. I have figured out what the differences are between the LG's, but not sure about the Samsungs. Any direct comparisons for both picture and audio would be appreciated. Will be using the tv in the bedroom, so not too concerned about getting the best pq, but am concerned about the set being able to deliver intelligible audio (no way to add external spkrs).
Also, since the tv will be wall mounted and it is not directly in front of the bed, do any of these sets have a better viewing angle than the others?
Thanks

You've got a clear determining factor here.. Viewing angle. I would not want to mount my 5300 unless it could articulate and tilt, because of the tight sweet spot, AND mirroring effect from the anti glare application.

If you have the ability to stop by a box store, take your camera for research and snap some pictures of the off angles models you've narrowed your choice too.

Viewed below is a night shot of my three TV's
Westinghouse is captured in a straight on view. The Emerson is at a 45 degree off axis from camera and the Samsung is powered off and 110 degrees off angle from Westinghouse, mirroring the Emerson.

Woobieizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off