The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 09:50 AM
Member
 
evadef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by evadef View Post
Hi, and thanks for the welcome!

We watch balance of OTA, 720p & 1080i along with a Roku, 1080p & BD player 1080p

OTA channels vary in color, etc saturation & level. Reminds me of NTSC material still kicking around.

The AVS disk for this set showed little change for Sharpness, so 0 works fine for the BD 1080p material.

I found watching a static background on a talk show helped set the sharpness for this set for the TV input for real world viewing.

Yes, sounds weird, but I backed off the sharpness until the lettering in the show's signage stopped showing change & artifacts.

The high contrast setting of this set surprised me as I found the Brightness control became a moot point for using.

The Backlight setting has value but little according to the AVS disk. Room environment dictates it's use.

I use the AVS disk strictly as a baseline and go from there.

Bottom line, what looks good for the user is best and everyone has their own preference.

Going into the service menu is a no-no for me. Too easy to "break" something.

I do find LCD panels can be a bit tricky as compared to using my old Joe Kane ISF DVD on CRT's of past

Hope this wasn't too long winded.......
------------------------------------------------------------

Made the following changes also, much much better picture and inline with BT709 AVS calibration disk

Set Color Space from Native to Auto, much written about this setting for Samsung

This set lacks Custom like our old SONY but simply use the Movie setting for the changes

Color update to 39 for OTA, rich now, pasty facial bloom gone

Color updated to 43 for BD / Roku

Sharpness dialed down to 20....personal preference (used small scrolling movie end credits for reference) ) 0 may be preferred by most tho

Panel is UD03 as reference

Very, very happy with this set now.......
evadef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hello, I have a question about the service menu. i went in there to check if i had a samsung panel, and when i saw what i wanted i hit exit by accident instead of the power button to turn the tv off. does the exit button even do anything in the service menu? i just want to make sure i didn't change any settings without knowing it.
jonsn0w is offline  
post #2253 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonsn0w View Post
, and when i saw what i wanted i hit exit by accident instead of the power button to turn the tv off. does the exit button even do anything in the service menu?
Too much in you first post to assume. You don't say what specific model you own, You don't mention what you wanted to see (how deep into SM you got). The exit button sends a command.

What did your tv do?
Anytime the SM is accessed, user configs are wiped clean,
What you fear from hitting the 'exit' button could be no more that the reset caused by access.
Most ppl only need the initial view of the SM, hitting exit would not invoke a detrimental command, unless followed by many other fat fingered hits.

Hope you can enjoy your set.
Woobieizer is online now  
post #2254 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 55
This is an example of where hitting the 'exit' button would cause you great distress. One would be way beyond the initial SM page, ie very deep within.

HTML Code:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lcd-flat-panel-displays/1406151-official-2012-samsung-eh4000-eh5000-eh5300-owner-s-thread-99.html#post24359772
post 1972
Woobieizer is online now  
post #2255 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post
Too much in you first post to assume. You don't say what specific model you own, You don't mention what you wanted to see (how deep into SM you got). The exit button sends a command.

What did your tv do?
Anytime the SM is accessed, user configs are wiped clean,
What you fear from hitting the 'exit' button could be no more that the reset caused by access.
Most ppl only need the initial view of the SM, hitting exit would not invoke a detrimental command, unless followed by many other fat fingered hits.

Hope you can enjoy your set.
it's the 32eh5000. i wasn't deep into the service menu at all, only at Option > Type to see the panel number. i hit exit instinctively to close the menu which did nothing, so i powered off the tv.

i don't know enough about samsung's service menus to know whether that did anything or not.
jonsn0w is offline  
post #2256 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonsn0w View Post
it's the 32eh5000. i wasn't deep into the service menu at all, only at Option > Type to see the panel number. i hit exit instinctively to close the menu and it did nothing, so i powered off the tv.

i don't know enough about samsung's service menus to know whether that did anything or not.
If you were on the very first screen shot seen here and pressed 'exit', you fine.

Woobieizer is online now  
post #2257 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post
If you were on the very first screen shot seen here and pressed 'exit', you fine.
i was in a bit farther in than the first screenshot. if you were to hit ok on Option that's where i'd be. Type is the first thing inside that menu.

Last edited by jonsn0w; 07-04-2014 at 03:23 PM.
jonsn0w is offline  
post #2258 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonsn0w View Post
i was in a bit farther in than the first screenshot. if you were to hit ok on Option that's where i'd be. Type is the first thing inside that menu.
Refer to this:
Confirm that you did not try to change type:
http://wiki.samygo.tv/index.php5/The...28ES-series%29
Woobieizer is online now  
post #2259 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post
Refer to this:
Confirm that you did not try to change type:
http://wiki.samygo.tv/index.php5/The...28ES-series%29
i know i didn't change the type because i never hit anything other than exit and the power button while in that menu. does exit even have a function in the SM at all?
jonsn0w is offline  
post #2260 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonsn0w View Post
i know i didn't change the type because i never hit anything other than exit and the power button while in that menu.
All the peace of mind you need is to see your TV functioning as intended. No blood, No foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonsn0w View Post
does exit even have a function in the SM at all?
YES!! It is an unintuitive 'Commit' button.
Woobieizer is online now  
post #2261 of 2272 Old 07-04-2014, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woobieizer View Post
All the peace of mind you need is to see your TV functioning as intended. No blood, No foul.


YES!! It is an unintuitive 'Commit' button.
"Commit button"

what's that phrase supposed to mean, lol. another way of hitting Enter on the remote? doesn't make sense to me that exit would do that.
anyway i just went inside the service menu again. the type is the same number as before.

Last edited by jonsn0w; 07-04-2014 at 08:14 PM.
jonsn0w is offline  
post #2262 of 2272 Old 07-05-2014, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
Rmanluther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what type of movie files does a 32" eh5000 supports? Some .mkv files do not work, mp4s are a no-no too. Help!
Rmanluther is offline  
post #2263 of 2272 Old 07-05-2014, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 55
What is your full model number, or just find you PDF on Samsung and refer
"Other Restrictions"

UN32EH5000FXZA.jpg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg UN32EH5000FXZA.jpg (182.6 KB, 10 views)
Woobieizer is online now  
post #2264 of 2272 Old 07-06-2014, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
John4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRxPHANTOM View Post
So far really satisfied with my purchase on the UN32EH5000 for 249.99. I returned my Toshiba 32L2400u(259.99) to pick up this Sammie and honestly the picture looks about 40% better for console gaming anyways.
How were the viewing angles on the toshiba relative to the samsung? Putting everything else aside. I'm wondering if this might be an IPS panel display.
John4721 is offline  
post #2265 of 2272 Old 07-07-2014, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
Hadrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by John4721 View Post
How were the viewing angles on the toshiba relative to the samsung? Putting everything else aside. I'm wondering if this might be an IPS panel display.
Nah these are VA panels. Honestly I love the way they look over IPS, at least the cheaper IPS panels. I tried out a TV and couple of LG monitors with IPS panels, and the back light bleeding was horrendous. I couldn't watch a dark scene in a movie without noticing half the screen discoloured. The screen uniformity on this TV is amazing, and is one of my favorite things about it. On a black screen the whole screen is black as it should be.
John4721 likes this.
Hadrol is offline  
post #2266 of 2272 Old 07-09-2014, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
zeitgeist7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

Looks like I might grab the 32EH5300 and I've been reading about the panel differences but could anyone provide a summary of the differences? Is it that some aren't even Samsung Panels? It sounds like it's a luck thing to see if you get an actual Samsung one but are the others basically knock-offs?
zeitgeist7 is offline  
post #2267 of 2272 Old 07-09-2014, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 228
For that model you'll want to look for a Version or Code on the side of the box or the tv that starts with Txxx. That's a good indicator that the panel is a Samsung S-PVA. I bought one last summer for my son and he has been very happy with it. There are other Version numbers that start with letters other than Txxx that indicate a Samsung panel but I'll let the others mention that. "T" was the only one I was looking for at that time and have been able to personally confirm.

The other panels are not knock-offs. They are just made by different mfrs and Samsung uses them for reasons known only to them. Probably build availability at the time, contract obligations, what ever.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2268 of 2272 Old 07-10-2014, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
For that model you'll want to look for a Version or Code on the side of the box or the tv that starts with Txxx. That's a good indicator that the panel is a Samsung S-PVA. I bought one last summer for my son and he has been very happy with it. There are other Version numbers that start with letters other than Txxx that indicate a Samsung panel but I'll let the others mention that. "T" was the only one I was looking for at that time and have been able to personally confirm.

The other panels are not knock-offs. They are just made by different mfrs and Samsung uses them for reasons known only to them. Probably build availability at the time, contract obligations, what ever.
As far as I know, in stores, Txxx Panels aren't available anymore, at least no where in my area. UU02 is the only panel type I've noticed everywhere. Not sure about if you ordered one online.
JRxPHANTOM is offline  
post #2269 of 2272 Old 07-10-2014, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRxPHANTOM View Post
As far as I know, in stores, Txxx Panels aren't available anymore, at least no where in my area. UU02 is the only panel type I've noticed everywhere. Not sure about if you ordered one online.
You'll have to check the thread to see what kind of panel Uxxx indicates. I think it's the S-PVA but I'm not sure. Ordering online is a great way to save money but you can't specify a particular panel or version code. Hence the panel lottery.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #2270 of 2272 Old 07-15-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Costco has just dropped the UN32EH5300 - anyone have an idea as to what replaced it? Maybe time to take my Orangey unit back and try the new replacement?
A check of their website shows the following: UN32H5203 but not the UN32H5500

The key differences between Samsung UN32H5500 and UN32H5203 are coming from the Smart TV and Processor. Samsung UN32H5500 is coming with more complete features on its Smart TV platform such as Smart View 2.0 and Smart Apps as well as quad-core processor as its processor, while Samsung UN32H5203 comes with simpler version of Smart TV with less features as well as no quad-core processor. So with more completed features and better processor, Samsung UN32H5500 can give you more enjoyment as well as faster processing time. There’re other differences as well on the bezel and HDMI. Samsung UN32H5500 comes with thinner 0.3″ bezel and have 3 HDMI, while Samsung UN32H5203 comes with 0.5″ bezel and 2 HDMI.

The UN32EH5300 has Version UU02, and the Code showing it's a Samsung Panel: 32A6AF1D

Last edited by p5browne; 07-15-2014 at 10:52 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #2271 of 2272 Old 07-19-2014, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
Kevin Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What about the ADC result and other stuff? What were your settings? :O I used a checkerboard for a led tv but it failed and tried other ones but looked to washed out or didn't really work for me and yes I have a Samsung eh5300 smart tv

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
NOTE: All settings in the Service Menu are Cool Mode setting values.

Tried to adjust the Colours from the Service Menu, and got no where. I'm now beginning to believe that you do require a Samsung Service Remote to access a third Service Menu?
After getting a few more hours on the set, put the TV on the kitchen table last night to have another go at it. CMS scan showed very good results with only Green being a tad higher, and Blue higher again. Greyscale was not very linear. Got fed up last night and just AutoCaled the iScan Duo. Once the wife sees the difference, I won't get any flack!?
So there you have it - a slightly over $300 TV, calibrated and looking great using an $800 VQ! But now I'm happy.
White Film over the whole screen comes from turning Dynamic Off in the Advanced Screen - now turned on to Low.
On my big Plasma Samsung with many more hours, the White Film is greatly reduced with Dynamic Off - Put on Low just to get that little more edge.
Last Nights calibrations before I AutoCaled the set.

Samsung UN32EH5300 - June 16,2014
Calibrated using iScan Duo for Patterns, Spectracal C6 on tripod profiled off i1Pro, and using Calman 5.3.5 RC4

Out of the Box Factory Settings Scanned Values: Service Menu White Balance / Calibrated

Sub Brightness: 128 / 112
Red Offset: 128 / 131
Green Offset: 128 / 129
Blue Offset: 128 / 126
Sub Contrast: 135 / 117
Red Gain: 148 / 140
Green Gain: 128 / 128
Blue Gain: 165 / 152

Movie Values after calibration:
Backlight: 18
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 20
Colour: 50
Tint: 50/50

Advanced settings:
Dynamic: Low
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
colour Space: Native
White Balance:

Red Offset: 25
Green Offset: 25
Blue Offset: 25
Red Gain: 25
Green Gain: 25
Blue Gain: 25

Gamma: 0

Picture Option:
Colour Tone: Warm2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Film Mode: Off
LED Motion Plus: Off
Kevin Day is offline  
post #2272 of 2272 Old 07-20-2014, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Haven't bothered to bring the 5300 down from above the fireplace, It appears as the wife is putting on the hours on it, the PQ is getting better - maybe it's like wine! Besides - wife's happy with it - so why tinker?
I've got 5 other sets to mess with in the house. (Most of them for the wife! F5300 for the off the kitchen room, LG 55LHX in her computer loft room, LG 42LH90 in her bedroom, the old 32" Samsung in the guest room that mainly her family uses!, and finally the Samsung PN64F8500 in the basement system for when she's doing laundry. Me, 1 55LHX in my bedroom, and occassionally watch the F8500 in the basement. All recalibrated every time Lumagen, Duo or Calman do an upgrade.)
p5browne is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off