The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 77 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2305 Old 08-07-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just bought the Samsung UN32EH5000 about a month ago. I notice that DNR is turned on by default so I turned it off since it takes away some detail in the picture. The instruction manual says that DNR removes picture noise to reduce flickering. And that's what happens; the picture flickers when DNR is turned off. The flickering occurs when there is a lot of fine detail in the image, especially skyscraper shots. It even happens too when the image is very very grainy. The grain would pulsate and flicker. This goes away when DNR is turned on. The higher the DNR setting, the more it goes away. This occurs mostly on Blu-rays (setting at 1080p) since it produces the sharpest picture. It doesn't happen much on HD cable (which is set at 1080i)

My previous TV was 720p and I never had this issue, even with DNR turned off, so I don't know if this is something that normally happens on a 1080p TV since this is my first time owning one.

So, is it normal for the picture to flicker on a 1080p TV like this when DNR is off? Does anyone else's TV do the same thing?
MrHT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2305 Old 08-09-2014, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bcab17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a UN32H5203 for our bedroom (still in the box). My first question is how to update to the latest firmware. When it connects via WIFI will it automatically look for updates, download and install them or is firmware something different?


My second question is about the 60Hz refresh rate (my two other TVs are 120Hz). Is this going to be a big issue? For about the same price, there was a Vizio M3221 next to it that was 1080p / 120Hz. I actually chose the Sammy because in general, it has the perception of being a better built TV than Vizio (of course, this could be completely wrong).


Lastly...viewing angle. I plan to mount this TV relatively high on a wall where we would be watching it "straight on" from bed, but at an upward angle (the head of the bed is about 13' from where the TV will be mounted). How are the off-axis vertical viewing angles?
bcab17 is offline  
post #2283 of 2305 Old 08-13-2014, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Halr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Western Montana
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello again.. I have just had a UN50EH5300FXZA go kaput on me. Crusing along perfectly, then just a flash, and then black. Power light flashed slow, and a pattern that we couldn't get fast enough and then nothing. Pulled all cords, and let it set for 10 minutes. Plugged it back in, and no go. No light, no nothing. Still under warranty, which is a good thing, and I have submitted a service request. I don't know how long that they take to get back to me, nor how long the repair will take.

Anyone run across this error before? Anyone had service before?
Halr is offline  
post #2284 of 2305 Old 08-14-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Samsung UN32EH5300 - June 16,2014 (10 Hours)
Calibrated using iScan Duo for Patterns, Spectracal C6 on tripod profiled off i1Pro, and using Calman 5.3.5 RC4

August 14, 2014 (100 Hours)
Calibrated using iScan Duo for Patterns, i1Display Pro on tripod profiled off i1Pro, and using Calman 5.3.5a Build 1598

Out of the Box Factory Settings Scanned Values: Service Menu White Balance / Calibrated 10 Hours / Calibrated 100 Hours

Sub Brightness: 128 / 112 / 112
Red Offset: 128 / 131 / 131
Green Offset: 128 / 129 / 123
Blue Offset: 128 / 126 / 118
Sub Contrast: 135 / 117 / 117
Red Gain: 148 / 140 / 122
Green Gain: 128 / 128 / 128
Blue Gain: 165 / 152 / 166

Movie Values after calibration:
Backlight: 18
Contrast: 92 / 94
Brightness: 47 / 46
Sharpness: 20 / 34
Colour: 50 / 50
Tint: 50/50 / 50/50

Advanced settings:
Dynamic: Low / Off (If haze is an issue, put on Low, but it does affect specs.
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
colour Space: Native
White Balance: All Values at defaults of 25

Gamma: 0 / -1

Picture Option:
Colour Tone: Warm2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Film Mode: Off
LED Motion Plus: Off

Notes: Resulted in dE1.4 for setting of 2.4 Warm2 Reading 6560K Warm1 Reading: 7880K
Did everything possible, with what I had to work with, to get a Flat Greyscale
#1 - Set all Service Menu Values (SM) to 128, and Normal Menu White Balances left at defaults of 25
#2 - Adjust SM values to get RGB Gains and Offsets to the Zero Line in the Normal Menu. (100% and 30%)
#3 - Checking 11 Point Greyscale - 100% dead on, 30% not!
#4 - Adjust SM to get 100 and 30% Flat on zero Line.
Issues: Red - 10, 20 and 80% Elevated Green - 10 and 20% dipped Blue - 40 and 50% Peaked
(All the R and G values above under the 3 lines. B - between 4 and 5)
Changes from 10 to 100 hours of usage - Red Gain dropped, Blue Gain & Sharpness Increased, some changes in the Offsets
End result, a MUCH Improved PQ that I can now live with!

Last edited by p5browne; 08-14-2014 at 12:14 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #2285 of 2305 Old 08-16-2014, 03:18 PM
Member
 
johnboy813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my UN32EH5300 for several months now and initially set it up with my wireless router (Netgear WGT624) and it does receive updates. Now when I try and connect to something like UTube it says that a network connection is not setup. When I go through the process and enter the password for my router the setup connection fails. When I look at my router status the IP address for the TV shows up as a connected device (but it not not show a name just a '-' dash) as the device name. I have added its MAC address to my Access Card List as I only allow known devices on my network. One message from the Samsung is to check that DHCP is enabled and on my router 'Use router as DHCP server' is checked. One thing I did notice was the IP Address on my network all starts with 192., but the Samsung IP Address starts with 169.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Last edited by johnboy813; 08-16-2014 at 03:30 PM.
johnboy813 is offline  
post #2286 of 2305 Old 08-16-2014, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboy813 View Post
I have had my UN32EH5300 for several months now and initially set it up with my wireless router (Netgear WGT624) and it does receive updates. Now when I try and connect to something like UTube it says that a network connection is not setup. When I go through the process and enter the password for my router the setup connection fails. When I look at my router status the IP address for the TV shows up as a connected device (but it not not show a name just a '-' dash) as the device name. I have added its MAC address to my Access Card List as I only allow known devices on my network. One message from the Samsung is to check that DHCP is enabled and on my router 'Use router as DHCP server' is checked. One thing I did notice was the IP Address on my network all starts with 192., but the Samsung IP Address starts with 169.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
169 usually means `No Connection'. Try doing the Normal Menu Reset and redo the Setup. Or, if not wanting to redo any settings, just try the Setup Again.
p5browne is offline  
post #2287 of 2305 Old 08-17-2014, 01:31 PM
Member
 
johnboy813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
169 usually means `No Connection'. Try doing the Normal Menu Reset and redo the Setup. Or, if not wanting to redo any settings, just try the Setup Again.
I have it working now, turns out when I wrote down my router password I transposed 2 characters (a little dyslexia). Thanks for the assist.
johnboy813 is offline  
post #2288 of 2305 Old 08-18-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboy813 View Post
I have it working now, turns out when I wrote down my router password I transposed 2 characters (a little dyslexia). Thanks for the assist.
Caught this when redoing the Setup?
p5browne is offline  
post #2289 of 2305 Old 08-18-2014, 06:26 PM
Member
 
johnboy813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Caught this when redoing the Setup?
Pretty much.
johnboy813 is offline  
post #2290 of 2305 Old 08-21-2014, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
Kevin Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I just been wondering does anyone know the default settings of the ADC result my are currently at

ADC Result:
2nd_R_L 134
2nd_G_L 134
2nd_B_L 134
2nd_R_H 49
2nd_G_H 49
2nd_B_H 49

But I'm not sure if that's how it was in the box
Kevin Day is offline  
post #2291 of 2305 Old 08-21-2014, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Good Morning Kevin:
I hope you can get that answer resolved in a short time.

Here is what Kevin has for those that do not know or remember:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Day View Post
I have a un32eh5300 and would like some help with using pc mode or game mode for my xbox one, if this is any of your guys concern.
Also if theres any calibration thats good for gaming.


A recent discussing relating to ADC calibration starts with a similar question:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mollywhopper View Post
messed up service menu using hdmi calibration. can someone tell me the stock values on the service menu for un32eh5300 im on a TS01 version if that matters. plz help
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2292 of 2305 Old 08-22-2014, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
vicrol123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a solution to connect wifi in my 32" EH5300F

# With the TV off.

mute> 1-8-2

turn on

sub menu to change region wifi- (letter) to A

now it's working perfectly.

regards!
Woobieizer likes this.
vicrol123 is offline  
post #2293 of 2305 Old 08-31-2014, 04:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone receive poor audio quality with the EH5300 32" when certain bass frequencies are played? I know there isn't a subwoofer built in to aid with the lows but is there a "fix" to help eliminate the deep humming sound (I'm not sure how to describe it). I'm not really looking to invest in a soundbar or external audio system at the moment.
Algorithm518 is offline  
post #2294 of 2305 Old 08-31-2014, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2295 of 2305 Old 09-03-2014, 01:51 AM
Member
 
capillariancrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcab17 View Post
I just picked up a UN32H5203 for our bedroom (still in the box). My first question is how to update to the latest firmware. When it connects via WIFI will it automatically look for updates, download and install them or is firmware something different?


My second question is about the 60Hz refresh rate (my two other TVs are 120Hz). Is this going to be a big issue? For about the same price, there was a Vizio M3221 next to it that was 1080p / 120Hz. I actually chose the Sammy because in general, it has the perception of being a better built TV than Vizio (of course, this could be completely wrong).


Lastly...viewing angle. I plan to mount this TV relatively high on a wall where we would be watching it "straight on" from bed, but at an upward angle (the head of the bed is about 13' from where the TV will be mounted). How are the off-axis vertical viewing angles?
120 hz refers to the auto motion plus that your tv uses. the tv processes the image and inserts new frames to make it appear smoother. disabling this option is usually recommended. your samsung should download the software once you connect it to your wifi and select system update.
capillariancrest is offline  
post #2296 of 2305 Old 09-03-2014, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do all 50" models (UN50EH5000) have the TS** panel, or is it also part of the panel lottery? I'm purchasing one at Best Buy this Sunday.
rpeopler is offline  
post #2297 of 2305 Old 09-04-2014, 08:42 AM
Member
 
codexavellum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any configuration settings for the UN32EH5000F? I just got it today and tried to go through the 77 pages but couldn't find it.

Thanks!
codexavellum is offline  
post #2298 of 2305 Old 09-04-2014, 09:37 AM
Member
 
johnboy813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by codexavellum View Post
Does anyone have any configuration settings for the UN32EH5000F? I just got it today and tried to go through the 77 pages but couldn't find it.

Thanks!
Check out post 2284, that should get you in the right direction. But remember color preference is in the eye of the beholder.
johnboy813 is offline  
post #2299 of 2305 Old 09-04-2014, 09:52 AM
Member
 
codexavellum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboy813 View Post
Check out post 2284, that should get you in the right direction. But remember color preference is in the eye of the beholder.
Do 5300 Settings go fine on a 5000 Set?
codexavellum is offline  
post #2300 of 2305 Old 09-04-2014, 11:48 AM
Member
 
johnboy813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by codexavellum View Post
Do 5300 Settings go fine on a 5000 Set?
The sets are similar (if the look at the title of this thread it mentions both sets); the main difference between the 5000 and the 5300 is as follows:
The 5300 has a 60Hz refresh with the 5000 has a 120Hz refresh and the 5300 has Smart TV and WIFI built in where the 5000 does not.

Having said that to answer your question as I mentioned before it is a good place to start. Do not forget that lighting in the room where the set is located will affect how you set your brightness and contrast. I would recommend writing down the current setting before you start making changes so that if you do not like what you see you can always revert back to how it was.

Good Luck
johnboy813 is offline  
post #2301 of 2305 Old 09-09-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Nemix77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs up

p5browne

Been a long time since I've visited this forum to check out your improved calibration settings (did not want to rush you) and man it was worth the wait.

I just applied your calibration settings below to my 37EH5000 and what an improvement in PQ over your last calibration settings even when connected to PC the color temp and colors are spot on perfect to my eyes.

Again thanks for posting up your tweaked calibration settings and hope to hear from you in the future perhaps when your EH5300 hits 200 hours for maybe a final calibration touch up.

Considering your current posted calibration settings @ 100 hours are already in IMHO perfect, it really does not matter to me if you decide not to do a final touch up calibration.

These are the settings I run on my 37EH5000 with a PS3 set to Full RGB and HDMI labeled as PC using p5browne's calibrated settings as guide of reference:

Sub Brightness: 128 (Kept at default because there's no picture settings when watching movies via USB media)
Red Offset: 131
Green Offset: 123
Blue Offset: 117 (Lower because Chi Mei panels are a tiny bit more Blue)
Sub Contrast: 130 (Higher because Movie Mode via USB media is lacking some Contrast)
Red Gain: 122
Green Gain: 128
Blue Gain: 166

Standard Mode with HDMI labeled as PC:
Backlight: 20
Contrast: 93/94
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 70

Advanced Settings:
White Balance: All Defaults 25
Gamma: +1 (Higher gives my Chi Mei panel just about 2.2 Gamma measured with PNG images and Gamma correection guides found online in order to correspond with Full RGB Gamma)

Picture Options:
Color Tone: Warm2
HDMI Black Level: Normal

Thanks again,

Last edited by Nemix77; 09-12-2014 at 05:40 AM.
Nemix77 is offline  
post #2302 of 2305 Old 09-15-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Calman has a new Software out, and I've come up with a small change on how I calibrate. Will probably get another go at things later this week.

Just checked - set only has 142 hours on it. Will wait for 200. Wife's current Contract over end of September, so she'll be back home racking up more hours. Problem then will be getting it to re-calibrate when she's Not Here!

Last edited by p5browne; 09-16-2014 at 03:18 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #2303 of 2305 Old 09-27-2014, 10:19 AM
Newbie
 
vicrol123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would like to know your opinions on which 2.0 or 2.1 speakers would use in a eh5300. between 80~120$

omg, that inbuild speakers...just cause


Regards!
vicrol123 is offline  
post #2304 of 2305 Old 09-27-2014, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicrol123 View Post
I would like to know your opinions on which 2.0 or 2.1 speakers would use in a eh5300. between 80~120$

omg, that inbuild speakers...just cause


Regards!
I'd trust whatever you get. After I padded the inside of my 46" I've not had any rattle. I did pick up a real cheap soundbar from Big Lots. It worked fine but it lacked LFE.

What have you considered?
Woobieizer is offline  
post #2305 of 2305 Old 09-28-2014, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
vicrol123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
vizio s3820w

rca rts735e


phillips css2123/f7


integrated speakers are dying recently watching transformers age of extintion and godzilla.

during the "roaring"? godzilla my ears almost bleed how speakers are heard.

crappy speakers...(do not blame samsung, in search of thinness that gets more audio.)

regards!
vicrol123 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off