The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread... - Page 79 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2396 Old 11-29-2014, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have my version, DD09. That points to board part number: BN96-23845A

Googling that looking for settings now.... but not having much luck. If you know the 3 items I need I will present my disclaimer now, no one is held liable as I am likely going to return it at this point. But I want to learn and maybe even make it better.

If there is a time to brick a TV for me, it is now.

I did peruse my SM "type" options. There are many 32xxx options to choose from. Oddly, there is one to the left of the NONE option, out of place since all the other choices are listed numerically. I have not dared choose him yet, I have not changed a single thing actually.

Thanks again Woo, including the pics and links.
RandyHolt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2396 Old 11-29-2014, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
UPDATE.

I am returning the TV. It just occurred to me that I would likely need to do a full audit of every SM setting, to have full confidence in this TV.

I am anyone faces the same issue with the same TV in the future, ping me!

For the record I will not be doing the firmware update to 1008 as soon as I get home, again!

Thanks again Woo.
RandyHolt is offline  
post #2343 of 2396 Old 11-29-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Samsung UN32EH5000 Calibration Settings

Hello,

I just purchased my Samsung UN32EH5000 and I was wondering if anyone had some calibration settings for gaming (PS3) with HDMI.

If not, can I use the calibration settings that this user posted for his UN32EH5300, a different model, in this thread?

The *OFFICIAL* 2012 Samsung EH4000/EH5000/EH5300 Owner's Thread...

Thanks.
omiexstrike is offline  
post #2344 of 2396 Old 11-30-2014, 06:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone?
omiexstrike is offline  
post #2345 of 2396 Old 12-05-2014, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
sievers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post
The mini-jack (3.5mm) is a stereo headphone output. If you want surround you need the optical.
Thank you. So if I send in 5.1 on hdmi, the optical will pass that thru? I can't find where this is specified.
sievers is offline  
post #2346 of 2396 Old 12-05-2014, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Not necessarily. Some TVs only send output from the internal tuner and not from the auxiliary inputs.
crashbot is offline  
post #2347 of 2396 Old 12-05-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Most of the newer Samsung TVs have had FW updates this week - the UN32EH5300F FW definitely made a MAJOR PQ upgrade. Also, have now found when calibrating Samsung TVS, I'm being left with an overall white haze across the whole screen. After having the same issue on my new UN65HU9000, decided to do some experimenting after writing down all the new values. Don't know what it is that's causing the haze, BUT, running the Picture Reset afterwards, then manually re-installing the values, the PQ now makes this look like a New TV! Off angle viewing at 90 degrees was previously a washout - now still full colour - on an LED! Main point here - wife happy!
p5browne is offline  
post #2348 of 2396 Old 12-06-2014, 07:28 AM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by omiexstrike View Post
Hello,

I just purchased my Samsung UN32EH5000 and I was wondering if anyone had some calibration settings for gaming (PS3) with HDMI.

If not, can I use the calibration settings that this user posted for his UN32EH5300, a different model, in this thread?

Thanks.
I bought the UN40EH5000 and the 'Movie Preset' is the best one out of the box, except for that nasty green hue/filter, but I've been constantly tweaking the picture to my liking. I used an app called THX Tune-Up. I'm unable to post links so just google 'THX Tune-Up'.

It did a damn good job and will hold me over until I can order a calibration DVD and get more into the guts of this TV. I want to configure the presets as follow: 'Dynamic' for my PS4, 'Standard' for regular TV and 'Movie' for either Blu-Rays or Netflix streaming. I tried using the calibration settings in post 2281, but I didn't see an improvement, so I'm still searching.
Tzu is offline  
post #2349 of 2396 Old 12-06-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Wife going out tonight - so maybe will pull the set down and check calibration.
p5browne is offline  
post #2350 of 2396 Old 12-06-2014, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 293
December 6 - 400 Hours

Samsung UN32EH5300 - December 6,2014
Calibrated using iScan Duo for Patterns, i1Display Pro on tripod profiled off i1Pro, and using Calman 5.4.0 RC2
Out of the Box Factory Settings Scanned Values: Service Menu White Balance / Calibrated 100Hrs / Calibrated 400Hrs

Sub Brightness: 128 / 112 / 112
Red Offset: 128 / 131 / 126
Green Offset: 128 / 123 / 123
Blue Offset: 128 / 118 / 118
Sub Contrast: 135 / 117 / 117
Red Gain: 148 / 122 / 135
Green Gain: 128 / 128 / 128
Blue Gain: 165 / 166 / 154

Movie Values after calibration:
Backlight: 18 / 18 / 18
Contrast: 92 / 94 / 95
Brightness: 47 / 46 / 46
Sharpness: 20 / 20 / 20
Colour: 50 /50 /50
Tint: 50/50 / 50/50 / 50/50

Advanced settings:
Dynamic: Low / Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
Colour Space: Native / Auto
White Balance: Calibrated in service Menu

Red Offset: 25
Green Offset: 25
Blue Offset: 25
Red Gain: 25
Green Gain: 25
Blue Gain: 25

Gamma: 0 / -1

Picture Option:
Colour Tone: Warm2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Film Mode: Off
LED Motion Plus: Off
Eco Mode: Turned On > 20 > Turned Off

Scan readings of the Greyscale and Colour Checker were almost ideal! Was it the new 2002 FW, 400 hours, or a combination of both. definitely a great improvement from the first out of the box experience!

One MAJOR difference with FW 2002 - the off angle viewing is GREATLY Improved!!!!
vicrol123 likes this.

Last edited by p5browne; 12-08-2014 at 09:45 AM.
p5browne is offline  
post #2351 of 2396 Old 12-08-2014, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
[omen]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question. I'm in the market for an inexpensive 32" LCD and considering the UN32EH5000. Can it accept 23.976 input? With the 120 CMR can it handle that, or will it only handle 60i?
[omen] is offline  
post #2352 of 2396 Old 12-12-2014, 01:51 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The short answer is "probably", the long answer is from what particular input: analogue, HDMI, or USB (file)?
crashbot is offline  
post #2353 of 2396 Old 12-21-2014, 06:34 PM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just received the Disney WOW dvd and, as per their suggestion, using the MOVIE preset, here's the settings I ended up with. Truth be told, these results weren't too different from what the THX app gave me.

Backlight - 16 (this can go as low as 12, but the picture is a little dim, so I increased it a bit to compensate - especially for gaming).
Contrast - 95
Brightness - 50
Sharpness - 12
Color - 38 (if you feel the color is too desaturated, bump it up to 44/45.)
Tint - G52/R48


Color Space - Auto
White Balance - Default
Gamma - 0
Dynamic Contrast - OFF
Black Tone - OFF
Flesh Tone - 0
Motion Lighting - OFF

Color Tone - STANDARD
Size - Screen Fit
Digital Noise Filter - OFF
DMI Black Level - Normal
Film Mode - OFF
LED Motion PLus - OFF (always)

Hope this helps some of you!
Tzu is offline  
post #2354 of 2396 Old 12-23-2014, 11:36 AM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone own the 46" version (UN46EH5000) and if so, how do you like it? Was thinking of upgrading from the 40".
Tzu is offline  
post #2355 of 2396 Old 12-26-2014, 02:53 PM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is UF40 a Samsung panel?
Tzu is offline  
post #2356 of 2396 Old 12-29-2014, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
ander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tzu View Post
Is UF40 a Samsung panel?
Yes, it's a Samsung panel. I got a Samsung UN40EH5000FXZ (version UF40) for Christmas—and when I read about the different panels Samsung was using, I wondered what kind of panel I had, too.

It's actually pretty easy to get these details, but there's some confusion about it. I'll post a separate message, following this one, and describe the procedure. Maybe this forum's admins would like to put it at the top of this thread (and the more general “Samsung Panel Version Thread”?) so more people will understand how to do it.

Last edited by ander; 12-29-2014 at 07:20 PM.
ander is offline  
post #2357 of 2396 Old 12-29-2014, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
ander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried posting the info, but the forum software told me I had to post two more messages before I'd be allowed to include links in a message. So, here's the 1st one...

Last edited by ander; 12-29-2014 at 07:20 PM.
ander is offline  
post #2358 of 2396 Old 12-29-2014, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
ander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
...and here's the 2nd one. (Sorry to have to do this, but the info I'm trying to share here seems pretty useful.)
ander is offline  
post #2359 of 2396 Old 12-29-2014, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
ander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
– How to find out who made your Samsung LCD/LED TV's panel –

1. On the back of your TV, find the label with the product info. Between "Model number" and "Serial number", find your TV's version number.

2. Go to SamsungParts.com. Enter your TV's model number in the box that says "MODEL # Search", then click GO. (Note: If your model number doesn't work, try removing the last letter, which may just be an extra code-letter for your country.)

3. A new page appears for your model. In the "Version #" list, select your TV's version number.

4. A new page appears for your TV model and version. In the "Part Type" list, select "OPERATIONAL PANEL", then click GO.

5. The new page appears with your panel's details for your panel appear at the right. Your panel's model number is the long number under the word "Specification". For example, my page said:

Specification
LSF400HM02-A, 8BIT, 40 INCH
ASSY OPEN CELL

...so LSF400HM02-A was my panel's model number.

6. Go to panelook.com, enter your panel's model number into the Search box, then click SEARCH. You should now see your panel's manufacturer under "BRAND".
ADU and Vader2000 like this.
ander is offline  
post #2360 of 2396 Old 12-30-2014, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The mobile view of samsungparts.com (automatically presented on, for example, a tablet) isn't so helpful - at the bottom of the page click "view full site", then you can proceed as per the instructions above.

However: I fell at the first fence. My model number (UE32EH5000) was not recognised in any form that I tried.

Last edited by crashbot; 12-30-2014 at 09:54 AM.
crashbot is offline  
post #2361 of 2396 Old 12-30-2014, 07:56 PM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ander View Post
– How to find out who made your Samsung LCD/LED TV's panel –

1. On the back of your TV, find the label with the product info. Between "Model number" and "Serial number", find your TV's version number.

2. Go to SamsungParts.com. Enter your TV's model number in the box that says "MODEL # Search", then click GO. (Note: If your model number doesn't work, try removing the last letter, which may just be an extra code-letter for your country.)

3. A new page appears for your model. In the "Version #" list, select your TV's version number.

4. A new page appears for your TV model and version. In the "Part Type" list, select "OPERATIONAL PANEL", then click GO.

5. The new page appears with your panel's details for your panel appear at the right. Your panel's model number is the long number under the word "Specification". For example, my page said:

Specification
LSF400HM02-A, 8BIT, 40 INCH
ASSY OPEN CELL

...so LSF400HM02-A was my panel's model number.

6. Go to panelook.com, enter your panel's model number into the Search box, then click SEARCH. You should now see your panel's manufacturer under "BRAND".
This worked for me! Fantastic information! Thank you so much for this. I agree this should be included in the first post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post
The mobile view of samsungparts.com (automatically presented on, for example, a tablet) isn't so helpful - at the bottom of the page click "view full site", then you can proceed as per the instructions above.

However: I fell at the first fence. My model number (UE32EH5000) was not recognised in any form that I tried.
I didn't find any TV listed under UE32? Are you sure it's not UN32EH5000FXZA?
Tzu is offline  
post #2362 of 2396 Old 12-30-2014, 11:47 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
UK model

crashbot is offline  
post #2363 of 2396 Old 01-01-2015, 08:56 AM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post
UK model
Is it possible the "E" stands for "Euro" as a way for Samsung to internally identify which region the TV was made for, but in reality, your TV panel still falls under the UN32EH5000 series?
Tzu is offline  
post #2364 of 2396 Old 01-01-2015, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I have not the faintest idea. I am merely reporting that the method in post 2359 is by no means universal (regrettably).
crashbot is offline  
post #2365 of 2396 Old 01-02-2015, 01:18 AM
Newbie
 
ander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot
However: I fell at the first fence. My model number (UE32EH5000) was not recognised in any form that I tried.
Dang, you're right. I did find your model here on this UK Samsung parts site, which shows two replacement panels for your model. I tried those part numbers at panelook.com, but they didn't work. Maybe you can do a few Web searches for them (or parts of them) and find more than I did.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tzu View Post
This worked for me! Fantastic information! Thank you so much for this...
Glad I could help.
ander is offline  
post #2366 of 2396 Old 01-08-2015, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hey everyone, i have a un46eh5000 arriving today to replace my old 2008 toshiba regza. been checking out different threads for info and i have a couple questions. i found there was a firmware update 1024 released on 3/9/14 so i was planning on doing that as soon as the tv arrives.

question 1 does the zip file of the firmware need to be unzipped and then copied to the usb stick, or can the tv read the zip file?

question 2 i have seen somewhere else on the forum where someone just bought the same model and their firmware number that was shipped with the tv is higher than the 1024 update...from what i know about updates, usually the higher the number the newer the file...the same applies to tvs right? because when my tv arrives, if its firmware number says something greater than 1024 i would feel a bit wary about updating it....

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance
ToshFan is offline  
post #2367 of 2396 Old 01-08-2015, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Of course you don't "update" it with a lower version number.

I would advise the set is used for a period "as is" anyway - to gain some confidence there is nothing wrong with it.
crashbot is offline  
post #2368 of 2396 Old 01-11-2015, 08:36 AM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToshFan View Post
question 1 does the zip file of the firmware need to be unzipped and then copied to the usb stick, or can the tv read the zip file?

question 2 i have seen somewhere else on the forum where someone just bought the same model and their firmware number that was shipped with the tv is higher than the 1024 update...from what i know about updates, usually the higher the number the newer the file...the same applies to tvs right? because when my tv arrives, if its firmware number says something greater than 1024 i would feel a bit wary about updating it....

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance
Question 1 - The TV cannot read a zip file. Unzip it and save the resulting .bin file to your USB stick.

Question 2 - No, the firmware is not older than what your TV is shipping with. I updated my TV just fine.
Tzu is offline  
post #2369 of 2396 Old 01-11-2015, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
crashbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tzu View Post
Question 2 - No, the firmware is not older than what your TV is shipping with. I updated my TV just fine.
Just because you can "update" with a lower version number firmware doesn't mean you should. How do you know it wasn't older?
crashbot is offline  
post #2370 of 2396 Old 01-11-2015, 11:47 AM
Tzu
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbot View Post
Just because you can "update" with a lower version number firmware doesn't mean you should. How do you know it wasn't older?
Where the hell did I say he should upgrade his firmware with a "lower version"?
Tzu is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
<<. , Displays , Led Hdtv , Samsung , Samsung Un32eh4000 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un40eh5300 40 Inch 1080p 60 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46eh5000 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off