Official Sony HX850 Owner's Thread (46HX850, 55HX850) - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 2227 Old 04-03-2013, 10:13 AM
Member
 
gregleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Any 850 owners receive a software update recently (by recently I mean in the last few days)? I checked Sony's site to see if I could find a changelog, but the last update I could find in the support section was dated November 15th.

--Greg

gregleg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 2227 Old 04-03-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
PickleJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregleg View Post

Any 850 owners receive a software update recently (by recently I mean in the last few days)? I checked Sony's site to see if I could find a changelog, but the last update I could find in the support section was dated November 15th.

Not in the last few days but a couple weeks ago.
PickleJuice is offline  
post #1803 of 2227 Old 04-03-2013, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
aztony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maricopa, AZ
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregleg View Post

Any 850 owners receive a software update recently (by recently I mean in the last few days)? I checked Sony's site to see if I could find a changelog, but the last update I could find in the support section was dated November 15th.

I got an update a couple of days ago. Not sure what it did.
aztony is offline  
post #1804 of 2227 Old 04-03-2013, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
adrman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Got an update last night. From what I've been through so far, nothing seems different.
adrman is offline  
post #1805 of 2227 Old 04-03-2013, 04:42 PM
Member
 
tlc828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got one last night.
tlc828 is online now  
post #1806 of 2227 Old 04-04-2013, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 232
I was told by Sarah Kepler at Sony Support that there was no major change with anything regaurding the update. She said it was just your run of the mill update that Sony sends out once and awhile. I thought there would be more apps added or something. Why even bother sending an update when nothing needs to be fixed or no apps are added? What a waste of time if you ask me.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1807 of 2227 Old 04-04-2013, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South mid Tn.
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmoggyTwinkles View Post

I can't seem to find this simple information in the manual, or through a google search. And I know I saw it in this thread somewhere but it's 60 pages long.

I got a floor model and want to make sure I'm in home mode. Should this be apparent? Or should I do a reset and if so how do I reset the TV?

Sorry and thanks! Great TV btw!
the manual is built in to the TV home menu.
look for imanual
there is a set of settings to try at
http://www.hometheater.com/content/sony-kdl-55hx850-3d-lcd-hdtv-settings
but a reset is almost perfect according to that write up....

my HT
eaamon is offline  
post #1808 of 2227 Old 04-04-2013, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Wiptydoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive read through all 60 pages of this forum and there is no mention of how off the blues are..... they are all skewed towards purple.
When hooking my 4 year old 46W5100 side by side it is very obvious.
There is no way around it that I can find. All I am seeing is purple .... I'm longing for some real blue.
Flash lighting, banding, black levels, motion blur don't really matter if the colour is off.

Also to get any kind of reasonable sharpness on broadcast HDTV Reality creation has to be enabled.
My older W5100 was sharper with a low setting of 8 than with HX850 at max (reality creation off).

Also changing the settings is driving me nuts.... even when set to common not
all changes are being applied to all channels....depending whether they are
720p or 1080i or SD.

Also in general the picture seems a bit harsh yet flat at the same time.
I can't quite put my finger on it but it seems the darks are too dark and the whites
are too white and there is not much in the middle... everything looks like an
episode of Cold Case.
Wiptydoer is offline  
post #1809 of 2227 Old 04-04-2013, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
bucknuts07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I have been reading this thread, and seems like most people in this thread are very happy with their 850, which is amazing inch after reading many of the samsung, and lg threads. Best buy has this tv available to order for 55 inch for 1999. Kinda a big chunk of change considering that my current tv, my panny gt25 plasma has a really good picture, but will be moved to my projector room, as a gaming tv. I was really considering the Panny st60 plasma, which is getting great reviews, especially the black levels, and contrast, but appears might have a pretty good amount of input lag. I have 2 young boys so lots of games, and lots of tv. Does this tv have much blur ? Just surprised its not more popular compared to the samsung threads. Thoughts on the price ? Thanks.

Xbox Live- bucknuts07

 

PSN-bucknuts07

bucknuts07 is offline  
post #1810 of 2227 Old 04-04-2013, 08:38 PM
Member
 
chanster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about buying this TV. The room where this is going is all windows to the right of the TV. Is that going to cause a problem? I have read reviews that the Gorilla Glass reflects a lot of light? Any input into that?
chanster is offline  
post #1811 of 2227 Old 04-04-2013, 08:39 PM
Member
 
SmoggyTwinkles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaamon View Post

the manual is built in to the TV home menu.
look for imanual
there is a set of settings to try at
http://www.hometheater.com/content/sony-kdl-55hx850-3d-lcd-hdtv-settings
but a reset is almost perfect according to that write up....

Thanks for the info!

I've tried a few settings and like CNET's setting the best with a few tweaks of my own.

Very very impressed with this TV's picture quality especially as I consider myself a "plasma-guy" but I wanted to use the TV as my PC monitor along with TV and Xbox. I'm thoroughly surprised how great it looks with my PC! Though I've switched to Chrome from Firefox as it looks much crisper, even though I prefer the familiarity and personalization of Firefox.
SmoggyTwinkles is offline  
post #1812 of 2227 Old 04-05-2013, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
mtrains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chanster View Post

I'm thinking about buying this TV. The room where this is going is all windows to the right of the TV. Is that going to cause a problem? I have read reviews that the Gorilla Glass reflects a lot of light? Any input into that?

I have the same situation with windows on the right side of the TV. With the blinds drawn I see a little bit of reflection on the top right part of the TV. The reflection is very muted. So it is not very noticeable while watching TV. But you will definitely see it if you look for it.
mtrains is offline  
post #1813 of 2227 Old 04-05-2013, 11:13 AM
Member
 
gregleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'll echo this experience. We have the 46" HX850 in our living room, very close to a large picture window. If we watch during the day there's a reflection from that window, but nothing the TV's picture can't overcome.

This is by far the best of the 4 TVs in our house (a fact my wife loves to point out since it's "her" main TV, and is superior to the 7 year old SXRD in my mancave smile.gif )

--Greg

gregleg is offline  
post #1814 of 2227 Old 04-07-2013, 09:12 PM
Member
 
mr.marts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a sony 55 hx 850 connected to a pioneer blu ray player if my memory serves me well a bdp850. What i noticed is that i cannot use my tv to calibrate the colour settings or scene options when playing a blu ray. The player has only a few colour settings to toy around with but they are not to my taste. Is there any way i can change the picture settings using my tv while i use the player, any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
mr.marts is offline  
post #1815 of 2227 Old 04-08-2013, 03:10 AM
Member
 
mabrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.marts View Post

I have a sony 55 hx 850 connected to a pioneer blu ray player if my memory serves me well a bdp850. What i noticed is that i cannot use my tv to calibrate the colour settings or scene options when playing a blu ray. The player has only a few colour settings to toy around with but they are not to my taste. Is there any way i can change the picture settings using my tv while i use the player, any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Not quite sure what you mean here. To set your settings, just use your TV remote. While viewing the selected input, Select options, then picture adjustments to get you to the settings menu. No matter what input your on, options takes you to that inputs settings. That should bring up everything you want. You can have different settings for each input.
mabrandt is offline  
post #1816 of 2227 Old 04-08-2013, 01:36 PM
Member
 
ibissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello All. Does anyone know how to connect DLNA server on my windows laptop with HX850?
ibissa is offline  
post #1817 of 2227 Old 04-08-2013, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Kayvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.marts View Post

I have a sony 55 hx 850 connected to a pioneer blu ray player if my memory serves me well a bdp850. What i noticed is that i cannot use my tv to calibrate the colour settings or scene options when playing a blu ray. The player has only a few colour settings to toy around with but they are not to my taste. Is there any way i can change the picture settings using my tv while i use the player, any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

If you have HDMI control on then the tv remote is most likely controlling the blu-ray player instead of the tv. Try pressing the sync menu on the tv remote and select something like "control tv with tv remote".
mr.marts likes this.
Kayvin is offline  
post #1818 of 2227 Old 04-08-2013, 11:14 PM
Member
 
mr.marts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayvin View Post

If you have HDMI control on then the tv remote is most likely controlling the blu-ray player instead of the tv. Try pressing the sync menu on the tv remote and select something like "control tv with tv remote".


Thanks i will give that a go fingers crossed.
mr.marts is offline  
post #1819 of 2227 Old 04-10-2013, 09:57 AM
Member
 
patoberli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I also received a software update. Wonder what has changed....

Just found the manual download site including release notes: http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/swu-download.pl?mdl=KDL55HX850&upd_id=8582&os_group_id=18

Changes in this release:
This software update (version PKG1.902AAA) provides improved performance and stability of the Internet features.
patoberli is offline  
post #1820 of 2227 Old 04-10-2013, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by patoberli View Post

Now I also received a software update. Wonder what has changed....

Just found the manual download site including release notes: http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/swu-download.pl?mdl=KDL55HX850&upd_id=8582&os_group_id=18

Changes in this release:
This software update (version PKG1.902AAA) provides improved performance and stability of the Internet features.


What Internet features? Nothings been added and all my internet apps seemed to be running just fine. I wish they would have added Vudu to the tv's apps but oh well my BDP S590 has it so no biggie.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1821 of 2227 Old 04-10-2013, 02:48 PM
Member
 
ibissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello All. Does anyone know how to connect DLNA server on my windows laptop with HX850?
ibissa is offline  
post #1822 of 2227 Old 04-11-2013, 02:34 AM
Member
 
patoberli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have Windows Media Sharing enabled on the laptop?
If yes, you're done smile.gif

The TV only needs to be in the same network as your laptop and it should discover your laptop and the shared media.
patoberli is offline  
post #1823 of 2227 Old 04-11-2013, 11:10 AM
Member
 
ibissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by patoberli View Post

You have Windows Media Sharing enabled on the laptop?
If yes, you're done smile.gif

The TV only needs to be in the same network as your laptop and it should discover your laptop and the shared media.

Thanks Patoberli. I do have Media sharing enabled. However, which setup screen should I go on the TV to complete the connection?
ibissa is offline  
post #1824 of 2227 Old 04-12-2013, 12:49 AM
Member
 
patoberli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm currently not at home, but as far as I remember you don't have to visit a screen at all. It should be automatically detected, as long as laptop and tv are in the same network, and Media Sharing is enabled in the Windows Firewall. If you use a different Firewall (some Antivirus integrated one), then you might need to open it there too.
patoberli is offline  
post #1825 of 2227 Old 04-12-2013, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
AndrewFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I have a question concerning refresh rates and MotionFlow when playing blu-ray sources.

There seem to be two versions of the HX850 series, namely the US (NTSC) ones which refresh at 240Hz and interpolate (MotionFlow) at 960Hz, versus the European (PAL) ones that refresh at 200Hz and interpolate at 800Hz.

My question relates to how these sets handle 1080/24p inputs from a blu-ray player. Both the US and the European models say that they support 1080/24p "True Cinema", but I suppose that the US models perhaps do it different (and perhaps better) than the European ones. ???

Do the US models read blu-ray frames at 24Hz and synthesise 40 interpolated frames (960Hz = 40 x 24Hz) between any two consecutive input frames? Do they then write 10 out of those 40 frames to the screen buffer (240Hz = 10 x 24Hz)? And so do they just throw away the other 30 interpolated frames? (If so, why do they bother to create 40 frames in the first place?) Or is my understanding completely wrong about this?

And what do the European models do? The refresh rate 200Hz and the interpolation rate 800Hz are indivisible by 24Hz, so how do these models handle the interpolation? Specifically how do they avoid juddering whenever they have to add or drop an extra frame?
AndrewFG is offline  
post #1826 of 2227 Old 04-12-2013, 09:12 AM
Member
 
ibissa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by patoberli View Post

I'm currently not at home, but as far as I remember you don't have to visit a screen at all. It should be automatically detected, as long as laptop and tv are in the same network, and Media Sharing is enabled in the Windows Firewall. If you use a different Firewall (some Antivirus integrated one), then you might need to open it there too.

thanks!
ibissa is offline  
post #1827 of 2227 Old 04-14-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
perferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I just signed up for Netflix here in canada but my family has an account in the US. I want to sign in under their account but I cant figure out how to sign out of and sign back in? Does anyone know how? I press the Netflix button on my tv remote but I dont see any options or any setting anywhere on any screen...Thanks
perferd is offline  
post #1828 of 2227 Old 04-14-2013, 12:46 PM
Member
 
perferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GriffinL View Post

Interesting fun fact: If you need to change the Netflix account on your TV - use the Konami code on the movie select screen. Up up down down left right left right up up up up. I was amazed, but it works.

Thanks this does work...
perferd is offline  
post #1829 of 2227 Old 04-14-2013, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
xinfamousxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read that many people could not find this set, but I see lots of them on Bestbuy's website. I am looking at the right one correct?


http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sony+-+46%26%2334%3B+Class+(46%26%2334%3B+Diag.)+-+LED+-+1080p+-+240Hz+-+Smart+-+3D+-+HDTV/4756709.p?id=1218522130629&skuId=4756709&st=sony%20hx850&cp=1&lp=2
xinfamousxi is offline  
post #1830 of 2227 Old 04-14-2013, 04:10 PM
Member
 
montana girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried putting one in my cart and when I hit the "check for availability", it will say not available in your area. I wrote to customer service about it because they aren't available on all (about 10 of them) of the listed stores that are in my area, they just basically shrugged it off.. Try buying it and see what happens - you don't have to put in a credit card or anything - it will say "not available." I can't understand why BB isn't more concerned about this kind of problem, they don't seem to care.
montana girl is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Led Hdtv , Displays , Sony , 3d Hdtv , Sony Bravia 55 Inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx850 Kdl 55hx850 , Sony 40 Inch 3d Hdtv Kdl46hx850 , Sony Bravia Kdl55hx850 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off