Best settings for my TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 05-01-2012, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I own a Bravia KLV-40S400A. I use it mostly for gaming on my X360.

What'r the best settings in order to get the most out of my screen?

Also, I've noticed color banding in games, movies and satellite TV. Is it because my display isn't calibrated? Or is it because it's an 8-bit panel?
techfreak191 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 05-01-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak191 View Post

Hi,

I own a Bravia KLV-40S400A. I use it mostly for gaming on my X360.

What'r the best settings in order to get the most out of my screen?

Also, I've noticed color banding in games, movies and satellite TV. Is it because my display isn't calibrated? Or is it because it's an 8-bit panel?

To start out, you'll want to use a setup/calibration disc like Disney WOW, AVSHD709, Spears and Munsil HD Benchmark, or DVE HD Basics (all Blu-ray Disc versions). This will help you set all the basic picture settings on your TV without spending much (or anything at all if you burn a free copy of the AVS disc).

Regarding banding, do you see it with BD movies? If not, the problem is likely in the source material.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 01:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

To start out, you'll want to use a setup/calibration disc like Disney WOW, AVSHD709, Spears and Munsil HD Benchmark, or DVE HD Basics (all Blu-ray Disc versions). This will help you set all the basic picture settings on your TV without spending much (or anything at all if you burn a free copy of the AVS disc).

Regarding banding, do you see it with BD movies? If not, the problem is likely in the source material.

Alright, so I've downloaded the MP4-2c.exe file on my PC. Now all I have to do is extract the 1.6 gig data onto two DVD-Rs and run it on my game console to calibrate my TV, right?
techfreak191 is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
supernielsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would suggest so yes..
supernielsen is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 07:03 AM
Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If your game console is the source for playing most of your movies then yes
kanti123 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by supernielsen View Post

I would suggest so yes..

Right on. Hope I don't mess anything up...tee hee hee!
techfreak191 is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post

If your game console is the source for playing most of your movies then yes

Yes it is.

1. Extract file, and download contents onto 2 DVD-Rs.
2. Run DVD-Rs on Xbox 360.
3. Calibrate.

Simple enough I suppose...
techfreak191 is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 262
To clarify a bit on what PlasmaPZ80U stated, you can set the basics (contrast, brightness, aspect, sharpness, etc) but you won't be able to truly calibrate your tv without the use of meters and software, depending on the level of calibration options your tv offers. That being said, you can certainly improve the pq considerably by adjusting the "basics" with one of the disks mentioned. Just make sure that your XBox or what ever you use for your DVD player is not making any adjustments the the source before outputting it your tv. You want to adjust your display device (tv), not the source device.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #9 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

To clarify a bit on what PlasmaPZ80U stated, you can set the basics (contrast, brightness, aspect, sharpness, etc) but you won't be able to truly calibrate your tv without the use of meters and software, depending on the level of calibration options your tv offers. That being said, you can certainly improve the pq considerably by adjusting the "basics" with one of the disks mentioned. Just make sure that your XBox or what ever you use for your DVD player is not making any adjustments the the source before outputting it your tv. You want to adjust your display device (tv), not the source device.

I'm just a wee bit confused about installing this software. Do I need to download the 1.6 gig data onto my PC, install it there and then copy it to a DVD-R? Or do I just download the required files and then burn or install/extract the files onto the DVD-R? After that, I suppose I run them off my X360 console, right?

Sorry, I'm a real noob at this.
techfreak191 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 05-02-2012, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak191 View Post

I'm just a wee bit confused about installing this software. Do I need to download the 1.6 gig data onto my PC, install it there and then copy it to a DVD-R? Or do I just download the required files and then burn or install/extract the files onto the DVD-R? After that, I suppose I run them off my X360 console, right?

Sorry, I'm a real noob at this.

It's been quite some time since I dl'd the AVS disk but I thought it was an iso file that I burned directly to a DVD-R and then played it back on my BD player.

Correction: I used the AVCHD disk and burned it to a single DVD.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #11 of 23 Old 05-03-2012, 01:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

It's been quite some time since I dl'd the AVS disk but I thought it was an iso file that I burned directly to a DVD-R and then played it back on my BD player.

Correction: I used the AVCHD disk and burned it to a single DVD.

OK, so I extracted the files to my PC, opened the folder. All it contains is a bunch of mp4 files that display test patterns. I found all that info a little intimidating to say the least.

How in the world do I calibrate my display, after burning this data on a DVD-R and running it off my X360?
techfreak191 is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 05-03-2012, 02:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak191 View Post

OK, so I extracted the files to my PC, opened the folder. All it contains is a bunch of mp4 files that display test patterns. I found all that info a little intimidating to say the least.

How in the world do I calibrate my display, after burning this data on a DVD-R and running it off my X360?

Sounds like you downloaded the wrong one, the MP4 file set.
The one for burning on a single DVD-R is: AVCHD (.exe) or AVCHD (.7z)
which when uncompressed will be a single .ISO file that can be burned directly to a DVD with a program like ImageBurn.
The resulting DVD will be playable on a player that supports Blu-Ray disc playback, not just a regular DVD player.
Joxer is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 05-03-2012, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Joxer's explanation was clearer and more concise than mine so sorry about that. I used the .7z format on my Mac and it was fine. You should also download the instructions for the use of the disk as well. It is very helpful. However, there is a little movie on the AVCHD disk that walks you thru the basic settings. There is definitely a learning curve so take your time.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #14 of 23 Old 05-04-2012, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joxer View Post

Sounds like you downloaded the wrong one, the MP4 file set.
The one for burning on a single DVD-R is: AVCHD (.exe) or AVCHD (.7z)
which when uncompressed will be a single .ISO file that can be burned directly to a DVD with a program like ImageBurn.
The resulting DVD will be playable on a player that supports Blu-Ray disc playback, not just a regular DVD player.

Sounds good. All I gotta do is download the right one. Extract it, and the resulting .ISO file can be burned onto a DVD-R. Can't I use Windows Media Player to burn it?

I don't have a Blu-Ray player, but like you say, the Xbox 360 should be able to play the DVD, since it doubles as a DVD player.
techfreak191 is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 05-04-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak191 View Post

Sounds good. All I gotta do is download the right one. Extract it, and the resulting .ISO file can be burned onto a DVD-R. Can't I use Windows Media Player to burn it?

I don't have a Blu-Ray player, but like you say, the Xbox 360 should be able to play the DVD, since it doubles as a DVD player.

The ISO file isn't a standard DVD video, its a special high definition format AVSHD that while recorded on a recordable DVD media, is only playable on a bluray capable player and software. The PS3's support bluray, don't know if an xbox does however.

The high definition MP4 files can be played on HD media players if copied onto a large enough USB flash drive. Some newer HDTVs with USB ports and internal media player may be able to play them.
Joxer is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 05-05-2012, 12:35 AM
Newbie
 
DoinicDenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would suggest so yes
DoinicDenson is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 05-06-2012, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joxer View Post

The ISO file isn't a standard DVD video, its a special high definition format AVSHD that while recorded on a recordable DVD media, is only playable on a bluray capable player and software. The PS3's support bluray, don't know if an xbox does however.

The high definition MP4 files can be played on HD media players if copied onto a large enough USB flash drive. Some newer HDTVs with USB ports and internal media player may be able to play them.

Well...it's been fun exploring the prospects guys.. looks like I'm sh*t outta luck!

I don't own an HD media player. Neither does the Xbox 360 support Blu-ray playback. Ain't got no USB ports or internal media player in my HD TV either!
techfreak191 is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 05-06-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak191 View Post

Well...it's been fun exploring the prospects guys.. looks like I'm sh*t outta luck!

I don't own an HD media player. Neither does the Xbox 360 support Blu-ray playback. Ain't got no USB ports or internal media player in my HD TV either!

You can get a very respectable BD player for less that $150 that might be a nice complement to your XBox.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #19 of 23 Old 05-09-2012, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

You can get a very respectable BD player for less that $150 that might be a nice complement to your XBox.

I REALLY appreciate the FB you guys have been leaving here. I think I'll pass and spend the money elsewhere. Don't want to be spending too much time in front of the telly anyway!

Cheers mateys!
techfreak191 is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 05-09-2012, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 262
FB
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #21 of 23 Old 05-09-2012, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

FB

IMO, AFIK, IIRC, he probably means feedback. (YMMV).
djams is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 05-09-2012, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

IMO, AFIK, IIRC, he probably means feedback. (YMMV).

You funny guy djams
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #23 of 23 Old 05-10-2012, 01:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
techfreak191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yaa, I did!
techfreak191 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off