Official LG 47LM8600/55LM8600 Owners Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1382 Old 09-04-2012, 01:06 PM
Member
 
ND40oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sin999 View Post

I was very concerned for about 24 hours. I will mostly use this for playing video games (360). One of the first things I did was hook-up the 360 and the picture was fantastic, but the input lag or controller lag or latency...or whatever you want to call it......made the game-play UNBEARABLE.
I am using component cables from the 360. I switched the 360 from 1080i to 1080p and set the TV "component" input to "Gaming". Now I get ZERO lag and I am so happy.

I just ordered the 47 and was planning on using the vga input for the 360 like I currently do, has anyone experienced lag with the VGA input or is it only the component?
ND40oz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 06:25 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ND40oz View Post

I just ordered the 47 and was planning on using the vga input for the 360 like I currently do, has anyone experienced lag with the VGA input or is it only the component?

I should try this. I do not have the correct cord.
I will try this next. Neither component, nor hdmi make a noticeable difference. Please report back if you do this.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #543 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
brinyhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know if the Voice Command feature is enabled yet on this television? Please advise. Thanks.
brinyhenry is offline  
post #544 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 10:35 AM
Member
 
CELMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it is only a voice activated search on the internet
CELMS is offline  
post #545 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by brinyhenry View Post

Does anyone know if the Voice Command feature is enabled yet on this television? Please advise. Thanks.

I can't find any voice features other than the browser search function.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #546 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
On another note:

I just got a unfamiliar massage on my TV.

"To improve the quality and standard of service, maintenance and upgrade has been scheduled. Please be advised the service maintenance will temporarily disable your access to the LG Smart TV services, in whole or in part"

I did not lose services immediately.....then I had to go to work, so I don't know what happened after that.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #547 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

On another note:
I just got a unfamiliar massage on my TV.
"To improve the quality and standard of service, maintenance and upgrade has been scheduled. Please be advised the service maintenance will temporarily disable your access to the LG Smart TV services, in whole or in part"
I did not lose services immediately.....then I had to go to work, so I don't know what happened after that.

Actually, I see now...they gave me a time for the service outage. "9-05-2012 20:00 - 9-05-2012 21:00"

I am intrigued. A service update without a firmware update?
boxorox87 is offline  
post #548 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 11:42 AM
Member
 
CELMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the service and maintenance is from 8pm - 9pm PST and from 11pm - 12 am EST tonight 9-5-2012
CELMS is offline  
post #549 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
Joker99z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CELMS View Post

I think the service and maintenance is from 8pm - 9pm PST and from 11pm - 12 am EST tonight 9-5-2012

I hope not!!! The opening kickoff is tonight at 830 so game won't be over til midnight est time.

Also anyone get good settings for NFL games? I know I posted this but received no response from anyone.
Joker99z is offline  
post #550 of 1382 Old 09-05-2012, 02:16 PM
Member
 
CELMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The service and maintenance is only for the LG Smart TV services they will be disabled not the tv itself I think
CELMS is offline  
post #551 of 1382 Old 09-06-2012, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
q45ib2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I receive the same error msg/screen for minitv. Any help?
q45ib2 is offline  
post #552 of 1382 Old 09-06-2012, 01:23 PM
Member
 
MeGustaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a shiqqy video of my newly arrived 55LM8600 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XLy-HvpTKg
MeGustaFL is offline  
post #553 of 1382 Old 09-06-2012, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
bmassey96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just installed the LG Smart TV app and was able to connect my RAZR MAXX to my 8600. I had the same issue as the schlegr89; the app works to control the TV but it says it doesn't support mobile to watch video. If I click on the camera button, it will show the picture of what's on the TV though (strange).

I noticed a post on the Google Play store where a user stated that you had to be hard-wired to watch TV/video on the mobile device.
bmassey96 is offline  
post #554 of 1382 Old 09-06-2012, 06:01 PM
Member
 
ND40oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

I should try this. I do not have the correct cord.
I will try this next. Neither component, nor hdmi make a noticeable difference. Please report back if you do this.

Got the TV today and tested it with the VGA cable with Batman Arkham Asylum and Forza 4 and had no input lag, everything worked like it should. Video runs to directly to the TV obviously and sound runs through my Denon 3806 via optical.
ND40oz is offline  
post #555 of 1382 Old 09-07-2012, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ND40oz View Post

Got the TV today and tested it with the VGA cable with Batman Arkham Asylum and Forza 4 and had no input lag, everything worked like it should. Video runs to directly to the TV obviously and sound runs through my Denon 3806 via optical.

This is great news. Thank you for the report. I will be ordering a vga cable.
Question though: Did you play Forza 4 online?
I mostly play FPS games and my biggest issue currently, is Ghost Recon. It is unplayable.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #556 of 1382 Old 09-07-2012, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
pacofromdablock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you guys try to change the "name" of the input? I read a post a while back on here that if you change the "name" of the input from the input settings menu to "PC" it fixes the lag. It worked for me on my xbox using HDMI.
pacofromdablock is offline  
post #557 of 1382 Old 09-07-2012, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacofromdablock View Post

Did you guys try to change the "name" of the input? I read a post a while back on here that if you change the "name" of the input from the input settings menu to "PC" it fixes the lag. It worked for me on my xbox using HDMI.

I have tried everything except a VGA cable.

Do you have the new style 360 or the old?
boxorox87 is offline  
post #558 of 1382 Old 09-07-2012, 09:41 AM
Member
 
CELMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone notice any difference what the service and maintenance did the other day?
CELMS is offline  
post #559 of 1382 Old 09-07-2012, 12:27 PM
Member
 
ND40oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

This is great news. Thank you for the report. I will be ordering a vga cable.
Question though: Did you play Forza 4 online?
I mostly play FPS games and my biggest issue currently, is Ghost Recon. It is unplayable.

I didn't play online, though that shouldn't make any difference, your online experience is going to be limited by your internet connection as long as it works fine offline. I have an older black elite with HDMI but it replaced a red ringed launch system, so I've always used VGA. I don't really have any FPS games for the 360 so I can't test one, the only ones I play are on the PC.
ND40oz is offline  
post #560 of 1382 Old 09-07-2012, 04:10 PM
Newbie
 
pacofromdablock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

I have tried everything except a VGA cable.
Do you have the new style 360 or the old?

I have a 360 slim 4gb with an HDMI cable. All the delay went away when I put PC mode on that input.
pacofromdablock is offline  
post #561 of 1382 Old 09-09-2012, 03:13 AM
Newbie
 
HighwayRhode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry if this has been covered i tried to look.

Have an lg 47 LM8600 and all was fine until the last 2 firmware updates.

Now when playing video from a usb connected hard drive the audio goes out of sync.
The audio is heard then later the action is seen and it seems to get worse the more the video plays.

Don't know if it is the audio playing faster or the video playing slower but both sound and look ok except for not synched.

Does not happen with tv or when playing dvd or blu-ray through hdmi connection. Im using the tv speakers and this only happened after first firmware update and when i saw 2nd firmware update i thought it was to fix the problem but it did not.

Have tried factory reset and putting picture mode to game and lowering all picture settings but nothing has worked.

thanks if anyone can help or is familiar with this.
HighwayRhode is offline  
post #562 of 1382 Old 09-09-2012, 09:53 AM
Member
 
CELMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an audio sync setting under the audio settings don't know if this will help
CELMS is offline  
post #563 of 1382 Old 09-10-2012, 01:38 PM
Member
 
msarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for not helping with your audio sync issues but,



Here is a good review of the new LG LM9600. I hope it helps some of you looking into this..
http://www.flatpanelshd.com/review.php?subaction=showfull&id=1338560188

I am a Panasonic Plasma loyalist and am ready for a upgrade. Looking at the 55LM8600, 9600 and the Panasonic 55ST OR GT. My TV is in a 100% dark room.

Not sure if I can post a heck of a deal, but this has got me thinking.


LG 55LM8600 55" Class Cinema 3D 1080p 240Hz LED Smart TV with Six 3D Glasses $1,399 + free shipping
http://www.buydig.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=LG55LM8600&ref=pricegrabber&omid=122

DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY
DENON
PANASONIC
msarp is offline  
post #564 of 1382 Old 09-10-2012, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by msarp View Post

Sorry for not helping with your audio sync issues but,
Here is a good review of the new LG LM9600. I hope it helps some of you looking into this..
http://www.flatpanelshd.com/review.php?subaction=showfull&id=1338560188
I am a Panasonic Plasma loyalist and am ready for a upgrade. Looking at the 55LM8600, 9600 and the Panasonic 55ST OR GT. My TV is in a 100% dark room.
Not sure if I can post a heck of a deal, but this has got me thinking.
LG 55LM8600 55" Class Cinema 3D 1080p 240Hz LED Smart TV with Six 3D Glasses $1,399 + free shipping
http://www.buydig.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=LG55LM8600&ref=pricegrabber&omid=122


So, as a "plasma guy" and having a completely dark environment for the TV, plasma works out good for you. It is not as bright as LED, but the picture is otherwise excellent. You have no light sources, so the reflectivity of the screen is not an issue either.
What you will get by going to an LM8600 is amazing pop. Great brightness and colors. Outstanding whites, compared to plasma. The blacks probably are not as good as plasma.

The worst thing for you will be this: You will immediately be drawn to the light bleed. It is much worse in a dark viewing environment. You will see it right away and it may well cause you to return your purchase.

That's a nice price though.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #565 of 1382 Old 09-10-2012, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacofromdablock View Post

I have a 360 slim 4gb with an HDMI cable. All the delay went away when I put PC mode on that input.

I appreciate the info. It may well be that my problem lies with the 360 and not the TV or cable. Something I find interesting is that there is ZERO lag in the dashboard. But immediately once I boot up a game, it's quite noticeable.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #566 of 1382 Old 09-10-2012, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
Takito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
smile.gif FYI New development software upgrade 4.11.05.01 (74860)
Takito is offline  
post #567 of 1382 Old 09-10-2012, 09:36 PM
Member
 
RezaR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.Cali
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takito View Post

smile.gif FYI New development software upgrade 4.11.05.01 (74860)

Does that mean a new firmware update soon?
RezaR1 is offline  
post #568 of 1382 Old 09-11-2012, 04:59 AM
Member
 
msarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree 100% about the Plasma. After reading more about led`s I have decided to stay with Plasma's !

DEFINITIVE TECHNOLOGY
DENON
PANASONIC
msarp is offline  
post #569 of 1382 Old 09-11-2012, 10:22 AM
Member
 
CELMS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did you find out about the New development software upgrade 4.11.05.01? I looked on the website and saw nothing about it
CELMS is offline  
post #570 of 1382 Old 09-11-2012, 06:18 PM
Newbie
 
pacofromdablock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

I appreciate the info. It may well be that my problem lies with the 360 and not the TV or cable. Something I find interesting is that there is ZERO lag in the dashboard. But immediately once I boot up a game, it's quite noticeable.

Did you try setting it to PC mode on the input and then play in the "Game" video mode?
pacofromdablock is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg , Displays , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm8600 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Sony , Blu Ray Players , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off