Official LG 47LM8600/55LM8600 Owners Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1396 Old 10-31-2012, 10:47 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks for the info, may as well keep using the WDTV then
MagicMan3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1396 Old 10-31-2012, 10:50 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

I am wondering if anyone has been able to open/change settings in option 3 of the EZ adjust menu. I am specifically wondering if anyone has been able to add the THX settings, and if so, how.
I am also wondering if it is possible to get the DVR working on the LM8600.
Thanks
Also, a couple things I have noticed:
I enabled DD passthrough on the optical out, and it works on my Xbox360 and the BluRay player(no, I do not get DTS....only DD)
What I find very strange is......it does not work for the Direct TV signal. The audio from Direct TV is downgraded to stereo on the optical out.

Takito explained how to get the THX settings on post 578 on page 20.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #633 of 1396 Old 10-31-2012, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

Takito explained how to get the THX settings on post 578 on page 20.

Actually, he copied and pasted that stuff from another forum, about another TV model. Everything is not the same. Option 3 is greyed out on the LM8600.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #634 of 1396 Old 10-31-2012, 01:19 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

Actually, he copied and pasted that stuff from another forum, about another TV model. Everything is not the same. Option 3 is greyed out on the LM8600.

That sucks, I was looking forward to using that if/when I ever get my 8600 in.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #635 of 1396 Old 10-31-2012, 04:18 PM
Member
 
caseycjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lixogab View Post

Looks like it used to work with the 2011 models, but doesn't work on 2012 models:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0&docId=1000777591#whichdevices

Thanks
caseycjc is offline  
post #636 of 1396 Old 11-01-2012, 07:16 AM
Member
 
caseycjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I gotta say after driving myself nuts over the past 30 days trying to figure out if I was going to keep this set or get the panny st50 that I'm really happy that I kept it. I love the picture on plasmas but I hate worrying about IR/SB like I had with my last panny. The picture on the 8600, after I applied the settings I got from another site, is beautiful and all the techy stuff works flawlessly. I know this tv doesn't get the love, on most forums, that the Panasonics, Sony and Samsungs but for my money this tv is friggin awesome. wink.gif

Edit: New Update today 4.20.18
caseycjc is offline  
post #637 of 1396 Old 11-01-2012, 08:21 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by caseycjc View Post

I gotta say after driving myself nuts over the past 30 days trying to figure out if I was going to keep this set or get the panny st50 that I'm really happy that I kept it. I love the picture on plasmas but I hate worrying about IR/SB like I had with my last panny. The picture on the 8600, after I applied the settings I got from another site, is beautiful and all the techy stuff works flawlessly. I know this tv doesn't get the love, on most forums, that the Panasonics, Sony and Samsungs but for my money this tv is friggin awesome. wink.gif
Edit: New Update today 4.20.18

I'm glad you like your 8600, i sure can't wait to get mine! smile.gif
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #638 of 1396 Old 11-01-2012, 10:15 PM
Newbie
 
derek0334's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone reading this thread because they are considering buying the LM8600. If you have a local Microcenter you can pick up there for $1300 like I just did. They do not have them listed on there website so don't start flaming because you don't see it listed. I also purchased their 3 year ext. warranty that includes accidental screen damage for $300. Out the door with tax was $1707. I highly recommend Microcenter if you have one nearby or at least with a reasonable driving distance. Lastly, they have an awesome 30 day return policy with no restocking fee.

I just got it setup tonight. I haven't had a chance to tweak the settings but damn its gorgeous. I don't have internet currently as we just moved but I look forward to getting the firmware up to date, testing the 3D and various apps. I would like to calibrate this set but have never done a calibration before. The only Blu-Ray player I have is a PS3 at the moment. Can anyone recommend a good calibration disc for a "novice?"
derek0334 is offline  
post #639 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 08:33 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I must have become a tv snob or something lol For this kind of money so far I'm not impressed.
I've only watched about 30mins of Gladiator on my WDTV Streaming that I had ripped to my nas and an episode of Two and a Half Men. The only thing I've noticed so far that's better than my LM5800 is the colors seem more accurate. The 8600 has a fair amount of light bleed whereas the 5800 I didn't notice any or it had very little.
I used the CNET settings and updated the firmware. I'll give it a couple of more weeks before I confirm an appointment to get it calibrated.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #640 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 08:34 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ooops...double post.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #641 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 09:21 AM
Member
 
caseycjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

I must have become a tv snob or something lol For this kind of money so far I'm not impressed.
I've only watched about 30mins of Gladiator on my WDTV Streaming that I had ripped to my nas and an episode of Two and a Half Men. The only thing I've noticed so far that's better than my LM5800 is the colors seem more accurate. The 8600 has a fair amount of light bleed whereas the 5800 I didn't notice any or it had very little.
I used the CNET settings and updated the firmware. I'll give it a couple of more weeks before I confirm an appointment to get it calibrated.

I found that the settings that I posted a page or 2 back blew away the CNet settings. (I got them from Home Theater) The settings are actually for the 9600 but they worked perfectly.
caseycjc is offline  
post #642 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 11:44 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
That was good timing, I just finished printing those off to try when I get home from work.

Also, found these settings at the lcd buy guide site to try:

Post Calibration Settings: Gamut
Energy Saving OFF
Picture Mode ISF Expert 1
Backlight 45
Contrast 85
Brightness 58
H Sharpness 20
V Sharpness 20
Color 58
Tint G6
Super Resolution OFF
LED Local Dimming OFF
Dynamic Contrast OFF
Noise Reduction OFF
MPEG Noise Reduction OFF
Black Level LOW
Color Gamut STANDARD
Edge Enhancement OFF
Color Filter OFF
Color Temp WARM
GAMMA 2.2
Method 2 Point IRE
Pattern OUTER

Color Management System White Balance
Color Tint Luminance
Red 1 5 2
Green 3 6 0
Blue -10 -8 2
Yellow -2 -1 0
Cyan 3 8 1
Magenta -3 0 0
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #643 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 11:50 AM
Member
 
caseycjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried the ones from LCD and didn't care for them. That being said all that matters is what you prefer.
caseycjc is offline  
post #644 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 11:58 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You don't find the image dark on the settings that you are using?
I notice both the backlight and brightness on the ones you are using are lower than cnet's and lcd's.

I just want to make sure I like this set enough before spending $400 (1/5 of the cost of the tv) on calibration.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #645 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

You don't find the image dark on the settings that you are using?
I notice both the backlight and brightness on the ones you are using are lower than cnet's and lcd's.
I just want to make sure I like this set enough before spending $400 (1/5 of the cost of the tv) on calibration.
i have lm7600. and got calibrated with pro calibrator. i paid 400, very satisfied with the result.

Panasonic 60VT60
Energy RC 70 fronts
Energy RC LCR center
Energy RC LCR surrounds
Rythmik LV12R and Mirage Omni 12 subwoofers
Denon 2112CI
caloyzki is offline  
post #646 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 12:58 PM
Member
 
caseycjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

You don't find the image dark on the settings that you are using?
I notice both the backlight and brightness on the ones you are using are lower than cnet's and lcd's.
I just want to make sure I like this set enough before spending $400 (1/5 of the cost of the tv) on calibration.

I found the picture settings too dark as well. I adjust the back light, contrast and gamma depending on what I'm watching. It's the rest of the settings that really mattered to me.
caseycjc is offline  
post #647 of 1396 Old 11-02-2012, 03:11 PM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post

i have lm7600. and got calibrated with pro calibrator. i paid 400, very satisfied with the result.

I'm just saying I'd like to see if I'm going to like the tv or not before spending another 400$ on it.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #648 of 1396 Old 11-03-2012, 12:43 PM
Member
 
rexian96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do any of you, the owners of LM8600, also have a high end Panasonic or Samsung plasma to compare? I am in the market to buy a new TV after my 50" B860 plasma died and on the fence about ordering this (or LM7600 among few others). I am not much concerned about the black which I heard quite good, but light bleeding / random restarting / flashlight issues reported at Amazon has me worried.

I know those who had problems would be more vocal than others but is QA a big issue? What do plasma owners think? Thanks.
rexian96 is offline  
post #649 of 1396 Old 11-04-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexian96 View Post

Do any of you, the owners of LM8600, also have a high end Panasonic or Samsung plasma to compare? I am in the market to buy a new TV after my 50" B860 plasma died and on the fence about ordering this (or LM7600 among few others). I am not much concerned about the black which I heard quite good, but light bleeding / random restarting / flashlight issues reported at Amazon has me worried.
I know those who had problems would be more vocal than others but is QA a big issue? What do plasma owners think? Thanks.

Random restarts is not an issue. It was resolved.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #650 of 1396 Old 11-04-2012, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
cow736's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

Random restarts is not an issue. It was resolved.

Was the issue ever explained in detail or a firmware update fixed it? I wonder if the MKV DTS audio/video sync issue was ever resolved as well.
cow736 is offline  
post #651 of 1396 Old 11-04-2012, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cow736 View Post

Was the issue ever explained in detail or a firmware update fixed it? I wonder if the MKV DTS audio/video sync issue was ever resolved as well.

I believe it had to do with the Plex Media server. It was something that could be resolved in the hidden settings, but it was fixed in a firmware update.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #652 of 1396 Old 11-05-2012, 06:00 AM
Member
 
c613m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, long time lurker I finally decided to join. I just bought the 55LM8600 and will be receiving it in a few days (got it for a ridiculous price brand new from Best Buy).

I've been reading on here that there is an issue with gaming with the 360?? Was this solved? I find it hard to believe that such an expensive TV would have issues playing 360 given I have a 40" 60Hz Samsung 1080p (nothing special) that I've never had any issues with.

Is this issue resolved with switching the input to gaming mode? And also, I've read that Plex Media causes issues?

Here is my setup up: I have a Sony CT soundbar, Xbox, Apple TV, and Cable box plugged into the sound bar via HDMI, and then HDMI to my TV (Input 1, Gaming Mode). Also have a Blu-ray player that is plugged into Input 2 (HDMI) and optical to Sony Soundbar.

Given your knowledge, should I be leaving my setup as is? or should I be rewiring a little bit?

Thanks in advance, I'm really looking forward to getting this TV in my basement. I just hope that it can do everything I do now without issues smile.gif
c613m is offline  
post #653 of 1396 Old 11-05-2012, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by c613m View Post

Hey, long time lurker I finally decided to join. I just bought the 55LM8600 and will be receiving it in a few days (got it for a ridiculous price brand new from Best Buy).
I've been reading on here that there is an issue with gaming with the 360?? Was this solved? I find it hard to believe that such an expensive TV would have issues playing 360 given I have a 40" 60Hz Samsung 1080p (nothing special) that I've never had any issues with.
Is this issue resolved with switching the input to gaming mode? And also, I've read that Plex Media causes issues?
Here is my setup up: I have a Sony CT soundbar, Xbox, Apple TV, and Cable box plugged into the sound bar via HDMI, and then HDMI to my TV (Input 1, Gaming Mode). Also have a Blu-ray player that is plugged into Input 2 (HDMI) and optical to Sony Soundbar.
Given your knowledge, should I be leaving my setup as is? or should I be rewiring a little bit?
Thanks in advance, I'm really looking forward to getting this TV in my basement. I just hope that it can do everything I do now without issues smile.gif

I think you really need to get it set-up and try out the games you play. My issue has not been resolved and I have tried everything other than, a VGA cable, and a new 360(mine is an old model). I consider myself a very competitive player. I play mostly online FPS. The lag I encounter is with the Arkam games and the newest Ghost Recon game. It was so bad I quit playing it. My favorite series is COD. I do not experience lag with any of them. I can play MW3 with no issues. I hope I can do the same with Black Ops 2.

I think the issues with Plex have been resolved. I never had the issue....I don't use Plex.

Good luck. I hope you get a great TV. I am absolutely thrilled with mine.....other than the gaming issue. I do not try to sell people on LG, but the people who have seen my set-up, are thoroughly impressed with it.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #654 of 1396 Old 11-05-2012, 08:21 AM
Member
 
c613m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

I think you really need to get it set-up and try out the games you play. My issue has not been resolved and I have tried everything other than, a VGA cable, and a new 360(mine is an old model). I consider myself a very competitive player. I play mostly online FPS. The lag I encounter is with the Arkam games and the newest Ghost Recon game. It was so bad I quit playing it. My favorite series is COD. I do not experience lag with any of them. I can play MW3 with no issues. I hope I can do the same with Black Ops 2.
I think the issues with Plex have been resolved. I never had the issue....I don't use Plex.
Good luck. I hope you get a great TV. I am absolutely thrilled with mine.....other than the gaming issue. I do not try to sell people on LG, but the people who have seen my set-up, are thoroughly impressed with it.

I have a newer slim 360 hooked up via HDMI 1.4, I hope I don't experience any lag issues. I have the Arkham games too so I'll try those out when I get the TV. I'm not really a competitive online player. I play some games online, mostly sports, and sometimes COD/Battlefield. I guess I'll report back when I try them out smile.gif

Good to know about Plex, I'll try that out too.

I just really hope gaming is not an issue, as 50% of it's use will be for gaming, I just could't pass up the crazy deal (more than 50% off brand new) I got for this TV. Plus it looks awesome! I just never imagined that a high end TV would have lagging and such.

Thank you for the feedback! And for not criticizing me for being a newbie to the forums! Should have this all set up on Thursday evening, I'll give it a good weekends workout and report back.
c613m is offline  
post #655 of 1396 Old 11-05-2012, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
OugaBooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
can't wait to see a sale on this unit, i am feeling so impatient to get it.

SEK-2000/ZA....Any GOOD ?
OugaBooga is offline  
post #656 of 1396 Old 11-05-2012, 08:37 PM
Member
 
rexian96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
55" 7600 at $1300 or 8600 at $1500 would be a good deal I guess.
rexian96 is offline  
post #657 of 1396 Old 11-06-2012, 05:50 AM
Member
 
c613m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexian96 View Post

55" 7600 at $1300 or 8600 at $1500 would be a good deal I guess.

I snagged a 55" 8600 at BestBuy for 1089+tax in Canada. And brand new, getting delivered Thursday smile.gif
c613m is offline  
post #658 of 1396 Old 11-06-2012, 07:57 AM
Member
 
MagicMan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by c613m View Post

I snagged a 55" 8600 at BestBuy for 1089+tax in Canada. And brand new, getting delivered Thursday smile.gif

How'd you get it that low? That's around 1/2 price.
MagicMan3 is offline  
post #659 of 1396 Old 11-06-2012, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
boxorox87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by c613m View Post

I snagged a 55" 8600 at BestBuy for 1089+tax in Canada. And brand new, getting delivered Thursday smile.gif

Umm....that's an amazing deal. I still feel the $1800 i paid for mine was a good price.
I am waiting for a great price on the 47lm8600 or 47lm7600.....I will buy one of them next for my bedroom.
boxorox87 is offline  
post #660 of 1396 Old 11-06-2012, 08:43 AM
Member
 
c613m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicMan3 View Post

How'd you get it that low? That's around 1/2 price.

Magic! No, seriously though, Dell had a 1 hour sale / or pricing error on a few items, this was one of them, so I managed to call BestBuy and they matched the price Dell was advertising (1199) plus I got 10% of the difference, which was 1100 so an extra 110 off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxorox87 View Post

Umm....that's an amazing deal. I still feel the $1800 i paid for mine was a good price.
I am waiting for a great price on the 47lm8600 or 47lm7600.....I will buy one of them next for my bedroom.

It's funny because I've been looking for a new TV in my basement to replace my 40" that will go upstairs, and I've just been patiently waiting. My budget didn't allow for me to purchase such an expensive TV... my max was 1400 tax in. This ended up lower. I almost bought a Samsung 55" LED 120HZ with no 3D a couple of weeks ago for 999. Am I ever glad I waited!
c613m is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg , Displays , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm8600 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Sony , Blu Ray Players , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off