Official LG 47LM8600/55LM8600 Owners Thread - Page 47 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1381 of 1391 Old 06-10-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
alexoren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Can anyone suggest what settings give the best results for watching movies (both newer HD and older scaled SD)?

Thanks!

alexoren is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1382 of 1391 Old 08-15-2014, 08:57 PM
Member
 
alexoren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I started having terrible pixelation on my 47lm8600, especially when watching SD content. I think it was the last firmware update that did it. My collection of old films became practically unwatchable overnight. Is there a way to alleviate the problem?

Thanks!
alexoren is offline  
post #1383 of 1391 Old 09-05-2014, 10:48 PM
Newbie
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
New firmware released (06.04.07)

New firmware released (06.04.07) on 9/4.

As far as settings go, I turn off energy saving, use Vivid for all inputs/modes (only use HDMI) and disable Trumotion, and set to "Just Scan".

You might try disabling (or enabling) Super Resolution in the settings and/or playing with the "cinema conversion" modes or disabling "upscaling" in your player.

To be honest, I've noticed a refinement in perceived sharpness and details in some modes, especially in the LG menu modes (excluding settings) with the latest firmware(s).
LG8600User is offline  
post #1384 of 1391 Old 09-06-2014, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
jahriel12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio from Smart Apps on LG LM8600 will not play thru AVR

Has anyone had a problem not being able to play the audio from YouTube or Amazon Prime thru their AVR?

I have the LG 55LM8600. Audio works fine for DishTV. I have a Yamaha RX-A3020 for AVR. However, when I try to play a YouTube or Amazon Prime video/movie the audio does not come thru.

Here is how i am connected currently

TV - HDMI 1(ARC) goes to HDMI Out 1 (ARC) on AVR
DishTV goes to HDMI AV2 on AVR

For tv watching i simply go to AV2 on AVR and everything is fine. But when I then try to play videos thru the Smart TV apps on the LG i get no sound thru AVR. In order to get sound I have to change setting on the LG to use the TV speaker not an External speaker.

I want to be able to watch a movie and listen to it through my home theater setup, NOT the wimpy LG tv speakers!!!

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
jahriel12 is offline  
post #1385 of 1391 Old 09-11-2014, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
LG8600User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Verify ARC/Simplink

Quote:
Originally Posted by jahriel12 View Post
Has anyone had a problem not being able to play the audio from YouTube or Amazon Prime thru their AVR?

I have the LG 55LM8600. Audio works fine for DishTV. I have a Yamaha RX-A3020 for AVR. However, when I try to play a YouTube or Amazon Prime video/movie the audio does not come thru.

Here is how i am connected currently

TV - HDMI 1(ARC) goes to HDMI Out 1 (ARC) on AVR
DishTV goes to HDMI AV2 on AVR

For tv watching i simply go to AV2 on AVR and everything is fine. But when I then try to play videos thru the Smart TV apps on the LG i get no sound thru AVR. In order to get sound I have to change setting on the LG to use the TV speaker not an External speaker.

I want to be able to watch a movie and listen to it through my home theater setup, NOT the wimpy LG tv speakers!!!

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
Sounds like you dont have ARC enabled in the TV or Simplink not enabled.

Verify ARC is enabled in Settings/Sound/Sound Settings with "Digital Sound Out" set to Auto.

Verify Simplink is enabled in MyApps/Simplink/Simplink Setting with "Simplink" set to ON.

Also verify ARC/HDMI/HDMI CEC is enabled in your "AVR" settings.

Hope that helps.
LG8600User is offline  
post #1386 of 1391 Old 10-16-2014, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Youtube app too slow

Hi,
The youtube app in my LG 55LM8600 is too slow.
It was working fine earlier and now it is around 1 year since it stopped working. I’m running the latest firmware. Also tried factory reset. Other applications are fine. Tried both wired and wireless connections. I see too many people posted the same issue online, and no resolutions yet.

Has someone got any advise for this ?

Thanks,
Shami.
shami is offline  
post #1387 of 1391 Old 11-15-2014, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
yarnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
55LM8600 Screen blacked out!!! no picture at all. help!

So this is actually for my sister in law, who is pretty tech illiterate.
She msged me this morning saying that there was a problem with her TV (she got this tv per my recommendation).

She says she just turned the TV on as usual and was watching some stuff sourced off her laptop via vga connection as far as I know, and all of a sudden she noticed the screen darkening starting from one corner of the TV and it started to spread like black ink on white paper and it completely blacked out her screen.

Now it won't even show the LG logo when she turns the TV on.

The TV still has sounds and outputs sound coming from her laptop from the TV speakers, and shows power button all lit up and all that as well.

She says when she pushes functions like 3D, the screen would brighten up and all but still no picture whatsoever.

Doubting this is a connection issue as the Logo won't even show, so theres definitely no picture here.

I did my best to search up all issues related to this TV set and could not find any similar problems. Doesn't seem to be power or the mainboard, in fact, I just don't know what it might be. Backlight dead?


Anyhow, shes out of warranty I believe, they bought the TV slightly less than 1 and a half years back.

Any suggestions or anyone with similar issues that's been fixed?
TIA! Any help would be really appreciated.
yarnim is offline  
post #1388 of 1391 Old 11-15-2014, 03:16 PM
Member
 
cetrax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are you saying that there is no picture what so ever. Or no picture from that one input?

If you can get no picture what so ever you can try resetting the tv.
I don't remember how to do that on that particular model. You should be able to find it easily through a google search.

If that doesn't help it sounds like the panel is going / went bad.
Without a warranty you would be better off getting a new tv than replacing the panel.

Hope this helps.
cetrax1 is offline  
post #1389 of 1391 Old 11-15-2014, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
cartear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So what did the update do?
cartear is offline  
post #1390 of 1391 Old 11-15-2014, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
yarnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cetrax1 View Post
So are you saying that there is no picture what so ever. Or no picture from that one input?

If you can get no picture what so ever you can try resetting the tv.
I don't remember how to do that on that particular model. You should be able to find it easily through a google search.

If that doesn't help it sounds like the panel is going / went bad.
Without a warranty you would be better off getting a new tv than replacing the panel.

Hope this helps.
yeah it is just no picture at all, logo won't even show upon turning on, and apparently she saw the screen turn black, as if a black ink was being spread across the screen slowly.

now it is nothing. just black...
yarnim is offline  
post #1391 of 1391 Old 11-16-2014, 11:43 PM
Member
 
MrJu5to's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
A few new things. Those who don't like MediLink, or like the proper plex interface, check out MediaPlayz app in the app store (or whatever the stores called). Works a treat and looks heaps better than LGs medialink.

Also, im needing to re-intialise the TV regularly lately. Anyone aware of that?
MrJu5to is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg , Displays , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm8600 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Sony , Blu Ray Players , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off