No sound from HDMI connection to Bravia 46NX810 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-28-2012, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
swhockey84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have a Bravia 46NX810. I am connecting my PC to it via HDMI and using a male-to-male audio cable for sound. I have the HDMI connection in HDMI 2 under the "PC input" section of the TV and also plugged in the male-to-male audio cable in the same section area.

I am getting perfect picture, but no sound. I do not have a receiver, I plan on playing the sound through my Bravia speakers. My computer has an Essence ST audio card.

I would appreciate any help, it's driving me nuts. Thanks!
swhockey84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-28-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,869
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 370
My Sony has an 1/8" stereo jack for PC audio input. Sounds like yours is connected to the TV's output, not input.

Also you'll have to disable your PC's digital output in order for the analog output to work.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-28-2012, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Isn't HDMI a video/audio connection? Why u have to use a separate audio connection is odd.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrBobb is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-28-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,869
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 370
HDMI from many PCs carry only video due to source being DVI. I personally use coax/optical straight to my AVR so I get DD 5.1 at least.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-28-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had to make a setting change on my PC to tell it to also output audio over it's HDMI connection.
walford is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off