No HDMI signal on older, larger televisions? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 05:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
cmeinck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm finishing up a remodel, where they ran a 125ft Blue Jeans Cable HDMI cable run from my TV room to gear closet in the basement. I tried it with a 2006 Bravia and it flashed purple. For now, I connecting it direct from a TiVo Premiere to the television. Eventually, my plan is to move to my Onkyo receiver.

I then tried a 22-inch Samsung, which I just purchased this year. No problems at all with the Samsung. I then attempted to try it with a Sony Bravia 40-inch XBR4 and got no signal.

I know the run is part of the culprit. I'm wondering if the reason the Samsung works is due to the new components in that television or if it's due to the small size? The planned TV for that area is a Sony NX810 - 60-inch.

Any recommendations on how I can make this work and what might be the issue?
cmeinck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 155
http://www.bluejeanscable.com/articl...n-hdmi-run.htm

BlueJeans even says runs that long (over 100') can be problematic for HD signals as does Wikipedia. Attenuation can be an issue and the legacy TV your streaming to which dates to very early HDMI in 2006. Are you amplifying the signal at all. I would think that using the AVR as the distributor of signal for HDMI and the fact the new Sony is much newer may resolve the situation. Good Luck!

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
topr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a sanity check have you tried the TIVO/XBR4 with a short cable? As much as the HDMI spec changes there is no way I would use long HDMI cable runs in a custom install, especially if it's tough routing...half a dozen cat5/6 cables and HDMI breakouts/wall plates then when it changes AGAIN, and it will, your still good.
topr is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-01-2012, 08:16 AM
Member
 
missingkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmeinck View Post

125ft Blue Jeans Cable HDMI cable

100 foot=$315
I don't even want to look back and see what 25 feet cost. Jesus christ! That's more then 1/0 power wire for the car.
missingkeys is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off