Anyway to get a Philips Aurea to work in US? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-03-2012, 05:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dropgems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've wanted this TV forever. I have an older Philips ambilight and im disappointed that they don't make ambilights in the US anymore. Has anyone ever gotten an Aurea to work in the US? Thx.
dropgems is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-04-2012, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dropgems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump
dropgems is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-24-2012, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
da1stprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump again... i am very intersted in getting one to replace my old ambilight 42" model
da1stprince is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-26-2012, 04:17 AM
Member
 
wazymk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know you would require a step up transformer to take your line voltage from 120 v up to 220 volt - have a look on the internet and there is a number of solutions available to do this. You will also require a special 2 prong adapter to convert the line cord over to the north american style plug - these are available on e-bay or radio shack - I imported a Philips reel to reel tape recorder from Berlin last year and bought a 2 prong AC adapter on e-bay - Fortunately, the recorder had a switch on the back to enable it to be switched from 220 volt down to 120 volt. ( i highly doubt the Aurea would have this ) Look on line for 120 volt to 220 volt ac converters and you should be able to find both the transformer and the 2 prong adapters.

Hope this helps

Wazy
wazymk is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-26-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Have you considered simulating "ambilight" with a simple bias light behind a US spec set?

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-11-2013, 12:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anybody in the U.S. have a UK Philips Aurea set that works ? Would LOVE to get one of their high-end (but dated) models with the Ambilighting Aurea if possible.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-18-2014, 02:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazymk View Post
As far as I know you would require a step up transformer to take your line voltage from 120 v up to 220 volt - have a look on the internet and there is a number of solutions available to do this. You will also require a special 2 prong adapter to convert the line cord over to the north american style plug - these are available on e-bay or radio shack - I imported a Philips reel to reel tape recorder from Berlin last year and bought a 2 prong AC adapter on e-bay - Fortunately, the recorder had a switch on the back to enable it to be switched from 220 volt down to 120 volt. ( i highly doubt the Aurea would have this ) Look on line for 120 volt to 220 volt ac converters and you should be able to find both the transformer and the 2 prong adapters. Hope this helpsWazy

But what about the different electronic and chip parts, NTSC, etc.

Voltage aside, would the TV work on U.S. cable systems ?
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off