Official Samsung UNXXES7100 Thread. - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

1. The settings for the ES8000 look nice (from Cnet.com and the UNXXES8000 AVS thread). Wow will improve PQ.
2. On the back of the HDTV's right side is a white sticker with panel information (including manufacture date).
3. No clue...sorry

Sg321
This is a complicated subject 60 p is the speed of the video 60Frames per second and it is usually tied in with the 720p resolution

I have attached a link to cnet explaining it.
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7-57524867-221/1080i-and-1080p- are-the-same-resolution/

Please do not get into a discussion about 1080 i vs 720 p which is better they are both HD format and they each format has it strengths and weekness and you could argue the point till the cows come home.

Most people can not visible see the differance when they are 6ft or more away from the set.
James T is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Hooterville's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the fix for the smart hub flash problem out yet ?
Hooterville is offline  
post #1173 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 09:33 PM
Newbie
 
nubbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No...but I just reset my Smart Hub and declined the Sync Plus terms, which didn't allow it to install. I turned my TV off, let ut sit for a few minutes...so far no flash. Note that I had to setup Pandora again, reconnect WiFi, etc.
nubbers is offline  
post #1174 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 09:52 PM
Member
 
Borla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up my 55ES7100 and was worried about the Sync plus app issue after reading a lot of posts in this thread. However I can't even find it listed among all the apps, even trying a search brings up nothing. I wondering if this is because I'm in Canada and the Sync plus app is not offered up here?
Borla is offline  
post #1175 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 09:59 PM
Member
 
dcontto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nubbers View Post

No...but I just reset my Smart Hub and declined the Sync Plus terms, which didn't allow it to install. I turned my TV off, let ut sit for a few minutes...so far no flash. Note that I had to setup Pandora again, reconnect WiFi, etc.

How do you reset the Smart Hub? And by not accepting the Sync would the other applications won't install? When I first got the tv it didn't have many apps and started to install them.
dcontto is offline  
post #1176 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 10:24 PM
Member
 
maxspiderx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Youtube app on my TV keeps forgetting my profile and I have to re-link it with the code each time I use the app. Anyone else experiencing this?
maxspiderx is offline  
post #1177 of 2856 Old 12-20-2012, 11:50 PM
Newbie
 
nubbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcontto View Post

How do you reset the Smart Hub? And by not accepting the Sync would the other applications won't install? When I first got the tv it didn't have many apps and started to install them.

smart hub -- tools -- settings -- reset
nubbers is offline  
post #1178 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 12:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skibum5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

I purchased the 55" tv about 3 weeks ago. had the picture setting set to my liking and everything looked great. so then last Saturday I went to costco and saw that the 60" set was on sale. so I decided to pick that up because I wanted a bigger set and took back the 55" set. It's been 5 days now and I'm having an issue with the picture quality. I've set it up exactly the same as the 55" set but can't get it right. The issue I'm having is that any "sunlight" (from a movie scene) is SUPER bright and has that flashlight effect. For example, if the sun is hitting a blonde hair woman, her hair is super bright and is overpowering the screen. I'm not quite sure what setting I can tweak for that....or should I wait till the TV is a little more broken in. Settings is below:
Picture: Standard
Backlight: 8
Contrast: 70
Brightness: 46
Sharpness: 18
Color: 48
Tint: G49/R51
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Black tone: Darker
Flesh Tone: +2
Color Space: Native
Gamma: -2
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm1
Digital noise: auto
MPEG noise: auto
Film Mode: Auto1
Auto Motion plus: Clear
LED Motion: On

sharpness = 0 = natural original signal not molested
gamma = +1
maybe helps a bit?
contrast at 70 is so low that i wouldn't think that could be blowing out the brights
maybe try dynamic contrast Off too?
skibum5000 is offline  
post #1179 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 05:42 AM
Member
 
dcontto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nubbers View Post

smart hub -- tools -- settings -- reset
Thank you! Does anyone called Samsung to make them aware of this flashing smart hub issue?
dcontto is offline  
post #1180 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
EAnglum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcontto View Post

Thank you! Does anyone called Samsung to make them aware of this flashing smart hub issue?

Yes - many of us have reported this and a fix is in the works.
EAnglum is offline  
post #1181 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
spini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, new to the forums. Just wanted to ask a couple of questions one about the wi-fi. It's horrible I get 0.5 mb/s and my playstaion 3 and xbox get atleast 5.5 mb/s sitting right below the tv. I cannot watch anything on the smarthub because of buffering. I tried buying a wirless repeater but that didn't work. I cant connect a cat 5 cable because my router is in my office not the living room. Any ideas? Also I bought my tv 3 weeks ago for 2k at Amazon and they wont give me the $200 gift card or match Best Buy's deal that they have right now because they said they dont "honor promotions". Should I keep calling I mean I feel like they should honor their own deals?
spini is offline  
post #1182 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum5000 View Post

sharpness = 0 = natural original signal not molested
gamma = +1
maybe helps a bit?
contrast at 70 is so low that i wouldn't think that could be blowing out the brights
maybe try dynamic contrast Off too?

Thanks. I'll give it a shot
andyboy is offline  
post #1183 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 08:10 AM
Member
 
mario24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

I purchased the 55" tv about 3 weeks ago. had the picture setting set to my liking and everything looked great. so then last Saturday I went to costco and saw that the 60" set was on sale. so I decided to pick that up because I wanted a bigger set and took back the 55" set. It's been 5 days now and I'm having an issue with the picture quality. I've set it up exactly the same as the 55" set but can't get it right. The issue I'm having is that any "sunlight" (from a movie scene) is SUPER bright and has that flashlight effect. For example, if the sun is hitting a blonde hair woman, her hair is super bright and is overpowering the screen. I'm not quite sure what setting I can tweak for that....or should I wait till the TV is a little more broken in. Settings is below:
Picture: Standard
Backlight: 8
Contrast: 70
Brightness: 46
Sharpness: 18
Color: 48
Tint: G49/R51
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Black tone: Darker
Flesh Tone: +2
Color Space: Native
Gamma: -2
Motion Lighting: Off
Color Tone: Warm1
Digital noise: auto
MPEG noise: auto
Film Mode: Auto1
Auto Motion plus: Clear
LED Motion: On

How are you liking the move from the 55 to the 60? I am thinking of doing the same things since the 60 went on sale.
mario24601 is offline  
post #1184 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario24601 View Post

How are you liking the move from the 55 to the 60? I am thinking of doing the same things since the 60 went on sale.
Love it....BUT...can't seem to get the picture right on this thing. I got the 55" picture setting just right for my viewing pleasure but having a bit of trouble of getting the 60" picture just right. I'm going to have to wait a little for the set to break-in and I also need to do the massage thing on it.
andyboy is offline  
post #1185 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 08:52 AM
Member
 
mario24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

Love it....BUT...can't seem to get the picture right on this thing. I got the 55" picture setting just right for my viewing pleasure but having a bit of trouble of getting the 60" picture just right. I'm going to have to wait a little for the set to break-in and I also need to do the massage thing on it.

Ive only had my 55 for about 3 weeks and picture seems to have changed/broken in during this time and seems 'better' to me now. I have read some folks say the stand is a bit weak for the 60, do you find that true? I have to keep mine on stand, will not be wall mounting it.
mario24601 is offline  
post #1186 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
sg321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, appreicate the help.
sg321 is offline  
post #1187 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario24601 View Post

Ive only had my 55 for about 3 weeks and picture seems to have changed/broken in during this time and seems 'better' to me now. I have read some folks say the stand is a bit weak for the 60, do you find that true? I have to keep mine on stand, will not be wall mounting it.

The stand seems sturdy to me. No complaints about it. But I plan on putting this thing on the wall later on.
andyboy is offline  
post #1188 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone here have their TV hanging on their wall with a low profile/slim wall mount? I'm looking at a few at monoprice but I'm looking for something that's ultra slim and close to the wall as possible.
andyboy is offline  
post #1189 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
EAnglum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

Anyone here have their TV hanging on their wall with a low profile/slim wall mount? I'm looking at a few at monoprice but I'm looking for something that's ultra slim and close to the wall as possible.

here is the slim mount I'm using. Can't really get any closer to the wall with this.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10828&cs_id=1082807&p_id=6523&seq=1&format=2
EAnglum is offline  
post #1190 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAnglum View Post

here is the slim mount I'm using. Can't really get any closer to the wall with this.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10828&cs_id=1082807&p_id=6523&seq=1&format=2
Thanks! Talked to a monoprice rep and he said that this is their most low profile mount they offer: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10828&cs_id=1082807&p_id=7848&seq=1&format=2

.59" away from the wall. We'll see. I just placed an order.
andyboy is offline  
post #1191 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 02:07 PM
Member
 
greyjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone seems to be complaining, but is there anyone here who got their 7100, and is genuinely happy with their purchase?
Like at the store you were like "ohh hmm ill get a samsung" but when you get it home and calibrate it your like "wow I wasn't sure on getting this or that other one, but this panel is neato!"
greyjack is offline  
post #1192 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
EAnglum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm happy with my panel. Did some research on this model before I purchased it, did quite a few demo's and have been generally pleased with Samsung video products.
EAnglum is offline  
post #1193 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyjack View Post

Everyone seems to be complaining, but is there anyone here who got their 7100, and is genuinely happy with their purchase?
Like at the store you were like "ohh hmm ill get a samsung" but when you get it home and calibrate it your like "wow I wasn't sure on getting this or that other one, but this panel is neato!"

If you read back further( I know there is a lot of previous posts) you will see I am happy with my set and pleasntly surprised with it being my first Samsung product.
I bought it when it was on sale black Friday and no one has matched that price to date, Generally on these sites people complain more than give acolades just the nature of the beast . There have been some excellent suggestions for settings in a positive vain.

Oh by the way I am not happy with the 2 second flash of the smart hub but I have learned to live with it.
James T is offline  
post #1194 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 03:50 PM
Member
 
mario24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

The stand seems sturdy to me. No complaints about it. But I plan on putting this thing on the wall later on.

Thanks. Will try to exchange my 55 for the 60 this weekend. Only thing I don't like, seems bezel is bit larger on the 60.
mario24601 is offline  
post #1195 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
spini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Just bought the WOW disney blue ray and this is what my tv looks like when the screen is all black after the setup. I dont know what I'm doing wrong. Sorry that the picture is turned sideways. If I lower backlight to 3 the clouding diminishes but the TV looks dark. Do I have a bad set?
spini is offline  
post #1196 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by spini View Post


Just bought the WOW disney blue ray and this is what my tv looks like when the screen is all black after the setup. I dont know what I'm doing wrong. Sorry that the picture is turned sideways. If I lower backlight to 3 the clouding diminishes but the TV looks dark. Do I have a bad set?

I really got lucky a panel with no flashlighting, banding or clouding. Its a US02 panel (UN46ES7100).

My backlight is set at 9(for Movie/Standard), 12(forNatural/Dynamic) and 15 (for 3D).

Some owners say that clouding/flashlights decrease in the first three weeks....I haven't experienced this.

I wouldn't say the panel is bad..I would have to see normal viewing source pictures, and how the clouding/flashlights look.
PiratesCove is online now  
post #1197 of 2856 Old 12-21-2012, 07:50 PM
Member
 
ELMO45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by spini View Post


Just bought the WOW disney blue ray and this is what my tv looks like when the screen is all black after the setup. I dont know what I'm doing wrong. Sorry that the picture is turned sideways. If I lower backlight to 3 the clouding diminishes but the TV looks dark. Do I have a bad set?

That is what my set originally looked like as well. After it "broke in" a few weeks it did diminish, but didn't go away completely. Using standard mode helps a lot. What finally fixed my problem was gently massaging the screen, now even on movie mode I can barely see any clouding on an all black screen.

The biggest concern I would have is if you can notice clouding on normal viewing and not just on test patterns.
ELMO45 is offline  
post #1198 of 2856 Old 12-22-2012, 01:58 AM
Newbie
 
spini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Thanks for the reply's. Here's an example of a dark scene on the tv.
spini is offline  
post #1199 of 2856 Old 12-22-2012, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by spini View Post


Thanks for the reply's. Here's an example of a dark scene on the tv.

Honestly I would see if the clouding/flashlighting decreases in the first two weeks.

If it stays the same, return it - exchange for another set or have the panel replaced.
PiratesCove is online now  
post #1200 of 2856 Old 12-22-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 
dcontto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spini, Your flashlighting is not too bad. I think with time the set does "break in" and the flashing does get better. I've had mine for about a week. The first pic "They are back" is from a preview of Monter's Inc. The second one is from Finding Nemo (the abyss) when the movie gets really dark. The third one is from the player going on screen saving mode. It's hard to capture what your eyes see because the camera tries to correct the lighting but I think mine is more in between the second and last picture. I haven't tried to "massage" the set yet because I want to give it a good month of "breaking in". If yours continues like that for awhile I would consider exchange it for another one. That's what I'm thinking with mine. Past the Holidays the set would have a fair amount of use so we'll see how it looks then. Good luck!





dcontto is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un60es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es7100 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off