Official Samsung UNXXES7100 Thread. - Page 55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 2856 Old 01-24-2013, 11:36 AM
Member
 
avidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

I got this from monoprice: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10828&cs_id=1082807&p_id=7847&seq=1&format=2
TV is really snugly with the wall.

Thanks Andyboy and EndeaverouX. Will check them both out.
avidracer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 2856 Old 01-24-2013, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Jaa999Pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On sale until the 26th at Best Buy for $1499.00
Jaa999Pa is offline  
post #1623 of 2856 Old 01-24-2013, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
emailcraigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ELMO45,

Could you describe how you massaged the TV? I assume you used a microfiber cloth. Did you just rub it in any direction like you were cleaning it or did you have to rub it only in the direction of the corner? I just want to make sure I'm doing this correctly when I try it. Any help or description of the process would be appreciated from fellow readers. Thanks all!
emailcraigs is offline  
post #1624 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Jaa999Pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

Just bought my 55" 7100 3 days ago and am having some issues. I've read some of the threads here, but not finding anything regarding my specific problem. Have also tried a lot of different settings, including the ones on page 22 of this thread, but to no avail.
When watching the news and weather for instance, when the weather person was moving her hand along the board, the picture around her moving arm would be distorted. You can also see this with subtle movements from people that were just sitting still in front of the camera. Basically, the picture looks like a lower definition image. I've tried different settings in the auto motion plus and led motion plus settings. Nothing seems to make a difference. When i press the info button on the remote, in the top left corner it says 720x480/60i. Is that normal, or is something screwed up with my cable settings? I assumed i'd see a 1080p/i 240, or something similar.
Either way, the picture on my 9yo Samsung 43" DLP looked much better.
Also, i get a lot of that "clouding" that i see people refer to, but i'm not sure what "flash-lighting" is? The DVD i watched looked much better.
Any help is much appreciated.
Thanks,
John
Jaa999Pa is offline  
post #1625 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Try this.. Set auto motion to Clear. Turn OFF Led Motion Plus. If you are using a cable box, turn Off all video display settings except for 1080i. Your TV should now display a 1920 x 1080/60i picture that is upscaled from the Cable box and the picture will look better. If you are viewing live Air TV, the 7100 always just displays the brodcast resolution only. It does not upscale as others have thought. All Sources will be at 60i regardless if the TV is a 240Hz model. Hope this helps.
Jaa999Pa likes this.
mgh26 is offline  
post #1626 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Also make sure you are using an hdmi cable for the best signal possible. A 480i picture will look awful on any new set. Perhaps that was what ur cable box was outputting to your old DLP and the 480i was standable. On new sets standard definition is a big no no.

If you have a blu ray player make sure it is outputting 1080p as well so that when you watch regular dvds is upscales them to 1080p. And always use hdmi whenever possible!

Good luck
Jaa999Pa likes this.
Danediz is offline  
post #1627 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
benca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 7100 series have a fixed power chord or can it come off ??
I have a un55b6000 ( attached power chord ) from 5 years ago and was thinking about updating to this 55" 0r 60" !! What u think about this tv coming from a un55b6000?
benca1 is offline  
post #1628 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by benca1 View Post

Does the 7100 series have a fixed power chord or can it come off ??
I have a un55b6000 ( attached power chord ) from 5 years ago and was thinking about updating to this 55" 0r 60" !! What u think about this tv coming from a un55b6000?
No, the power cable is not fixed. Wondering why that would be asked?
andyboy is offline  
post #1629 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
benca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyboy View Post

No, the power cable is not fixed. Wondering why that would be asked?
Because if I wanted to order a longer chord since there is no power outlet behind my tv now !
benca1 is offline  
post #1630 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
benca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How would this 7100 series compare to my un55b6000???
benca1 is offline  
post #1631 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by benca1 View Post

How would this 7100 series compare to my un55b6000???

A noticeable improvement in my opinion.
Danediz is offline  
post #1632 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 01:24 PM
Member
 
jclimber99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danediz View Post

As good as they will get until next November. The 7100 wasn't even this cheap on Black Friday. I'm guessing they will keep the deal until they run out of stock. Picking up that 60" from best buy would be smart before they are gone!

I got mine for $1549 at Costco during Black Friday week, that was a great deal!!


Go Aggies!
jclimber99 is offline  
post #1633 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 01:27 PM
Member
 
jclimber99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avidracer View Post

Any good recommendation for a wall mount to hang this up ?

I got this one, it's pretty sweet. TV is only 1.2" away from the wall. It also comes with a security bracket so the TV can be padlocked to the mount.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10828&cs_id=1082807&p_id=6523&seq=1&format=2

Go Aggies!
jclimber99 is offline  
post #1634 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
jlm0211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,I dont know alot about this tv hope you guys would be so kind to help me out, i bought a 55es7100 from best buy, it was an open box so total was a little over $1600. Doesnt seem to have any problems. It came with the 1023 firmware,now my question to you guys is should I update and what's the latest update
jlm0211 is offline  
post #1635 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlm0211 View Post

Hello everyone,I dont know alot about this tv hope you guys would be so kind to help me out, i bought a 55es7100 from best buy, it was an open box so total was a little over $1600. Doesnt seem to have any problems. It came with the 1023 firmware,now my question to you guys is should I update and what's the latest update
I would return if you can. The 55" is cheaper than the price you paid for an open box.
andyboy is offline  
post #1636 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 49
It seems to me that when it comes to 3D content, it is much like audio. Garbage in/garbage out. I am watching Journey2 3D and it looks amazing! I have watched some other content and have not been impressed. Anyone else feel the same way? I am watching it through comcast on demand. Can't wait to get an actual 3D bluray. Any suggestions? Content is so limited:(
pappaduke is offline  
post #1637 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
benca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foleyemuye View Post

I have the 7100. I noticed it dims later on towards dusk. I haven't figured out where to change this yet.5.gif
That's ur Eco energy saving lighting !! Turn it off and u will be good smile.gif
benca1 is offline  
post #1638 of 2856 Old 01-25-2013, 06:45 PM
Newbie
 
userdnl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this model has the Samsung PVR functionality? I see that the 6800 has it but it is not listed for higher models. I've also heard that you can sometimes unlock the functionality through a service menu or using a remote program on a computer on the same network. My parents just got un60es7100 and this is definitely the type of feature that they would use as they do not have a standalone STB and probably won't be able to justify TIVO. Has anyone found this function and how does it work?

http://asia.cnet.com/how-to-select-the-right-samsung-tv-update-62218390.htm
userdnl is offline  
post #1639 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 12:53 AM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
userdnl PVR stands for Personal Video Recorder. This feature requires a compatible USB Hard Drive plugged into one of the USB ports. You set the date/time of your desired over the air content on a menu on the TV similar to setting up the old VCR record timers I believe. You can then play back the show from accessing the drive later on. The 7100 does not have this feature. It only has TV On-Off and Sleep timers built into the firmware.
userdnl likes this.
mgh26 is offline  
post #1640 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by benca1 View Post

How would this 7100 series compare to my un55b6000???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danediz View Post

A noticeable improvement in my opinion.

+1, I had the D6900...lots of problems.

The ES7100 is vastly superior.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1641 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Angell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I haven't seen any recent comments about all the troubles with the firmware upgrades. I bought my ES7100 last October and have never upgraded the firmware. Is it safe to do so now?
Johnny Angell is offline  
post #1642 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
userdnl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks mgh26. That's a bit disappointing. You'd think that it would be easy enough for Samsung to have included. I realize the feature would have been pretty simple, but it would have sufficed for what my parents needed and would still have been better than a vcr or dvd recorder.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post

userdnl PVR stands for Personal Video Recorder. This feature requires a compatible USB Hard Drive plugged into one of the USB ports. You set the date/time of your desired over the air content on a menu on the TV similar to setting up the old VCR record timers I believe. You can then play back the show from accessing the drive later on. The 7100 does not have this feature. It only has TV On-Off and Sleep timers built into the firmware.
userdnl is offline  
post #1643 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Angell View Post

I haven't seen any recent comments about all the troubles with the firmware upgrades. I bought my ES7100 last October and have never upgraded the firmware. Is it safe to do so now?

Yes, fw 1025 is solid...and the Smart Hub has been updated also.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1644 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Just got the 60ES7100 delivered today from Best Buy. I'm shocked the TV was manufactured this month! It also said HS01
Model (I think). It's a beautiful TV going to try
And calibrate it. I played some xbox and it looked great to me. Any advice on settings?
helvetica bold is offline  
post #1645 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
BigMacSC99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a UN60ES7100 and a PS3. Is there any real benefit to turning on Game Mode?
BigMacSC99 is offline  
post #1646 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Just got the 60ES7100 delivered today from Best Buy. I'm shocked the TV was manufactured this month! It also said HS01
Model (I think). It's a beautiful TV going to try
And calibrate it. I played some xbox and it looked great to me. Any advice on settings?

My Current Settings:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1414638/official-samsung-unxxes7100-thread/1320#post_22789840
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1647 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMacSC99 View Post

I have a UN60ES7100 and a PS3. Is there any real benefit to turning on Game Mode?

Yes, faster response time from controller to screen.

A really big deal if you play multiplayer.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1648 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Just got the 60ES7100 delivered today from Best Buy. I'm shocked the TV was manufactured this month! It also said HS01
Model (I think). It's a beautiful TV going to try
And calibrate it. I played some xbox and it looked great to me. Any advice on settings?
They say these sets have a break in period of about three weeks. You may want to wait a bit before calibrating. I'm coming up on three weeks and will be calibrating with the Disney WOW disc in a few days. I will say that the clouding mostly went away during this time to the point where it is negligible. Enjoy your set, I know I am. Back to the Sixers game!
pappaduke is offline  
post #1649 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Just got the 60ES7100 delivered today from Best Buy. I'm shocked the TV was manufactured this month! It also said HS01
Model (I think). It's a beautiful TV going to try
And calibrate it. I played some xbox and it looked great to me. Any advice on settings?

Look at post 631 and you may to tweak the picture to a cool setting if you like less red
James T is offline  
post #1650 of 2856 Old 01-26-2013, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Thanks for all of the advice fellas! Where's game mode it doesn't show up for me under picture mode-am I crazy, where is it?
helvetica bold is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un60es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es7100 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off