Official Samsung UNXXES7100 Thread. - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 2855 Old 02-01-2013, 02:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Game mode reduces input lag. People who play games like call of duty will notice input lag. Google input lag and youll get a better explanation than i can give.
Danediz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 2855 Old 02-01-2013, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
barr993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help!

Have had my 55es7100 for about 4 weeks and was satisfied with picture. All of a sudden picture on any source is not good...noticeably grainy and anything more than medium speed move is blurry/pixelated. Had everything through new Onkyo receiver with one HMDI out to TV, tried all kinds of things including picture settings, power off/on, software update, and running HDMIs direct from Comcast cable and Sammy bluray direct to TV with no change. The only change I've made recently was changing hardwired network just for xbox to installing a Netgear switch and hardwiring tv and receiver along with xbox.

Any ideas?
barr993 is offline  
post #1803 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 06:26 AM
Member
 
gunsmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcontto View Post



Has anybody spotted dead/stuck pixels yet? While the set was updating with v.1026 last night, I spotted at least 3 either dead or stuck pixels. Some look blue, some red and some plain white. I tried applying pressure to see if they'll come back to live but they are still either dead or stuck. I think Samsung's dead pixel policy allows for a couple of them before replacing, but 3 is too much. I'm still in my 90 days exchange window with Costco so I'm thinking about exchanging the set. Any body else getting dead pixels? Thanks!

I did see one on the display model at Costco before I bought mine and I was really debating with myself if I should buy this TV, but I did. I looked at the reviews at Amazon and out of 400-something there was one person that complained about dead pixels. Samsung replaced the panel. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for mine.
gunsmoker is offline  
post #1804 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
FishCandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticmxman View Post

Picked a 55 inch Samsung 7150 up at Costco Friday, picture color is great out of the box. Adjusting options for best contrast, brightness and motion control this weekend and the picture is fantastic, just a few tweeks to go, sugestions are welcome. The larger screen is wonderful, the style of the Samsung (thin bezel and thin tv depth) is much better than the penny 4" thick plasma it replaced. We were able to get a 55" in almost the same space as the 46" it replaced. The price was more than I had planned but as the tv is in the main gathering area in our home the extra expenditure will be worth it in the long run, and buying from Costco gives me 90 days to change my mind.

We moved the 46" Panasonic S1 plasma to the bedroom, great picture on the plasma but I don't miss the fan noise and bit of heat from the plasma in then main viewing room. Now if I had a man cave one of the new plasmas would have been seriously considered.

I got the same tv can you list the tweaks u made? Want the best picture for Super Bowl. On the you tube feature it sucks you can't use the keyboard!
FishCandy is offline  
post #1805 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

Firmware Version 1026.1

1.This firmware is for TV Model ES7100
2.The version is 1026.1
3.This firmware update will improve the following:

- Support Verizon Apps

- Support Netflix 3.2 codec

- Resolves picture shaking and line noise on 1080p source.

- Supports Yahoo SyncPlus app..

- Resolves escaping issue while watching movie on VUDU.

- Resolves issue Cinemanow does not play certain title.

- Resolves compatibility issue with DLNA devices.

- Improves picture quality.

- Supports Samsung wireless Audio Dock

- Solves the problem closed caption does not show.

From following the ES8000 Thread I reset my picture settings after the Firmware Update.

It did actually improve picture quality after I re-entered my settings.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1414638/official-samsung-unxxes7100-thread/1320#post_22789840
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1806 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 08:33 AM
Member
 
parodielin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got the TV. Is the 240Hz by default? I couldn't find a menu item to adjust that.

How about Micro-Diming? Also by default?
parodielin is offline  
post #1807 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1808 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by parodielin View Post

Just got the TV. Is the 240Hz by default? I couldn't find a menu item to adjust that.

How about Micro-Diming? Also by default?

Look in Menu > Picture Options > Auto Motion Plus set to Clear or Off.

240Hz is the native motion controlled through Auto Motion Plus (AMP).

Micro-Dimming can't be controlled and its only in Standard picture mode.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1809 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 08:58 AM
Member
 
parodielin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

Look in Menu > Picture Options > Auto Motion Plus set to Clear or Off.

240Hz is the native motion controlled through Auto Motion Plus (AMP).

Micro-Dimming can't be controlled and its only in Standard picture mode.

Do you usually watch in Standard or Movie? I usually think Movie is a preferred mode for Bluray but it's strange to learn micro-dimming wasn't there.
parodielin is offline  
post #1810 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by parodielin View Post

Do you usually watch in Standard or Movie? I usually think Movie is a preferred mode for Bluray but it's strange to learn micro-dimming wasn't there.

I use Movie mode for DirecTV and Blu-ray.

I use Standard mode for Xbox360 as Game Mode defaults to Standard.

Movie Mode does has the CE-Dimming, where the screen goes black with no picture.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1811 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 09:46 AM
Member
 
uclabruinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

From following the ES8000 Thread I reset my picture settings after the Firmware Update.

It did actually improve picture quality after I re-entered my settings.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1414638/official-samsung-unxxes7100-thread/1320#post_22789840

So after a firmware update, we should go in and re-enter settings even though they remain the same? Also, do you guys use movie mode for cable/satellite TV?
uclabruinn is offline  
post #1812 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 09:47 AM
Member
 
uclabruinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Have you given these a try PC?
uclabruinn is offline  
post #1813 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So i need to reset my tv after update to see improved picture??
Danediz is offline  
post #1814 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by uclabruinn View Post

So after a firmware update, we should go in and re-enter settings even though they remain the same? Also, do you guys use movie mode for cable/satellite TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danediz View Post

So i need to reset my tv after update to see improved picture??

No, you don't need to reset the HDTV...

Just go in Menu to Picture Settings the reset is at the bottom of the list (for picture settings only).

It worked with my settings, blacks were darker and color was more accurate.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1815 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by uclabruinn View Post

Have you given these a try PC?

Not yet, as the FW update improved my settings.

I'm just curious if the ES6710 is similar to the ES7100.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1816 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 10:36 AM
Member
 
uclabruinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post


No, you don't need to reset the HDTV...

Just go in Menu to Picture Settings the reset is at the bottom of the list (for picture settings only).

It worked with my settings, blacks were darker and color was more accurate.

So do we do this for each input?
Thanks for your help!
uclabruinn is offline  
post #1817 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Kablemodem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought my UN60ES7150 at Costco earlier in the week. I love the TV. The picture is much better than the 61 inch Samsung DLP that it replaced. The viewing angle may not be as forgiving horizontally, but it is much better vertically. My TV sits on a base that is about a foot higher than it should be and I did not get the best picture when sitting on the couch. I don't have that problem with this TV. I was playing around with the YouTube app last night so I switched the sound source to the TV instead of my receiver and I noticed that the TV's sound is not really that bad.

My questions is - for those of you that got the 7150, did your TV come with a keyboard in the box? There is a sticker on the box that says the keyboard may be inside or you may have to get it by online/mail-in redemption. There was no keyboard in the box and no documentation about redemption.

TiVo Good
Kablemodem is offline  
post #1818 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
scJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Unless you do a total system reset. Otherwise you have to reset each source input.
scJohn is offline  
post #1819 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 01:07 PM
Member
 
uclabruinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kablemodem View Post


My questions is - for those of you that got the 7150, did your TV come with a keyboard in the box? There is a sticker on the box that says the keyboard may be inside or you may have to get it by online/mail-in redemption. There was no keyboard in the box and no documentation about redemption.

I bought my un55es7150 at Costco and the keyboard and 4 3d glasses were included in the box.
uclabruinn is offline  
post #1820 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 03:16 PM
Member
 
swinslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a 7150. I can not find the setting to turn off the Samsung logo. Can anyone help?!
swinslow is offline  
post #1821 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Catt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinslow View Post

Just got a 7150. I can not find the setting to turn off the Samsung logo. Can anyone help?!

If the same as 8000 (and I think it is or very similar) Menu -> System -> General. This is for both the boot logo on the screen and the illuminated Samsung logo around the bezel.
Catt99 is offline  
post #1822 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Several of the ES series models have the good TS02 Samsung panel. But all of the 7100 versions I saw in several stores today had the US02 panel. How does that rank in the panel lottery, and is that a Samsung panel or someone else? Is that a good panel for pic quality or should I get a 6500 with TS02?
tylerSC is offline  
post #1823 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Is this written on the back? Mine was manufactured in January 2013 and it says HS01 (I think).
Does that mean my screen isn't the good one? The set looks great to me!
helvetica bold is offline  
post #1824 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
fujishig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got mine (60 inch) from Costco too. No keyboard inside but one of the notes stickered to the tv had instructions to redeem for a free keyboard. Hopefully you didn't throw that away.

Directv looks terrible, going to calibrate now and hopefully fix it.
fujishig is offline  
post #1825 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Is this written on the back? Mine was manufactured in January 2013 and it says HS01 (I think).
Does that mean my screen isn't the good one? The set looks great to me!
Glad yours looks great. But they use different panels, with some better than others. Today I saw the 6500 with TS02 and CS02, and the 7500 withTS02. But all the 7100s had US02. So was wondering if that was a good panel made by Samsung or someone else. The label on box and back of TV will say Version number.
tylerSC is offline  
post #1826 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by uclabruinn View Post

So do we do this for each input?
Thanks for your help!

Sure that's what I did.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #1827 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
xastey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New user here

I recent picked up a 55ES7100 (coming from a vt55 buzzing and streaming problems) and so far I'm glad I made the switch.After applying the Cnet settings for the 8000 I can see a great difference in video quality, esp in movie mode... to me it matches closely to the dark I was getting with the vt55, I have yet to do more testing but the settings posted helped greatly. Now if I can get standard mode to be a bit better. One thing I noticed is that even with HD channels I get some pixelation every so often but seems to clear up, like right now a few scenes from The Big bang were fuzzy but cleared up after a few seconds. I read a few pages back the one guy had this same problem with Comcast (I have uverse) and giving that I have had att-t come out multiple times to fix my lines may be the reason why, still not sure yet.
xastey is offline  
post #1828 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 08:13 PM
Member
 
BlluePill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by swinslow View Post

Just got a 7150. I can not find the setting to turn off the Samsung logo. Can anyone help?!

On my 7100
Menu > System > Scroll down to General > Boot Logo (on/Off)
BlluePill is offline  
post #1829 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
who said you need to reset the pic setting after the update? I feel the update made the smarthub much faster.
andyboy is offline  
post #1830 of 2855 Old 02-02-2013, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
andyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kablemodem View Post

I bought my UN60ES7150 at Costco earlier in the week. I love the TV. The picture is much better than the 61 inch Samsung DLP that it replaced. The viewing angle may not be as forgiving horizontally, but it is much better vertically. My TV sits on a base that is about a foot higher than it should be and I did not get the best picture when sitting on the couch. I don't have that problem with this TV. I was playing around with the YouTube app last night so I switched the sound source to the TV instead of my receiver and I noticed that the TV's sound is not really that bad.

My questions is - for those of you that got the 7150, did your TV come with a keyboard in the box? There is a sticker on the box that says the keyboard may be inside or you may have to get it by online/mail-in redemption. There was no keyboard in the box and no documentation about redemption.
Mine came with it. Wonder if Samsung was rushing out these sets but ran out of keyboards....weird
andyboy is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un60es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es7100 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off