Official Samsung UNXXES7100 Thread. - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 2856 Old 07-18-2013, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeNc View Post

it's funny how every update ' 'Improves picture quality"

wink.gif

I'm still on 1025 ....
I was thinking the same thing.
pappaduke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 2856 Old 07-18-2013, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
markc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my settings that are ideal for a medium to low lit room (Evening)

Picture Mode: Movie
Back Light: 13
Contrast: 94
Brightness: 41
Sharpness: 7
Color: 48
Tint G50/R50
Picture Size: screen fit
Position: Default

ADVANCED SETTINGS
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color Space: Native

White Balance
R-Offset: 27
G-Offset: 25
B-Offset 24
R-Gain: 11
G-Gain: 24
B-Gain: 7

10P White Balance: Off
Gamma: 0
Expert Pattern: Off
xvYCC: Leave at default

PICTURE OPTIONS
Color Tone: Warm 2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Film Mode: Off
Autio Motion Plus: Standard for Blu-Ray/Clear for Comcast Cable
LED Motion Plus: Off

Come join our adult gaming community at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



XBL, PSN, and Steam: diehardcubfn
markc72 is offline  
post #2703 of 2856 Old 07-18-2013, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Xithryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markc72 View Post

Here are my settings that are ideal for a medium to low lit room (Evening)

Picture Mode: Movie
Back Light: 13
Contrast: 94
Brightness: 41
Sharpness: 7
Color: 48
Tint G50/R50
Picture Size: screen fit
Position: Default

ADVANCED SETTINGS
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color Space: Native

White Balance
R-Offset: 27
G-Offset: 25
B-Offset 24
R-Gain: 11
G-Gain: 24
B-Gain: 7

10P White Balance: Off
Gamma: 0
Expert Pattern: Off
xvYCC: Leave at default

PICTURE OPTIONS
Color Tone: Warm 2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Film Mode: Off
Autio Motion Plus: Standard for Blu-Ray/Clear for Comcast Cable
LED Motion Plus: Off

Thanks!!
Xithryl is offline  
post #2704 of 2856 Old 07-21-2013, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I punched those settings in as well, first impression it looks good. So is that from the geek squad calibration?
helvetica bold is online now  
post #2705 of 2856 Old 07-21-2013, 06:00 PM
Member
 
gunsmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The browser updated on me tonight. It looks slower and it crashes on pages with big images.
gunsmoker is offline  
post #2706 of 2856 Old 07-22-2013, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
markc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

I punched those settings in as well, first impression it looks good. So is that from the geek squad calibration?

Yes.

Come join our adult gaming community at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



XBL, PSN, and Steam: diehardcubfn
markc72 is offline  
post #2707 of 2856 Old 07-22-2013, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
sievers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I searched a bit but no luck so forgive me if this has come up. Trying to help my father in law with his new TV, he recently got the 55 inch. The internet features won't work. He has att uverse. Other devices like laptops/phones have no issues getting online. TV says it connects to the local network ok but can't get out to the internet. I can see the TV in the router config. He called Uverse out, they replaced a line outside but same problem. He said Samsung TVs have a known issue on uverse that they are pushing out a firmware update for. I was about to download it from a PC but just for giggles thought I'd try it directly through the TV. Strangely enough, it connected to the Samsung server and downloaded the latest firmware, I think it was 1034 or something similar. TV rebooted but problem persists, still no working internet features. Unhooked the LAN cable from the tv to try wireless, same problem.

Any ideas? Next step I suppose is to get a Samsung tech out, may be a faulty ethernet board? Thanks for any tips.
sievers is offline  
post #2708 of 2856 Old 07-22-2013, 03:10 PM
Member
 
nikon5400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A new owner here.

Question- is there a way to make non-hd cable channels look good on this set?

I had HD box set to 1080i or 720p with UNXXC7000 and the non-hd picture would either take full screen or full horizontal portion and it'd look good. The C7000 was set to 16:9.
With ES7100 set to 16:9 the non-hd picture never takes full screen or full horizontal. I tried all 5 cable box settings settings (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i and native), but they don't affect the screen size on ES7100 set to 16:9

Is there a way to fix it? I don't mind picture look slightly stretched, I just want to make sure it takes as much screen as possible and fits on the screen.


Another question - with C7000 I'd get a cursor blinking in Youtube's search box and I could send text from galaxy s3 phone to the search box. With ES7100 there's no cursor and I can't figure out if there's a way to send text to the search box. I know I can pair the device, but that would require my phone to be within reach, while I'd like to be able to launch video by sending text and walk away.

I have the latest software update installed, not sure if that contributed to these issues

These two things may be a deal breaker for me. I like the style of ES7100 better, but picture quality - it's different than C7000, but I am not sure it's better. Got to try some settings and make up my mind.

Thanks
nikon5400 is offline  
post #2709 of 2856 Old 07-22-2013, 08:08 PM
Member
 
ELMO45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikon5400 View Post

A new owner here.

Question- is there a way to make non-hd cable channels look good on this set?

I had HD box set to 1080i or 720p with UNXXC7000 and the non-hd picture would either take full screen or full horizontal portion and it'd look good. The C7000 was set to 16:9.
With ES7100 set to 16:9 the non-hd picture never takes full screen or full horizontal. I tried all 5 cable box settings settings (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i and native), but they don't affect the screen size on ES7100 set to 16:9

Is there a way to fix it? I don't mind picture look slightly stretched, I just want to make sure it takes as much screen as possible and fits on the screen.

You should be using screen fit or 16:9 (screen fit ideally), otherwise your picture is distorted. I would try and watch screen fit for a few weeks and you should adjust and think it looks weird for a stretched picture.

If you really want to fill the screen though I think you should be using either zoom 1 or zoom 2. Those might be grayed out though, so the only other option would be wide fit, which might also mess up regular HD content to be stretched.

At the end of the day most everything should be HD nowadays so it might just be a matter of finding the HD equivalent channel on your cable box, i.e. for me NBC is channel 5, but NBC HD is channel 105.
ELMO45 is offline  
post #2710 of 2856 Old 07-22-2013, 08:33 PM
Member
 
nikon5400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, I know. There's also a stretch option on the cable box's menu that I completely forgot about, the option I didn't have to use with C7000 but it seems to do what I wanted - distort the screen smile.gif

It's just weird that I didn't have to use this setting with C7000, TV was doing it I guess although I'm not sure if image on C7000 is just as distorted.

If I have too much time on my hands, I may set up both tvs right next to each other connected to identical cable boxes that I have, so that I can compare the pq and decide which TV I like better.

Are there any good settings for ES7100 other then the ones right above?

I tried different settings posted on the web with C7000, but ended up going with natural with most settings being defaults and loved it.
While I like the form factor of the ES7100, the picture on C7000 seemed to be clearer, more detailed

I found one or two ways to send text to youtube search, so that may not be an issue, although as of now I like C7000 youtube widget better.


P.S. It seems like people are not into calibrating their TVs these days as much as 7-8 years ago, when everyone was tweaking servce menu. I guess
nikon5400 is offline  
post #2711 of 2856 Old 07-23-2013, 04:22 PM
Member
 
gunsmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Don't use the cable box to change the image format. Make it display the SD images in 480p. Then use the screen format setting on the TV. The TVs typically do the scaling better than the cable boxes.
gunsmoker is offline  
post #2712 of 2856 Old 07-23-2013, 05:02 PM
Member
 
nikon5400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunsmoker View Post

Don't use the cable box to change the image format. Make it display the SD images in 480p. Then use the screen format setting on the TV. The TVs typically do the scaling better than the cable boxes.

Do you have the same TV?

I think some TVs are better at this than others. I believe same applies to cable boxes. On C7000 it was enough to have cable box output 16:9, while with ES7100 I had to change to stretch to get the same effect.

I tried all tv formats, but couldn't get it to work right, unless there's a way to adjust a format itself.

I'm not even sure how hd channels would come out with cable box set to 480p. I believe they'd come out as 480.

Also, I think HD channels would be distorted if TV format option is anything other than 16:9 or screen fit. At the same time I don't really understand what screen fit is supposed to do since it doesn't fit display with full SD image

But by making the cable box stretch the output only sd channels get stretched, while TV is set to 16:9 or screen fit
nikon5400 is offline  
post #2713 of 2856 Old 07-24-2013, 06:46 PM
Member
 
gunsmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My cable box has an hd resolution selection - 720p or 1080i, an sd format selection - 480i, 480p, stretch and maybe something else, but it doesn't have an intelligent stretch that stretches only the sides and keeps the center mostly unaffected. When I said to keep it at 480p, I meant sd. It also has aspect ratio setting that must be at 16:9. The point is to keep the source in the native mode and let the TV do the scaling, unless you have a receiver with a good scaler.
I keep my TV at 16:9 for viewing the cable material because there is garbage at the edges of the picture sometimes. I use screen fit for bluray and gaming.
gunsmoker is offline  
post #2714 of 2856 Old 07-27-2013, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Nikon


Post 631 I use these settings
Post 640
Post 1004

Post 1334 by Pirates Cove many members enjoy his settings.

If you are going to change your settings write the current ones down before you start, so you know where to go back to the previous one

also local dimming does not work in the video(movies) mode.

When you change the settings make certain that you have several hours on the TV and watch the new settings for a couple of days before making additional changes.


We all do not view colour tv the same way or have the same tastes.

Why do I like a red car and you may prefer white????.
James T is offline  
post #2715 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 07:26 AM
Member
 
nikon5400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure how different F7100 from ES7100, but these don't look bad. If anyone is going to try these, please comment. Thanks

http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/samsung-lcd-tv/samsung-f7100-picture-settings.html
nikon5400 is offline  
post #2716 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Mian Farooq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi friends need some help i have 4 month old es 7100 55 inch and suddenly i found one v bright pixel on

left side on my led . is only appears on black or dark screen but in bright screen it merge with bright

picture.
what should i do . plz reply
Mian Farooq is offline  
post #2717 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 08:00 AM
Member
 
gunsmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
^^^ Call Samsung to have the panel replaced. Not sure if they will do it for a single dead pixel, but chances are you will get more and they know they will have to replace it.
Mian Farooq likes this.
gunsmoker is offline  
post #2718 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Mian Farooq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dear no warranty because i purchased used
Mian Farooq is offline  
post #2719 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikon5400 View Post

Not sure how different F7100 from ES7100, but these don't look bad. If anyone is going to try these, please comment. Thanks

http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/samsung-lcd-tv/samsung-f7100-picture-settings.html


Nikon be a little brave and try them you can always change them later.

From what I have read these settings apply to all the Samsung TV 7000 to 8000 series all these sets are equipped with local dimming. The local dimming feature is suppose to be more advanced on the 7500 series and up.

There are many places where you will find suggested settings CNET has them for the 8000 which would apply to the 7100 series.

The two sets you mentioned I believe the F series is 2013 and the es is 2012

There is a post on the forum for the Samsung f 7100 http://www.avsforum.com/t/1470900/official-samsung-unxxf7100-owners-thread
James T is offline  
post #2720 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 08:30 AM
Member
 
nikon5400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by James T View Post

Nikon be a little brave and try them you can always change them later.

I have these settings, that's why I said they don't look bad. I'm comparing them to Nitro's settings posted in post #631,
nikon5400 is offline  
post #2721 of 2856 Old 07-28-2013, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Nikon

I use the settings in post 631 and they are great

I tweaked it a little and made the settings cool as opposed to the recommended warm.
James T is offline  
post #2722 of 2856 Old 07-29-2013, 07:47 PM
Member
 
ELMO45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mian Farooq View Post

hi friends need some help i have 4 month old es 7100 55 inch and suddenly i found one v bright pixel on

left side on my led . is only appears on black or dark screen but in bright screen it merge with bright

picture.
what should i do . plz reply

Anyone who has a bad pixel I would recommend finding a pixel flipper online or using a setup disc, such as Disney's WOW which has one built in. Sometimes that can fix a hot pixel if you run it for a few hours (maybe even as long as 24 hours).
Mian Farooq likes this.
ELMO45 is offline  
post #2723 of 2856 Old 07-29-2013, 07:53 PM
Member
 
ELMO45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by markc72 View Post

I found moving from FW 1027 to FW1033 should a noticeable difference in better PQ. Seems like the colors are a bit brighter. I'll post my calibration numbers tonight that I got from when Best Buy did my free calibration. I'll probably update to FW 1034 as well.

After living with the 1034 update for a week do you still find it better than 1027? Just wondering as I have been sitting on 1027 for awhile and with the last couple of updates actually making PQ worse I want to make sure 1034 is worth it.
ELMO45 is offline  
post #2724 of 2856 Old 07-30-2013, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
markc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELMO45 View Post

After living with the 1034 update for a week do you still find it better than 1027? Just wondering as I have been sitting on 1027 for awhile and with the last couple of updates actually making PQ worse I want to make sure 1034 is worth it.

I found the color to be a bit better than 1027. I have not run into any issues since switching over.

Come join our adult gaming community at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



XBL, PSN, and Steam: diehardcubfn
markc72 is offline  
post #2725 of 2856 Old 07-31-2013, 04:07 PM
Newbie
 
wayferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if anyone could help me with the ghosting or crosstalk I'm getting with my 3D? I have un60es7100 and Sony bdp-s590 blu ray player
wayferd is offline  
post #2726 of 2856 Old 08-02-2013, 04:13 AM
Newbie
 
soggadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,
I have a problem with my 60 inch ES7100, The bottom half of the screen seems to be darker than the upper half. This is visible more during dark scenes.
Are there any setting changes to fix this ?

Thank u
soggadu is offline  
post #2727 of 2856 Old 08-02-2013, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Un plug the tv for 30 seconds and see if the reset will assist.

Play the tv in the movies mode that turns off the local dimming and see if the problem still exists. In the movies mode the local dimming is turned off. Local dimming automatically darkens certain areas of the screen to increase the contrast ratio

You may have inadvertently turned one of your settings too low

Try some of the recommended settings posted on this site personally I use the ones in post 631 but there others listed. I posted a couple of sites in a previous post to Nikon about 6 to 10 posts previous to this one. Write down your current settings before you go to new ones.

Make certain that you have the latest firmware release.

There is also a field in the set up that will restore the tv to the original factory settings .

Write down your settings before restoring it to the factory settings this will assist you in a re set up if you choose to go back to it.




You can call Samsung and they will assist with some other trouble shooting ideas, but the first thing they will ask is that you have the latest firmware.

I have given some suggestions that you can try perhaps you will find success with one of them.

Failing all that last resort call a factory trained Samsung service man.

You can arrange a service call through Samsung and sometimes if things go from bad to worse Samsung may replace the TV
James T is offline  
post #2728 of 2856 Old 08-02-2013, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
wayferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the reference. I tried those settings and I really like them. I am really happy now with this tv. But I had to really do my homework to get the picture to what I liked. Thanks again!!
wayferd is offline  
post #2729 of 2856 Old 08-03-2013, 03:32 AM
Newbie
 
SteveOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wat do you all think about Dynamic Contrast and Black Tone. I have just changed mine to High and Darkest respectively and it seems to have got rid of the washed out colours I had been experiencing.
SteveOL is offline  
post #2730 of 2856 Old 08-03-2013, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
James T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada/ Port Charlotte Florida Port Charlotte Florida
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think you should write down your current settings and try the settings listed in post 631. Read back a few posts and you will see I suggested other posts with settings recommendations.

The nice thing is you can try them for a couple of days, then try an other suggested setting or go back to your current settings. It usually only takes about 10-15 minutes to change the settings

Be aware in the movie mode that the local dimming is turned off automatically.
James T is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un60es7100 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es7100 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off