Any LED TVs that do PIP/POP with 2 HDMI inputs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-17-2012, 01:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
macdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for a new TV but really want one that can do picture-in-picture with two HDMI inputs. The few TVs I'm finding with PIP seem to be unable to use two HDMI sources. Am I missing something obvious or are there really no LED TVs out there that can do this?
macdot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-17-2012, 01:01 PM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You're not missing anything. They all require using the TVs internal tuner for one of the windows.
dfp is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-17-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfp View Post

You're not missing anything. They all require using the TVs internal tuner for one of the windows.
My Vizio doesn't require the tuner (you can use anything except a second HDMI). It does allow component or computer for the second.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-17-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Tomaskovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warrenville, Il
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Actually on the Sony tvs, you can use 1 hdmi and one non-hdmi (which does not have to be the built in tuner). I do 2 tivo's, one on hdmi and the other on component video.

Phil Tomaskovic
Phil Tomaskovic is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-18-2012, 05:50 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks guys. The computer and TV sounds good. But I'd just like to watch any 2 football games at once, like I did on my 2-tuner 2001 Sony XBR450 CRT, albeit not in HD.

On my 2008 Samsung I've split the cable before the box and, at best, can watch any channel in the main window, using cable box and HDMI, and watch local broadcast channels in the PIP window, using the internal tuner and straight coax. No simultaneous ESPN and ESPN2 for me, since Comcast encrypted even SD cable channels on the coax.

Even if a TV did allow 2 HDMI inputs, I'd need 2 cable boxes, anyway. Then I might as well set up an adjacent set. That's it. I'll run it by my wife.
dfp is online now  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-15-2012, 11:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 170
The Vizio XVT "58 (a 21:9 set) supports PIP and POP: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1417773/official-vizio-xvt3dxx0cm-21-9-cinemawide-owners-thread/90#post_22708641. When I get a chance I'll hook a Blu-ray and HD-DVD players to separate HDMI inputs to see if this bad boy can do both.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dad1153 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-16-2012, 01:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfp View Post

On my 2008 Samsung I've split the cable before the box and, at best, can watch any channel in the main window, using cable box and HDMI, and watch local broadcast channels in the PIP window, using the internal tuner and straight coax. No simultaneous ESPN and ESPN2 for me, since Comcast encrypted even SD cable channels on the coax.

Comcast gives you up to 2 SD cable boxes 'free'. Use one of those.
Luke M is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-17-2012, 07:40 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke M View Post

Comcast gives you up to 2 SD cable boxes 'free'. Use one of those.

Excellent idea! To be clear, you mean splitting the cable before the main cable box and running the extra lead to the free SD box connected to the RF tuner input, right? Have you tried this?
dfp is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-17-2012, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfp View Post

Excellent idea! To be clear, you mean splitting the cable before the main cable box and running the extra lead to the free SD box connected to the RF tuner input, right? Have you tried this?

Yes, I do this myself.
Luke M is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-17-2012, 10:30 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke M View Post

Yes, I do this myself.

Great idea. Thanks.
dfp is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-16-2013, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I found out that Comcast started charging $2/month for the formerly free cable boxes as of January 1. So back they went. Now I can only do PIP with unencrypted channels (locals and CSPAN-1).
Luke M is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-16-2013, 06:17 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke M View Post

I found out that Comcast started charging $2/month for the formerly free cable boxes as of January 1. So back they went. Now I can only do PIP with unencrypted channels (locals and CSPAN-1).
Found that yesterday when the bill came. If you read the fine print on the 2013 price list pamphlet they recently sent out, they now charge for the first two, then any DTA after that is free. Also, DVR price went up from $ 7 to 8. Also, fyi, since my DVR had to be replaced, the new one seems to have 5 times the capacity.
dfp is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off