Samsung UN55ES6500 LED TV - digital noise - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 06-20-2012, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello new to the Forum, i just recently set up my Samsung UN55ES6500 LED TV and had some questions, im hoping some of the more experienced members could provide some insight.

First let me say that i was going to buy a Samsung Plasma, but the lure of a New LED with thin profile, bezel and brighter picture in addition to the 55" size won me over. They don't make a 55" plasma currently.

Im no video expert, but i work in the AV industry and have seen my fair share of top end projectors, flat panels etc.so I know a good picture when i see it,

My sources are Optimum cable & Blu Ray DVD - I noticed the colors are very deep & rich and the black levels are definitely better than last years models. But the one thing that's driving me crazy is the digital noise on background scenes (especially dark) or even in the movement of people. Now I realize that my source is a contributing factor as well as the technology of the TV itself.

My question is
1. Can i or should i use any of the digital filters on the TV and will they help?
2. Will the smaller 50" plasma yield the same results? Its been a while and not many stores even have the 7000 or 8000 plasma on display.
3. Is my TV not calibrated to its fullest potential ? (the set up disc is on its way.)
4. Is standard cable that bad and is Fios that much better?

Any suggestions and help much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 06-20-2012, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 19
Sounds like overcompression that unfortunately is used by some cable systems.
Compare with a high quality video source like a good Blu-Ray to verify its the cable signal.
Also try for comparison over the air HD channels using the built-in tuner with an antenna if possible.