Samsung LN-S4096D slow to start up ??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-24-2012, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deadring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to all,


For some time, my Samsung LN-S4096D has been very slow to start up.. It started not so bad but now it takes like 5 minutes to start up..
You can hear the relays inside clicking on and off at 5-10 seconds each time..for like 5 minute.. then it starts and it's pretty slow to show up menu... it lags... then all is ok. Anybody know what can cause this? is there a firmware or something i can do to fix this?

Thanks.
deadring is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-24-2012, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mes444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sounds like the very common Samsung capacitor failure. Samsung is still replacing the power board even on out of warranty tvs. Get the serial number off the side of the tv. Call Samsung CS and describe the problems and tell them you think it's failing capacitors. If your serial number is on their list of affected tvs, they will send a repair person to your house, for free, and it will be fixed.
mes444 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-24-2012, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deadring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow,


That would be awsome,

thanks alot !!

Where should i find the number to call?
deadring is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-24-2012, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mes444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1-800-726-7864: First line CS. (should be in your owner's manual)

If they give you any trouble, ask for Executive Customer Service.
mes444 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-25-2012, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deadring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i called them up.. tried everything i could to convince them but apparently, my model is not on their list of troubled power board suffering TVs.. so i guess i can find one on ebay somewhere and change it myself.


Thanks anyways,, it was still worth trying smile.gif
deadring is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-25-2012, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mes444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 2,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry it didn't work. If you can solder, there are numerous tutorials on youtube and elsewhere on replacing the capacitors. Very inexpensive if you are a DIY person.
mes444 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-25-2012, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
deadring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm not too bad at soldering..But i found a brand new power board from a LN-S4095D. i assume it would fit ?

If it does, i would buy that instead and all the components would be brand new.(power board that is)

pity too, that Tv works very well except for the issue.
deadring is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off