UN55ES8000 Turning off and on by itself - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 07-02-2012, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am an AV installer and our crew installed a UNES8000 last week on a Sanus tilt wall mount. The TV is shutting off and on by itself at random intervals. It is only off for 3-4 seconds, when the SmartTV logo reappears and it is back on again with the TV image showing (in this case DirecTV). We went through all the normal troubleshooting until we finally contacted Samsung for service. The tech that came out said it has to do with the mount and that only the ultra slim cable mounts will work with these sets. That just doesn't make sense to me - especially since we have installed many of these TV and have never used a cable mount. However, we took the TV down from the wall over the weekend and had it just on its own pedestal with nothing on the back and it worked fine. We re-installed it with the original sanus tilt mount (we made sure the screws for the mount were the correct size and not too long) today and the problem came back. We are perplexed...any suggestions...anyone?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-02-2012, 08:40 PM
dfp
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Press the power cord firmly into the back of the TV. A month or so after our 2008 Samsung LN52A860 had been playing beautifully, it started shutting off and turning back on. I snugged it up and the problem has never come back. Hope this does it for you.
post #3 of 12 Old 07-03-2012, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the response...we checked that. Further experimentation is pointing to the network cable right now, although we are not sure. Since disconnecting the Cat5e cable, the TV has not gone off (to our knowledge).
post #4 of 12 Old 07-03-2012, 05:05 PM

Liked: 12