Sharp LC-60LE845U and Denon 2310 CI audio trouble - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-06-2012, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to this tv and have been having trouble with the audio with the Denon 2310 Ci.
My setup is:
Panasonic DMP-BDT500B -HDMI > Sharp LC-60LE845U

Optical Audio cable > Denon 2310 CI- Opti-2

When I play a Blu-ray disk the beginning of the disk shows surround sound on the receiver. When the movie starts, the indicator on the receiver shows only "Stereo" coming from the BD player.
What is causing this and is it something I can fix?

My wife is concerned about it and wonders why the Blu-ray disk only has stereo sound when the disk cover states Dolby Digital. I know, but you try to explain it to her.
Thanks for the responses.

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-06-2012, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
The audio for the movie itself is usually encoded in either DTS-Master audio or Dolby Tru-HD, lossless formats that the tv is converting to 2 channel audio and passing as such from it's optical audio output. The plain (non-lossless) DD audio on the menu screen is being passed by the set.

Simplest solution is to get another HDMI cable. Go HDMI from player to receiver, then another HDMI from receiver to tv. Your receiver will then be getting and decoding the lossless audio from the player (provided the player's HDMI audio output is set to "bitstream") Do the same with any HD Sat/Cable box you may be using. In this scenario you'll be using the AV receiver for switching sources rather than the tv.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-06-2012, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

The audio for the movie itself is usually encoded in either DTS-Master audio or Dolby Tru-HD, lossless formats that the tv is converting to 2 channel audio and passing as such from it's optical audio output. The plain (non-lossless) DD audio on the menu screen is being passed by the set.
Simplest solution is to get another HDMI cable. Go HDMI from player to receiver, then another HDMI from receiver to tv. Your receiver will then be getting and decoding the lossless audio from the player (provided the player's HDMI audio output is set to "bitstream") Do the same with any HD Sat/Cable box you may be using. In this scenario you'll be using the AV receiver for switching sources rather than the tv.

Thanks for the solution. Sometimes it's better to just ask the question and get an educated answer, than to not ask any questions and have an uneducated mess. Which I have been known to do I do have a Dish VIP-722 receiver also that I will be hooking up.

Thanks again:

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-06-2012, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
parlyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

The audio for the movie itself is usually encoded in either DTS-Master audio or Dolby Tru-HD, lossless formats that the tv is converting to 2 channel audio and passing as such from it's optical audio output. The plain (non-lossless) DD audio on the menu screen is being passed by the set.
Simplest solution is to get another HDMI cable. Go HDMI from player to receiver, then another HDMI from receiver to tv. Your receiver will then be getting and decoding the lossless audio from the player (provided the player's HDMI audio output is set to "bitstream") Do the same with any HD Sat/Cable box you may be using. In this scenario you'll be using the AV receiver for switching sources rather than the tv.

Just another question. Do I need an HDMI/Opti Audio switcher to plug into? I only have 1 HDMI Out from the receiver to the TV, and 2 Opti Audio In. I do have 5 HDMI ports into the receiver. The problem I see is that the receiver does not pass 3D, so the BD player has to be connected to the TV to get 3D content on the TV screen. As I said, I have the Dish PVR and I have an Apple TV that both have HDMI and pass 1080P content. What should be done with them?

Thanks again:

Lyle
parlyle is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off