SAMSUNG LED TV Artifacts.... Need help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-21-2012, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SputnikNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello smile.gif

It's hard to describe the problem, but i'll try my best.

I have SAMSUNG UN55C8000 LED TV. Basically all dark scenes have light level lines, the lighting does not transition smoothly, but in lines! See the lines on her shoulder.

img0057gw.jpg

Also note the black pixilated artifacts, it happens on all dark scenes!

img0058cc.jpg

I need to identify this problem, i'm not sure if it's Grading, also is there any settings to reduce these issues?

Any input is highly appreciated!
SputnikNYC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-21-2012, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SputnikNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
SputnikNYC is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-22-2012, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SputnikNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No one?
SputnikNYC is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-22-2012, 11:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Have you tried setting sharpness to 0?
Have you tried turning off motion compensateion and/or setting it to the lowest possible value?
Does the problem occure only in some areas of the screen?
Isw the display wall mounted or on a stand?
walford is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-22-2012, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Also, does this occur with all picture sources? Overcompressed digital signals often show an effect like this. If it happens on sat/cable but not Blu Ray it's the source, not the tv.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-22-2012, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SputnikNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for trying to help me out here smile.gif)))))) many thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Have you tried setting sharpness to 0?
Have you tried turning off motion compensateion and/or setting it to the lowest possible value?
Does the problem occure only in some areas of the screen?
Isw the display wall mounted or on a stand?

I tried the Sharpness to the 0 and it didn't help! How do i turn ON/OFF motion compensateion?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

Also, does this occur with all picture sources? Overcompressed digital signals often show an effect like this. If it happens on sat/cable but not Blu Ray it's the source, not the tv.

I get some of that stuff on PS3, but most of all on WDTV Live HUB Media Player!
SputnikNYC is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-24-2012, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
EAnglum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Looks like a source issue to me...not the TV. Highly compressed material...
EAnglum is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-24-2012, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Easy test--put a known good Blu Ray disc in the PS3 and play it. If it doesn't show this defect your tv is not to blame. There's a reason why BD can run up to 40mbps and has a 50GB capacity.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-27-2012, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SputnikNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

Easy test--put a known good Blu Ray disc in the PS3 and play it. If it doesn't show this defect your tv is not to blame. There's a reason why BD can run up to 40mbps and has a 50GB capacity.
That makes perfect sense, but then why do i still get same black pixel artifacts in dark parts of the menu on a PS3 game GranTurismo 5?
SputnikNYC is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-28-2012, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
It's a sort of apples/oranges thing. BDs are painstakingly mastered on very expensive equipment before they are recorded on the disc. The images on video games are created on the fly by your $250 game console in a matter of milleseconds--it surprising that they can look as good as they do.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off