What's wrong with my LG LCD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 09-01-2012, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I noticed this issue today when I powered on my 2011 LG LCD. The set has about 2,100 hrs on it and was working fine yesterday. The issue is that the picture looks blurry and low res with distorted text and jagged vertical and diagonal lines in what should be solid sharp and clear text, lines, pictures, and other shapes. The issue occurs with all sources/inputs and on the TV menu itself. Is this a panel issue or a main board issue or something else? Anything I can try to resolve this issue? I reset the picture settings and tried various pic modes, but to no avail.











PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 09-01-2012, 02:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is it a 3D model?
Did you try unplugging it for about 20 minutes in order to make sure it had a complete reboot when started up?
walford is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 09-01-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

Photo09011707.jpg 206k .jpg file Photo09011708.jpg 151k .jpg file Photo09011708_1.jpg 186k .jpg file Photo09011708_2.jpg 216k .jpg file Photo09011709.jpg 311k .jpg file Photo09011709_1.jpg 182k .jpg file
I noticed this issue today when I powered on my 2011 LG LCD. The set has about 2,100 hrs on it and was working fine yesterday. The issue is that the picture looks blurry and low res with distorted text and jagged vertical and diagonal lines in what should be solid sharp and clear text, lines, pictures, and other shapes. The issue occurs with all sources/inputs and on the TV menu itself. Is this a panel issue or a main board issue or something else? Anything I can try to resolve this issue? I reset the picture settings and tried various pic modes, but to no avail.
I don't know what's wrong with your TV. I can tell you what's wrong with your post, however. You should have used the 'IMG' tags instead of attachments. I for one don't want to have to download images to see them. You might want to edit your post and do that.
olyteddy is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Is it a 3D model?
Did you try unplugging it for about 20 minutes in order to make sure it had a complete reboot when started up?

it's 2D only and yes, I did a complete reboot and even tried 'initial setting'
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

I don't know what's wrong with your TV. I can tell you what's wrong with your post, however. You should have used the 'IMG' tags instead of attachments. I for one don't want to have to download images to see them. You might want to edit your post and do that.

done
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Bummer frown.gif Warranty by any chance?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
thiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are those pictures from a computer source?

If so, make sure the system's graphics output is still set to the native resolution of your LG LCD.
thiao is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Did you by any chance go into the EZ Adjust menu to fiddle around?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Bummer frown.gif Warranty by any chance?

yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by thiao View Post

Are those pictures from a computer source?
If so, make sure the system's graphics output is still set to the native resolution of your LG LCD.

PS3, not PC (also some pictures are of the TV menu)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Did you by any chance go into the EZ Adjust menu to fiddle around?

nope
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Sounds like warranty is your friend then. wink.gif
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 09-02-2012, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
John4721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Agreed. Looks like you've already gone through all the reasonable troubleshooting steps.
John4721 is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 09-03-2012, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Sounds like warranty is your friend then. wink.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by John4721 View Post

Agreed. Looks like you've already gone through all the reasonable troubleshooting steps.

I guess so, just sucks that I won't be able to use this TV for the next several weeks. The tech should come on Friday to diagnose the issue (and place an order for parts if needed).
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 09-03-2012, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Let us know what the diagnosis is and the fix. Might be useful information to add to the "database".
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 09-15-2012, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
t-con and panel have been ordered (9/7)... still waiting on the parts to arrive from LG and the tech to come to my home to fix it

the guy who came on 9/7 went into the service menu home screen (in-start I think) and then did some kind of factory reset that showed "in-stop" on the screen before turning off the TV automatically... the reset made no difference, which is why he ordered the two parts
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
The TV was finally fixed today. The panel/t-con was replaced (t-con is not a separate board on LG TVs, but rather a part of the panel assembly).
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 220
How's it look?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

How's it look?

the picture is very clear and clean again
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Great! So, now you've got, what, a tv for every room? biggrin.gif
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Great! So, now you've got, what, a tv for every room? biggrin.gif

I will, once I can get my hands on a LN46D630. Best Buy is running out of them fast (though apparently there are still some in the warehouse).
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
^^If BB runs out try Sears, we have a couple of D630s left here in Fresno.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off