Samsung Vertical Static Line - Failing Tab bonding - To fix or not to fix? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-05-2012, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blur25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Samsung LN32A550 - 5 Series
I have static vertical lines (1 pixel in size) that goes straight down on the right side of the TV. They usually disappear after the set is on for a few minutes but recently they are constantly there.
When the set is first turn on, there is quite a few but after a minute or so, only 3 - 4 lines remand.
I tried the following solutions:
1.Lightly tap on the bottom right side which causes one or two of them to go away.
2.Reconnected all the cables to the TCON board. If my TCON board was faulty, there would be a really mess up picture instead of a vertical line.
3.Tighten the screws from the PCB to the Logic board, nothing happen as the problem persist.
Solutions from other people:
I been told that I need to replace or tighten the ribbon cables that are around the set. One person told me that it must only be done by a professional as any slight damage will ruin the set. Another person told me I needed to take off the bezel and apply electric tape to the loose cable.
This set has served me well, it is nearly 5 years old and if the risk is too high, I will just live with the random vertical lines at the side.

Here is the picture
-aa775l.jpg
Blur25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-06-2012, 10:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blur25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I end up fixing the problem and it cost me 900 dollars. No, no, not the repair bill.

This:
T0CmYl.jpg



As I'm setting up the TV, I'm noticing a problem already:

This:
8l3Gel.jpg


And keeping with the meme theme of this thread, this sums up the problem:

0q7tul.jpg
Blur25 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-07-2012, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: east SF bay area, ca
Posts: 3,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
DOH!

solution is buy a different brand TV for the new one smile.gif

If you're a gamer or interested in using an LCD TV as a primary monitor take a look at my thread on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
frito is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-07-2012, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blur25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have made a horrible mistake......

I'll write more in detail but I'm sure you already know.


Basically ....


LED Edge lit
4:4:4
Input lag


frown.gif
Blur25 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off