Some one Please Help!!! Green Picture on my Vizio 3D TV!!!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this site, so please pardon me if I am not posting this in the correct area. I have a Vizio 42 inch 3D Tv and last week it started to display a green picture. I checked all connections, tried my blu ray player, and even tried various HDMI ports......Still green!


Can someone tell me what may be wrong with it??? I researched a little and thinking it may be the LVDS cable.....but I have no idea where it is or how to change it.

Please help!!!


Kris



greek271 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
I'd suggest that either return/exchange or warranty service would be your best option. wink.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the confusion.... The TV is out of warranty and the problem just occurred last week.
greek271 is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 02:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Hopefully someone will chime in with Vizio experience. In the meantime, here's a parts supplier for LVDS cables:
http://www.vizparts.com/product.php?vid=5&tid=172
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 20 Old 09-26-2012, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Hopefully a Vizio expert can help out and then I can order the cable ...if that is the problem.
greek271 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 09-29-2012, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All is quiet.....does anyone have any idea what can be wrong with this tv?
greek271 is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 09-29-2012, 05:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you are using the same program mode on each of your HDMI ports have you tried a different program mode or the green setting for the program mode you are using?
You can get to these settings by starting with the Menu button on your TV remote, see your user menu for the details.
Does the TV's own menu come up green?
walford is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 09-29-2012, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No the menu is as clear as can be....only the cable/DVD/satellite picture is green


I'm very frustrated!
greek271 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 04:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Try a component cable and see if it still occurs.
Also, have you unplugged the TV from wall power for a few minutes?
Ratman is online now  
post #10 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried the component and unplugging....same result.
Can it be the lvds cable everyone talks about on this site?
greek271 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Can't answer that for you. And.... I don't see anyone jumping in on this thread to give you specific advice for your TV. wink.gif

You can either take the chance and purchase the LVDS cable or... pay for a diagnosis/estimate from an authorized repair facility.

Sorry, good luck.
Ratman is online now  
post #12 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow just surprised with all the expert knowledge on this site that no one has any idea what could be wrong...
greek271 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 01:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
I'm surprised that you would assume that someone knows exactly what the "problem" is with your TV and tell you exactly what to buy and step-by-step instructions to repair. wink.gif
Think about it....
If this were a WebMD forum, said you had a pain in one of your testicles, would you have it removed based on someone's recommendation on the internet? biggrin.gif

You could have a bad LVDS cable or perhaps a bad board. A good tech would need to perform the proper diagnostics (just like a doctor). The bottom line is that if someone is in the repair business and gave out "free" repair infomation on a forum.... they would be out of business. wink.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #14 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Give it a break ratman, I was only looking for some friendly help.....before I go out and buy a new one.

If you would excuse me now, I'm going on webmd to find some information about
what to do with my inflamed testicle....😧
greek271 is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 241
^^^^ if you buy another tv, I wouldn't buy a Vizio. If you do, an extended warranty is highly recommended.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you! Def won't be buying another Vizio
greek271 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Break? Hey you got some suggestions to no avail and a dose of reality. Don't shoot the messenger.
Good luck with your next purchase.
(Or.... spend ~$20 and give it your best shot repairing your TV before recycling it. wink.gif )
Ratman is online now  
post #18 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
greek271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hahaha....yes you certainly gave me a dose of reality..

Coming from someone with over 12000 posts on a website....It may be you that needs a dose of
reality......enjoy your bag of Doritos and your time online! Pmp

I'm off this board ...so thanks for the people who gave me normal advice!
greek271 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 09-30-2012, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Buh-bye. rolleyes.gif
Ratman is online now  
post #20 of 20 Old 10-01-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Since TV generated Menus work fine that to me means that the Power Supplu, LCD Panel, and TCON circuit and TCON cables are all fine and that the problem lies somewhere where the TV signal is converted to video such as possibly the main board. In the years I have been assiting on this forum I have never heard about LVDS cables or what symptoms occure if they are faulty. My 55" Vizio has been working without a problem since I got it 3 years ago,
What happens if you try and change the green color setting when the problem is occuring?
walford is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off