Pillarbox burn-in on an LCD TV? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-28-2012, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
jwciv's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New England
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All -

My parents just picked up a 42" Vizio Razor LED LCD at Costco. They have Comcast at home and in speaking with one of the Comcast technicians, he advised them to wait no longer than one month to get an HD package added to their Comcast account in order to avoid burn-in lines from watching too much 4x3 programming with pillarbox / black bars.
They will be getting HD service soon, but are worried about burn-in.
Is this really a concern?

Thanks for the input
jwciv is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 Old 09-28-2012, 12:30 PM
thenightman4u's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No don't worry about it. That seems like a good plot to get them to upgrade to HD service sooner. Even with standard 4:3 content you can set either the cable box or the TV to stretch the image to fill the screen completely but since you have a LCD/LED don't worry about it. If you had a plasma then yes, you would need to stretch standard images but by NO means MUST you have to have HD service to counter-react image retention/burn in
thenightman4u is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-28-2012, 03:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
walford's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 17,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1. use non linear stretch or panaoramic stretch sinch that stretches the sides only and since they normally contain no meaningfull content the image does not appear distorted.
2. The cable from your cable conmpany contains both SD and HD cotntent (it is the tuners that control what you can receive)and the local HD content is not encrypted so your new TV can receive without paying for HD service with it's HD tuner. The cable conpanies don't like to tell you this and many of their reps don't even know it.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-29-2012, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
Steve S's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 46
^^^Using cable direct from the wall you will get all unencrypted HD channels--on most cable systems this means local broadcast channels only.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off