Vizio E601-A3 Owners Thread - Page 131 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 3908 Old 12-08-2014, 04:50 PM
Member
 
iautotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hi guys and gals,
Been a while since I posted but I have a question...

My two-year old Vizio E601i-A3 that I purchased December 27, 2012 (manufactured second week of December 2012 - SN WAN 50) has had issues (Main/Mother board replaced twice, once last year, once this morning and after the repair call this morning, the TV "died", fired up initially then when dark after five minutes or so and does not respond to ON button on the side or ON button on the remote) and so,

cutting to the chase, Square Trade has offered me a refund of the original purchase price I paid at Best Buy of $883.00 and can transfer that to my PayPal account.

I still like Vizio regardless and just got back from Best Buy where they have a Vizio 60" E-Series-E6001-B3 for $799.99.

Question is, what would I be gaining, what would I be losing when comparing this TV to my "old" Vizio E601i-A3?

Thanks!

Gene

VIZIO M602i-B3 SN: Q29 (MFR JULY 13-19 2014)
VIZIO E601i-A3 SN:WAN50
NETGEAR N600 Wireless Dual-Band Router
TVersity Media Server
GOOGLE CHROMECAST
COMCAST 1080i
iautotron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 3908 Old 12-10-2014, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post
Can anyone recommend some movie mode picture settings. Or a custom setting. I am coming from a Samsung F8500 plasma that my three year old hit with a marble braking the screen. This tv is all I could get right now. And coming from a top of the line plasma I have know idea where to start on the settings
Sorry, it has been crazy at my house.

Here are my settings.

Custom 1
Auto brightness control off
Backlight 48
Brightness 51
Contrast 79
Color 49
Tint 0
Sharpness 2
Black detail off
Backlight control off
Smooth motion effect off
Reduce signal noise off
Reduce block noise off
Game low latency off (new?)
File mode off (new?)
Gamma 1.8 (new?)

I turned the TV on this weekend and it had informed me it had been updated with new firmware.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
post #3903 of 3908 Old 12-11-2014, 03:21 PM
Member
 
iautotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
OK, just got back from Best Buy where I purchased an
M-Series M602i-B3 Full-Array LED Smart HDTV.

Delivery scheduled for tomorrow, Friday, between 3-5 p.m.

Best Buy's On-Sale Price: $899.99 (regular price: $1,199.99 save $300.00) (sale ends Sunday)

Best Buy matched Sams' Club Price: $878.00 (found ad online)

Now looking for a dedicated Vizio M602i-B3 AVS thread.

After my last post above, you guys better not go on now about why I should NOT have purchased this particular model.

GeneL

VIZIO M602i-B3 SN: Q29 (MFR JULY 13-19 2014)
VIZIO E601i-A3 SN:WAN50
NETGEAR N600 Wireless Dual-Band Router
TVersity Media Server
GOOGLE CHROMECAST
COMCAST 1080i
iautotron is offline  
post #3904 of 3908 Old 12-11-2014, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
RichardCarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Ive heard good things about the M series. If either of mine crap out I'll move to the M...or P.....or.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iautotron View Post
OK, just got back from Best Buy where I purchased an
M-Series M602i-B3 Full-Array LED Smart HDTV.

Delivery scheduled for tomorrow, Friday, between 3-5 p.m.

Best Buy's On-Sale Price: $899.99 (regular price: $1,199.99 save $300.00) (sale ends Sunday)

Best Buy matched Sams' Club Price: $878.00 (found ad online)

Now looking for a dedicated Vizio M602i-B3 AVS thread.

After my last post above, you guys better not go on now about why I should NOT have purchased this particular model.

GeneL

LR: Vizio E701i-A3, Vizio VSB207 sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3.

BR: Vizio E601i-A3, Sharp (disc.) sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3
RichardCarver is online now  
post #3905 of 3908 Old 12-11-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
iautotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCarver View Post
Ive heard good things about the M series. If either of mine crap out I'll move to the M...or P.....or.
I had scheduled the guys who will deliver the new set tomorrow to "haul away and recycle" the E601i-A3 but having serious second thoughts because I know it only needs either a Main Board and/or Power Board to get it back to working condition that I really enjoyed for two years. Be a shame to just dump it in the trash.

So, thanks to the AVS thread by flyguy108:
Vizio E601i-a3 Repair

Both boards can be ordered at Shop Jimmy.com as he recommends and points to in his thread.

Power Board: P/N 09-60CAP000-00 $49.41
Main Board: P/N 01-60CAP001-00 $79.42


There's also the Controller Board P/N RUNTK5261TPZC that I don't feel is part of the issue with my set.

Either one or both will rejuvenate the set but pretty sure it just needs the Main Board so I'll begin with that one when I get to it.

In that thread, Vizio E601i-a3 Repair, flyguy108 goes into great detail, along with excellent pics of the boards, to explain the replacement process for them.

GeneL

Thank you flyguy108 for sharing your valuable expertise!

VIZIO M602i-B3 SN: Q29 (MFR JULY 13-19 2014)
VIZIO E601i-A3 SN:WAN50
NETGEAR N600 Wireless Dual-Band Router
TVersity Media Server
GOOGLE CHROMECAST
COMCAST 1080i

Last edited by iautotron; 12-11-2014 at 05:22 PM.
iautotron is offline  
post #3906 of 3908 Old 12-16-2014, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Connecting wirelessly after latest firmware

I have had the E601i-A3 for around 9 months. I'm far from a power user, so the picture and everything seem great to me. My wife and kids watch a lot of Netflix, and we've always had the issue every few weeks where it gets a nw-4 or nw-7 (or some similar #) error and won't connect, and it is only fixed by resetting to factory presets. Around a week ago it updated to firmware version V1.60.10-004.0090, and every since we have had to reset to factory at least once a day to restore wireless connectivity (all regular power cycling etc. would not fix the issue). Has anyone else had this recently?

I just got done w/ chat support and they had me do another reset and set it to a static IP, so I'll see if that fixes the issue. Unless the hang-up is when the TV is negotiating the DHCP address then it won't fix it, but we'll see.
homerow is offline  
post #3907 of 3908 Old 12-16-2014, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
RichardCarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerow View Post
I have had the E601i-A3 for around 9 months. I'm far from a power user, so the picture and everything seem great to me. My wife and kids watch a lot of Netflix, and we've always had the issue every few weeks where it gets a nw-4 or nw-7 (or some similar #) error and won't connect, and it is only fixed by resetting to factory presets. Around a week ago it updated to firmware version V1.60.10-004.0090, and every since we have had to reset to factory at least once a day to restore wireless connectivity (all regular power cycling etc. would not fix the issue). Has anyone else had this recently?

I just got done w/ chat support and they had me do another reset and set it to a static IP, so I'll see if that fixes the issue. Unless the hang-up is when the TV is negotiating the DHCP address then it won't fix it, but we'll see.
Do you ever reset the modem/router?

LR: Vizio E701i-A3, Vizio VSB207 sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3.

BR: Vizio E601i-A3, Sharp (disc.) sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3
RichardCarver is online now  
post #3908 of 3908 Old Today, 08:13 PM
Member
 
johaan444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I just got an Xbox One over the holiday and I'm having an issue -- I'm trying to sort out if its the tv or Xbox. On the defalut setttings of 1080p - 24bit color, I get a screen door pattern across the colors and blacks. On 1080p 36-bit color, it seems OK, but the reason does not make a lot of sense to me. This TV is not Deep Color is it?

What do you all run your ONE at?

I'm inclined to do a swap of the Xbox, it did shock me when I checked the HDMI cable -- not a fan of anything that bites me.

Any thoughts would be helpful.

-- Jon
johaan444 is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio E601i A3 60 Inch Led Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46d6400 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off