Vizio E601-A3 Owners Thread - Page 4 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > Vizio E601-A3 Owners Thread

LCD Flat Panel Displays

Flatliner's Avatar Flatliner
07:04 PM Liked: 13
post #91 of 3912
10-25-2012 | Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2006
I'm about 12-15 feet from the set.
patriotictrev's Avatar patriotictrev
07:19 PM Liked: 10
post #92 of 3912
10-25-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
Did you make sure your HDMI cable was 1.4? I had a bunch of old cables lying around and caused some sync issues between the new and older formats. Are your boxes 1.4 compliant as well? I would assume that it is, but an easy fix if it was overlooked.: smile.gif
Flatliner's Avatar Flatliner
09:26 PM Liked: 13
post #93 of 3912
10-25-2012 | Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2006
For myself, I'm not using HDMI at the moment. Everything is either over the air HD or through the included apps. Audio is through optical out to a receiver.
timdafweak's Avatar timdafweak
08:24 AM Liked: 11
post #94 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 34
Joined: Oct 2009
That's interesting. I will check my cables tonight.
crawdad62's Avatar crawdad62
08:37 AM Liked: 11
post #95 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 200
Joined: Aug 2004
Are the sync issues happening regardless of that audio processing that's going on (SRS Truesurrond, Truevolume, etc)?
RichardCarver's Avatar RichardCarver
05:03 PM Liked: 22
post #96 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 306
Joined: Sep 2008
The big boy has arrived. Everything good so far. I used the cnet settings except I'm using cool rather than normal. It's replacing a 2007 Toshiba and I have to say, everything is better on the Vizio, picture, speed of operation, ability to customize. I'm getting 1080p on Netflix, a first for me. Cannot wait for football!

I haven't seen any of the issues others are reporting in fact, it was a very easy set up, no problems at all. Did I mention this thing is big? If things stay like this I plan to get the 70" for the living room (this one is in the BR). Two giant TVs for the cost of a high end 55 a year ago, so fa I'm extremely happy with this TV.

B4E39986-BA32-4315-B396-06412852DC4D-70774-000011387FDFBB6C.jpg
lessthanzero's Avatar lessthanzero
05:53 PM Liked: 10
post #97 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 43
Joined: Sep 2009
Does anyone know where Vizio gets their panels? I had read that LG supplies Vizio, and that Panasonic supplied plasma panels when Vizeo made plasma's. However, Panasonic supplied Vizio plasma panels that were old technology, or rejects/seconds that Panasonic would not use. I am really liking this LED from Vizio, but I would like more information regarding their panel's.........??
RichardCarver's Avatar RichardCarver
11:14 PM Liked: 22
post #98 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 306
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessthanzero View Post

Does anyone know where Vizio gets their panels? I had read that LG supplies Vizio, and that Panasonic supplied plasma panels when Vizeo made plasma's. However, Panasonic supplied Vizio plasma panels that were old technology, or rejects/seconds that Panasonic would not use. I am really liking this LED from Vizio, but I would like more information regarding their panel's.........??

I've read everything I could find on this set and I do recall reading that this was a new panel with some sort of different lighting arrangement and is from LG. Unfortunately. I don't recall where I read it, maybe someone else can confirm.
lessthanzero's Avatar lessthanzero
11:30 PM Liked: 10
post #99 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 43
Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCarver View Post

I've read everything I could find on this set and I do recall reading that this was a new panel with some sort of different lighting arrangement and is from LG. Unfortunately. I don't recall where I read it, maybe someone else can confirm.

From what I can see, and read, LG makes some decent panels, and if this is a "new" panel it sure looks good. I'm trying to get rid of the illusion in my mind that Vizio is a second tier, some have even said third tier, company. The legacy companies such as Sony, Panasonic, LG, Sharp and Samsung have the name, and to some extent, reputation. However, I can remember when Toyota, Datsun and Honda were considered inferior automobiles.........
rockaway1836's Avatar rockaway1836
11:43 PM Liked: 19
post #100 of 3912
10-26-2012 | Posts: 514
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessthanzero View Post

From what I can see, and read, LG makes some decent panels, and if this is a "new" panel it sure looks good. I'm trying to get rid of the illusion in my mind that Vizio is a second tier, some have even said third tier, company. The legacy companies such as Sony, Panasonic, LG, Sharp and Samsung have the name, and to some extent, reputation. However, I can remember when Toyota, Datsun and Honda were considered inferior automobiles.........[/quote

I came across this early yesterday. It may be of some help to you.


http://shopping.yahoo.com/news/cheaper-off-brand-tvs-aren-t-always-a-great-deal.html

Flatliner's Avatar Flatliner
05:29 AM Liked: 13
post #101 of 3912
10-27-2012 | Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawdad62 View Post

Are the sync issues happening regardless of that audio processing that's going on (SRS Truesurrond, Truevolume, etc)?

I just turned TruVolume off, TV speakers (sending audio out via optical to receiver) off and have SRS StudioSound HD set to Standard and will see if that makes a difference. It's only rarely that I have noticed the lip sync issue - and when it occurred it was not a consistent issue - so it will take some time to see if it's really going to be a long term issue or not.
lessthanzero's Avatar lessthanzero
01:57 PM Liked: 10
post #102 of 3912
10-27-2012 | Posts: 43
Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by lessthanzero View Post

From what I can see, and read, LG makes some decent panels, and if this is a "new" panel it sure looks good. I'm trying to get rid of the illusion in my mind that Vizio is a second tier, some have even said third tier, company. The legacy companies such as Sony, Panasonic, LG, Sharp and Samsung have the name, and to some extent, reputation. However, I can remember when Toyota, Datsun and Honda were considered inferior automobiles.........[/quote
I came across this early yesterday. It may be of some help to you.
http://shopping.yahoo.com/news/cheaper-off-brand-tvs-aren-t-always-a-great-deal.html

Thanks, that was informative and answered some of my questions..........

RichardCarver's Avatar RichardCarver
02:00 PM Liked: 22
post #103 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 306
Joined: Sep 2008
Mmmmm, Sunday, football, Vizio 60, go Cowboys!

EDIT: OK, game is over, Dallas lost a heartbreaker so lets talk TV. The set performed perfectly all day, it displayed none of the behaviors people are talking about. Oddly enough, the best setting for football turned out to be the uh football setting., clear, crisp, colorful, beautiful motion, best I've ever seen on a television. This TV offers more control than I've had before and I can see it will take a considerable amount of time to really figure out what it is capable of, I'm toying with setting up separate modes for different inputs.

Hopefully. these problems that are being reported are the result of early adoption of a new series of TVs and as production settles down these teething pains will go away. As of this writing, my set is functioning perfectly and it is a thing of beauty. Even if mine screws up during Amazon's return window i will get this same TV since I've been able to see it at it's intended best. It's a winner.
Silverfox1's Avatar Silverfox1
02:28 PM Liked: 12
post #104 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 705
Joined: Apr 2007
Could any of you folks whom presently own this latest Vizio 60" unit tell me if it appears to be on par with the Sharp LC60LE640U display ?

I am considering this 60" Vizio for a master bedroom TV so the price is a bargain but i dont mind spending up to $300 more if the Sharp is worth it providing the IQ is better. I have seen the Sharp display in person at a local Walmart but not the new Vizio since i am not a Sams Club or Costco member where i have read the Vizio is displayed for viewing.

Regards, & Thanks for any replys from members whom have compared the two units. wink.gif
Chief_10Beers's Avatar Chief_10Beers
04:53 PM Liked: 10
post #105 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 23
Joined: Aug 2009
Hey Ya'll, I bought the Vizio 60" four days ago from sam's club, on the second day, like some of you, the set has the lip sync issues. I can usually clear it up by changeing channels, but I shouldn't have to do that. I have 4 other Vizio LCD TVs ranging from 32" to 47" and they do not exhibit that problem, but then again, they are not "Smart TVs".

I was wondering if it is a Firmware/Software problem. Can the Firmware/Software even be updated on the E601I-A3? I have very few nitpicks but Lip Syncing is one of my biggest pet peeves.
I'll return the set if I can't figure this out. If I do have to exchange it out for another, I hope I don't have that audio problem and it was a isolated case.............................
patsan's Avatar patsan
05:01 PM Liked: 12
post #106 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 369
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief_10Beers View Post

Hey Ya'll, I bought the Vizio 60" four days ago from sam's club, on the second day, like some of you, the set has the lip sync issues. I can usually clear it up by changeing channels, but I shouldn't have to do that. I have 4 other Vizio LCD TVs ranging from 32" to 47" and they do not exhibit that problem, but then again, they are not "Smart TVs".
I was wondering if it is a Firmware/Software problem. Can the Firmware/Software even be updated on the E601I-A3? I have very few nitpicks but Lip Syncing is one of my biggest pet peeves.
I'll return the set if I can't figure this out. If I do have to exchange it out for another, I hope I don't have that audio problem and it was a isolated case.............................

I wasn't able to fix the lip sync issue. I had Costco AND Vizio make me change all sorts of settings...and the lip sync still remained.

I returned the set to Costco and picked up a 55" Panasonic instead....no lip sync issues.
samkat01's Avatar samkat01
06:33 PM Liked: 10
post #107 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2012
guys, I had the lip sync issue and fixed it with a new hdmi 1.4 cable
RichardCarver's Avatar RichardCarver
07:10 PM Liked: 22
post #108 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 306
Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by samkat01 View Post

guys, I had the lip sync issue and fixed it with a new hdmi 1.4 cable

Reading through all the reported problems they all seem to be sound related. One set 'screeched', several have reported the sync issue and two have reported the humming issue. It would be interesting to see how many of these are cable related.
patsan's Avatar patsan
07:26 PM Liked: 12
post #109 of 3912
10-28-2012 | Posts: 369
Joined: Dec 2005
I changed my HDMI cable also, and still had the lip sync. cool.gif
Chief_10Beers's Avatar Chief_10Beers
06:54 AM Liked: 10
post #110 of 3912
10-29-2012 | Posts: 23
Joined: Aug 2009
Well duh me. I think I know the TV's audio sync problem. I have Dish DVR, Some Channels has no audio sync problem at all, and the ones I do, changing the channel from the problem channel to known good channel then back clears the audio sync for about 45 Min. My BD Player works fine, No audio sync anomalies at all. So I either have a problem with the Dish DVR or a HDMI Cable fault. I'll try a new HDMI Cable first...................................
RichardCarver's Avatar RichardCarver
10:30 AM Liked: 22
post #111 of 3912
10-29-2012 | Posts: 306
Joined: Sep 2008
Well, put me in the lip sync group. It happened on only one channel and switching channels does cure it for a while. I tried an experiment this morning and it stopped the problem. I'm using a Sharp sound bar so I turned that off and turned on the problem channel and after about two hours the sync problem manifested so I muted the TV sound and turned the sound bar back on and no sync problem. It's been a couple of hours on the sound bar and no sync problem.

Also, the HDMI cable I'm using is from my 2007 Toshiba so it is not 1.4 compliant, that standard came out in 2009. The 1.3 protocol has lip sync standards but not the new ARC (audio return channel) standard. I've ordered all new cables from Monoprice which is probably a good idea since all my cables are orphans from I don't know where.

I think you could call this TV sensitive to this issue but I don't know If I would call it defective.
Silverfox1's Avatar Silverfox1
05:07 PM Liked: 12
post #112 of 3912
10-29-2012 | Posts: 705
Joined: Apr 2007
FWIW, i did get a chance to do a sidexside of this Vizio with the Sharp 60" 640U displayed at a local Sams Club and with both units set to the same % of gain in relation to backlighting and contrast settings the Sharp had a more vibrant, crisper, & clearer picture with both signal feeds the exact same. I realize its tough to really make a fair comparison under flourescent store lighting, plus no doubt the Sharp is not without some of the usual complaints we all hear about, but the sales rep & myself could clearly see the difference which tells me the user could run the Sharp at a lower backlight & contrast versus the Vizio in a normal home environment. Having to run a display in essentially torch mode is not my desire so i will pass on this latest Vizio and wish all the owners good luck with their purchase for years to come.

Regards, wink.gif
scud77's Avatar scud77
08:25 PM Liked: 10
post #113 of 3912
10-29-2012 | Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2012
Just picked this TV up tonight (BJ's Wholesale Club)... as I was peeling the lining off the bezel with the football game on I noticed a single red pixel (very top and just right of center). Where is everyone today with this type of issue... I know it is a personal question (will it drive me nuts, will I even notice it when on the couch, etc.)... but generally is this something you would return given the chunk of change just spent?

FYI, I gave the gentle massage and apply pressure tactics a try but those didn't do the trick.
cloudbuster's Avatar cloudbuster
08:36 PM Liked: 10
post #114 of 3912
10-29-2012 | Posts: 34
Joined: Apr 2011
I cant find the resolution for when you use the VGA/PC connector anyone have those numbers?
or would it be better to use a VGA to HDMI cable?
my computer dont have DVI or HDMI.
also is this the same one as the E601i-A3
thanks
Flatliner's Avatar Flatliner
06:33 AM Liked: 13
post #115 of 3912
10-30-2012 | Posts: 174
Joined: Jul 2006
Just to update my Lipsync issue, I have not noticed any issues for the past few days after I turned Tv speakers off along with SRS TruVolume.
EscapeVelocity's Avatar EscapeVelocity
12:36 PM Liked: 177
post #116 of 3912
10-30-2012 | Posts: 5,969
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by lessthanzero View Post

Does anyone know where Vizio gets their panels? I had read that LG supplies Vizio, and that Panasonic supplied plasma panels when Vizeo made plasma's. However, Panasonic supplied Vizio plasma panels that were old technology, or rejects/seconds that Panasonic would not use. I am really liking this LED from Vizio, but I would like more information regarding their panel's.........??


I just spied this with my trusty loupe at Costco. The Vizio E601-A3 uses a late generation Samsung/Sony S-PVA panel (but not the newest one), very nice..... which looks like this...



This is the same panel that is on the Samsung 60EH6150 and 60ES7150 3D at Costco.


Vizio has a long standing relationship with LG for sourcing panels. Many of their TVs use S-IPS panels (which now may be sourced from Chei Mei as well as LG). They also use various other panels, like all brands do these days. I spied all TVs at Costco today and spied a couple of substructures that I didnt recotgnize....I think that they may be from cheaper lesser known Red Chinese manufacturers.

The Vizio E420VSE looks to be a AU Optronics MVA 3rd Gen, very nice. The M**0SL series is S-IPS, also very nice. The Sharp 70" 6400 and 60" 640 series uses what appears to be a Sharp X Gen ASF UV2A....seen below...




The other same and larger size Sharps at Costco used Quatron panels. This panel is the non Quatron that immediately preceded it. Very nice. (I dont care for the yellow subpixel myself).

Hope that helps.


Just for good measure. Vizio E420VSE panel AUO MVA 3rd Gen....which is a lot like the Samsung/Sony S-PVA above.


Darth Indy's Avatar Darth Indy
01:53 PM Liked: 10
post #117 of 3912
10-30-2012 | Posts: 994
Joined: Jun 2008
Has anyone seen any vertical banding on this set, particularly on panning scenes?
EscapeVelocity's Avatar EscapeVelocity
02:34 PM Liked: 177
post #118 of 3912
10-30-2012 | Posts: 5,969
Joined: Nov 2006
All in all, I prefer a Sharp X Gen UV2A panel over the Samsung/Sony S-PVA. I think SilverFox has the right of it. However, whether that is worth a $400 price premium is debatable. The S-PVA panel has less wide viewing sweet spot, but great blacks and is a darn fine panel in and of itself.
rockaway1836's Avatar rockaway1836
06:29 PM Liked: 19
post #119 of 3912
10-30-2012 | Posts: 514
Joined: Jun 2005
Mine just got here a few hours ago. Have not had too much time to fool with it, but out of the box wasn't bad at all. I may have to move it though. I noticed it's quite reflective.
ListedGuru's Avatar ListedGuru
08:27 PM Liked: 10
post #120 of 3912
10-30-2012 | Posts: 138
Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post

Mine just got here a few hours ago. Have not had too much time to fool with it, but out of the box wasn't bad at all. I may have to move it though. I noticed it's quite reflective.

I thought this has a matte screen therefore it should handle reflections well?

-Guru
Tags: Vizio E601i A3 60 Inch Led Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un65es8000 Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46d6400 Led Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3