Sony LCD TV displays only vertical stripes - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-24-2012, 04:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alwayslearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony KDL-46 VL. 160 displays series of fine vertical stripes which vary in color as the image or channel changes.

How to best proceed?

alwayslearing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 11-01-2012, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alwayslearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I tell if it's the tconn or the panel?

And if it is the panel, is there a way to try fixing it?
alwayslearing is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-01-2012, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alwayslearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any help?
alwayslearing is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-01-2012, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Cynergy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does your issue go away if you leave the tv on for a while and then power cycle? It started a few weeks back for us on our 55" and at first I thought the TV was gone but after turning it off and on a ton of times it finally worked. Now we have worked out that if we leave the TV on for 10-20 minutes and then turn it off and back on then the TV is fine again. I have called a few local repair guys near by with no luck so far.
Cynergy73 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-05-2012, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alwayslearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope. That didn't help at all. Nor did Sony. It's just three weeks out of warranty and they had no consideration whatsoever other than to offer a remanufacturerd TV with a 90 day warranty for about the same cost as a new one. I see online lots of similar stories with reportedly bad Sony LCD panels.

Anything else I can try on this? Would really like to get it going again. It was a great TV.

Did yours present the same image as in the above photo, thin vertical lines that move and change color as the scenes change?
alwayslearing is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-05-2012, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwayslearing View Post

Nope. That didn't help at all. Nor did Sony. It's just three weeks out of warranty and they had no consideration whatsoever other than to offer a remanufacturerd TV with a 90 day warranty for about the same cost as a new one. I see online lots of similar stories with reportedly bad Sony LCD panels.
Anything else I can try on this? Would really like to get it going again. It was a great TV.
Did yours present the same image as in the above photo, thin vertical lines that move and change color as the scenes change?
\
Looks like the T-con board is bad. You can find them usually from $75-$150 on EBAY, so would check there. I wouldn't think it would cost a ton to have a service rep come out and replace the part. I have an NX720 that is having the T-con and the main board replaced Friday.
Dr.Shankenstein is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-05-2012, 03:18 PM
Member
 
Cynergy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


This is what it looks like and changes with the content that is being shown on the screen including the Bravia logo when the tv first comes on. Like I said after 15-30 minutes I can then turn the tv off and back on for the tv work normally from that point on. We have now just taken to turning the tv as soon as we walk in the door so that it is warmed up and ready when we want to watch it.

Ignore the white circle on the TV, that was just the flash from the camera...
Cynergy73 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-16-2012, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Cynergy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any thoughts from anyone on a cause?
Cynergy73 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-16-2012, 08:52 PM
Member
 
videodoktor2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bad display panel
videodoktor2 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-17-2012, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
thiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://www.scribd.com/doc/25276757/E40951307-TCON-Troubleshooting-10-22-09-OPT
thiao is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-31-2013, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alwayslearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, that's one for the TConn and one for the panel.

Went through the googledoc linked above and tried wiggling and doing everything it suggested. There was no response on the screen. Also tried letting it run for awhile and doing the power thing as suggested; it made no difference.

Anything else I can try to determine in it's the panel or the TC board?

Would really like to get this set going again.
alwayslearing is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 05-15-2013, 08:36 AM
Member
 
squirrellydw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any update on this?
squirrellydw is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 05-15-2013, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by squirrellydw View Post

any update on this?


From what I have read it looks like a T-Con board or ribbon cable
could also be a panel .
Here is a video from a TV repair shop owner that might help


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DedJvyNm_s4

There are more videos on his channel
here


http://www.youtube.com/user/GrantsPassTVRepairs/videos

Here are some videos and a thread about a panel connection repair


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCExlSnG4yY

Here is thread here at with detailed pictures of

the the fix here at AVS scroll down to post 29
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1173106/kdl-xbr4-half-

the-screen-dark-with-slow-pixel-refresh-all-inputs

Here is another thread same subject
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1311478/double-image-
and-3-horizontal-lines-on-ln-t4069f-lcd
Edited by tubetwister - 5/7/13 at 10:29pm

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off