LG 47LM4600 - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 356 Old 12-07-2013, 09:33 PM
Newbie
 
SuperSVGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I updated my 47LM4700 to 03.40.10, but I didn't notice any difference from the official 03.40.08. I can't extract the firmware file from LG's site without the AES key. There might be a chance I could figure that out from the TV itself. but the 47LM4600/4700 don't have the RS-232c service port attached and I don't feel like tearing my TV apart. The only thing I have to look at is the source, and I don't know if the source is the official or engineer source, or even past that.
 

When I first updated the TV from the original firmware to 3.40.08, some things changed a bit. The option for LED Dimming (when enabled in the service menu) had disappeared from the user menu. The option still exists in the service menu, and I haven't tested whether it actually works. I also can no longer find the firmware rollback option. Previously I could get to it by pressing the Settings button and pressing the '9' key 7 times. I also used to be able to force firmware upgrade by pressing the '7' key 7 times, but now I have to press the '2' key 7 times.

SuperSVGA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 356 Old 01-24-2014, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
Nu11u5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I puchased this TV about a year ago.

In fast motion I've noticed that the display will retain 2 or 3 frames, making high contrast images blurry and even nausiating to watch. This is especially a problem with games.

Is this a problem with the panels response time, or is it due to some kind of post processing that I can adjust?
Nu11u5 is offline  
post #333 of 356 Old 01-24-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
I've not noticed any issues when playing games from my secondary XBOne on my 47LM4600. It is an LCD though. My main display is a DLP which can display an image many,many times faster than any LCD TV can.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #334 of 356 Old 01-27-2014, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
SuperSVGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Does anyone know how the 24p Real Cinema Works on the 60hz panel? It looks nothing like movies from a 60p source. It's almost like having a 24p source fed to it enables the hidden trumotion feature.

SuperSVGA is offline  
post #335 of 356 Old 02-05-2014, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Dig and Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSVGA View Post

I updated my 47LM4700 to 03.40.10, but I didn't notice any difference from the official 03.40.08. I can't extract the firmware file from LG's site without the AES key. There might be a chance I could figure that out from the TV itself. but the 47LM4600/4700 don't have the RS-232c service port attached and I don't feel like tearing my TV apart. The only thing I have to look at is the source, and I don't know if the source is the official or engineer source, or even past that.

 
When I first updated the TV from the original firmware to 3.40.08, some things changed a bit. The option for LED Dimming (when enabled in the service menu) had disappeared from the user menu. The option still exists in the service menu, and I haven't tested whether it actually works. I also can no longer find the firmware rollback option. Previously I could get to it by pressing the Settings button and pressing the '9' key 7 times. I also used to be able to force firmware upgrade by pressing the '7' key 7 times, but now I have to press the '2' key 7 times.

Where did you find 03.40.10? I looked on LG's website, but I could not find it...
Dig and Spike is offline  
post #336 of 356 Old 02-05-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Dig and Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSVGA View Post

Does anyone know how the 24p Real Cinema Works on the 60hz panel? It looks nothing like movies from a 60p source. It's almost like having a 24p source fed to it enables the hidden trumotion feature.

Does the LM4600 series support 24p?
Dig and Spike is offline  
post #337 of 356 Old 02-05-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dig and Spike View Post

Does the LM4600 series support 24p?

Yes. It applies 3:2 pulldown to the 1080P24 input to go to 1080P60.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #338 of 356 Old 02-05-2014, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
SuperSVGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dig and Spike View Post


Where did you find 03.40.10? I looked on LG's website, but I could not find it...
I had to go into the In-Start with a remote and change some setting to engineer firmware. I then used the internet update.

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dig and Spike View Post


Does the LM4600 series support 24p?
 

It has a Real Cinema 24p setting, when enabled and fed a 24p source it identifies that as a 24p source and adjusts accordingly.

Dig and Spike likes this.
SuperSVGA is offline  
post #339 of 356 Old 02-08-2014, 03:30 AM
Member
 
Dig and Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you!
Dig and Spike is offline  
post #340 of 356 Old 02-08-2014, 03:33 AM
Member
 
Dig and Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSVGA View Post

It has a Real Cinema 24p setting, when enabled and fed a 24p source it identifies that as a 24p source and adjusts accordingly.

Thank you
Dig and Spike is offline  
post #341 of 356 Old 02-08-2014, 03:35 AM
Member
 
Dig and Spike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSVGA View Post

It has a Real Cinema 24p setting, when enabled and fed a 24p source it identifies that as a 24p source and adjusts accordingly.

Thank you SuperSVGA!
Dig and Spike is offline  
post #342 of 356 Old 02-08-2014, 09:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
This is a 60Hz TV. All it does it accept the 24P signal and apply 3:2 pulldown. The same as any other 60Hz TV. This TV does not do interpolation and create frames in between existing ones. Creating the so called Soap Opera effect. This TV just has regular 3:2 pull down.

I have been enjoying this TV in my secondary viewing location for the last 13 months. It was a nice deal at Best Buy when I got it in January last year.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #343 of 356 Old 02-10-2014, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
SuperSVGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

This is a 60Hz TV. All it does it accept the 24P signal and apply 3:2 pulldown. The same as any other 60Hz TV. This TV does not do interpolation and create frames in between existing ones. Creating the so called Soap Opera effect. This TV just has regular 3:2 pull down.

But that doesn't explain why the TV's 3:2 pull down is better than any other device, or why it needs a different display mode for 24p. I've recorded it at 120fps and compared it to the TV's normal mode slowed down and there is a slight difference between them and also a noticeable backlight flash.

SuperSVGA is offline  
post #344 of 356 Old 02-10-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSVGA View Post

But that doesn't explain why the TV's 3:2 pull down is better than any other device, or why it needs a different display mode for 24p. I've recorded it at 120fps and compared it to the TV's normal mode slowed down and there is a slight difference between them and also a noticeable backlight flash.

I still see judder from this TV like every 60Hz TV I've viewed. If it were truly at 120Hz and it applied 5:5 pulldown, there would be no judder.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #345 of 356 Old 02-20-2014, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
VOTE4DALEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I wish I wouldve found this thread before buying my 55LM4600. I was coming from an old Philips LCD with its version of trumotion caused a bit of soap opera, but in a way I found enjoyable. I really loved the motion on that TV but it was a 47" and contrast was poor, so I would have nearly unviewable images when the screen was mostly black (The Walking Dead for example)

SO I got a great deal on a 55LM4600 and thought I was going to love it, but having REALLY bad issues with the juddery motion. I am wondering if there are ANY settings to reduce this effect, as LG doesnt seem to care.


Now, they've sent three technicians out, replaced the main board, but it always has the SAME judder motion. Ive tried to argue that they've sold me a 60hz panel when the box said 120hz, and attempt them to replace it with a true 120hz panel with no luck.

 

If ANYONE has any advice for me, please let me know.

VOTE4DALEK is offline  
post #346 of 356 Old 02-20-2014, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
VOTE4DALEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi there I am writing those that seem to be having the same issue as I with LG regarding the LM4600 series. I recently purchased the 55" model of this TV and the judder is unwatchable, and LG seems to have NO issues with selling a 60hz quality set with lies on the box. I am wonder if you ever reached a conclusion with LG that might allow myself or others to receive the same solution. Furthermore, if there were any further actions taken between you and LG that you can share I would love to hear about them.

I would also love to know if you found any particular settings that helped with the issue.

 

VOTE4DALEK is offline  
post #347 of 356 Old 03-21-2014, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
abbigabbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by abbigabbi View Post

LG 47LM4600 This thread is to help me and anyone else with issues, calibration advice and all other subjects for owners of this 3D HDTV. I personally seeking Sharpness setting advice, and also would love to here someones calibration advice OR OWN PERSONAL SETTINGS (in detail) I've recently purchased this tv and can't seem to find much out there on the net on it.. Come on guys dive in...any advice or input on anything to do with this HDTV calibration would be great...

Hi All, When I started this thread I had Full intention on posting my settings when i figured them out with the Disney WoW calibration disc...I posted the results but recently realized they never actually uploaded on this forum.
For what it's worth...here they are....

Back Light --- 50

Contrast
91

Brightness -- 51

Sharpness - 54

Color
51

Tint
0

Color Temp 0

All options such as Clear White, Dynamic blah blah blah control and etc are ALL OFF....

Black Level set to LOW

For gaming on my PS3/PS4 I have My GAMMA set to LOW --- the blacks seem more accurate this way for some reason---crush less...

For TV/MOVIES the GAMMA is set to MEDIUM usually.....

For comparison to your surroundings...my living room is usually lit well so lighting both sun and bulbs are usually lighting the room fairly well..(not to dark in my living room)

I spent allot of time trying to get the best out of this TV with allot of GREAT help from here...this has been the best i have achieved...
abbigabbi is offline  
post #348 of 356 Old 03-24-2014, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
nags425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello, im not the most knowledgeable person when it comes to tv but im not completely stupid. 

 

I have owned this tv for about a year and use it a lot for gaming on my xbox 360 and xbox one. 

I have noticed a lot of textures loading very very slowly and was wonderi g if this could be a problem caused by the tv. gta5 and dead rising 3 were terrible.  I would walk up to a building and sit for 10sec or more as the detail started to slowly creep on to the building I was standing right in front of. Ive tried 2 different xbox 360s and now an xbox one, so it is not a problem with the console. 

And I dont believe its just the way the games are cause ive shown others and they said that theirs doesnnot do that. 

 

The only thing I can think of is that the is the cause. The only other weird thing in the system is that we have a old house with old electical wiring but I dont see that effecting it. 

nags425 is offline  
post #349 of 356 Old 04-10-2014, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
abbigabbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have seen that same thing while playing Battlefield 4 online...I was never sure if it was the TV or the Internet connection or possibly the Server...
abbigabbi is offline  
post #350 of 356 Old 04-10-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
It's not the TV.
Dig and Spike likes this.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #351 of 356 Old 04-16-2014, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
nags425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by abbigabbi View Post

I have seen that same thing while playing Battlefield 4 online...I was never sure if it was the TV or the Internet connection or possibly the Server...

I dont think mine has to deal with the internet as it will also happen when playing single player
nags425 is offline  
post #352 of 356 Old 06-02-2014, 10:37 PM
Newbie
 
Italystallion5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I know that it's been a while since a lot of the "soap opera effect" problems have been addressed but I have found the solution with the push of a button! Go into "Settings" then "Picture" and scroll down under picture mode until you come across "Advanced Control". Once you're in there scroll down until you come across "Real Cinema" then just simply click it to "off". I tested this with a blu ray on my ps3 because all of my blu rays produce the "soap opera effect" which I abhor. I turned "Real Cinema" on and off several times and without fail when this option is turned on, SOAP OPERA ALL THE WAY! Unfortunately it took me a few years to figure this out haha. I plan to keep that feature on only when I'm watching television because it doesn't seem to have any negative effects while viewing that HD content, but for blu ray movies I will most definitely be turning this off! I held back with buying blu rays for a long time because of the "soap opera effect" but now I intend to stock up!

Italystallion5 is offline  
post #353 of 356 Old 06-03-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
What soap opera effect problems? This TV never had any. It's only a 60Hz TV. Mine has never done any frame interpolation.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #354 of 356 Old 07-06-2014, 02:15 AM
Newbie
 
SuperSVGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
What soap opera effect problems? This TV never had any. It's only a 60Hz TV. Mine has never done any frame interpolation.
It appears it has some sort of frame interpolation but only with a 24p source.
SuperSVGA is offline  
post #355 of 356 Old 07-06-2014, 06:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,943
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSVGA View Post
It appears it has some sort of frame interpolation but only with a 24p source.
I've never noticed any with mine. It's doing 3:2 pulldown to go from 24P to 60P. But that is normal for a 60Hz TV. And you have judder.


Was there ever another firmware update for this TV?

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 07-06-2014 at 06:39 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #356 of 356 Old 07-26-2014, 02:44 AM
Newbie
 
SuperSVGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Was there ever another firmware update for this TV?
All I've seen is the engineer 03.04.10 update which has been there for a while. Just so you know, the update file for this tv is exactly the same for many other LG TVs in a similar product line.
SuperSVGA is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg , Lcd Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off